Keanu Reeves, Alex Winter “stress test” the Porsche Taycan Turbo on an epic drive with a single charge

What is your favourite way to spend quality time with your closest friends? A leisurely drive on the weekends surely sounds ideal, and that’s exactly what old pals Keanu Reeves and Alex Winter (known fans of the Porsche brand) chose to do in Porsche’s latest short video.

They were each handed the keys to a Porsche Taycan Turbo for a 180-km drive from Santa Barbara to the Porsche Experience Centre in Los Angeles. Seems like an easy thing to do for a car that can easily go over 400 km on a single charge, which was why Porsche included several “pit stops” along the way.

The actors sampled the pure electric Taycan Turbo’s Launch Control mode, then went up against two-time Le Mans winner Patrick Long (and his 918 Spyder) on a 3.2-kilometre hill climb up the Pacific Coast Highway. The dream journey then culminated at the Porsche Experience Centre, where Reeves and Winter put their countersteering skills to the test on a drift pad.

If you’ve always wondered how John Wick would look if he smiled, then watch the video to see him geek out for seven minutes straight.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Wahab on Mar 18, 2021 at 6:32 pm

Nice vids.. But highly doubt the Taycan could survived my monthly Balik kampung jaunt from Putrajaya to Gua Musang with a single charge. Gotta stuck to my olde Civid FD for now, kui3

• Karam Singh on Mar 19, 2021 at 10:29 am

Bring a generator. And a tent for overnight camping. You will be ok. I live in JB. Kampung in alor setar. It may take me 3 days to get back.

• Alive & Kicking on Mar 18, 2021 at 10:09 pm

It’s Bill and Ted’s Electrifying Adventure.

• Casual reader on Mar 19, 2021 at 3:28 pm

The experimental taycan is so powerful it can go back in time with style. Take that delorean!

• albag on Mar 19, 2021 at 9:01 am

Glad to see Keanu happy again

• kl fella on Mar 19, 2021 at 2:10 pm

make sure u just don’t run his dog over lol