Changing your car’s colour – now that the geran does not state colour, do you still need to report it to JPJ?

Unlike the old vehicle geran that was A4 sized, today’s vehicle ownership certificate (VOC) does not list down a car’s colour. Does this mean that it’s now a free for all and paint colour no longer matters to the system? Is it even legal to change your car’s colour?

The answer to the latter is yes, it is legal to change colours, but you have to report the change to the road transport department (JPJ). We had former director of the JPJ’s automotive engineering department, Datuk Mohamad Dalib on record a couple of years ago and he said: “If it is declared, it doesn’t matter what colour is used.”

What could be the potential problems if you don’t declare your car colour swap? If caught on camera for another offence, you might get another saman for changing car colours without permission.

One might also have problems with insurance. “If a car gets into an accident, and the insurance company finds out that the car’s colour is different from the original colour, there’s a big possibility that it won’t bear the costs involved,” Mat Dalib told us then.

Changing your car’s colour – now that the <em>geran</em> does not state colour, do you still need to report it to JPJ?

So, it’s legal, but what’s the process. The JPJ has just posted the steps on its Facebook page, and here it is. Basically, you can do the paint or wrap job first. Once done, head to a JPJ office and fill up the Borang JPJ K8 form, which is for changing vehicle details, and submit it to the officer in charge. Needless to say, bring along relevant documents such as your VOC and IC. The officer will then update the MySikap system with the new details. That’s it folks, and it’s free.

Here are a couple of extra things to note. If your car’s new skin is multi-coloured or has various tones, the dominant colour – described as one that covers 60% of the car body – is the colour that goes into the system. Also, if you’re using a representative or runner, an extra verification letter is needed.

So there, a green light from the JPJ for you to change your car’s colour. Whether a respray or wrap (for the latter, quality and installation is important), just remember to declare your car’s flashy new colour with the authorities.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vader on Mar 19, 2021 at 6:57 pm

Saman for changing car colours and car logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • omegle on Mar 20, 2021 at 6:36 pm

Btw the two Ativa in blue & pink in above pix looks real owsem … sales konpom meletop wei

• Those are wraps unless you’re implying Perodua got lazy to paint their cars and went straight to wrap them instead.

• Where’s the latest sales figure then?8 march launch 5k booking, 3 days after 11 march 8k bookings. Now?

• pengayuhbasikal on Mar 22, 2021 at 10:55 am

ativa ?…..

• wawasan3030 on Mar 22, 2021 at 12:42 pm

Itu haval laa bro..simply troll ke ni.. Pecah hati Ativa fans oi..

• hazri on Mar 22, 2021 at 5:02 pm

i thought its ativa too. so looks like la ativa and haval. but haval more cheaper.

• Land of Fine discounts on Mar 21, 2021 at 1:00 pm

P2 godcar changed to toyota decal, toyota biyos changed to scion or lexus decal, satiya wira changed to mitsu evo ralliart decal instant plus ten pony power.

• YB Albert on Mar 22, 2021 at 1:27 pm

I just went to JPJ this morning before 8am..queue up..by 8.15am…they issued me a new geran plus noted the color change in their system.
      Just wear mask,oberve sop..thats all.
      Go early to avoid longer queues later.
      Better do it.Insurance company will give 100 reasons not to pay claims,if there are loopholes.
      Imagine,your mercedes got totally wrecked..and just because of the color change issue wasnt notified to JPJ,and the claims become problematic.

• Dong gor on Mar 19, 2021 at 7:48 pm

If the insurance is active and indeed the car involved in the accident is insured, why allow the insurance company to void the coverage?it makes no sense. a modified car, maybe. But the color? Oh come on, government and those involved need to do the right thing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • AJibkor on Mar 19, 2021 at 8:38 pm

Ape2 ikut je SOP, jgn persoal. Kalau masok pejabat JPJ tukak warna or pi makan kat kedai nasi ayam. Jgn lupa scan mySejahtera yek…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Kariayam on Mar 19, 2021 at 10:27 pm

Regardless of what JPJ says (since they have a habit of coming up with new rules and not actually enforcing them), all insurance companies SHOULD cover their customers if damages were to happen on a repainted car. Absolutely unacceptable if they don’t, literally giving them free money every year. People need to boycott companies that does this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • What is your definition of modified car bro? A new paintjob can be considered modified becoz it has changed from the original colour. By your definition above, it maybe void insurance coverage so it really up to the assessor on a case-by-case basis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Mar 19, 2021 at 8:33 pm

I’ve done it before. It is super easy, only took 10 minutes for the whole process. The JPJ officer’s only question: How much it cost you to get the new coat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • mr1031 on Mar 19, 2021 at 11:05 pm

correct bro, is really hassle free. Maybe JPJ gotta set up roadblock to clamp down kereta Tukar cat … after hon tenonet & ekzos bising.

• Will77 on Mar 20, 2021 at 4:41 pm

Process is less than 10 minites but the long Q is at least more than half an hour. JPJ need to improve on this matter.

• Temporary only. Due to extra precaution for SOP and limiting the number of people inside their office. In actuality their process is quite fast if all documents are in order and payment no issues. It is these 2 that usually holds up the line even that is not JPJ fault.

• so doing wrapping technically you are not changing the colour of the car rite? ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Piupiupiu on Mar 19, 2021 at 9:34 pm

Need to go to JPJ office. Jumpa pegawai. Bla bla bla. Why cant just make it online? 2021 our JPJ still like pen and paper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • In 2004 I was in UK. To change owner name of my car, I just fill in a form and post to DVLA. And DVLA will process the doc and post back to me. Done.

• juknittin on Mar 20, 2021 at 9:21 am

Maybe it’s not just JPJ. Maybe because most of people are not used to it yet. Tell me, how many people you think have smartphone nowadays? I bet almost everyone right? but how many use their smartphone for convenience things like MySejahtera scanning instead of writing their name, number, temp on paper? A LOT! Their smartphone is there, you can see it.. in their hands or sticking out from their back pocket.. but they don’t have MySejahtera installed in there and they prefer writing on paper. Why is that? Afraid of digital theft? Like that, don’t use smartphone la.. or computer.. or smart tv.. or anything that can connect to the internet.. just read newspaper and listen to FM radio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Sgt Scoop on Mar 20, 2021 at 10:15 am

Biasa la perangai locals nie… taknak install MySejahtera. tapi Tiktok IG tak pernah terlepas update .. Bile tanye knape taknak install MySejahtera… mcm2 alasan diorang. Afraid of digital theft la? Henpon no memory space la?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • But not all have 4G smartphone, so with lower speed … it is faster to write …

• jusknittin on Mar 22, 2021 at 1:00 pm

You have a point there. Actually the MySejahtera is just an example. The big picture here is that not a lot of people are willing to do things online. I can say that even in my office of around 30 people, I’m the only one who have renewed my car insurance, road tax and driving license online and I started doing it even before the pandemic. If I ask them why they don’t do online, the usual answer I get is “tak pandai la”. Also, I gave up in teaching them how, because I always end up doing it for them instead.

• Tiktok fesbuk kemain terer diowang. bila shopping kat shopee … perggghh. Bila nak seribu daya, bila taknak….

• Brian on Mar 20, 2021 at 2:11 pm

Bcoz JPJ need to verify the colour your actually changing to. Too many cases of car identity theft happens so JPJ is just making damn sure your car is what you said.

• Donut masam on Mar 20, 2021 at 9:25 am

how to describe the colour if the car has pattern like army camouflage? I’ve seen some Audi doing them.

Should it be written like “Warna: Campuran hijau dengan corak-corak ala daun”?

• Popman on Mar 20, 2021 at 9:40 am

Setiap Alun /warna lain berharga rm50. Make sure u see the money masuk pocket, then lepas

• policeman on Mar 20, 2021 at 2:23 pm

Abang-abang memang suka membantu. Itu pon kne ikut orang … bila mintak RM50 dah dpat…kalau 10 orang dah 500 woo’.

• azrai on Mar 20, 2021 at 10:51 am

As I know, a car cannot exceed 3 colours including wrap or decals according to JPJ’s guideline. If your car colour like one of those camouflage which can change colour from purple to gold in hot and sunny day, the chance is you have to go to PUSPAKOM to determined the exact colour before you can proceed to RTD office.

• DipYourCar beard dude on Mar 21, 2021 at 12:49 pm

dip paint nowadays has hypershift colors while viewing from different angle gives you different colors waveband and contrast.

• Ford Mustang Baby Blue on Mar 20, 2021 at 11:32 am

the dominant colour – that covers 60% of the car body.

• Why dont JPJ gi after datuk who heavyly tint the car and modify ekzos

• Brian on Mar 20, 2021 at 2:11 pm

Hellooo. Black tint is now legal no thanks to our useless previous TM.

• Most likely cause datuk either buy JPJ license for black tinted or simply cause they are datuk..

• Ayer Nipah Dawun Khartoum on Mar 21, 2021 at 2:13 pm

Pasting camo vinyl whole car is breaking the military law, standby getting court-martial gud luck civilian….

• Base on my experience, my daily car i using right now was crashed before. Basically, the insurance still cover my accident, even though that was my second color on my car.

• Well. It depends on which insurance company your using. Majority of them are don’t really care about the color, so long the body, engine number of the vehicle matches with the info they have.

• Ahmad on Mar 20, 2021 at 4:35 pm

We declare it just by submitting form K8, why not make it online? Thru mysikap or any necessary site.

• Anonymous on Mar 20, 2021 at 8:38 pm

Since when insurance company take note the of colour of vehicle..? Priority is license and registration, make, model and vin number..!
    Stop talking nonsense…!

• Insurance adjuster will take note of ANYTHING that would help them void insurance coverage so that they escape from paying compensation.

• Ayer Nipah Dawun Khartoum on Mar 21, 2021 at 2:19 pm

That’s how agents enriching themselves while enjoying capitalist lifestyle and annual overseas trips prior to pandemic era….

• I think it’s absurd for insurance company to void the coverage of the vehicle just because of the color change. Let’s be practical. With this ruling it give the insurance an upper hand to just walk away and give excuse for not paying the damage. It’s important before taking the insurance clarify what are not cover and find another insurance which cover it. Color change is between JPJ and owner and if it’s a ruling than saman should be issue but not giving insurance room to walk away.

• That’s how the law work. No win win situation. Capitalist sure win, consumer sure die.

• Just use app and take foto of before and after, why create the hassle to go to jpj…and then the officer uses THE APP! Singaporeans can even use app to do passport… creating another problem to solve the problem.

• Is it foolproof? Morning take it looks grey, noon under bright sunlight it looks hazy whitish, under evening sun it look much darker. So what type of colour should JPJ register under? Multitone kah?

• Bumper on Mar 21, 2021 at 6:08 pm

Just declare lah..