Vehicle end of life policy survey – should cars and bikes over 15/20 years old be scrapped in Malaysia?

Here’s an example of a car that is more than 20 years old.

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS), in conjunction with the Asean New Car Assessment Programme (Asean NCAP) has opened a three-page survey to members of the public regarding vehicle end-of-life (ELV) policies in the country. This subject has been a protracted one – the first voluntary scrapping scheme proposal emerged in 2009, which was retracted following public outcry.

The survey is meant to get our current opinion on the matter of vehicle scrapping – should there be an age limit on vehicles, and if so, how old should they be allowed to run before being scrapped? You can choose when you think cars, bikes and commercial vehicles should be scrapped – between ten to 40 years, or not at all.

The multiple-choice survey puts forth suggested methods for the suggested implementation of the vehicle end-of-life policy in Malaysia, which includes incentivising owners of old vehicles to scrap them, and offering rebates for the purchase of new vehicles in return.

Excerpts from the MIROS/ASEAN NCAP survey

The survey also asks if periodical roadworthiness inspections should be made mandatory for privately owned vehicles (similar to the UK’s annual MOT checks), while other suggestions put forth include increasing insurance premiums for vehicles over ten years of age, limiting the age of vehicles allowed for use on-road, the mandating of ASEAN NCAP testing for vehicles sold in Malaysia, and more.

You may also choose to agree or disagree with the reasons for which such a policy should be implemented, including saving the environment, reducing fuel wastage, stimulating the automotive industry/ecosystem, promote safer vehicles on the roads, etc.

The survey states that “research has shown that the risk of fatal accidents are higher with old vehicles, and that the initiative has been put in motion in most countries to ensure the safety of road users and to promote the sustainability of the automotive industry ecosystem.”

Excerpts from the MIROS/ASEAN NCAP survey

Following the initial proposal in 2009, the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) in 2014 called for a scrappage scheme for old cars, and in 2015 the agency then known as the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) planned to introduce a ‘Cash for Clunkers’ scheme as it eyed an increase in total industry volume (TIV) to 750,000 units at the time. Malaysia’s TIV reached 604,287 units for 2019.

The MAA reiterated its call for a scrappage scheme in 2016, saying at the time that it is important for the automotive industry’s growth.

What’s your stand on proposals for vehicle scrapping schemes in Malaysia? Do you have any older, treasured vehicles which may be under the spotlight of potential future regulations? Have your say in the survey.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• How many times this need to be addressed? Car prices are simply too expensive in Malaysia. Remove taxes, exercises and duties first, then we can talk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 170 Thumb down 4
  • B40 group.. (opps B50 group now?) cannot afford to change car that often. Some of them dont even have alternative because of our poor public transportation.

If you go to rural areas and some of the small town, you can see their livelihood depending on their old and only car which they dont need to pay anymore loan. They cant be bother whether their car meet the ASEAN NCAP test, all the concern is how to survive from day to day.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 1
    • Flawed crash test program on Mar 25, 2021 at 2:38 pm

No matter how many ASEAN NCAP test stars scored by the car, it’s still fatality to the occupants, driver after a larger vehicle rear-ended the car, or large heavy objects dropped onto it. Any NCAP only test the front and side collision scenario.

• Safety First on Mar 26, 2021 at 12:58 am

Get X50. Proven to survive an 180kmph crash. Think proven safety first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • YB Albert on Mar 24, 2021 at 6:49 pm

Now is covidian times.Please dont force people to scrap cars.
    My Toyota is 17 years old..it still performs well with very little repairs except for regular oil change and servicing.
    Perhaps ,a yearly or biennial puspakom inspection would make more sense.
    MAA is influenced by its members,who are new car distributors.Of course,they would love to lobby for car scrapping so that new car sales could spiral upwards.
    Dont judge a book by it cover.Some older cars outperform the 5 year old cars in terms of reliability,fuel consumption and overall servicing costs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 1
    • Sick & Tired on Mar 24, 2021 at 10:10 pm

Car scrapping only happened in 1st world high income country. Malaysia is still 3rd world so no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Ah Chong on Mar 25, 2021 at 6:51 pm

I agree with this. Say no to compulsory scrapping. It’s more environmentally friendly to just keep using it.

Maybe a system where you need to test at puspakom at 10 year, then every 2 year after 15 year, and every year after 25 year. If you have the ability to maintain the car, why not just keep it?

As for B40 group, I know this is a tricky subject, but I don’t think being B40 can just ignore safety/environment, all of us should be responsible. Maybe the government can step in like give free puspakom test.

• Shaun on Mar 30, 2021 at 12:29 am

A lot of energy is needed to make new cars that causes environmental pollution.

Old cars that are well maintained does not consume more energy hence environmental pollution is lessen even though the Co2 emission is slightly more.

Manufacturers want to make monies and sell cars to make fat profits by inciting each countries government to do car scrapping policy in the expense of their citizens suffering to pay installment for new cars .

Only government who does not care about its people hardship and livelihoods will want to keep implementing such scrap policy .

• Dylan on Mar 24, 2021 at 6:56 pm

Disappointed by Malay language only survey.

Economy speaking, yes old cars should be scrapped.

Environmentally speaking, no old cars should not be scrapped. The environmental impact to design and manufacture a new car, I believe out ways the day to day reduction in CO2 emissions, fuel efficiency, etc that a new car brings when compared to an old car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 72
    • ahmadjohnson97 on Mar 24, 2021 at 9:27 pm

You don’t understand Malay language? This survey is for Malaysian people, well unless you’re a foreigner who lives in Malaysia, then too bad for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 16
    • flyer on Mar 24, 2021 at 10:02 pm

you, a malaysian cannot comprehend malay?

can you be say a french citizen but cannot comprehend french? or an australian citizen without comprehension in english?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
    • Ayree on Mar 25, 2021 at 8:37 am

Don’t call yourself malaysian if you don’t understand the NATIONAL LANGUAGE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • hantu raya on Mar 25, 2021 at 8:51 am

its the national language. you hold IC, you gotta know how to speak/write it. deal with it or get out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Jeeves on Mar 27, 2021 at 12:24 am

English is an international language, spoken in Malaysia and other parts of the world. What’s wrong with having the survey in English as well? He maybe an expat with a Malaysian IC, which gives him a right to the subject as well!

Why do you ID10Ts have to make everything about racial issue? Where’s the so called harmony?!

• R Chin on Mar 24, 2021 at 7:08 pm

My youngest car is 18 years old. My youngest motorcycle is 23 years old. I am 60 years old. What do you want to do, scrap me?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 3
    • donno on Mar 24, 2021 at 10:06 pm

suddenly i realized that most of my vehicles are more than 30 years old LoL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Sgt Scoop on Mar 24, 2021 at 7:09 pm

Maybe a scrappage scheme to help those with older cars to upgrade if they want to. There are lots of classic car owners who put a lot of time and money into their cars and don’t want to be forced to scrap them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • We can have a scrap policy but allows citizens to buy a tax free car every 10 years.

The car must be kept for a minimum of 7 years with claw back of the tax savings unless there are special reasons for selling like migration, loss of job, critical illness, etc

Think it will be a fair policy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • Azgarffield on Mar 25, 2021 at 7:55 am

This is a very very fair comment. Implementation would be difficult though, those with money in the first place will be abusing the system. Those with none will drive the one car they could buy for 10 years. Good thinking though, if government sincerely want the people to support the car scrapping policy. I wouldn’t mind to buy a car, keep for 7 years; maybe trade-up for a better used car for 3 years usage before scrapping; and finally buy a new car at the end of 10th year cycle

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 25, 2021 at 12:46 pm

Could be done.

1 onwer 1 car. If said car is over EOL, then on scrappage, they get a certificate of exemption to buy a new car with no taxes.

Of cause, that will open black market certificate trading, but if it is linked to the actual owner, perhaps it can be minimized.

• Sick & Tired on Mar 26, 2021 at 1:01 am

Could be done? You mean same as widespread abuse could be done? Like that proposal to get B40s with petrol subsidy tied to their mykad only to find they could use that to “buy” petrol for rich people.

• Bieight on Mar 24, 2021 at 7:21 pm

Why no English version??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 51
    • Because the last I checked, we’re living in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
    • Kalash on Mar 25, 2021 at 8:24 am

Malaysian but cant understand malay? Do u know any UK citizens can’t understand English? Or Chinese Mainland cant understand chinese? Even nigerian can even understand malay nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • drMpower on Mar 24, 2021 at 7:23 pm

yes. and get the car price low in tandem.
    15 years old and 50% less otr as of now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Roger Munns on Mar 24, 2021 at 7:30 pm

Is there an English language version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 36
  • panjang on Mar 24, 2021 at 8:24 pm

If its not road worthy then by all mean…scrap it.
    I dont mind a car with beat up body still using our roads. When its beat up, lights & indicator not functioning, wheels almost falls off, etc…please enforce to scrap it.

Even if cars are cheap here, i still wont scrap my car if it can still serve me well. Cars are just a liability and we should not renew our liability every now and then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Crasher7 on Mar 24, 2021 at 8:28 pm

Unless they lower the duty, or else this won’t work. See how many people already keeping their aging cars on the road due to new cars being expensive and more difficult to maintain with all the latest gizmos.

Lower the duty, perhaps they can offset lower revenue due to lower duty with more people willing to change cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • ThePolygon on Mar 24, 2021 at 8:29 pm

Just allocate 2 vehicles per IC enough (2 cars or 1 car 1 motor or 2 motors). Any addition please implement the ELV. This way those kampung kampung with old cars or motors no need to worry.. unless they have more than 2 vehicles register under their name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Rakyat on Mar 24, 2021 at 8:55 pm

If a Honda accord is selling RM30k, a student car selling RM12k. Who would want to keep a 20year old corolla?

Our car is damn too expensive to own a new one. No sign of car prices coming down that’s why poeple are keeping their old junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Safe Road for Everyone on Mar 24, 2021 at 9:06 pm

Agreed on scrapping more than 15yrs old car. But if those well mentained should allow them to get exemption after inspection. Like those collectibles, classic car.. etc.

IMHO, every yr sold hundred thousands of cars, and no mention of scrapping old cars, in the long run will jam all our road and increasing polution. But plz also applies to lorries. Many old wooden lorry still using the road.. Omg!

if want to scrap and change car, manufacturer shld give special rebate based on market value of the car, so it wont affect the secondhand value of used car a lot. Or gment shld ask those manufacturer to put some profit to Scrapping Fund. So can use the fund to pay for those who scrap it.

• Yes please introduce the scrappage scheme, not just for cars but for lorries also.
    All cars over 15yrs should be scrapped to ensure the traffic flow is maintained.

Benefits to the economy and also to the manufacturers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
  • azrai on Mar 24, 2021 at 9:13 pm

I don’t care scrapping at whatever age as long as I’m a Menteri. But the truth is I’m not. With low wage and high price car, the best thing to do is a compulsory checkup for 15 years old car and above, once in every 2 to 3 years. And please, don’t limit it to PUSPAKOM only. Old car survive ages becausebthe owner is very careful right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Lejenn on Mar 25, 2021 at 9:06 am

…. and speaking about PUSPAKOM, we all know how easy it is for them to “approve” old untrustworthy lorries right?

• Syazwan on Mar 24, 2021 at 10:02 pm

If well preserved by the owner then it’s okay. Not just about affordability, but also values, sentimental or even collectible value. About old vehicles prone to accident, need to look at statistics. How much because of old vehicles rather than reckless driving or other factors? Some accidents involved just a few months old vehicles while decades old vehicles still not have problem safely cruising the roads because of driving attitude.

• banana on Mar 24, 2021 at 10:03 pm

Baru habis bayar bank loan dah nak dibuang , bodoh betul kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Kariayam on Mar 24, 2021 at 10:12 pm

Many Malaysians have to ride BIKES to office because they have no choice, some upgrade to older cars to increase their safety, and now the government wants to bring back this scheme? What a joke!

• t333son on Mar 24, 2021 at 10:52 pm

All of us here like to have a new car every few years. Some are luckier than others in realising that dream. However not everyone has the luxury of owning a new car. An old jalopy is all they could afford as a means of transportation. To force them to scrap their old banger is punishing the poor imho.

• Retired folks on Mar 24, 2021 at 10:57 pm

My retired parents are in their 70’s and still driving their reliable 16yr old Kelisa. What the government expect them to do? Scrap their cars and take public transport?
    We hardly make ends meet with high cost of living these days, it’s difficult for us to buy another car for our parents :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Buat lah survey dual language. Bukan semua owner classic fhm bm. Aduhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • Owner classic not use smartphone. Owner classic use lagendary classic old nokia 3210. No need to do survey.

• Most owner classic banana?

• Somehow this topic never gets old and every now and then gets resurrected back again.

• Tan Sri on Mar 24, 2021 at 11:43 pm

Lower the tax of the car first. Msian not high inc ome country and the public transport not competitive

• kanazai2001 on Mar 25, 2021 at 8:18 am

scrap vip/vvip’s exotic antique cars 1st…
    reduce the new car price after that…
    n make MT available for all ICE car model…

• Lejenn on Mar 25, 2021 at 8:26 am

I can understand the logic why old, untrustworthy, unsafe cars needs to be scrapped. It’s also better for the environment, newer cars are cleaner and uses less fuel. But the correct system must be in place:
    1. lower car taxes, at least ASEAN cars.
    2. remove PUSPAKOM’s monopoly. They can just “simply” ensure your old vehicle pass. We all know how that works.
    3. give us rebate for scrapping our old cars

• No, no scraping policy that purely targeting old vehicles. Even less than 5 year old, not so well maintained, are dangerous to be on the road.

• Felix on Mar 25, 2021 at 9:15 am

I try to fill out the survey, but I am stuck at question D34 as per below … I have no idea why 2~7 years car need to go for inspection and how it related to this topic, I am expecting option for 15 years, 20 years or 30 years.

D34. Pada pendapat anda, apakah kekerapan pemeriksaan berkala yang sesuai untuk kenderaan persendirian *
    Setiap tahun selepas usia kenderaan dua (2) tahun
    Setiap tahun selepas usia kenderaan lima (5) tahun
    Setiap tahun selepas usi kenderaan tujuh(7) tahun
    Setiap tahun selepas usi kenderaan sembilan(9) tahun

• Just putting in my thoughts here –

In other countries, like the UK for example, all cars whether they’re brand new or over 20 years of age would need to have their car MOT checked. They’re required to annually check if the car is in working order – the basics. This ensures that on the road cars are safe for road users. Most importantly, this can be done at any certified workshops that can carry out these MOT checks.

I believe that this would be a good system. But the downside of it is that:
      1. It requires an additional layer of cost and time for the road user
      2. Enables authorities to check the car – inside and out (no more dark tinted windows, loud exhausts, unregulated turbo installations etc.)

More to write, but cant be bothered anymore. I’ll let the trolls add on…

• Sick & Tired on Mar 26, 2021 at 1:07 am

I will wait for that funky story of UK Mekdees part time worker can afford to get a brand new Mercedes.

• From mechanical point of view, old cars are not necessarily unsafe to be driven around.. It depends on the maintenance.. If the owners take care of them, they will serve long of years unless they are made of clay.. I speak from my own experience.. I service and fix my cars myself though I am not a mechanic. Unsurprisingly, there are cars with 5 years of service gasping for breath since the owners just beat the hell out of them wothout even servicing them..

• Good concept, but first, need to introduce new tax structure to accommodate that.
    second thing, need to limit the loan tenure, maybe maximum 5 years. Its not worth it to scrap your car after just a year finished paying for it.

• Annoynimouse on Mar 25, 2021 at 10:11 am

Consumer’s interest and road safety are paramount.

Some cars are built better than others. Any vehicle scrapping scheme has to take this into account. The inspection system ala MOT can help. When a user finds that the cost of maintaining their MOT certificate is no longer worthwhile or economical, then they can consider scrapping and buying a new car. That would be fair. We don’t want unsafe cars on the road.

Some countries actually reward car owners who maintain their old cars in good condition and save the cost of recycling. Recycling is not free unless there is demand from some other third world country who is willing to pay for our scraps. By the way, are we still taking in garbage from other countries?

Cars that are classics or future classics hold their values high (anyone checked the price of a fully restored Evo 6 lately?). Car restorations is a serious business nowadays and it can diversify the country’s auto industry. Check out PT’s coverage on DSR.

If you own lets say, an R34 Skyline or an old Evo… surely its going to be more valuable than a regular vios or Altis over a given time no? Some may even appreciate in price. So, what’s going to be the policy on this?

• Turbohead25 on Mar 25, 2021 at 11:20 am

Please don’t scrap my Evo 9.

• Looking at safety points of view, entry level cars in 2021 have the same or better technology as premium car 10 years ago.

Even how good you maintain your 15 years old kelisa or 30 years old saga, if vehicle from opposite direction loss control and hit you heads on, you’ll be regret not to buy cars with better safety specs like airbags and ABS.

MIROS is safety research institute, that is their angle looking into this matter. Don’t ask MIROS to study the tax structure, etc. It’s not their field of expertise. MOT has to assess the survey result and come up with a good policy for Malaysia, regardless they know howvto read Malay language or not.

• Mr Cent-sible on Mar 25, 2021 at 12:13 pm

My current daily is Toyota Corolla valued only at RM4000. If I sold my trusty Toyota, what can I buy with RM4000? Maybe just a basic kapchai.

So, who in the right mind trading this car (with AC, protection from element, takes 4 adult comfortably, with cargo space, etc) for a kapchai??

I figure I would gain much lesser if I scrap my Toyota.

All in all, even the scrapping scheme is promoted 365 day a year, nobody will take the bait.

• anonymous_c on Mar 25, 2021 at 2:49 pm

click because that is one fine looking Toyota Altezza / Lexus IS200

• Blowking on Mar 25, 2021 at 8:40 pm

I am all for scrapping. Too many old unsafe cars and even lorries plying the road. Put a max of 15 years.

• Hoooo on Mar 28, 2021 at 2:14 pm

Can if you remove car duty tax only talk