New RM 5,000 voluntary scrapping incentive under RM 60 billion Mini Budget 2009

Today’s new Mini Budget stimulus package announced by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak totaled to RM60 billion and as expected, it includes the proposed voluntary scrap scheme.

Anyone who scraps their cars which are older than 10 years will receive a RM5,000 discount to buy a new car, but only a new Proton or Perodua. Those who are looking at Nazas, Kias, Hyundais, Toyota, Honda or even a Chinese vehicle despite being CKD and have invested in Malaysia will not qualify. There is also zero incentive for those looking at a newer 2nd hand car, even if it is a Perodua or Proton.

No further details were announced – it’s best to go to your Proton or Perodua dealer to find out how you can scrap your car for the discount and whether all you’re going to get is RM 5,000 or you’ll get to keep the scrap value amount plus the RM 5,000. Scrapping your car could earn you perhaps RM 1,000 or more so that would be an extra bonus to the RM 5,000, but my guess it you won’t get any extra cash.

Proton already has a scrapping scheme running since the year 2007 called Proton XChange where old cars over 10 years old and owned by the owner for at least 6 months, registered and roadworthy can be traded in for RM 5,000 and so far up to 2,700 of such discounts have been issued. Once a car has been surrendered to Proton under the scheme it will be de-registered from the Road Transport Department and scrapped. As of now, Proton will still run its Proton XChange scheme, so essentially it will be the same thing as the government’s scrapping scheme. When I say the same, it truly is almost the same as part of the RM5k will be born by Proton and Perodua and the rest by the government, as with the Proton XChange program.

Other than the scrapping incentive scheme, the govt will also be pumping in an additional RM 200 million into the Automotive Industry Development Fund.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i just bought a recon odesey 2003 @ RM130k, which mean another next 3yrs my odessy worth 5k nia ah???

waaaaa…si beh cham!!

• mitlanevo on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:35 am

a plan to boost sales of P1 and P2, haha…..

but sounds good, at least it is 5000, not 500…….

• David on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:48 am

200m more in proton….sounds like a last ditch attempt to drain all tax payers money before they lose power.

• edwindudley2003 on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:51 am

is it just RM5000 or RM5000 + current market value of the vehicle ?

• Paul Tan on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:52 am

It is just RM5k. This probably targets really old cars that can only fetch 2-3K in value, that way you profit.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:54 am

[quote comment="219381"]200m more in proton….sounds like a last ditch attempt to drain all tax payers money before they lose power.[/quote]

please read it properly la, i think it really looks sad when people simple post without understanding what they're reading.. the 200mil is for the automotive vendor community.. these are the same people who also supply to perodua, naza, toyota, honda.. etc.. and anyone else who CKD in malaysia.

plus the scrapping is 100% voluntary.. if you have a roadworthy car, thats worth less than RM5,000 and older than 10 years, and youre thinking of buying a new car.. it would make sense to scrap the car, and get RM5,000 discount from buying either a new perodua, or proton.

• chaku on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:09 am

[quote comment="219375"]i just bought a recon odesey 2003 @ RM130k, which mean another next 3yrs my odessy worth 5k nia ah???

waaaaa…si beh cham!![/quote]

please re read the article..i think u dun understand the whole point of the scheme.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:24 am

IMHO, TCO would be differ after 5 years of owning a new and current!

Let say current car value at $3,000, after 5years still may fetch $2,000. But a national car might depreciate more in 2nd hand market(new $30,000 but after 5years $22,000 or less). [Calc: $30K-$5K=$25K, 5years loan repayment would amounted to $27.5K(60month, 2% interest); $5.5K would be depreciated after OTR.]

And a new car under loan must insured 1st party where an old car(fully paid) can opt 3rd party… Assume 1 year for new $30K car(1st party) is $300, 5years means $1,500 gone! But an old car, maybe just a mere $200 per year(or less) and $1,000 for 5years coverage.. $100 per year difference meant a lot for some families…

• Tiadaid on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:31 am

[quote comment="219375"]i just bought a recon odesey 2003 @ RM130k, which mean another next 3yrs my odessy worth 5k nia ah???

waaaaa…si beh cham!![/quote]

The key is, the car is worth LESS than 5K to begin with! If your Odyssey is worth more than 5K when you want to sale in 3 years time it will worth whatever it is worth. Oh man…read 1st before posting la…

• dothan on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:34 am

What transformer said is true…. the TCO is really much higher. This is also where the idea kicks in, keep the money rolling! Anyhow, owning a new car is also not a bad thing. Imagine you get a better fuel consumption (depends on what model) and more equipped (also depends on what spec) :)

• nabill on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:18 am

buying a new car is the worst investment u take financially…how u calculate it , u will loose big time in terms of everyting , beter Fc al that , doesnt make much difference , u take loan for 100k , after 9 years total ur paying back sting like 160k…n u sel ur car for abt 20/30% of the original value , bt its convinient bcos its monthly installment , if u have cash , buy a good 2nd hand car, u will loose ofcourse , bt nowehre near wen buying a new car…thats my idea that i always follow..always let the first owner suffer the big financial slap…btw now alot of banks got so many cars for sell…those repossed from owners who cants pay up…not a good sign!

• nabill on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:21 am

btw jus curios , y this mini budget is announced by najib rather than pm like every yearly budget??

• hairaul on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:24 am

[quote comment="219409"]btw jus curios , y this mini budget is announced by najib rather than pm like every yearly budget??[/quote]

because he's the new Finance Minister maaa….

• nafiiio on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:26 am

[quote comment="219409"]btw jus curios , y this mini budget is announced by najib rather than pm like every yearly budget??[/quote]

cause Najib is the current Finance Minister and also soon to be PM ..

news sound good to me .. wanna trade my old saga with neo cps .. hehe

• infinity on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:31 am

if u wan to calculate the way transformer calculate, then u no need change car d…

this incentive is good for those owning cars which is less than RM5000 in value…and at the same time thinking of changing car…and at the same time have the budget to get a new car..

transformer's calculation is only applicable for those NOT planning to change car as his/her old car still very good and suits him/her very well, but since got this RM5000 incentive, he/she changes the old car…not to say by changing new car will make them poorer in the sense of wat is explained by transformer..i hope u guys get wat i mean..

• Good Or Bad on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:31 am

5K cannot buy good quality car? if the car can tahan 15 – 20 yrs why need the 5 k?

• infinity on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:34 am

fyi, the yearly budget is announced by the finance minister, not the prime minister…however, it might due to coincidence, pak lah was the finance minister during the past few budgets….and b4 tat, when tun dr m was the PM, he was the finance minister as well…

and now…najib is the finance minister, thus the mini-budget was announced by him..

• [quote comment="219409"]btw jus curios , y this mini budget is announced by najib rather than pm like every yearly budget??[/quote]

because najib is now our finance minister.. duh..

• noAP4u on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:40 am

Bcos Najib is Minister of Finance, just as Pak Lah was each time he presented the Budget. They swapped roles last year (Defence for Finance).

This scheme is only appealing if the RM5000 is over and above the old junk's market value. Otherwise it's pointless. Extra RM1-2k over what one's car can fetch in the open market is not appealing enough to commit to another 5-7 years of monthly repayments.

• Littlefire on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:41 am

Actually once confirm using the Auto-scrapping policies, second hand market value will drop even faster. This is common sense, who want to buy your car more than RM5k if they know scrap only got a rebate of that value only? Secondhand dealer will those 10 years car less than RM5k and will not take or sell ur car higher. Why want to rugi?

Only for those car which are consider classic or high-value, will be trade between owners. It will almost like Singapore, Japan and even UK.. Scrapping policies is voluntary but in the end your car is just a junk. Just like those half-cut shops laying around Malaysia where those car come from and why so cheap? Coz it is all scrapped car and sell as junk at overseas!

• bmpower on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:41 am

mini wasn't a 'mini'. but i surely doubt about where the money will be go.

• noAP4u on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:47 am

[quote comment="219419"][quote comment="219409"]btw jus curios , y this mini budget is announced by najib rather than pm like every yearly budget??[/quote]

Bcos Najib is Minister of Finance, just as Pak Lah was each time he presented the Budget. They swapped roles last year (Defence for Finance).

This scheme is only appealing if the RM5000 is over and above the old junk's market value. Otherwise it's pointless. Extra RM1-2k over what one's car can fetch in the open market is not appealing enough to commit to another 5-7 years of monthly repayments.[/quote]

Addendum: Unless if your old junk is the Proton Tiara lah… An owner sold his to a scrap metal collector last year for RM800. (And that was when metal prices were still high) — True account!

• muryadi on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:00 am

For those who still cannot afford to buy a brand new P1 or P2 car they will stick with their so called old car.

I think demands for cars that worth below RM5K will be always be there.

The cheapest Proton Saga-BLM still RM31.5 K. Still expensive for some people.

• micheal on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:08 am

[quote comment="219428"]For those who still cannot afford to buy a brand new P1 or P2 car they will stick with their so called old car.

The cheapest Proton Saga-BLM still RM31.5 K. Still expensive for some people.[/quote]

buy tata nano! hahahaa

keep the car if you want la sayang…

• CFA28 on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:08 am

Actually, this scheme is good for ppl with cars that are not in very good running condition where no second hand car shops want. Example, cars that have many bangs here and there and are already more than 10 years old.

Some cars, which are non-Asian in origin and are not very well kept, no 2-hand dealer will want but under this scheme, at least they get RM5K.

The problem with Proton XChange scheme is that the cars eligible are like Perdana, Savvy and Gen2, not exactly the family type of car. However, heard that Saga was added to the list. Hopefully, with this incentive announced by the Govt, it will be extended to all their cars like Persona, Waja and Saga if not already added.

To all the detractors, please note that it is strictly voluntary. No one will force you to scrap your current ride unless you opt to.

• layek on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:09 am

What is a CKD?

• muryadi on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:15 am

[quote comment="219431"][quote comment="219428"]For those who still cannot afford to buy a brand new P1 or P2 car they will stick with their so called old car.

The cheapest Proton Saga-BLM still RM31.5 K. Still expensive for some people.[/quote]

buy tata nano! hahahaa

keep the car if you want la sayang…[/quote]

Tata nano tak termasuk pulak, cuma P1 and P2.

Tapi kalau betul dapat RM5 K rebet baguslah jugak, just make sure those who wants to do that, really can afford to pay the monthly installments.

• Maibatsu Thunder on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:48 am

Only for Proton & Perodua? Why ask others to invest in CKD then? Land, Structure, Machinery, Manpower. I don't understand the plan.

• nabill on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:54 am

so moral of the story is , if ur planning to buy a new car p1 or p2 , buy a tiara first , its around 2000….scrapit for 5000 , u make 3000 thus reducing ur new car cost….

• Infinitt on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:06 am

good for some people who want to buy new car if they have no value kereta buruk.

• eezarm on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:50 am

one good side of it, people with old cars now will be able to get discounts for new P1 n P2 cars. (RM 5K less)

bad thing is, it will encourage many people to start new hutang (loan) with the banks. usually, people with old cars are free from bank loans and manage to spend their money/salary for other purpose.

• sleme on Mar 11, 2009 at 2:08 pm

I wonder how the government will justify this in light of AFTA. We are still in breach due to the continual protection offered to Proton and Perodua in terms of tax structure. With this it becomes worse. Its full protectionism.

I dont agree with this scheme here. I think money can be better channelled elsewhere. We do not have a position like in the US where the cars are just not selling and steps need to be taken to move the cars off the lots. Here, car sales are not too badly affected due to still cheap financing available. In any event, Proton is already carrying out such a scheme thus it would mean that they will have factored in the scrapping cost when they sell a new car. Why does the government then need to pump in the money directly in this manner?

I believe this is again an ill-thought knee-jerk so called plan by this inept government who does not see any shame in doing u-turns in their policies.

One would think that in soft market conditions, cheap car manufacturers like Proton and Perodua (who are existingly protected via tax structure) would be able to capitalise and do well as for people who NEED a new car would take it rather than a premium model.

• mr_h8 on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:00 pm

is this incentive open to abuse?buy an old datsun for 1k then scrap it for the 5k incentive..save 4k what

• _xXx_ on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:05 pm

[quote comment="219444"]so moral of the story is , if ur planning to buy a new car p1 or p2 , buy a tiara first , its around 2000….scrapit for 5000 , u make 3000 thus reducing ur new car cost….

[/quote]

dream on….all Tiara now 7k oledi. You think 2nd car dealers stoopid or wat?

• azrai on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:07 pm

What happened to the deregistered car? Any transparency on this matter?

• antony on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:09 pm

discount RM5K + old car value ? or old car just worth RM5K ?

if all old car (>10yrs) in malaysia worth RM 5K only, then better buy old branded car like bmw, benz, ……

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:15 pm

[quote comment="219443"]Only for Proton & Perodua? Why ask others to invest in CKD then? Land, Structure, Machinery, Manpower. I don't understand the plan.[/quote]

maybe because they're malaysian companies? and who spend the highest in terms of investment in the country?

do you see the US giving funds to honda, or toyota in the US..etc? they are all going thru hard times now as well, plant closures, layoffs… but have also invested heavily in the US.

• why there are still stupid ppl asking fag questions like why not CKD?

• Maibatsu,

You don't neet to understand, you are "japanese" :)

It is to help local car company…

CKD=completely knocked down – cars that are assembled in Malaysia from mostly imported metal body parts (that has been "knocked down" or shipping).

• rexis on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:34 pm

[quote comment="219448"]good for some people who want to buy new car if they have no value kereta buruk.[/quote]

Yea rite, we must have a lot of car owners who have a no value not road worthy car and they will rush to proton or perodua dealers soon after this news announced, and then this will save the market.

Imho only the 200m is considered well spent.

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:02 pm

this is completely hopeless ..

in the midst of this economy crisis, who will be thinking want to buy a new car when they cant able to feed themselves .. ??

unless you are rich and you are not affected by the economy crisis, and yes you have a car that is more than 10 years old ..

idiot G ..

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:03 pm

and i think they r doing this coz some Proton models are not "laku" ..

e.g. savvy, gen2 etc etc ..

so they have to push those models out ..

or else the whole proton will sink ..

• lambov,

still give the same unfounded claims…..

give us your statistics

as far as I know protn and perodua are in top spots for vehicle sales in the country.

• boncs on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:31 pm

buying a new car is the worst investment u take financially…how u calculate it , u will loose big time in terms of everyting , beter Fc al that , doesnt make much difference , u take loan for 100k , after 9 years total ur paying back sting like 160k…n u sel ur car for abt 20/30% of the original value , bt its convinient bcos its monthly installment , if u have cash , buy a good 2nd hand car, u will loose ofcourse , bt nowehre near wen buying a new car…thats my idea that i always follow..always let the first owner suffer the big financial slap…btw now alot of banks got so many cars for sell…those repossed from owners who cants pay up…not a good sign!

you are totally correct ..

• The Unicons (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:32 pm

Hey those who don't understand about the news please don't simply post here. David for example. The news said the govt will also be pumping in an additional RM 200 million into the Automotive Industry Development Fund. NOT PROTON.

To lambov12, the scrapping scheme RM5000 is for those who buy new Proton and Perodua car. Why everything link to Proton? Please read the news carefully.

Please wake up! Some people still don't know our new Finance Minister is who. Funny.

• lambov12,

don't just call others idiot. it will point back to you.

if they cannot afford it, then they are other part of the stimulus that can help.

for those who are not affected (there are plenty – govt servants for instance), they could buy a new car, and contribute to help local economy…

I am a little bit affected by the economic crisis, but still thinking of getting the Exora :)

• dzulx on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:36 pm

[quote comment="219522"]this is completely hopeless ..

in the midst of this economy crisis, who will be thinking want to buy a new car when they cant able to feed themselves .. ??

unless you are rich and you are not affected by the economy crisis, and yes you have a car that is more than 10 years old ..

idiot G ..[/quote]

Dear lambov..

I think u missed the point here. People hold their money firmer nowadays and thats not good for the economy. The intention here is to make them spending more money to boost internal demand and to circulate more money in the economy.

And by the way this policy is targeting those who can afford to buy a new car in current situation but choose not to as a precaution. Its not a mandatory policy to force poor people. If you could barely feed urself why bother with new car at the first place regardless of the policy.

This is the best time for govt to spend more and more money to circulate more fund in the economy.

Well you see this policy is not new. Most of the developed country implemented this long ago and perhaps some of them even make it mandatory.

Your comments shows that ur not aware of what happening in the world or u just like to bash whatever govt is doing regardless of how good and bad it is.

• The Unicons,

probably lambov was busy driving his Lambo. :P

• [quote comment="219522"]this is completely hopeless ..

idiot G ..[/quote]

better than g need to bailout proton once again bcoz theres nobody gone to buy any p1 cars… and none of us got any benefit if g need to bailout p1, at least this incentive give some benefit to us and at the same time can help p1 and p2 to generate sales.

• lowprofile on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:45 pm

for those whose car is worth less than 5k now, it is good news… but only if they trade up for a new proton or perodua. but if the car is worth more than 5k like maybe a good condition corolla 1.3xl or sunny 1.3 extra of 1985, the value may be even more… perhaps rm6k? for those with cars like these, it is better to sell off to direct buyers. still, it is good news as the gov has somewhat 'fixed' the minimum value of all old cars at rm5k (this is grey area and open to other views). imagine this, a tiara which was worth just 2.5k a few days earlier has doubled its value!! why am i saying this? it is because if the buyer doesn't want the car at 5k, the owner can then just trade it in to proton or perodua for a new car. no questions asked!! the tiara owner may lose if the main intention is to just sell and not trade in. then the buyer has the upper hand (slightly) in the negotiation.

but for just proton and perodua (which is nothing more than a re-badged daihatsu)? i think this is unfair as there are also other locally badged cars the (206 for example) which have sacrificed their international brand name for nothing and faced numerous criticisms for the re-badging exercise from peugeot fans. they too should qualify for this. the kia forte which could be badged as a naza should also qualify right? what difference is there between the myvi and forte in terms of execution? both are assembled with little change made over the original models. shouldn't malaysians get the 5k off for the forte as well? afterall, there is also huge investment to bring those cars in, investment to set up fcilities and to support local vendors and malaysians who are paid to work in those facilities.

• Used car dealers with lots of 10+ year old proton/perodua must be laughing to the bank. Imagine, some of these are currently selling for 2/3K and for a long time it will not depreciate but instead appreciate, they can now sell them for 3/4K.

We can go buy a 15 YO car for 4K , use for 6 months. Switch to a Proton/Perodua and get 5K discount. You may not even need to do that , because some smart alec will come up with some ways to help you get discount by falsifying ownership of this 10+ YO car for a fee of say 1K.

Easy money.

• Dont think this would help d sales coz if d econ gets worst ppl would b saving

money & cant afford to add more debts. Y save rm5k when u still hv to pay

few 100+ monthly for few years loan if ur old car still good?

& is it all d P1/P2 model incl those cheap 1 like viva or it only applies to those

pricing from RM40k onwards?

• gattaca on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:19 pm

[quote comment="219432"]

The problem with Proton XChange scheme is that the cars eligible are like Perdana, Savvy and Gen2, not exactly the family type of car. However, heard that Saga was added to the list. Hopefully, with this incentive announced by the Govt, it will be extended to all their cars like Persona, Waja and Saga if not already added..[/quote]

all models are included..

• Alifz on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:25 pm

[quote comment="219537"]

but for just proton and perodua (which is nothing more than a re-badged daihatsu)? i think this is unfair as there are also other locally badged cars the (206 for example) which have sacrificed their international brand name for nothing and faced numerous criticisms for the re-badging exercise from peugeot fans. they too should qualify for this. the kia forte which could be badged as a naza should also qualify right? what difference is there between the myvi and forte in terms of execution? both are assembled with little change made over the original models. shouldn't malaysians get the 5k off for the forte as well? afterall, there is also huge investment to bring those cars in, investment to set up fcilities and to support local vendors and malaysians who are paid to work in those facilities.[/quote]

Man, in Malaysia Automotive Industry only 3 names was declared officilialy by Malaysia Government, which is PROTON, PERODUA and NAZA RIA (which means only NAZA RIA entitled as national car)

• SCO (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:25 pm

Just curious, won't this be some form of "special treatment" to local automotive industry? Thought AFTA will no allow anything like this?

Won't Thailand gives strong protest towards Malaysia for having this only for P1 & P2?

• bmpower on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:29 pm

old saga still sell within RM3.5 – 5.5K , tiara are almost below 4K.

If you want to buy a New Saga (cheapest proton model for now perhaps).. buy a tiara first at 3K.

then, go to p1 outlet, trade-in with new saga. You got extra 2K for your good there. :D

• bmpower on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:33 pm

[quote comment="219543"]Just curious, won't this be some form of "special treatment" to local automotive industry? Thought AFTA will no allow anything like this?

Won't Thailand gives strong protest towards Malaysia for having this only for P1 & P2?[/quote]

Its also about = not letting our internal money to fly outside. It's good for malaysian and malaysia economy. Thailand can do that if they wanted to, but they had no national car. They just must buy from outsiders (even toyota factory there). The fact are, all those money will fly to Japan.

Do you know how much money Japan got from their Auto industries?

BILLIONS PER YEAR. Now imagine if our money fly there millions per year.. we will flat poor later too… (well.. we know bout other income, but this is a part of economy)

• Littlefire on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:34 pm

Talk about transparency,

How do we know that our car is scrapped? They might use the old car to help other ppl get RM5k discount or sell the old car again to gain own profit…

Even we hand up the grant to them, will they demolish it in front of the user to confirm?!?

• I have an 10 year old car, but was hoping the scrapping to be extended to CKD models.

For now though, it's not a time to take on extra loan repayments.

• Maibatsu Thunder on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Japanese? Daihatsu Motor Co & Mitsui own 51% of Perodua Auto Corporation Sdn. Bhd. The remaining 49% is owned by Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn. Bhd. (Perodua) of which 28.42% is again Daihatsu Motor Co. & Mitsui. The remainder are UMW, PNB, MBM and Daihatsu (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd. Hmmm!

• Alifz on Mar 11, 2009 at 6:39 pm

That's why. Last nite even Pemuda PAS leader saying they willing to co-operate but they required government to be transparent on this stimulus package, if else they won't share their brain.

• dzulx on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:08 pm

Well my concern is, is it justifiable to spend tax payer money for this policy.

Obviously it help to boost the internal demand, but then we have to admit that its only make the rich richer (i.e proton stakeholder) and the poor deeper in debt.

Well maybe the financial expert discussed this thoroughly and justify that indeed pumping in money to Proton, perodua indirectly will secure job for millions of people under their wing and the vendors as well.

But another question I would like to raise why only automobile industry. Why not other industries, let say rebate for buying house, rebate for buying electrical appliance or rebate for anything related to ailing industry.

Well sincere debate would be most welcome to discuss the justification of favoring auto industry

• Azlan Aziz on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:13 pm

gosh… amazing how anything said by the govt these days attract so much scepticism… i donno if this helps, but please note the use of the words "trade in" and "discount"

Maybe Paul can attach the english version of the excerpt available on the MOF website for the ease of those who find it difficult to understand the malay excerpt above.

• [quote comment="219538"]Used car dealers with lots of 10+ year old proton/perodua must be laughing to the bank. Imagine, some of these are currently selling for 2/3K and for a long time it will not depreciate but instead appreciate, they can now sell them for 3/4K.

We can go buy a 15 YO car for 4K , use for 6 months. Switch to a Proton/Perodua and get 5K discount. You may not even need to do that , because some smart alec will come up with some ways to help you get discount by falsifying ownership of this 10+ YO car for a fee of say 1K.

Easy money.[/quote]

Sir,

the key word is "discount".. no money will be given to the owner. It would be as a discount to buy the new car. read in the name of God! :) …

• [quote comment="219553"]Well my concern is, is it justifiable to spend tax payer money for this policy.

Obviously it help to boost the internal demand, but then we have to admit that its only make the rich richer (i.e proton stakeholder) and the poor deeper in debt.

Well maybe the financial expert discussed this thoroughly and justify that indeed pumping in money to Proton, perodua indirectly will secure job for millions of people under their wing and the vendors as well.

But another question I would like to raise why only automobile industry. Why not other industries, let say rebate for buying house, rebate for buying electrical appliance or rebate for anything related to ailing industry.

Well sincere debate would be most welcome to discuss the justification of favoring auto industry[/quote]

Sir,

Paul only quote those speech that have to do with the automotive industry because this is what this blog is all about. For the rest of the stimulus package read http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/3…

• For automotive industry , 200million out of 16 billion allocated.

• kemosabe on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:51 pm

When you have a person being the PM and the Finance Minister at the same time, he will have absolute power, and for you readers out there I hope you know what absolute power will lead to.

Anyways I think this RM5,000 discount is to put more taxpayers money into Proton as the article says the discount would be part subsidize by the Gov to Proton.

As for Perodua they are already doing good, so this RM5k discount would certainly boost their earnings and market share.

As for this scheme applies only to Proton and Perodua, I think its fair, but it would better if the Gov lowers the import duties on other car companies as well to encourage public spending for those looking for a more up market vehicle.

• SCO (Member) on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:54 pm

[quote comment="219546"][quote comment="219543"]Just curious, won't this be some form of "special treatment" to local automotive industry? Thought AFTA will no allow anything like this?

Won't Thailand gives strong protest towards Malaysia for having this only for P1 & P2?[/quote]

Its also about = not letting our internal money to fly outside. It's good for malaysian and malaysia economy. Thailand can do that if they wanted to, but they had no national car. They just must buy from outsiders (even toyota factory there). The fact are, all those money will fly to Japan.

BILLIONS PER YEAR. Now imagine if our money fly there millions per year.. we will flat poor later too… (well.. we know bout other income, but this is a part of economy)[/quote]

That would be nice if the fund "flow into" the right channel, but I always have this feeling that P1 is merely draining $$; particularly to many corrupted management's own bank account who take kickbacks (jacking up price for no reason and yet stopping P1 from progressing/growing, which is the main reason of total failure after 20 years of being ). Imagine they had been receiving government support (which is actually whole nation/malaysian support, not like Hyundai) yet still going nowhere (I mean the money is going nowhere, wrong places) I'm just praying hard that those people are nowhere near P1 premises anymore!!

Else, it's either money to Japan, or money to some Swiss Account, no difference to me…. What good is it to Malaysia?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:02 pm

[quote comment="219547"]Talk about transparency,

How do we know that our car is scrapped? They might use the old car to help other ppl get RM5k discount or sell the old car again to gain own profit…

Even we hand up the grant to them, will they demolish it in front of the user to confirm?!?[/quote]

the question i wanna ask you is, how do you know they don't have a proper and transparent system in place?

besides that, i cant imagine proton wanting to take the trouble to sell these old "scrap" cars.

• azrai on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:18 pm

It is not RM5k per car that gov give to proton. instead it is reduction in excise tax of those cars. So for example, instead of RM15k per car the g collected from those taxes, it is now only RM10k minus those RM5k incentive. So the g still make money when people buy new car.

• john mclane on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:27 pm

I have a working 15 years old Saga…and pay less than RM100 for monthly maintenance…why i want to change my car to another Saga which put loan burden in my life where i worry about eat and stay…

I am not stupid to support those supplier who squeeze my hard earn money…anyhow, my tax is gone there, but thats not my control, and when they run of of tax income, will see what they do…

Someone might get some junk car, split the 5K with checking body…hahaha…crazy country we are living. Malaysia Apa-pun-Boleh!

Praying for the no-hope policies…

• nabill on Mar 11, 2009 at 8:54 pm

dont wory abt ur taxes.its been wasted long ago on way too many tings…lets not be naive !

• Salamander on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:23 pm

If Im not mistaken, Income tax is only contribute a small percentage of overall national income. Most of the income come from Company Tax and Oil

Therefor, this move is quite favourable to us consumer.

• hazxkh on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:24 pm

NEW !12 years loan from naza for its Citra ….hahaha ….at the end turn to 5k only..

irrelevant

then the second hand priced up …more than 5k maybe…. kill the trading car economy

mini bajet … the proof of protected economy…. y dont just halau jer t & h & n and other foreign brand …. then give discount to to a bike …

then Malaysia turn to 4th world country… Just imagine….lol

• Littlefire on Mar 11, 2009 at 9:31 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, Why cannot?

I see a lot of loophole, first of all some of the cars are not "junk" might still can drive around and in good shape.

Second, the rebate money is direct discount from the car. So they might claim the old car already scrapped, but behind they sell it to another poor person who are ready to pay around RM1-3k (Extra income for the Sales person).

Third, who will scrap all these "Junk" and how to confirm it will go to those scrapper?

Grant are knew can be remake, my father old car grant 1 time missing went to police station make a report and a new car grant is made (*Runner job). Once you have a grant, u can sell that car again!

I think is better that the scrapper/dealer/JPJ make a list of all those car that already scraped, so that the previous owner knew that his car is in proper hand.

• wakenabeb on Mar 11, 2009 at 10:06 pm

wah! hot topic i'm the 76th :P

• Walter Ang on Mar 11, 2009 at 10:16 pm

I called up proton today to clarify how the above works.

I was told of the following by the customer care line personnel:-

1. The car must be in good running condition

2. The car must be certified by PUSPAKOM

3. The RM5,000 will be given for purchase of new Proton or Perodua.

4. The old car will become scrap metal!

I further ask the personnel what if my car (Iswara 1998) can be sold around RM7K? Do I get the trade in value + the RM5K? This will be ultimately the carrot to entice me to change to a new car.

She replied if I go thru the car scrapping scheme, I only get RM5K.

What is the purpose then to set the conditions 1 & 2 above, if the car is to be scrap???Why the hassle? And I think no one will take it unless the car is very old and worth less than RM5K???!!!

But then again can they pass the tests i.e. in good running condition and certified by PUSPAKOM!!!

Is the govt sincere in helping the rakyat purchase new cars!!!???

I believe all the comments posted here are relevant. 90% feels the criteria sucks! except for RT though.

TOMMYBOY

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 11, 2009 at 10:21 pm

[quote comment="219603"]BanyakMasukWorkshop, Why cannot?

I see a lot of loophole, first of all some of the cars are not "junk" might still can drive around and in good shape.

.[/quote]

i'm not saying cannot ;) of course can la.. we all know in malaysia.. with the right connections and money, all your dreams can come true.

i'm just saying is.. we dont know for sure if the proper transparent procedures are in place already or not. so for us to question, is not entirely fair also. we could be talking about the hundreds of loopholes till the cows come home, but it will be quite silly if we then find out they have a good system in place already to check abuse.

maybe paul can get some info on this and let us know.

• not proton fan on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:49 am

Walter, you cannot have it both times. If your car is worth RM7K, the sell it for RM7K. You cannot be serious when you say you want RM7K plus another RM5K for the same car.

The purpose of scraping a car is to remove an old (but still road worthy) car from the road. If your car is not road worthy, then its not called scraping. Btw, you can easily "kau tim" puspakom staff if your car has some problems during inspections.

• Maibatsu Thunder on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:55 am

I'd rather go for the Instant Cash Rewards promo if I were in the market for a car. Several colleagues have made bookings already.

• androndraco on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:01 am

this mini budget is announced by najib because he is now our finance minister

• androndraco on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:04 am

(continue from above comment) … who will become our next prime minister

• CFA28 on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:47 am

Actually guys, if you have so-called scrap your car and the your name has been deleted from the car registration, does it really matter what happens to the Car?

Its the same when you sell the car right. Once sold, its not your problem so once so called scrap, why even bother to ask what happens to the car.

• gattaca on Mar 12, 2009 at 3:02 am

[quote comment="219654"]stupid najib who want stupid proton….scrap my 50 year old volvo for a proton? and rm 5000? pundeh, my volvo worth more than rm 5,000[/quote]

why bother to give comment here then?

• osh_kosh on Mar 12, 2009 at 3:13 am

[quote comment="219654"]stupid najib who want stupid proton….scrap my 50 year old volvo for a proton? and rm 5000? pundeh, my volvo worth more than rm 5,000[/quote]

dey thambi.. it's voluntary lah.. just keep your 50y.o volvo in your junkyard & shut up.. better more why not scrap your XC90 over Exora? everyone here already know u own one hahahaha.. jerkass

[quote comment="219623"]I called up proton today to clarify how the above works.

I further ask the personnel what if my car (Iswara 1998) can be sold around RM7K? Do I get the trade in value + the RM5K? This will be ultimately the carrot to entice me to change to a new car.

What is the purpose then to set the conditions 1 & 2 above, if the car is to be scrap???Why the hassle? And I think no one will take it unless the car is very old and worth less than RM5K???!!!

But then again can they pass the tests i.e. in good running condition and certified by PUSPAKOM!!!

I believe all the comments posted here are relevant. 90% feels the criteria sucks! except for RT though.

TOMMYBOY[/quote]

hmmm… why must certified by Puspakom 1st? why the fuss? G do know how to channel our money…

btw, just wondering if i have & can scrap more than one car.. say 2 for example… do i get $10k discount in exchange to ONE new P1/P2… or is it suppose to be $5k discount for 1 new car only? (i.e $10k = $5k each for 2 new car).. so need to buy 2 new car?

imagine having 5 cars that can be scrap… great if can use all the discount on 1 New car… :)

• adrian on Mar 12, 2009 at 3:41 am

This is good programme. My older brother bought neo via this xchange programme. He gave his mitsu galant 84 which used car only want it at rm800. Via the xchange programme he got rm5k rebate. Good deal actually

• Goniothalamus on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:25 am

Disagree.

My opinion, some people who has under 5k value car will not receive this scheme. Let say a fruit seller with his Datsun 120y (not maintain well as classic as example), want to trade in with Savvy. Do u think the bankers will approve his loan? Of course NO! Majority of the bargain car owner is the person who do not have the pay slip or consistent salary. Sigh..

So, where is the benefit?

The average income person who has many cars and still keep the under 5k value car in his garage, will benefit of this. His son or daughter dont want to drive 120Y, but if buy Savvy of course they will.

So, the rich will agreed.

Shit, pity to poor peoples in Malaysia.

So, keep the old school car if you want…

• If anyone wish to buy a national car and enjoy 4k discount, he will start looking for an old car which worth less than1k and trade in to P1 or P2.

• Littlefire on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:37 am

[quote comment="219697"]Actually guys, if you have so-called scrap your car and the your name has been deleted from the car registration, does it really matter what happens to the Car?

Its the same when you sell the car right. Once sold, its not your problem so once so called scrap, why even bother to ask what happens to the car.[/quote]

The condition is almost like ur Tax money, when u pay the tax you will think i already pay the tax and i am relieve. When the stupid G eat all ur tax money into their pocket & built some stupid white elephat project, will you angry with ur tax money? If 1 day u know ur car gonna to be scrapped for the program, but suddenly ur neighbout bought the car although u want it to be scrap, how do you feel? Cheated?

• Ish.. new comments… same thing goes over and over again…

The scrap thing is VOLUNTARY…

got it?…

RT..

• [quote comment="219623"]I called up proton today to clarify how the above works.

TOMMYBOY[/quote]

Thank tomboy…

Hah.. nice to see people actually read my comments :)

anyway, I support it IF it is (1)voluntary, and (2) there is no actual money given – it is given as discounts.

Otherwise, it would open clouds of other problems and frauds.

They just have to make sure that it is disposed of properly..

RT..

• [quote comment="219735"][quote comment="219623"]I called up proton today to clarify how the above works.

TOMMYBOY[/quote]

Thank tomboy…

Hah.. nice to see people actually read my comments :)

anyway, I support it IF it is (1)voluntary, and (2) there is no actual money given – it is given as discounts.

Otherwise, it would open clouds of other problems and frauds.

They just have to make sure that it is disposed of properly..

RT..[/quote]

Sorry, Tommyboy (Walter Ang)..

I typed your name wrongly…

no pun intended

• proton dah bagi rebet rm 5,000 n skrang kerajaan bagi rm 5, 000..jadi rm 10,000 tuk satu keretak kan..ke cuma terpakai satu je…sbb satu inisiatif proton sendiri n satu lagi inisiatif kerajaan…ke cuma balik kepada rm 5, 000 sahaja…seolah2 benda inisiatif kerajaan tidak wujud….sbb proton dah buat pun

• iamwrx (Member) on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:09 am

Guys… they can't please everyone. They'll help the, e.g. low salaryman who's been driving a clunky Tiara but suddenly needs to go outstation more often and needs a reliable car. Or the familyman who's having a 3rd kid and it won't fit into a Tiara.

If you're in the market and looking for discounts on a new BMW or used conti or the car of your dreams, then sorrylah, maybe this is not right for you.

Like RT said… totally voluntarily, if it doesn't suit you then look elsewhere.

• bmpower on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:27 am

[quote comment="219733"]Ish.. new comments… same thing goes over and over again…

The scrap thing is VOLUNTARY…

got it?…

RT..[/quote]

some just blind.

yes blame them because they wont see.

• buckrogers on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:02 am

[quote comment="219493"]I wonder how the government will justify this in light of AFTA. We are still in breach due to the continual protection offered to Proton and Perodua in terms of tax structure. With this it becomes worse. Its full protectionism.

I dont agree with this scheme here. I think money can be better channelled elsewhere. We do not have a position like in the US where the cars are just not selling and steps need to be taken to move the cars off the lots. Here, car sales are not too badly affected due to still cheap financing available. In any event, Proton is already carrying out such a scheme thus it would mean that they will have factored in the scrapping cost when they sell a new car. Why does the government then need to pump in the money directly in this manner?

I believe this is again an ill-thought knee-jerk so called plan by this inept government who does not see any shame in doing u-turns in their policies.

One would think that in soft market conditions, cheap car manufacturers like Proton and Perodua (who are existingly protected via tax structure) would be able to capitalise and do well as for people who NEED a new car would take it rather than a premium model.[/quote]

My friend, please read back your economics textbook… i can recommend one for you if you do not have… look what u do when u r in brink of recession, you have to make ppl spent and make the banks to give more credit…and this can be only done thru your domestic economy, because an effective revolving domestic credit .. will generate trade, thus will spur global economy, no free trade agreement can generate this, even Obama knows this and Europeans are doing the same thing that our government doing right now and even worse, Europeans are raising high tariffs barriers and implement beyond regulatory standards for imported cars that even their mercedes can't achieve it. AFTA , EU and NAFTA will not help or can't pull a country out of recession, they are just passing the problems all around and not solving it, Thus to solve this downturn, you have to start from your own domestic economy by preserving the local industry by all means because this is an important beginning source of any trade or a proper economy system.

For example, this $5000 discount on Proton and Perodua will have tremendous economic multiplier effect, your $ 5000 can save and create thousand of local vendors, save your job and my job at end of the day and you well pretty sure of that. A proton does not build by itself, it needs materials and parts from local vendors thus local vendors need other local supporting industries to help to produce these parts, these actions create jobs and create income and creates spending, thus generate the growth in the economy. The whole mission of Proton and Perodua is to create jobs in Malaysia, because any economic growth must start from manufacturing and not on service just look at dubai a economy bubble waiting to burst because it does not have a strong manufacturing based and rely on a service industry that does not create a strong domestic multiplier effect …

By the way, there are some idiots who insist to buy Toyota Camrys and they are, unfortunately giving and creating jobs for the Japanese instead of Malaysians and they are bunch of clowns who are trying to be smart and telling the whole world, that they did this because of high cost of mcte. Look the benefits of buying local product outweighs the high mcte cost.

At the end of the day

A volvo saves. a swedish job…..

A toyota saves a Japanese job….

A chrysler save an American job

A proton saves a Malaysian job

so which do u prefer? having a your malaysian family member out of job and a foreigner laughing to the bank because of our stupidity or the other way around….

cheers!

• azhar on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:21 pm

we will always pay car installement until we die la..

hutang dulu kini dan selamanya lol

• azrai on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:29 pm

Dear buckrogers. Even Perodua is Japanese own. So where the money goes? Naza employs locals at Gurun plant. So, how to justify those people working at the sectors? Moreover, even Vios and Camry is CKDed locally. Same goes to Nissan Tan Chong's plant. Who are the workers? our own people.

• coolipstick, color i on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:24 pm

i've talk to one of the proton edar's agent. you'll get a 5k voucher per car u scrap… one voucher is valid for only one car. as for now… Ejora not in the list.

• coolipstick, color i on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:27 pm

[quote comment="219842"]we will always pay car installement until we die la..

hutang dulu kini dan selamanya lol[/quote]

it's ok if when u die… your installment die too… so your wife, son/dauhter can have the car for free

• Tommyboy on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Dear All (especially RT)

I know its voluntary scheme. But the whole purpose is also to help PROTON and not to revive the entire automobile industry.Got it!!!

With such scheme, who is going to volunteer anyway!!?? If a guy drives a car for more than 10 years, shows that he is incapable to change to new car

(I fully agree with Gonothalamus comments) even if RM5K is given.

The poor guy might as well keep his car. No need to pay monthly installment.

See Europe have also implemented this scheme i.e. Italy – 1,500 to 3,000 Euros and Germany – 2500 Euros for scrapping 9 year old and above. The diff is their car is a lot cheaper (Without high taxes). It make sense and its not confine only to national makes. Toyota is enjoying sales rebound in Germany because of this!

Also read The STar today "Discount for Car owners of little help" by Speechless. You see the Govt is targetting the poor group who cannot afford to change (95% of it). Need I say more!!!

CHEERS!

• [quote comment="219861"][quote comment="219842"]we will always pay car installement until we die la..

hutang dulu kini dan selamanya lol[/quote]

it's ok if when u die… your installment die too… so your wife, son/dauhter can have the car for free[/quote]

Not really. better check your financing agreement. Not all financing agreement insured.

RT.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:12 pm

[quote comment="219845"]Dear buckrogers. Even Perodua is Japanese own. So where the money goes? Naza employs locals at Gurun plant. So, how to justify those people working at the sectors? Moreover, even Vios and Camry is CKDed locally. Same goes to Nissan Tan Chong's plant. Who are the workers? our own people.[/quote]

the facts are, Perodua as a whole is more malaysian owned than japanese, so rather than speculate here it is (http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn6207/is_19981001/ai_n24902034). but whether its truly a malaysian product, i rather not get into that. at least its a malaysian company conceived in malaysia and a true malaysian brand, etc.

and if you want to compare with other manufacturer plants.. why dont you see the US bailing out toyota and honda when they were forced to close down plants and lay-off thousands of americans?

and where do you think the CKD pack, to build a CKD car comes from?

• Nicholas on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:22 pm

Bad news for East Malaysia. Today they stated in the newspaper that the RM 5,000 scrap is not applicable at East Malaysia. Com'on la we also pay tax at here la…. :(

• Maibatsu Thunder on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:35 pm

The CKD guys welding, painting, assembling cars are also Malaysians, doing their job to the best of their ability and earning a living to feed their families.

• CFA28 on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Littlefire said,

"The condition is almost like ur Tax money, when u pay the tax you will think i already pay the tax and i am relieve. When the stupid G eat all ur tax money into their pocket & built some stupid white elephat project, will you angry with ur tax money? If 1 day u know ur car gonna to be scrapped for the program, but suddenly ur neighbout bought the car although u want it to be scrap, how do you feel? Cheated?"

If I have "scrapped" my Car and my neighbour bought the said Car, all I would do is ask my neighbour how much he paid for my old Car.

If he paid less than my scrap value, I did not lose out but if he paid more, I would ask "why pay so much, you should have just bought it from me"

Honestly, people would only scrap their car if they cannot sell it for a higher value. If your current 15-year old Toyota SE is worth RM20K, then sell it for RM20K but if you have a Datsun 120Y which is worth like only RM500 to RM1K, you can actually get a better value by scraping the car.

• SCO (Member) on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:06 pm

[quote comment="219786"][quote comment="219493"]I wonder how the government will justify this in light of AFTA. We are still in breach due to the continual protection offered to Proton and Perodua in terms of tax structure. With this it becomes worse. Its full protectionism.

One would think that in soft market conditions, cheap car manufacturers like Proton and Perodua (who are existingly protected via tax structure) would be able to capitalise and do well as for people who NEED a new car would take it rather than a premium model.[/quote]

My friend, please read back your economics textbook… i can recommend one for you if you do not have… look what u do when u r in brink of recession, you have to make ppl spent and make the banks to give more credit…and this can be only done thru your domestic economy, because an effective revolving domestic credit .. will generate trade, thus will spur global economy, no free trade agreement can generate this, even Obama knows this and Europeans are doing the same thing that our government doing right now and even worse, Europeans are raising high tariffs barriers and implement beyond regulatory standards for imported cars that even their mercedes can't achieve it. AFTA , EU and NAFTA will not help or can't pull a country out of recession, they are just passing the problems all around and not solving it, Thus to solve this downturn, you have to start from your own domestic economy by preserving the local industry by all means because this is an important beginning source of any trade or a proper economy system.

For example, this $5000 discount on Proton and Perodua will have tremendous economic multiplier effect, your $ 5000 can save and create thousand of local vendors, save your job and my job at end of the day and you well pretty sure of that. A proton does not build by itself, it needs materials and parts from local vendors thus local vendors need other local supporting industries to help to produce these parts, these actions create jobs and create income and creates spending, thus generate the growth in the economy. The whole mission of Proton and Perodua is to create jobs in Malaysia, because any economic growth must start from manufacturing and not on service just look at dubai a economy bubble waiting to burst because it does not have a strong manufacturing based and rely on a service industry that does not create a strong domestic multiplier effect …

By the way, there are some idiots who insist to buy Toyota Camrys and they are, unfortunately giving and creating jobs for the Japanese instead of Malaysians and they are bunch of clowns who are trying to be smart and telling the whole world, that they did this because of high cost of mcte. Look the benefits of buying local product outweighs the high mcte cost.

At the end of the day

A volvo saves. a swedish job…..

A toyota saves a Japanese job….

A chrysler save an American job

A proton saves a Malaysian job

so which do u prefer? having a your malaysian family member out of job and a foreigner laughing to the bank because of our stupidity or the other way around….

cheers![/quote]

Buck-a-roogers…

Supplier for Proton are local Firm, Yes…

But there are Supplier for CKD of Toyota, honda etc who are local firm too.

I have no problem giving support to those families working under Proton umbrella, but how about those families working under Toyota, Honda umbrella? Buying any CKD in fact will save a Malaysian Job. I bet you actually mean CBU in you quote above…

Look at over all, If we never have P1 & P2, we can actually buy City at the cheaper price than Wira !!! That's a fact. What I am looking at is "Fair Price". We don't have this in Malaysia, FULL STOP !!

Since everybody knows that the price is not fair, where it goes to? We never see the worker under P1 & P2 getting any richer !! The money must go somewhere!! Where do you think ?? Swiss Account ?? I hate to keep feeding that bunch of maggots….

By the way, are you driving a P1 or P2 ? If you are indeed driving a P1 or P2, is it by choice? Like you can afford a BMW M5 but you settle for Perdana V6!!

If the price is Fair, I think I have no other issue to P1 & P2 being the only one having this special treatment.

p.s. Those who are really poor, will not be able to "Save RM5k to buy a RM30k P1", which is actually defeat the purpose of helping the poor. For those middle class looking at buying one P1, after getting the RM5k saving, chances are, they will try not to spend it. So, other than helping P1, there's hardly any "additional RM5k to go round town".

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:31 pm

[quote comment="219876"]The CKD guys welding, painting, assembling cars are also Malaysians, doing their job to the best of their ability and earning a living to feed their families.[/quote]

either you do not understand, or you refuse to understand.

do you help

a) companies making foreign products or

b) companies making malaysian products..?

for malaysians who work in foreign companies or companies who manufacture foreign products who get in trouble, there are already provisions in the mini budget for them.. new jobs created in other sectors, retraining provisions… etc. etc. etc. please go read the whole budget.

as I already said, do you see the US govt. bailing out toyota and honda when they were forced to close plants and lay-off thousands of american workers? the answer is of course NO.

• Littlefire on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:53 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, i have to disagree some of your opinions.. If the foreign company did have a large chunk of local market, the local G will also help them if they requested.

In the situation of Toyota & Honda, why they want to ask for US help when they still can manage their financial strongly? Even Ford didn't ask for bail out, and is the 2 others which requested it!

In US, they have workers union and if they are laid out they have compensation just like us. Ask those people who work in US company and u know how much compensation they are getting.. That why they never complain much, compare to some…

• SCO (Member) on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:12 pm

The problem is still "Fair Price" !!!

Without P1 & P2, we will be able to buy a City at lower price than Waja.

What's the reason behind this difference?

Those maggots that sucks up all funding and cause the dismay of P1 & P2.

(Sorry, maybe it's only P1, I guess P2 is doing better, I should leave it out)

All the price difference we paid for over the last decade, I think is quite significant and can also help us out during this bad time…

Imaging the total unit transacted over the last decade, say about RM10-15k each… That's ten of billions also…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:21 pm

[quote comment="219903"]BanyakMasukWorkshop, i have to disagree some of your opinions.. If the foreign company did have a large chunk of local market, the local G will also help them if they requested.

In the situation of Toyota & Honda, why they want to ask for US help when they still can manage their financial strongly? Even Ford didn't ask for bail out, and is the 2 others which requested it!

In US, they have workers union and if they are laid out they have compensation just like us. Ask those people who work in US company and u know how much compensation they are getting.. That why they never complain much, compare to some…[/quote]

i dont see how you can disagree with me, i'm just stating the facts, they are not my personal opinions and neither am i speculating.

i dont know what you know about the us auto industry.. but both toyota and honda has closed down plants, and thousands of americans have lost their jobs. so i dont know what you mean by they can manage financially.. but of course they can. they just closed down the plant, and kicked out the workers.. so they dont have to pay for the plant maintenance, and salary of the people there.. they just slashed their overheads…

also, in case you didnt realise, toyota and honda are not US companies. also, americans working in japanese manufacturers dont have the same unions as american car companies. so no comfy retirement and pension plan.

and who cares if ford didnt ask for bailout.. they are still in a good position financially.. but chrysler and GM both got USD 17 billion. the difference here is, they are homegrown american companies and brands.

so ask yourself.. why didnt the US govt, give money to honda and toyota to keep their plants running, therefore keeping thousands of americans employed?

• torque (Member) on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Aiseyman! Just give this system a try la…it will actually benefit the Malaysia economics and give the mother earth to breath a little better man…some old junk still running on the road with black smoke coming out for what?!! If want…take the offer…if don't want…fine la….

• Tiadaid on Mar 13, 2009 at 4:16 am

[quote comment="219911"]The problem is still "Fair Price" !!!

All the price difference we paid for over the last decade, I think is quite significant and can also help us out during this bad time…

Imaging the total unit transacted over the last decade, say about RM10-15k each… That's ten of billions also…[/quote]

Do you really think that by having cheap foreign car it will help us out? Hardly! It will NOT help us out at all! Sure, you may get the car of your dreams, but be prepared to trade your future!

Do you really think buying foreign products is good? When you buy a foreign product money goes OUT of the country.

• Tiadaid on Mar 13, 2009 at 4:23 am

[quote comment="219867"]Dear All (especially RT)

I know its voluntary scheme. But the whole purpose is also to help PROTON and not to revive the entire automobile industry.Got it!!!

[/quote]

So? In an economic crisis one way to handle it is to make sure that money does not flow OUT of the country too much. That's why this scheme is only limited to P1 & P2. If they open it up to foreign car makes, then the money will flow like a river to Japan, Europe and America…not good! Besides, if you want to take up this scheme and don't want a P1, go buy P2 la…

• [quote comment="219546"]

BILLIONS PER YEAR. Now imagine if our money fly there millions per year.. we will flat poor later too… (well.. we know bout other income, but this is a part of economy)[/quote]

At lest gov of Thailand dont need to spend money to take care Auto industries, gov goyang kaki could easily earn millions money from tax, car is made in Thai only not their brand, people still have a job, some money from oversea including us fly to Japan also fly to them.

Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn. Bhd own 49%, Daihatsu Motor Co own 41%, Mitsui own 10%, of Perodua Auto Corporation Sdn Bhd. Which means 51% money will fly to Japan.

How about Proton? Owner still 70% or now 100% already?

Even now Doraemon and Ultraman still flying our money. We need to re-built them quickly.

• buckrogers on Mar 13, 2009 at 4:10 pm

[quote comment="220136"][quote comment="219546"]

At lest gov of Thailand dont need to spend money to take care Auto industries, gov goyang kaki could easily earn millions money from tax, car is made in Thai only not their brand, people still have a job, some money from oversea including us fly to Japan also fly to them.

Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn. Bhd own 49%, Daihatsu Motor Co own 41%, Mitsui own 10%, of Perodua Auto Corporation Sdn Bhd. Which means 51% money will fly to Japan.

Even now Doraemon and Ultraman still flying our money. We need to re-built them quickly.[/quote]

The Japanese owns 27% of perodua, and the rest is owned by GLCs get your facts rights…stop spreading misinformation. Thai govt spent billions just to attract these companies built these factories… and why giving aid money to foreigners..just because they know how to make cars…unlike China…the huge producers come to there because of market forces, thailand, they come for the free incentives and soft loans….China is also producing their own makes: Chery, Geely and etc…yeah because thais are goyang kaki, they are also losing their money for nothing, by the way, these foreign automotive companies operating in thailand are tax free for 15 years, look at their investment guidelines….

• camry.com on Mar 13, 2009 at 4:16 pm

it is like previous govt in Perak…giving taxpayers' millions free money to Firefly just ensure that they are continued flying to ipoh… duh! does not have any common sense at all…

• camry.com on Mar 13, 2009 at 4:24 pm

[quote comment="220136"][quote comment="219546"]

Even now Doraemon and Ultraman still flying our money. We need to re-built them quickly.[/quote]

The Japanese owns 27% of perodua, and the rest is owned by GLCs get your facts rights…stop spreading misinformation. Thai govt spent billions just to attract these companies built these factories… and why giving aid money to foreigners..just because they know how to make cars…unlike China…the huge producers come to there because of market forces, thailand, they come for the free incentives and soft loans….China is also producing their own makes: Chery, Geely and etc…yeah because thais are goyang kaki, they are also losing their money for nothing, by the way, these foreign automotive companies operating in thailand are tax free for 15 years, look at their investment guidelines….

• camry.com on Mar 13, 2009 at 4:25 pm

• camry.com on Mar 13, 2009 at 4:26 pm

• quest (Member) on Mar 13, 2009 at 7:06 pm

People should really consider carefully before taking on this scheme. RM5k is not a lot of money. If you have a 15 year old car like a Proton Saga which is worth less than RM5k, you still have to consider this,….. You trade in your Proton, a roadworthy one, say 94 Wira, relatively good condition, cost you RM1.2k/year to service/repairs, you get RM5k, you actually have to buy a new Proton which will cost average RM40k.

It will only make sense if you are indeed wanting to buy a Proton, or needing a new car.

It doesn't really make sense because the price of cars in M'sia is just too high especially for Proton and it's depreciation, I'm not even talking quality yet.

Therefore I think this scheme only works if they absolutely need a new national car. Economy outlook is uncertain. This scheme increases consumer spending on national cars, which serves no economy boosting actions in crucial sectors. Proton or Perodua being bought or merged with other car manafacture leaders can only benefit M'sians, and we pay much less for cars.

Before you attack me, consider this, it's your money spent in uncertain economic times. Some big share holders in Proton will benefit. You get a new car slightly discounted which you'd have to make monthly payments for the next 5-7 years, while the car depreciates RM`10-15k in the first year alone. If I have a 94 Wira working fine, I won't do it. If I have a Proton Tiara and absolutely need a new car for work, I might.

Let the fireworks begin.

• SCO (Member) on Mar 13, 2009 at 9:06 pm

[quote comment="220040"][quote comment="219911"]The problem is still "Fair Price" !!!

Imaging the total unit transacted over the last decade, say about RM10-15k each… That's ten of billions also…[/quote]

Do you really think that by having cheap foreign car it will help us out? Hardly! It will NOT help us out at all! Sure, you may get the car of your dreams, but be prepared to trade your future!

Do you really think buying foreign products is good? When you buy a foreign product money goes OUT of the country.[/quote]

I know buying foreign product means giving the country of origin profit. Bottomline is, is there any country in this little earth that "Don't need to buy anything" from another country??

The idea is not to stop buying, but more into "How to make full use of $$ in hand". And smartly controlling what you give and take to/from other counterpart. And I think this is the biggest mental block to many people.

The race is not to compete in

"How much I can control myself, not buying from you"

but more like

"How am I able to get you buying more from me"

With the first one running strong, everybody will end up loosing more

Only with the second mode running strong that will bring great success.

Tell me, How poor is Singapore since they have to buy almost 80-90% of their daily needs from other people? In your term, Singapore should be broke even 20-30 years ago. How about Switzerland? Look at all those countries that don't have natural resources and also not having any "Physical Goods" to sell….??

You still missing my point, I have no problem in helping, but just merely pointing out a fundamental problem in P1… Their existence had brought us more pain than gain…. Whatever we do today, we are only slowing down the bleeding. I still yet to see the day when it will really turn around…

Talk all you can, hate me for all I've quoted, but anyone who want to fire me over here…:

Make sure that you are driving a P1, and it's by your choice that you do so !!

(Even though you have a couple of million RM in you bank account)

• john mclane on Mar 14, 2009 at 9:22 pm

A Protong saves a Msia job….that's the most funniest joke I have heard, like MAS saves Malaysian job. That is provided the company runs well, and after 20 years, still proclaim that PoTong saves a Msian job. It is the G that stop all foreign car companies invested in Msia, and btw, i believe those foreign car companies DOES provide lots of jobs to Msian! Eon is and Proton Edar had retrenching people! provide jobs my a$$.

Those so call knows economy sure knows what is a protected-economy harm can done to a country, and instead of speaking shallow understanding like keep spending, which is to channels all the $$ to some fat man's pocket rather than the whole industries. Only true competition in the market will benefits all the consumers. Look around and you will realized the price of TVs, computers are cheap even against other countries, but the CAR is absolutely nuts due to a monopolized situation. Our country only knows how to controlled the resources and jack up the price to earn $$ for certain group of people. That is the fact.

Probably I don't realized some people likes to be feed like the past 50 years.

• Protong also saves our rakyat money to buy a new car, we only could buy a 2nd import car with same value of money.

We do know far year ago, Proton cant live long with only rakyat support. It need go to outside to oversea to find more change. Have been over 20 year and now over and over, mostly family have own 1 of Proton car and on the road full with Proton, but it still need under protect. Do our $$ spend on the true way?

Thanks to buckrogers to give me true. The wikipedia.jp give me very outdated information.

• SCO (Member) on Mar 16, 2009 at 9:20 pm

Protong car "Saving Rakyat Malaysia Money" ???

Just in case you are not aware, Without applying special "Taxes in any form", a Honda Accord 3.0l is merely selling for Australian Dollar @ 30,000. That is actually cheaper than Perdana V6 2.0l

And a Honda City can be cheaper than Waja too….

I fail to see how Protong save Rakyat Money.

Again, you might claim that buying a Protong keep the money within Malaysia, But in whose pocket you are referring to?

I don't think it's in my pocket…

Definitely not in the pocket of any Rakyat Malaysia in the street…

• Guest Visitor on Mar 18, 2009 at 12:52 am

Hi everyone,

As government mini budget they offer 200mil for automotive fund. Why they don't want to gave same rights or authorize other automotive company to gave the oppunity to gave the scrapping scheme.

Government still will enjoy the TAX from those company right! why don't they consider on all other company in Malaysia. This is my suggestion or idea only.

It's like we are bonded within a range of choosing the car between two company's only.

I suggest that goverment should review the scheme and provide other company as well..

• chris_75 on May 31, 2009 at 1:05 am

i've sent my dad's old car (daihatsu charmet, 25yrs old) for inspection at jpj, aft tis d salesman wil send all d related documents to KL jpj 4 verify 2 get approval 4 d scrapping voucher 5k. Wat i am getting is d new saga, i read lots of reviews, many bad comments n next wk i'm goin 2 apply bank loan for tis model. Many ppl advise 2 buy toyota avanza than saga but becoz of d old car, i hv no choice 2 choose saga than other model, even perodua. Pls help.

• Leong on May 31, 2009 at 7:45 pm

SCO, i'm with you 100%

• No2Proton on Jan 18, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Finally, this scheme caused a lot of people trapped where their car has been scrapped but Proton refused to gave them the model or colour they had booked. Even some them just kept waiting even the rebet voucher has been approved!

The people who give strong support to Proton yet they are the victim! Proton as a National Car should take up the responsible as per statement released by Bernama on 30th Dec that any application received by 31st Oct 2009 should process accordingly. This is very basic social responsibility needs to fulfill by Proton! It is a joke if Proton has a strong team of lawyers to defend the cases despite so many efforts have been put in to build the image and brand reputation. This is lower mindset and do not have big picture or vision in mind; and always will act a "Kampung Hero"!