Indonesia testing RFID toll transactions on single-lane free-flow gantries – watch the test conducted at speed

Sticker for Touch ‘N Go RFID in Malaysia

A contactless, single-lane free-flow (SLFF) toll transaction system is being trialled in Indonesia by highway operator PT Jasa Marga, where the service employs radio frequency identification (RFID) technology, CNN Indonesia reports.

Dubbed ‘Let it Flo’, the system is currently being tested on a limited basis and has yet to become operational on a commercial basis, PT Jasa Marga head of corporate communications Dwimawan Heru said. The trials are still ongoing, and the company hopes that the touchless transaction system that will continue to be tested in the future will inform government decisions when implementing policies, Dwimawan added.

The RFID stickers for this SLFF system must be affixed to the headlamp of the vehicle in order to be detected by sensors at the toll gantries, not unlike the RFID stickers in use in Malaysia, though these can also be applied to windscreens. For the system being trialled in Indonesia, the headlamp is the preferred position as it is the least likely part to interfere with RFID transmissions, according to the report.

Transactions for the toll fees are managed by a mobile app called Flo – supporting Android and iOS devices – which users will need to make toll payments for passage through the RFID-enabled toll gantries. Similar to mobile digital wallet applications, Flo can keep track of the history of transactions as well as facilitate top-ups for the digital wallet, according to CNN Indonesia.

Limited trials being conducted by PT Jasa Marga currently take place at several toll gantries in the Jabotabek area including the Inner City Toll Road, JORR, Jagorawi, Jakarta-Tangerang and Jakarta Cikampek sections, in addition to the Ngurah Rai toll booth leading to the Bali Mandara toll road, according to the report.

A video (above) shared by Facebook user, Edoward Jc shows the system being trialled, where the vehicle passes through the gantry at speed, appearing not to need to slow down. According to Indonesian news site Kompas, the trial as shown in the video was in fact conducted in 2017 at the Waru-Juanda toll, operated by PT Citra Margatama Surabaya, a subsidiary of PT Citra Marga Nusaphala Persada (CMNP).

The highway operator was in fact testing the RFID-enabled SLFF toll collection system, PT CMNP spokesperson Annisa Indrayanti confirmed to Kompas. The SLFF system isn’t too different from the gateless multi-lane free-flow (MLFF) system that is to be introduced in Indonesia from 2022, Annisa added.

In 2019, Bernama reported that a roll-out of the MLFF toll collection system in Malaysia is in the works, and all highways across the country have been set for its implementation in the three years from that time, when RFID electronic toll collection was expected to be at all toll plazas nationwide.

“We certainly would like to understand more about what other technical issues we face at the pilot stage so that we can resolve (them) and get it launched and implemented as soon as possible. But we obviously cannot do this alone because the highways in Malaysia are so integrated,” Malaysian Association of Highway Concession Companies (MAHCC) president Datuk Azman Ismail said at the time.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• (Dude) on Mar 25, 2021 at 6:41 pm

woew, if that Daihatsu Van lost control, then it will be over.

• tricycle on Mar 25, 2021 at 6:47 pm

Crazily fast.

Malaysia RFID, even put on the headlight also sometimes cannot be detected. Luckily still got the SmartTag, by the way, to be safe better to use the twin application lane RFID/SmartTag. If the system cannot detect got backup. If only use the RFID lane, if cannot detected, then has to back up, got honked by others somemore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • gwinter on Mar 25, 2021 at 9:58 pm

Worse is if the RFID tag goes bad. I had 2 cars with tags installed in August last year. Was using it almost daily to go to work and detection was 100%. Then CMCO and MCO came and was using them infrequently. One day around January one of the tags stops working. Upon closer look there are signs of cracking around the black dot where the IC is located. I suspect the trace has broken off and becomes defective. So RM30+ down the drain in roughly 5 months. The cost of an RFID tag should be at most a few bucks only. It’s too expensive, probably won’t buy another one. Another tag is till fine though.

• Daniel on Jan 09, 2022 at 5:16 pm

Maybe is the installation process for me i been using for 1 year plus no loss detection and malfunction i apply on the headlamp cause that time was free trial i got it for free

• Daniel on Jan 09, 2022 at 5:16 pm

Maybe is the installation process. For me i been using for 1 year plus no loss detection and malfunction i apply on the headlamp cause that time was free trial i got it for free

• Malaysians will do it at double the speed

• Suren on Mar 26, 2021 at 9:56 am

Gate will not open, try it at Sprint highway, you need to come to an almost complete stop.

• if one day that gate sumthing wrong…the car will sure crash at the barrier and create a chain reaction of crashes with cars that followed too closely behind…

• panjang on Mar 27, 2021 at 10:58 am

Crash at the barrier arm?
      Dont worry, if the driver does not panic and keep the wheel pointing straight, nothing major will happen except minor damage to the vehicle front end and totalled barrier arm.

Such barrier is designed to collapse easily under certain condition. Its not like a higher grade vehicle barrier such as extruding pole or concealed barrier which can even stop a lorry dead in its track.

• Izhar on Mar 25, 2021 at 9:00 pm

Malaysia greater. Two cars can go cucuk in one pass.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 25, 2021 at 9:21 pm

Lol now that’s RFID being implemented properly. Unlike ours where it doesn’t pick up at times and you have to embarrassingly reverse to try again on peak hour jams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Safety First on Mar 26, 2021 at 1:42 am

Ours is safer where you can still stop if something goes wrong. We don’t want another crashed toll booth like earlier this month happen again. Think Safety First.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Not safe on Mar 29, 2021 at 9:14 am

You can’t be serious right judging on a single video? There are so many things that can go wrong at speed. I don’t think it’s entirely safe to have a boom gate this way.

• Matchy on Mar 25, 2021 at 10:18 pm

Looks dangerous… but at speed, whats the point of the gantry?

• That’s just for testing to the extreme. On normal day, very seldom anyone will pass the toll booth at that speed. But if there’s requirement such as for ambulance, police, bomba or rescue team then the system can handle the high speed.

• Suren on Mar 26, 2021 at 2:46 am

All RFID and Smartag toll gates in Sprint highway requires you to come to almost a complete stop before the barrier opens, no point having a contact less payment method. First world system, third world services.

• Copy Paste on Mar 26, 2021 at 10:44 am

Copy paste: “Ours is safer where you can still stop if something goes wrong. We don’t want another crashed toll booth like earlier this month happen again. Think Safety First.”

• simon on Mar 26, 2021 at 9:50 am

all are inferior.

the best implemented one is singapore. no need for toll gates, no accidents, no need to back up when no detect etc.

want to skip paying toll also will get caught. insufficient balance will also kena caught.

• So dangerous brainless

• Terrence on Jan 07, 2022 at 7:05 am

The correct way to use RFID in malaysia: Approach toll gate slowly, try to keep right as much as possible, stop right before barrier, reverse 1 meter, go forth 1 meter again, open window to look for touch and go receiver, if not success, look for help button, if fail again, switch on double signal, raise your right hand to back off the cars behind, reverse 3 meters, turn to touch and go lane.

• Sofian on Jan 08, 2022 at 9:56 am

Menggunakan sistem apa pun pemandu perlu slow down dan pastikan bar itu membuka untuk laluan.

Hanya kerana ada sistem yg canggeh lalu kita meluru melintas tol adalah sikap bodoh kerana terlalu yakin kepada teknologi.

Keselamatan diri kita adalah lebih penting sentiasa masa.