MAA expects more Chinese carmakers to enter the Malaysian market, says competition is healthy

Having car brands from China here in Malaysia isn’t a new thing – Chery, Changan, GWM/Haval have had multiple stabs at our local market over the past ten, 20 years. But the arrival of Geely as Proton’s partner recently has seemingly opened the floodgates to more carmakers from the Middle Kingdom.

Once wary of generic-looking cut-price knockoffs with questionable quality and reliability, Malaysians appear to have warmed up to cars of Chinese origins. Geely-based Proton SUVs are now the best-selling models in their respective segments.

In the recent weeks, we’ve seen spyshots of the GAC Trumpchi GS3 Power and Chery Tiggo 5x SUVs testing on local roads. The DFSK Glory 580 made a quiet local entry last year, while an unexpected newcomer in the form of the Seiyong S1 EV is set to arrive soon too. Meanwhile, GWM announced big plans for Thailand, and we may see the Haval H6 here too.

MAA expects more Chinese carmakers to enter the Malaysian market, says competition is healthy

Now, is this onslaught of new Chinese brands a concern for the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA)? We posed that very question at today’s press conference.

“We are expecting a lot more new players from China to enter Malaysia, but whatever it is, competition is healthy. We cannot help it, because in terms of technology they are also very advanced, and they have EV vehicles too. The government will not stop them from entering our market, so we will have to accept the fact that there will be new entries in the market from China,” said MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad.

It sure looks like we’ll have interesting times ahead with plenty of new players in the fray. Where do you stand on this – would you consider vehicles from Chinese brands for your next purchase, or would you prefer to stick to more established carmakers? Also, which new Chinese brand are you most looking forward to here in Malaysia?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Amran on Mar 26, 2021 at 7:15 pm

Hongqi the much respected marque, msia dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Donald duck trump on Mar 26, 2021 at 7:17 pm

These cars may be planted with spywares by the CCP like huawei phones

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 39
    • Akoolm on Mar 26, 2021 at 8:14 pm

Tesla planted too. Geely x70 and x50 ?

• Shaun on Mar 27, 2021 at 11:15 pm

Tesla does not harvest personal data but CCP regime like harvesting world personal data so that they plant communism and rule the world to be number one . We say no to communist china regime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • Seelan on Mar 28, 2021 at 3:14 pm

Lol!!! Good one

• Dong gor on Mar 26, 2021 at 7:20 pm

Remove the excise duty and in return let the petrol price float ( no need subsidy). That is the healthiest recipe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • C.P. MOHAN on Mar 26, 2021 at 7:27 pm

No issue, but must include EV models.

• Bieight on Mar 26, 2021 at 7:41 pm

They should talk to Elon musk and bring in tesla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • donno on Mar 26, 2021 at 7:58 pm

good as there will be more choices at cheaper price range. nobody forces you to buy chinese but hey isn’t your iPhone (or even your underwear) is made in china too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Iphone not made in China.Its assembled in China.That is different.

• Then let’s disassemble and iPhone and see how many parts are actually made (manufactured) in china..

• And MITI says they targeted ‘very high quality’ FDIs.

• Truckers on Mar 27, 2021 at 8:21 am

Don’t look down on China, even Tesla has setup gigafactory there. There was a time many look down on Japanese cars, look where they are now.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 27, 2021 at 1:48 pm

Yeah right go look at our local KLCI with the non stop outflow of FDI since last year. Our index still floating at 1600 for a loooooong time now.

• Lynx & Co

• Stapler Rosak on Mar 27, 2021 at 9:24 am

Huh? “Healthy competition” in Malaysia?

Got meh? *rub eyes*

When ah? *scratch head*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Curious on Mar 27, 2021 at 11:21 am

Wat wil. happen to 3rd national car aka ProTiga then ?

• Khalid on Mar 27, 2021 at 11:10 pm

That was the previous prime minister pet project to please his previous proton suppliers cronies .

• good to have more competitor just dont bring in those lousy model that look like glorified golf cart

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 27, 2021 at 1:46 pm

Nope not touching any Chinese branded vehicles for the next decade if the quality is what we got in the X70. They still got stuff to improve on.

• Danis Chow on Mar 27, 2021 at 2:56 pm

Hoping Berjaya will bring in Changan Uni-T and CS 55 plus , both SUV looks beautiful and futuristic, powered by 1.5 turbo delivered 180 ps and 300 nm.

• Danis Chow on Mar 27, 2021 at 2:58 pm

Hoping Berjaya will bring in
    Changan Uni-T and CS 55 plus , both SUV looks beautiful and futuristic, powered by 1.5 turbo delivered 180 ps and 300 nm.

• As long as protection of Proton and Perodua still exist, how to be healthy? Do you expect us to buy expensive China cars?

• Great, look how X70 or X50 bring out the best from perodua, Honda, Toyota etc with better features and at reduce price… Great for we consumer.. l like it

• Shadow on Mar 27, 2021 at 7:12 pm

Where BYD? Are there coming?

• Sam Loo on Mar 28, 2021 at 8:50 pm

Competition is healthy. Price control and heavy taxes are not.

• transformer on Mar 30, 2021 at 9:21 am

in general its a good news but not in MY, WHY??? its 2021……

MY car prices are controlled by Gov since 1980’s, the birth of jaguh kampung… then all car sold in MY need Gov approval

Gov can disapproves makers suggested pricing causing bloated prices which resulting high household debt in MY(cause by car ownership)