Chana Era CV6 launched in Malaysia based on the ChangAn BenBen

Chana Era CV6

This is the other car launched by Changan Berjaya Auto on Monday, the Chana Era CV6. It’s essentially the same 5-door hatchback we saw in Putrajaya in March 2008. It’s pretty much a Viva-type of vehicle and the thing is it actually is decent to look at. There aren’t any strange jarring design cues that spoil the design, it’s simple, unpretentious and perhaps boring but it’s not hideous, nor does it employ any odd patterns like the triangles all over the Naza Forza.

Chana Era CV6

For a sum of RM 36,862.00 for the Standard Solid version, you’ll get 5 seats, a 1,301cc engine producing 85 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 110Nm of torque between 3,500 to 4,500rpm, steel wheels, power steering with adjustable tilt, front power windows and a top speed of about 145km/h. For Metallic paint, you pay RM 37,368.00.

Chana Era CV6

Going for the Premium version will cost you RM 40,888 for solid paint and RM 41,394 for metallic paint, and you’ll get alloy wheels, power windows for all four doors, ABS brakes, a single CD player with radio and a driver’s airbag. So it’s got ABS and an airbag covered, that’s pretty much how far safety features can go at this segment. Apparently during the launch period, you can get the Premium version for the price of the Standard version as an introductory offer.

Length Width Height Wheelbase
Chana Era CV6 3,525mm 1,650mm 1,550mm 2,365mm
Perodua Myvi 3,750mm 1,665mm 1,550mm 2,440mm
Perodua Viva 3,575mm 1,475mm 1,530mm 2,390mm
Naza Forza 3,633mm 1,563mm 1,533mm 2,355mm
Hyundai i10 3,565mm 1,595mm 1,540mm 2,380mm
Proton Savvy 3,710mm 1,643mm 1,480mm 2,395mm

The 1.3 litre engine is also a Suzuki-derived one, and probably a unit that’s a little more modern than the one in the van covered earlier, but it’s still pretty much a basic unit though it has a nice peak torque spread starting from 110Nm. From my observation of the units they had for display at the media preview, the build quality was even worse than the van. ChangAn even got basic things like the feedback an air conditioning knob gives when you turn it wrong. Go to a showroom and try it, it feels really weird, like you were forcibly twisting something through some thick oil, I would imagine this is what goes on inside a torque converter or something.

Chana Era CV6

The selection knob for fresh air or recirculation air for the air conditioning appeared to be positioned too close to the dash and was cutting in to the dash plastic itself. The dashboard plastic itself isn’t really too bad however parts where various pieces meet together were way too rough. Some metal mounts and etc were too exposed like the bolt and joint where the seat and backrest connect together, etc. It’s a pity as the exterior doesn’t look too bad.

Chana Era CV6

Despite the horrendous build quality, ChangAn knows people are also looking for mechanical quality and endurance, so they’ve recently organised this ChanaTrax event where a group of ChangAn vehicles including this CV6/BenBen drove from China to South Africa. That’s a total distance of 24,000 kms and there were some pretty high altitudes and rough terrain involved.

So I suppose it would be okay running around town here, it’s just that the only appealing thing going for this car at the moment seems to be its initial price tag.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• overflow (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:56 am

40k plus mm.. better buy BLM

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 10:59 am

if i wanted a hatch, i’d rather buy a hyundai i10, we’ve been ripped off by berjaya long enough, including its crap motor insurance

• indigo (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:12 am

There Made in China cars had been stucked in a car dealer at Jalan Masjid Negeri in Penang for such a long time and finally they had launched it. Not my cup of tea, I prefer Proton or Perodua in this case.

• lchan (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:21 am

i think its a wee bit expensive. The rear leg space looks very tight.

• BB (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:21 am

for RM37k, it may not be compatitive in the boleh land this moment. but think about it, if it produce locally in future price may down by 20% or RM30k, that will give both p1 & p2 a big BANG!

Paul Tan says: It is already CKD.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:27 am

This is typical China made car, remind me of the stupid Wu Ling van in China. But one things i will salute them is the car’s suspension….really builded for tough road. I believe our boleh land car’s suspension go into China land will tear off within few months….

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:28 am

Kinda cheapo in it’s quality. Rear legroom is cramp and with that kinda price tag they still think Malaysian are stupid enough to buy it.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:47 am

The dashboard is kinda rip-off of the 1st Gen Ford Ka design. Luv the overall design anyway.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:48 am

BenBen = Stupid Stupid?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 11:50 am

indigo said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 11:12 am

There Made in China cars had been stucked in a car dealer at Jalan Masjid Negeri in Penang for such a long time and finally they had launched it. Not my cup of tea, I prefer Proton or Perodua in this case.
    ———————————————–
    Oh you are from Penang as well, any Penangites here?

• natworks88 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:12 pm

Nope.. doesn’t impress me at all..

• cutester (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:14 pm

Cutester from Penang too…. :)

• abtm (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:34 pm

you just need to look at those china car crash test videos on youtube to tell you about how unsafe they are…

• awak (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:34 pm

40k,
    batter still with savvy or saga.

• GOGOobama (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:36 pm

40k car, i better buy BLM.. but this 40k car better then viva ful spec. viva don have single airbag and 1.0 cc

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:40 pm

definatly BLM…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 12:47 pm

While the price point of the Van makes sense, the price point of this hatch doesn’t.

Host of much better more established players in the market.

——————-
    abtm said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 12:34 pm

you just need to look at those china car crash test videos on youtube to tell you about how unsafe they are…

Thats just because they never tested our cars…. ours could be just as bad. I would like to see how a Kancil fair crashing into a deformable barrier at 40mph.

• Lykc1 on Feb 21, 2016 at 8:59 am

Till today no tough enough stunt driver dare to crash test a kancil…as it will be a death defying stunt.

• BB (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:33 pm

thanks for yr correction paul. so we don enjoy the “cheap” value of chinese car here than.

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:04 pm

Belum cuba belum tau. Belum cuba sudah kena Chanai. lol. Good or not, safe or not, it all boils down to the most important part of any vehicle. It’s the NUT that holds the steering-wheel. lol

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:35 pm

excellent car. i’d love it. but i won’t buy one.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 2:47 pm

unitedtas said,
    January 21, 2009 @ 2:04 pm

It’s the NUT that holds the steering-wheel. lol
    —————————————————————-
    What a sense of humour you have.

• schdmitz (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 3:47 pm

better don try….selepas try merana!! better go for malaysian made….Perodua or proton….wasting $on this piece of junk!!!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 3:57 pm

schdmitz said,

January 21, 2009 @ 3:47 pm

better don try….selepas try merana!! better go for malaysian made….Perodua or proton….wasting $on this piece of junk!!!
    ————————
    no, china made is better than malaysian made

• Adly (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Katakan Tak Nak pada rokok,
    Katakan TAK NAK langsung pada Chana Era CV6!!!

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 4:56 pm

i’ll go for saga or savvy..
    viva? no..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 6:03 pm

better get a viva, myvi or savvy…..

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Nice, tilt steering. Savvy does not have it I think. One thing is that the price. You can come out something cheap, but I am not sure Malaysians will buy this. Perception of China brand is like worse off. This reminds me of the Naza Sutera. Is the sales going well?

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 7:13 pm

1.3L engine.so it hv strongest power to weight ratio in its class.based on the data given, its size is nearly match to Viva but fitted with 1.3 engine!!!

exterior quite ok but interior and dashboard very lousy laa.

• Fridz (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 7:14 pm

oh sorry,its width is like myvi laa.sorry

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 7:21 pm

so… only a fool will buy such car…

• KuSesat (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 7:43 pm

I would buy a bicycle than to sit in this crap china-made car. For Rm40k, u can buy a decent 90s Corolla or Civic EK.
    I am from Penang island too :)

• jtshin (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 7:52 pm

reminds me of Merc A-class front… Just the build quality issue i guess. Well, I’m a proud Viva owner and I’m preferring Viva over BenBen anytime for the price tag!! Viva = Jap tech, BenBen = China tech.. well… BenBen should be priced near to Kancil really…. Seat cover looks decent though..

• TESko (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 8:47 pm

all these China made cars make PROTON look good. Went to see the Chery Eastar.. It is a crap. The finishing is just pure horrible.Just look at the gap on the steering wheel.. then look at the proton’s one. Hope Chana has a better finishing that Cherry otherwise it makes us malaysian look stupid. Even my 1993 Iswara is way better than the cherry.. IMHO lah.

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 8:52 pm

there is not much rear legroom for the passengers ..

that’s not very good for a hatchback which you want to move your family around ..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 8:54 pm

Now we got Roti Chana on the road!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 9:40 pm

this car has an interior that rolls royce would be proud of

• monomania (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:39 am

I think the steering just got erected…

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 8:20 am

NICE!!
    …to bash and laugh at!!

usually during “media” road trip, the car makers will “bribe” journalist to give good reviews..

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 9:02 am

if i not mistake… as far i read PT blog…
    only proton’s Satria neo test drive in a sepang circuit.
    this one, i bet gonna ‘tercabut’ all if you drive hardly.

• p1basher (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:12 am

40k? malaysia made vs china made?

Of course proton and perodua is better than.

Look at the picture, mediocre leg room for rear passengers.

This car make you feel so proud to drive proton blm and perodua viva.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 12:09 pm

china cars are excellent

• SUPIRA on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:28 am

I just read in the internet for 10 time. And when i’m really happy of it . Without seeing and i don’t know were is the show room around my place i made a decision n never looking behind 2 order chana era v6. 1 month after odering it i hope that i get it before October . On 19 Sept 09 i recieve the chana . From that day until now im travelling from seremban 2 melaka everyday 160 km .this ca is nothing problem for me.I never stop near roadside rising my hand for helping and only stop for pass urine CHANA IS GOOD 2 DRIVE. I ALSO LOVE MY MYYVI , SAGA AND TOYOTA.. CHANA IS MY SECOND LOVER ………

• ReactiX (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:00 pm

Worse build quality, back seat can only seat for anjing, 40k plus, china made, horrible panel cluster/interior etc.

NO NO NO NO NO…. not even stupid people buy this car..

Sex is… (freaking name) i think is the only one that gonna sit in this car and proud of it.. Lol~

Buy malaysian laa then. Saga i think a lot better than this one.

• hareshi (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:01 pm

Hmm What can is say.? I still rather go for Savvy lower n better stability for even price wise I still rather go for Savvy lite ,or even Viva also i rather have a look

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 1:41 pm

ReactiX said,
    January 22, 2009 @ 1:00 pm

Worse build quality, back seat can only seat for anjing, 40k plus, china made, horrible panel cluster/interior etc.

NO NO NO NO NO…. not even stupid people buy this car..

Sex is… (freaking name) i think is the only one that gonna sit in this car and proud of it.. Lol~

Buy malaysian laa then. Saga i think a lot better than this one.

haha… that guy is a freak u know…. his comments is not sumthing that can be referred…

• seat-belt (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 10:03 am

f*ck china cars……what they know is copy and paste only…..stupid, use rolls royce interiors…lol…china cars are a piece of joke! rather buy a saga! it is sumthing that would be proud of…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 3:47 pm

very good cars

• layman (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Just have a feeling that this car is equal if not better than Plotong and Perodua.

• tigris_malayensis (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 9:54 pm

when you open the screw with air tools you have to replace them all.not to mention water ingression and those unreliable elerical related part.
    imagine what kind of quality they put in. judging from my family’s sutera.
    all i can say is all the chinese cheapo sucks.

• Raymond on Feb 17, 2009 at 6:39 am

Can i know where are the showroom is??????

• Prismo on Mar 02, 2009 at 4:10 am

[quote comment="203320"]china cars are excellent[/quote]

[quote comment="203053"]schdmitz said,

January 21, 2009 @ 3:47 pm

————————

no, china made is better than malaysian made[/quote]

[quote comment="203320"]china cars are excellent[/quote]

Now i'm realised that u r from panda land… hahaha… freak…

• Prismo on Mar 02, 2009 at 6:23 pm

[quote comment="203635"]very good cars[/quote]

then, go for it!!! i know this is a very good car for some1 like u… and dont forget to bought Era CM8 MPV (Multi Purpose Van) for carter ur family hahaha… i'm advising u.. dont put ur money for any proton car… just let me do that okay… hahaha…

• Prismo on Mar 03, 2009 at 6:41 am

it's a chana benni in sg

• goldfries on Mar 23, 2009 at 12:56 pm

Wasn't even aware of such a car until today.

I went out to get something out of my car, then I saw a silver car which I've never seen before. I saw the logo, nothing on my database. Checked out the name, it was written ERA on the left at the 5th door (back la) and CV6 on the right.

So I'm actually puzzled as I found this article, as I thought the brand was ERA but now it's Chana…….. or Chana Era?

• tamannegara (Member) on Apr 19, 2009 at 7:59 pm

saw few in federal highway kl recently.

• r3dster on Jul 01, 2009 at 10:58 pm

what happens when you try to form piece of crap from a pile of junk?

…..

chana!

• Isaac on Dec 05, 2009 at 8:26 am

I'm a dealer of Chana Era and with all due respect, come to my show room for a test drive before you leave any childish comments…

So Ferrari is surely great among you guys, but try type "Ferrari Crashed" on google and gee, it doesn't look any sexy already.

When Perodua Kancil first come out in 1994 and Proton Saga come out in 1984, people also scolding it but what happens now? Every single road is full of P1s and P2 manufactured cars.

Give us a chance to prove you're wrong.

• SUPIRA on Aug 01, 2010 at 10:51 pm

i already use it 2 yaers ago .nothing bad of this chana cv6.200 kilometer aday . i’m glad somebody asking this n that i also cornfidern to order n never go 2 the show room.
      If u saw me driving 6D6144Q on the road that it me SEREMBAN TO MELAKA some time 2 KL. I belive CHANA THE RIGHT CHOISE FOR ME.

• Mark yan on Aug 13, 2012 at 5:05 pm

where are Chana serving workshops???

• Lykc1 on Feb 21, 2016 at 9:20 am

You will find a lot of people here complaining about ERA cars but THESE people know nothing about cars. They don’t even know the basis of all these cars’ engines are from one source country ie Japan except maybe the infamous car TIARA….

• wendy lee on Apr 09, 2010 at 1:56 pm

a very seriuos problem and case since the first day i receive my chanacv6,im wendy lee from penang,i bought the car at 4 february 2010,first day i recieve it already my car shutdown and they ask me to in back workshop until 1 day later i get beck my than it trouble again,so drive in workshop back at 19 february 2010 meter shut down,24 february 2010 ,13 march until 22 march 2010 wayering probelm n fius burning,2 april until 3 april 2010 .until now stil got probelm .when i drive it ,the engine sound very lound like a old car.what cn i do ,just drive it for two month only !!!in future time isn’t i need always drive my car go to workshop repair????m i so unlucky o that model got probelm!!!!

• naimo on May 07, 2010 at 3:47 pm

saga blm is better

• wendy lee on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:18 pm

again my chana cv6 got problem !!!!
    this time very seriously,brake system suddenly not function at all when driving on the road!@!!!any ppl cn give me some comment about it what cn i do for my car!!!

• patrick on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:34 pm

Hi anyone know where is the service centre in johor?

• wendy lee on Oct 27, 2013 at 9:18 pm

my chana cv6 big big problem full of problem !!!
    when i open the door, the interior door handle is spoilt so i need to wind down the window and open the door from outside.
    2 aircond control knob, fan speed and temperature is now dropped out from its position due to cheap plastic.
    tachometer not functioning despite send back to repair for few times.
    ABS seemed to be malfunctioning as the yellow ABS warning light is illuminating all the time in my meter cluster.
    central locking is malfunction.
    and when raining, water leaking into my car here and there.

repair alone in this 3 years had cost me more than RM5000!!!!

do not buy a china car.
    proton or p2 is way way better!
    or else you will regret like me!
    even i want to sell this car, for 10k, i doubt anyone will buy it.
    and i still need to pay my car loan!

• Lykc1 on Feb 21, 2016 at 9:26 am

A friend of mine had to send his new UNSER 10 times to workshop within 11 months…and another friend spent rm5k repair bills on his 2nd hand kelisa within 19 months…