ChangAn CV6 Ben Ben spotted in Putrajaya!

A silver ChangAn CV6 Ben Ben has been sighted at the JPJ Putrajaya building last week, most likely brought in by Changan Berjaya Auto Sdn Bhd. This would be the second ChangAn model spotted in Malaysia so far. The first was the Changan CM8 MPV, spotted with light disguise around the Klang Valley sometime last year.

The CV6 Ben Ben is a 5-door hatchback that seats 5. It also looks like it has some decent crash test safety, according to these photos. ChangAn has even displayed a sporty version with a bodykit in the past. It is powered by a 1.3 litre engine, but I have no horsepower and torque information at the moment. It is priced at under 50,000 RMB in China, which converts to about RM22,200.

If you remember, ChangAn was also the first Chinese company to develop its own hybrid car using a 1.5 litre gasoline engine combined with an electric motor. It also recently announced China’s first independently-developed hydrogen engine.

UPDATE: Looks like the ChangAn CV6 Ben Ben’s crash test results don’t look so good, click here. Thanks to reader Niceguy for the pointer in the comments.

Changan Berjaya Auto Sdn Bhd’s website says it plans to launch its first model before the end of 2007, so I guess there has been some delay. It has two models on display on its web page, the CM8 and the CV6 Ben Ben.

For more pictures of the silver CV6 Ben Ben, read the post after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Charger (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 10:42 pm

Looks so Avanza huh?

• freeze (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 10:48 pm

China cars have over taken Malaysian cars in safety department.
    More like Viva than Avanza. Interior so yucky looking. Hate the egg shaped center console.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 10:51 pm

The name sound so “ben” you know right? I wonder why they pick that name -_-” xD

Anyway..It looks ok but not great.

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 10:57 pm

after the tax will be sell Rm 50k ?? or … if sell that price totally will effect all MPV ..

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 11:19 pm

if they can sell it at RM30k, it will be great… we have a new car that can be trashed around since viva is expensive… if it can sustain 1-2 years of trashing, then reliability of the brand will be known to msians and consumer confidence will grow and ppl will be more willing to put more money to go for the higher end of this brand…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 11:47 pm

The finest example from China. Wonder if it sells Honqi cars here.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 11:50 pm

Paul Tan said,

The first was the Changan CM8 MPV, spotted with light disguise around the Klang Valley sometime last year.
    —————————————————————-

Well I spotted it in Subang Jaya sometime in January this year, near the Kewajipan roundabout there.

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 12:05 am

Looks like a decent car…

• scudz (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 12:18 am

ben ben = stupid stupid (in chinese)???

kinda looks like the offspring of an Avanza + Innova affair (incest?)

jokes aside, it does look decent from the outside… I’m still rather skeptical bout the quality of China’s cars tho

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 12:40 am

“stupid stupid” mini Avanza….

luckily not CJ7….

• BW (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 3:10 am

Ya the front looks a bit like Avanza.. Ok ok looking car only la… At least it’s better than the previous model…

• nanashisan (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 4:45 am

looks like Merc A-class to me.
    i like the way they did put safety into priority first. seems like they are targeting to sell in EU market.

• mofo (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 6:02 am

**This is all about my personal opinion**
    its under Brejaya, they nvr sell @ low price. Should be selling around Myvi price

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 7:47 am

I will buy it if the price is RM25,000.00

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 8:38 am

Berjaya should price this car lower than the Naza Sutera to be competitive. With a tall profile, drab looking interior and zero brand awareness, its hard very to sell. The name itself is like a toy car.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 8:44 am

Looks pretty decent… design’s contemporary, i like the dash… :)

• xg9 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 9:31 am

rumor has it that protoon bought this ro rebadge it to proton mpv… lol

• Niceguy (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 10:41 am

The crash result is not really decent, based on this souce:
    http://www.chinancap.org/content/pzjg/xxcyc/benben.htm
    It scores only 2 star in china ncap, and full frontal crash score almost 0. This is consider bad, to me.

• KF (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 12:34 pm

If Berjaya wants to sell this car in MY…it has to come up with a better model name than “CV6 Ben Ben”.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 5:16 pm

u sure the test is on the changan ar… cos the 3 crash photos seem to show 3 different cars… there’s even a red Hafei Lobo (Naza Sutera)…

• Car Freak (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 7:15 pm

i don’t think cars that “MADE IN CHINA” is good in quality.. Think again..

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Niceguy said,

March 24, 2008 @ 10:41 am

The crash result is not really decent, based on this souce:
    http://www.chinancap.org/content/pzjg/xxcyc/benben.htm
    It scores only 2 star in china ncap, and full frontal crash score almost 0. This is consider bad, to me.
    ———————
    sounds to me like some form of population control by china

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 9:48 pm

no no no… :cry:
    just dont buy it…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 2:56 pm

Quirky Chinese design.. so cute and tacky, hazardous too.. is this a replica of some Korean / Japanese design or an original? Seems there is no safety and environmental control, they can manufacture just about anything.. Maybe a 6.0 V10 monster too

I always thought the Mainlanders would not buy smallish cars as to ‘not lose face’..

• hamster (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 5:52 pm

im mo worry bout da ‘BERJAYA’ thingy..look at wat they did wit Hyundai+Skoda…typical ‘hit & run’ kinda strategy..irresponsible to its buyer..1st get ur $$..n leave u wit da car witout any aftersales services..i’ll b thinkin trice gettin a car brought in by BERJAYA

• szw (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 9:07 pm

did anyone spotted a Hummer H3 in m’sia ?
    i saw 1 in bangsar 2day…

• Ray Khor on Jul 02, 2009 at 10:20 am

'Ben ben' in mandarin means 'forward forward'. basically means moving forward.