2021 Toyota Harrier Malaysian leaflet leaked – 2.0L NA, 173 PS & 203 Nm, CVT; Toyota Safety Sense, AEB, ACC

It’s only a matter of time now before UMW Toyota Motor officially introduces the latest Harrier. Before this, it wasn’t clear what the specifications of the SUV would be like, but the brochure has already been leaked online, and we’ve secured a copy thanks to reader Azham S.

The leaked document reveals that the fourth-generation Harrier will be powered by a 2.0 litre Dynamic Force naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine, which produces 173 PS 6,600 rpm and 203 Nm of torque from 4,400 to 4,900 rpm. Drive is sent to the front wheels through a Direct Shift-CVT, enabling a century sprint time of 9.7 seconds before topping out at 190 km/h. The average fuel consumption is 15.3 km per litre, or 6.5 litres per 100 km.

Only one engine option is available, so it’s likely we’ll be missing out on the hybrid version with the larger 2.5 litre Dynamic Force mill (218 PS, available in Singapore). That may be a bummer, but hey, the SUV rides on the latest GA-K platform and features double wishbone rear suspension, so expect high levels of ride quality and handling, among others.

If you’re still reeling from the powertrain option, perhaps the kit list can remedy that disappointment. To start, it gets bi-LED headlights with adaptive high beam system as standard, powered tailgate with kick sensor, power folding wing mirrors with welcome lights, and a fixed panoramic moonroof. There are five colours on offer – White Pearl Crystal Shine, Steel Blonde Metallic, Dark Blue Metallic, Slate Grey Metallic, and Precious Black.

Toyota Safety Sense is also available as standard. This includes pre-crash system (PCS, otherwise known as autonomous emergency braking), lane departure alert with steering assist, lane tracing assist, dynamic radar cruise control (at any given speed), blind spot monitoring with rear cross-traffic auto brake, plus parking sensors at the front and rear.

That’s about all the info we could find on the Malaysian-bound Harrier. No interior details have been leaked so far, but it will likely get standard features like keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone auto climate control with rear air vents, Nanoe air ioniser, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, leather upholstery, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a Qi wireless charger, six speakers, and a reverse camera.

The SUV will be fully imported from Japan, so expect to fork out a sizeable sum if you plan on being an early adopter. For your information, the outgoing car (with a turbocharged engine) starts from RM234,510. So, what do you think of the specs?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• this is much more better than corrolla cross

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • X70 Buyer on Apr 07, 2021 at 4:58 pm

Meanwhile X50 can have all that @RM103k + wireless charging for only RM450. Very worth it.

• Haidi on Apr 07, 2021 at 11:14 am

That output, a Skyactiv-G. But… pair with a CVT, what a shame…

• It is a DirectShift CVT with one actual gear during launch. Much better than the conventional CVT

• Juan Mata on Apr 07, 2021 at 11:25 am

~240k no chance this would “make it” here in Malaysia. I’m well aware that it’s incomparable when it comes to new vs recon vehicles but I much rather pay ~190k for a reconditioned 2019 outgoing car (turbocharged).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Juan Mata’s Dad on Apr 07, 2021 at 6:01 pm

Lol no Japs car would sell well once its price hovers around an entry-level German-built sedans.

• business man on Apr 07, 2021 at 11:35 am

It good to have it below 200k mark since CRV fully loaded just about 163k, but price of RAV4 is also high so I think this harrier 2.0 maybe fall between 210-220k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • zamer on Apr 07, 2021 at 11:50 am

with the specs and CBU form, nothing less than 250k i expect.

Waiting for grey import with 168k price range =)

• Emmesso on Apr 07, 2021 at 12:14 pm

It would be a shame to not import the hybrid version. It should be slightly cheaper as hybrids have less import duty fees.

People are also less likely to buy recond/used hybrids due to their long term maintenance, offering a brand new hybrid variant could give grey importers a run for their money.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 07, 2021 at 12:16 pm

This will definitely sell well here despite a small price hike if any but it’s gonna do even better when the recond models start flooding in 2-3 years later at a cheaper price.

• A car user on Apr 07, 2021 at 12:21 pm

Above RM200K and still use CVT? Better don’t buy. Expensive car with low cost components for cars that cost much less.

• These specs, for a Japanese car over 200k, are a must! Imperative! Hardly any surprises or value added!

• Ming Khoo on Apr 07, 2021 at 1:22 pm

CVT? Booooo!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Wait for grey import
    that is how Malaysian typically got their Harrier

• meowman on Apr 07, 2021 at 3:19 pm

Guessing they will be reserving the 2.5L Hybrid for the Lexus NX (whenever it is updated)

• autodriver (Member) on Apr 07, 2021 at 4:05 pm

Toyota Harrier
    Price RM 234k
    Powertrain – 173ps 203nm
    Transmission – Direct shift CVT
    Drive – front wheel
    Safety – full safety kits
    Quality – top notch
    Maintenance – cheap

VW Tiguan Allspace R-line
    Price RM 209k
    Powertrain – 220ps 350nm
    Transmission – 7 speed DSG DQ381
    Drive – All wheel
    Safety – basic safety kits
    Quality – not reliable as Toyota
    Maintenance – high

Harrier better in term of reliablity, cheap maintenance and full safety kits. But the powertrain much slower than Tiguan and the TNGA chassis is lower grade compare to MQB with DCC (comfort, normal and sport mode). Tiguan good at powertrain, agility performance, space (5+2 seater) and cheaper price, but maintenance cost is much higher and unknown reliability.

For me I will pick Tiguan Allspace and add RM10k to add AEB, ACC, blindspot and lane keep assist with genuine parts at outside workshop.

• VW always looks good on paper..
      But ownership experience is a different story..

• Ming Ho on Apr 08, 2021 at 1:20 am

Kah, kah, kah. Which outside workshop can install ACC, AEB etc.on Tiguan? The car sold in Malaysia doesnt even have LKAS that use camera on the windscreen. The cost would be very very very high. Cheaper lagi CX-5, the cost to add MRCC is around 8k. This car already have camera on the windscreen. I know I hate CVT, but if u want the ACC, Toyota is among the best. U can add Comma 2 for much3 better ACC, near Tesla quality.

• autodriver (Member) on Apr 08, 2021 at 6:37 pm

The cost to install lane keep assist not expensive, just get the insurance cover the windscreen (about RM 4k) enough for the LKA) for VW. Many members done that and I do have ACC on my Passat though.

• Harry on Apr 08, 2021 at 1:29 am

I dont think the new Harrier will be $234K…

• Lame lah 2.0 NA only and CVT….so so lame….trash….ill be happy thrashing new gen with my 2.0T harrier