Proton will enter the EV market when the time is right

Proton believes that while it is ready to introduce electric vehicle (EV) technology into the market, more preparation is needed before the business of electrification can take place. For one, a direction has to be determined and a policy outlined by the government before it can proceed, according to Proton Edar CEO Roslan Abdullah.

“We as manufacturers cannot move until we understand the rules. In terms of EV products, we need to look at our ability to be able to export certain products to neighbouring countries that have a clear direction regarding EVs. If its rules and investments provide good returns for stakeholders, why not? So we need to know the rules and direction set by the government. Once the ‘door is open,’ we’ll move on,” he said.

As it awaits clarity on the country’s electrification direction, the national automaker is carrying out a feasibility study on the right EVs that can be introduced in the country, The Malaysian Reserve reports. Roslan said that aside from determining the tech, many factors have to be taken into consideration, including pricing, consumers’ affordability, after-sales aspects and customer experience.

“We could bring the technology, but the question is what would happen to after-sales in the next five years? We are not looking at selling the product alone but throughout the customer experience of owning an EV car as well,” he said in an online interview recently.

“How many consumers can afford an EV? In Malaysia, a part of the forces in dictating sales is price affordability. If we have to bring down the price level, would it meet certain regulations later on, if any? These are key points we are looking at in determining to bring EVs. We (need to) look for the right product and the right time,” he explained.

Asked if the automaker would set up a new company to just focus on EVs, Roslan said all options were there but it was too early to tell. “Let’s finish assessing the product first. As for the business model, we want to organise how we can benefit consumers as well as stakeholders,” he said.

Even as regional neighbours such as Thailand, Indonesia and Singapore continue to ramp up their electrification efforts, the country has not yet announced its agenda on that front. A suggestion of how Malaysia’s EV policy would look like was offered with the Low Carbon Mobility Blueprint (LCMB) 2021-30 that surfaced into public view last week, but it remains to be seen how the final roadmap will shape up.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Read – We will enter EV when our China master say so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Ciss ini takboleh jadik. Maruah mana mau letak.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 27, 2021 at 4:14 pm

The time is “yesterday”

• Brian on Apr 27, 2021 at 4:40 pm

Letak kat otak. At least Proton CEO being pragmatic if the country infra is not ready yet.

• Susukotak on Apr 27, 2021 at 8:36 pm

Better bring back those Proton DRB managers. at least we get Iriz EV and Proton Exora Range Extender Electric …

• Veneno on Apr 27, 2021 at 3:54 pm

At first, I thought Geely will bring some fresh air into Proton, now I know Geely is making Proton as their kambing hitam. Man, I wish PSA bought Proton instead. Have you read a news from local automotive website about Geely’s treatment to Proton staffs and how Dr.Li replaces every top execs with Mainland Chinese when their contract expire..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • bubble tea on Apr 27, 2021 at 9:20 pm

subtle take-over

• https://paultan.org/2021/01/06/berjaya-auto-alliance-is-requesting-peugeot-owners-to-take-part-in-its-customer-information-update-exercise/
        This is the state of Pug in Malaysia. Would Proton want to wade into their murky waters and still not see any results? With Geely they are on course for a new model yearly which get hot reception, so imho they weren’t wrong to go with Geely.

• Proton fanbois can praise until the brand as good as biggest brands in the world. China brands has never been doing well in Malaysia but with the power of bodek, we hear it more often now.

• oricon666 on Apr 28, 2021 at 11:56 am

What’s wrong if replacing a better and more competent person? Look at proton’s sales now…. Anyway L, agree the time for EV was “yesterday”…

• Dredd on Apr 28, 2021 at 12:37 pm

Those top local execs oredy makan gaji buta for so long. Deadwoods must go, proton remain in doldrums #JomSapotLokal yo’

• Read – We will enter EV when our government say so.

• Brian on Apr 27, 2021 at 4:34 pm

Wow. Were you just camping here waiting for a Proton article to pounce on? Are you that bored in life? Perhaps get a real job?

• the tida apa attitude continues … dulu, kini dan selamanye …

move aside Plotong, bring in Wuling Hongguang Mini EV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Brian on Apr 27, 2021 at 4:39 pm

https://paultan.org/2021/04/23/malaysias-proposed-ev-roadmap-phevs-not-best-way-to-drive-electrification-forward-says-analyst-report/
      But is Malaysia ready?

• JingoMan on Apr 28, 2021 at 12:11 am

EV cannot make money la dey, parts and process too expensive….cheapest Proton will be RM180k without subsidy.

• Shikrin Syu on Apr 27, 2021 at 11:11 am

“…P1 will do it when the time is right”?

On the same note, I wish I could tell my bank “I will pay my loan when the time is right..”

Macam-macam can happen in Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Ajibkor on Apr 28, 2021 at 9:00 am

Inb4 Malaysia is on track to achieve its goal of becoming a high-income nation by 2020. At least for many of us…

• Maybe produce sell cars that you can produce first!

X70 and X50 waiting periods can go to 6-8 months. Quite absurd for a high-volume consumer car!

And still got face to export to new markets! Ptui!

• drMpower on Apr 27, 2021 at 11:25 am

when is the right time?
    no one can answer that. not even li chunrong.
    i tell u what, Proton can enter EV market right away. right now.
    scope of EV market is too large. dont focus on the EV market as the vehicle. but u can enter from power supply and management side. provide ProtonCharge or ProtonEnergy at Petronas stations or whoever partners proton have.

thats my idea right that. li, u know my number. call me we can make billions. yea u and me

• Petronas and other petrol station won’t allow Proton setup the ProtonEnergy in their charging station.

• JingoMan on Apr 28, 2021 at 12:19 am

The right time will be to wait for the whole EV ecosystem to mature and provide profitable solution for Proton. The expensive batteries, limited charging points and limited parts will only allow rich uncle/aunties to buy EV cars and they definitely will not buy Proton.

• Afeeq on Apr 27, 2021 at 11:43 am

How many times have we heard this? Abolish excise taxes and let us afford quality foreign cars.

• 50 years from now? These corporate imbeciles really think their bs still cuts in today’s world. Commitment is everything, state a date and stick to it, don’t be like our dear old government. Roti canai

• JingoMan on Apr 28, 2021 at 12:20 am

You willing to give money? If not shut up and let them do their own planning.

• Proton EV on Apr 27, 2021 at 12:08 pm

In other words, will enter the EV market when it’s too late.

And all of his (non) answers seem to be Proton has done zilch in researching the market. All open ended questions just to deflect their incompetence.

• stranger on Apr 27, 2021 at 12:28 pm

Time is right when Geely have one. And Proton Engineers “RnD” change “major” parts for RHD and “tune” to suite Malaysia road

• Mr. Sotong on Apr 27, 2021 at 12:46 pm

2 main reasons why EV will not sell well in Malaysia…

1. Petrol is relatively cheap and 100% of fuel purchased goes in the tank.

2. Electricity is freakin’ expensive (relatively) and not all kwh goes into the battery as charging also creates waste heat and some cars may run the batt cooler when charging, wasting more kwh….

Dont get me wrong, I am a superfan of EVs but the market simply isn’t ready yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Petrol station thought pump fuel more earn money than charging EV.

• Luddite on Apr 27, 2021 at 5:02 pm

You forgot one thing, most of the country is still on motorcycle. Stop hoping for step 3 when you’re still on step 1

• What u mean “time is right”?…Such a big company doesn’t dare to commit the timeline? Show us the Gantt Chart, don’t ambil gaji buta

• Datuk on Apr 27, 2021 at 1:23 pm

Mentri2 sez petrol price is cheapest in the region. Why must EV??

• Proton statement just prove you are not ready yo be a leader.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Apr 30, 2021 at 10:46 am

Who cares?? P2 also dont care. As long as it sells, bring it on mate…..

Halal and haram is no. 2……bedal je…..

• KYspeaks on Apr 27, 2021 at 2:19 pm

One would think that the right time is now….

• No enough charging station, petrol company dislike EV

• Brian on Apr 27, 2021 at 4:37 pm

Really? Is there sufficient infra in kampungs & boondock villages to support charging EV cars that balik kampung? Or should they call the tow truck to bring it back home after festivals?

Proton is ready with the tech and the knowhow but are WE ready?

• zamer on Apr 27, 2021 at 2:47 pm

OMG, as CEO saying this means they are weak.
    Other countries has set a target year to stop ICE cars but Proton still waiting for Gov.

Proton, set vision and mission, put some pressure to Gov instead. Don’t be another Nokia, you will left behind until could not catch up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Ya, sell 10,000 units EV but only 10 charging station available in Malaysia + gov no plan go for green. Proton EV project died.

• JingoMan on Apr 28, 2021 at 12:24 am

Other countries are giving subsidies at taxpayers expense to force their local car manufacturers to go into EV blindly. EV failed many times before and will continue to fail until battery technology and its ecosystem is 50x better than it is now.

• jusknittin on Apr 27, 2021 at 4:13 pm

I’m honestly not familiar with EV. As far as I know, a car company that focus solely on EV doesn’t exist in Malaysia. And the ones that have EV cars are very little. Proton doesn’t speak for other company about when they want to enter EV market. If anyone really want EV, go to other company who currently has it. Why wait for Proton? Because we assume it’s going to be cheaper? Really?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 27, 2021 at 6:55 pm

when the gov policies suit you?

• sembangkencang on Apr 27, 2021 at 6:57 pm

In other words, we just follow other car makers bontot when they start to make profit. We’re too chicken to take any risks for the health benefits of rakyat and earth. Cronies pocket money better we take care.

• jusknittin on Apr 28, 2021 at 10:02 am

Wait, wait. Just think for a moment here, what is the cost of “to take risks for the health benefits of rakyat and earth”? Free or cheap or expensive? Don’t get me wrong, it’s a noble cause to care for environment, but business don’t run on noble cause alone. And by the way, how many of the rakyat you think will be on board with this? You know, with B40 & M40, that covers the most rakyat already and this class can’t afford “expensive”. Especially expensive after sales, nobody wants that. Don’t you know that Malaysians think ahead? They already consider cost of parts even before they buy a car. Does EV car parts costs the same or cheaper than non-EV cars? A business without profit is just charity so, “we just follow other car makers bontot when they start to make profit” sounds more realistic in business perspective.

• Celup King on Apr 28, 2021 at 1:53 pm

Chicken to take any risk? Easy to complain la! When Proton take risk and lose money? Also easy to complain right?
      They do and get whack, they don’t do and get whack. Yeah right.

• Vincent Yong on Apr 27, 2021 at 9:12 pm

When is the right time?

• Proton will be ready after Geely is ready. If Geely is not ready, Proton can not be ready.

• Charger on Apr 28, 2021 at 5:16 pm

Pls get ready all the charging system in Malaysia first before introducing all these EV. Every time have to charge for 8 hours after using 400km is a pain in the butt. What is the use of EV when most of our power generation comes from coal power stations. Better to green our electricity first then talk about EVs.

• I hope they implement fast charging stations everywhere before this, otherwise there is no incentive to do so

Plus if they don’t make it affordable (inclusive of after sales) they will barely scrape the bottom of the barrel especially if P2 gets there by then too.

Just hope it’s fuel efficient (energy efficient) unlike the whole lot of their cars currently at their affordable category and higher