Malaysian police: Use the motorcycle lanes or else

Motorcyclists using the Federal highway are reminded to use the motorcycle lanes provided or face punitive action. This applies to the section of the Federal highway from kilometre 16 to kilometre 34, heading towards Klang and on the opposite towards Kuala Lumpur.

Lamenting the fact that many motorcyclists still fail to use the lanes provided, ACP Mohamad Fakhruddin Adbul Hamid, Petaling district police chief, said failing to use the lanes is dangerous to both the riders and other road users. He also noted that many motorcyclists are using toll entries and exits as short cuts to avoid using the motorcycle lane bypass around the toll plaza.

Failure to use the motorcycle lane is an offence chargeable under Section 79 (2) of the Road Transport Act, 1987, said Fakhruddin. He added that 193 summons have been issued to motorcyclists breaking this rule and reminded motorcyclists to use the motorcycle lane at all times, failing which action would be taken.

Commenting on incidents at police road blocks set up during the Covid-19 Movement Control Order, Fakhruddin said four accidents were recorded on the Federal Highway. These accidents were the result of driving under the influence of alcohol, reckless driving and failure to pay attention to traffic, resulting in damage to police equipment at the road block.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 29, 2021 at 11:19 am

about time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Ajibkor on May 29, 2021 at 1:16 pm

Yes bro. Reminded of the time when thy approved RM30 mil allocation for new race track in Sungai Petani, Kedah… Tak kira golongan apa, tetap dibela. Malu apa

• Civic Turbo 2018 on May 30, 2021 at 1:42 pm

SOPs but no enforcement. So what?

• BOYRACER on May 31, 2021 at 12:45 pm

Later enforcement out there pipul complain cruel & zalim this and that. Got accused minum kopi. For what?

• Casual reader on May 31, 2021 at 6:02 pm

Why some adult Malaysians have to be treated like kids and need enforcement then only will comply? Think about it

• YB Albert on May 29, 2021 at 1:50 pm

Why do we need to remind these hardcore offenders?
      Just take action.
      Reminders dont work.Bear in mind there are riders who obey the law.Those who break the law,must face the full brunt of the law.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 59
      • toll gombak balik ke kampong on May 29, 2021 at 3:29 pm

Memberi peringatan and menyarankan. The government decided that 80% of government staff to WFH. So our government staff sending out reminders to our motorcyclist friends from home.

• YB Albert please ride the motorcycle lane on May 31, 2021 at 9:27 am

YB Albert

Put yourself in the motorcycle riders shoes.

Try yourself riding the federal highway motorcycle lane say just for a week, twice a day. Try riding the motorcycle lane at night, try riding the motorcycle lane in heavy rain.

Would you gladly use the federal highway motorcycle lane after you have experienced it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
        • RodeAMotor on May 31, 2021 at 1:09 pm

Whatever the situation is, you still have to follow the road rules unless the motorlane is flooded/road work… then you are free to ride at the left side on the federal highway NOT zig zagging and making yourself a human barrier to cars wanting to switch lanes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • RodeACar on Oct 24, 2021 at 1:22 pm

Agreed, but when it comes down to it. It’s the cars going dead slow on the left that make motorcyclist “zig zag” it’s the poor planning and awareness of car drivers coming from the middle lane as they please that cause motorcyclist to “zig zag”. Because, hello lah you think most law abiding bikers don’t have their awareness dialed up to a 100%? Especially when they are riding on two wheels and no walls to protect them when crashing just a fricking helmet for f sake.

My father who has never gotten into an accident driving for 50 over years told me this: “Drivers look out for and take care of bikes and pedestrians. Bikers look out for drivers and take care of pedestrians.
            Pedestrians (including cyclist) just look out.”

• donno on May 29, 2021 at 8:36 pm

ACP Mohamad Fakhruddin Adbul Hamid

Get on the Police Kawasaki GTR1400 motorcycle, use the motorcycle lane daily to go to work.

Walk the talk. Then you will understand why people does not want to use the federal highway motorcycle lane.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 4
      • Jamilselamat on May 30, 2021 at 2:02 pm

Highly doubt too ketua pemuda wud ride his rm888K Ducati Superleggera V4 on the federal highway motorcycle lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • the driver on May 29, 2021 at 9:55 pm

l imagine this, Yeah, about time you jokers above hear the grouses, motorcyclists have been crying out loud. Car drivers complain when the road has dangerous corners, pot holes, flooding, unexpected detours due to road works, lack of lighting, lack of sign boards and generally lack of funding for the roads you use. That’s what motorcyclists complain most about
      Well, imagine also who supports the economy during the lockdown? Yup, motorcyclists. Think about it.

• aliphbata on May 30, 2021 at 1:50 pm

We pay roadtax to govt and deserved good safer road to travel. Think about it.

• WooGoo on May 30, 2021 at 3:53 pm

The Federal highway and Kesas Highway have the best motorcycle lanes. But these 2 highways have the most motorcyclists who refused to use them and speeding on the most right lanes.
        To complain about bad lanes means he has never even used those lanes before!

• Bürrensports on Jun 02, 2021 at 1:56 pm

Butoh!

Both Federal Highway and Kesas did water damage to my bike because of flood. I ride a BMW G310, the ground clearance is quite tall. Think about it man!

• AxiaRS on May 29, 2021 at 11:02 pm

Myself a motor rider too. If unavoidable then ride with adequate speed at the left side of jalanraya. Not speeding between second and third lane then terrorize car driver who put signal and want change lane from far away.

• azrai on May 29, 2021 at 11:22 am

If accident happened to the motorcyclist who don’t use the dedicated lane especially in KESAS and Federal, for sure you give insurance company the golden ticket not to compensate you anything for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • tikus on May 29, 2021 at 2:55 pm

All this PDRM staffs and pipu who dont ride memang Sembang kuat.. I am one of the many riders who ply Federal highway for daily commute. Many times we highlighted the dangers we face in using the motorcycle lane … Robbers hiding in unlit tunnels, deep potholes, sharp corners, flooded road and tunnels, large debris… you just name it.

So I choose to face the police and accept whatever saman RM300 a small price to pay, rather than the robbers bent on slitting my throat… especially in terowong gelap a lot of robbery, theft and assault cases have been reported. These young local criminals are placing thin wires across dark unlit terowong along bike lanes to trip riders riding along; once we fell, then robbed & assaulted. When perompak2 kebas beg duit and smartphone vivo x60 , locked our bike and sped off with the keys.

So what safety they now talkking? Hampeh has been going on for decades. tatap PerihatiN

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 73
      • Amran on May 29, 2021 at 3:21 pm

At least they are talking action now, back then during 22 months gomen what they did? NOTHING!!! PeriHampeh gomen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
        • Gomorrah on May 31, 2021 at 1:54 pm

BarangNaik govt before that had at least 360 months after Road Traffic Act 1987, what did they do?

• Ben Yap on May 29, 2021 at 4:47 pm

when more people use motor lane, less robbers la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
        • Otak mu

• Brian on May 30, 2021 at 1:07 am

Perompak berbillion2 takde masalah. Perompak ikan bilis kne sumbat. Syukurr Msia aman sejahtera.

• Perompak berbillion2 going to jail soon unless PH wins again. Lets hope they dont

• AJibkor on May 31, 2021 at 8:28 pm

Correct bossku. All under control hahahah

• yeap King Seong on May 30, 2021 at 12:04 pm

you mean the bike lane has motorists at all hours day long? it has ‘tons’ of freaking hazard than the car lanes. abandoned bikes, carcasses, rocks, deep portholes, unlit tunnels, flooded tunnels, sharp bend, etcetera.

• Instead of paying RM300 saman, you should consider driving a second hand viva then. Smaller monthly installment and safer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • MengkuduMasam on May 31, 2021 at 8:33 am

most of biker who commute daily actually own cars. the ride motorbike to avoid traffic & managing time & travel expenses.

assuming most of the biker follow your simple suggestion by buying cars or they drive daily. i can bet you, many of us will stuck in traffic longer than usual.

• Sorchai (Member) on May 29, 2021 at 11:29 am

Or else what? What are you going to do?

You guys can’t even do a simple job right. Has been going on for years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • Brian on May 29, 2021 at 1:48 pm

Bcuz for years, parts of motorcycle lane on Federal Highway was closed off for upgrading work? DUHH!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
  • Mawar Ketum on May 29, 2021 at 11:35 am

Just declares any motorcyclists not using the Federal Highway motorcycles lane involved in road accident or incident will nullify all legal claims and treated as mati katak OK case closed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
  • Amran on May 29, 2021 at 12:06 pm

PDRM must nabbed all these imbecile ingrates.

Even during PKP 3.0 the rempits out there doin wheelie, superman, wikang, and kona baring… langgar SOP and bakar bendera. low genes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Concern on May 29, 2021 at 12:11 pm

Please enforced on KESAS highway as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Syed zamani on May 29, 2021 at 12:24 pm

Everytime i use this bike lane wish i can punch the face of the people who design and doing the maintainence work, bad quality, always have to divert to car lane because there is always some work not related to the lane itself, very sharp corner, flood, slippery road, lubang sana sini, like it was mean to reduce human population in kl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
  • Fix the lane first, then enforce. As it stands now, the lane isn’t any safer. Especially at night, people pretty much riding blind. No light, constant flooding, pothole everywhere and very narrow road. Car driver are being self centered about lane, blaming motorcycle not using it. Why do you think we seldom use the lane huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
  • Mr Cent-sible on May 29, 2021 at 1:45 pm

In summary

OK
    Malaysia has plenty of law, rule and regulation for road and traffic.

NOT OK
    Extremely poor/serious lack of enforcement by relevant authorities. Poor examples shown among authoritative figures.

SERIOUSLY NOT OK
    Malaysian “tak kisah, tak apa, lantak kau la, suka ati aku” attitude.

This is why we are stuck again, again and again in a sad situation.

• Logical Deduction on May 29, 2021 at 3:06 pm

asalkan YB2 & pemimpin berakal & berwibawa, disanjungi rakyat marhen. So no problemo

• Motobasikal on May 29, 2021 at 1:51 pm

Only to know why enforcement fail. Er..does this include big bike escorting VIP?

• Come to Penang!.. Motorcyclists don’t use the motorcycle lanes in Lim Chong Eu Highway…Please do something about it.

• OngTK on May 29, 2021 at 3:17 pm

This should also be enforced for the Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu expressway in Penang. Many motorcyclists are not using the motorcycle lane

• 1. Part of klang Shah Alam motor lane is closed like forever. Part of PJ kl also closed for the longest time now, how?? So meaning when it convenient you, use motor lane, but because of these, we have no choice but to come back out to car lane, like this not dangerous meh? You say you want motorcyclist to be safe, I say FU because we are not safe.
    2. Occasional flood, makes it even worse thst we have to detour at dangerous angle towards speeding car or diverging lanes.
    3. Uneven and potholes not fixed in time, apa ni?
    4. Occasional flood at SJ tunnel, what the heck is this?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 12
    • Crony on May 29, 2021 at 10:22 pm

#SelangorGagal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 53
    • Dr Strange on May 29, 2021 at 11:39 pm

Syukur kjaan perihatin, para rider2 disayangi..

• Dr Strange on May 29, 2021 at 11:46 pm

Syukur kjaan perihatin, rakan2 rider disayangi..

• Copy Paste on May 30, 2021 at 1:10 am

Our future generations for sure they will ask us….why do you choose those leaders to lead you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Brian on May 31, 2021 at 12:18 pm

Selangor richest state but also most decrepit state. 10+ years banyak masuk poket and yet people not realise why still happen. #SelangorGagal

• hazri on May 30, 2021 at 10:55 am

my foreign workers said the road conditions in Bangladesh & Nepal are much better than here

• Double standard…
    VIP vs commoner
    Big bikes vs super bikes
    Fast vs slow riders
    Traffic jam vs bottleneck
    Emergency vs rescue lane
    Natural disasters vs infrastructure readiness

Are we all ready?

• Mohamad Bin Omar on May 29, 2021 at 7:52 pm

Please review

1. Not safe in many sense – safety of riders and safety riding, infrastruture of motor lane, weather during raining etc.

2. Not suitable at all for big bikes. In Europe they allowed 250cc above to use highway main lane. Looked more appropriate.

• Tak payah lah nak warning2 enforce dan saman jeeee…selalu enforce summon to traffic violation, for sure Malaysian would follow the rules…just look at our Covid case raising. If we enforce the summon to the people who violated the SOP and no cross border earlier without political or any favour, our Covid case will not be so high like now. So many warnings yet cases still raising

• t333son on May 29, 2021 at 8:36 pm

Some have already highlighted that the lanes are no safe. Until that is mended, it is harsh to penalise the motorcyclists who choose the safer option. It is the rogue ones who like to swerve in and out between cars and ignoring cars and indicators and act like Samseng that need to be sorted

• Sparcov on May 29, 2021 at 9:25 pm

Confiscated the motorcycle for 2 weeks. That’s it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
  • Get the bike lane fixed and patrolled. Then we can talk about threatening motorcyclists. Don’t talk like all motorcyclists are criminal minded. Most just want a safe way to go to work and get home safely like most other motorists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Leong on May 29, 2021 at 10:29 pm

Cut the tree pls. The tree grow out to motor lane already. I always need to duck. So dangerous

• newme on May 29, 2021 at 11:52 pm

“Malaysian police: Use the motorcycle lanes or else”

Else what? What cha gonna do? They have been riding like that for ages.

• Superbikes and Harleys belong there too. Got cut off a few times by them when changing lanes (with indication, mind you), they turned around to look at me. I gestured to them that they belong in the bike lane and they gave me the middle finger. We do not expect these bikes to show up in between lanes at 160kmh at all no matter how cautious you may be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 64
  • Saiful on May 30, 2021 at 12:48 am

Use left lane OK but never on the middle and fast lane. Time for enforcement to come down hard on these dumb riders. Squeezing through dangerously, honking and even challenging to a fight. Surveillance cameras should be installed 24/7 and all offenders fined
    – jail for repeat offenders.
    Had enough and fed up of this happening everyday.
    Disregarding safety and using mobile phone while riding is also rampant.

• stupidgomen on May 30, 2021 at 1:53 am

I’m not a motorcyclist but I do drive on Federal highway occasionally and I noticed the bike lane is often closed halfway for god knows what work they’re doing, and the poor motorcyclists often have to maneuver in and out into the main highway.
    Come on la WEEEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Kah Siong what the hell are you doing?

• The worse is this motorcyclist don’t ride on left side of road / highway but ride on fast
    Lane and race with cars.
    Please summon or ban them, or Give us hotline, I believe many cars with webcam can record and send in so please blacklist and summon this riders

• This is a perennial problem and is getting worse over the years. Compounded by the fact it’s noticed that quite often enforcement officers in their patrol vehicles and bikes do not stop and issue compounds when they pass by these offenders. The officers may have their reasons but I am sure they can take it up with their superiors and discuss ways to overcome this menace. It’s time the police and JPJ personal come down hard on these riders who are dangerous to other road users. If someone was to observe from the arch of the KL – Selangor border I am sure every hour one can see a few hundred offenders. Show them no mercy, treat them just as drunk drivers, the enforcement must be year round.We have to act before a major tragic incident such as accidents involving fully laden public transport or school buses occurs.

• Jimez on May 30, 2021 at 2:57 pm

Looks like this bike lane complaints have been going on for many years. Still, little has been done by to investigate the complaints and rectify the problems. Is there even an authority responsible for this, of so, are they doing anything about these? Yet, the police keep insisting that bikers must use these lanes due to the dangers associated with bikes on the open highway. Do aso die, don’t do aso die. Going around in circles while the risks to bikers linger.

• 4G63T DSM on May 30, 2021 at 10:17 pm

I agree that the lanes are done poorly. Badly lit, sharp corners and when it rains heavily, unusable.

But I am more worried about other motorcyclist than the road conditions. Not uncommon to see them flying past…or cut in dangerously into lanes/corners. Oii….you screw up going too fast, you will take us out also. Pakai otak sikit.

I ride a big bike, and with my paniers on, takes up more than half the entire lane…. and honestly the federal bike lanes are way too narrow for the traffic it is meant to handle at peak..

The authorities force us to use bike lanes because you idiots don’t know how to behave on the road. Lane split at speed, honking everyone, speeding, causing accidents. Car drivers complain, we reap what you sow.

While at it, same with the idiots with super loud exhausts. You piss off some VIP in the middle of the night, everyone kena.

• Mr. Sotong on May 31, 2021 at 8:00 am

Are the motorcycle lanes safe? Apart from the robberies, bad and very narrow road conditions, you will most likely lose a limb or worse end up dead in the event of an accident as you have either trees and pillars on the left or the back of road barriers on the right.

I’d rather risk riding in the emergency lane on federal highway.

• rider on May 31, 2021 at 12:26 pm

motorcycle lane only safe to ride on 20 to 30 km/h speed. Above that speed is not safe for rider and the bike.

• Where the enforcement is carried out, every motorcyclists obediently uses the motorcycle lane. But where the stretch that does not have enforcement, they turned it into a racing track. The stretch from Bukit Raja to Shah Alam is heaven to these defiant speed riders.