2021 Brixton BX150 updated for Malaysia – BX150 at RM10,488, BX150X at RM10,888, BX150R at RM11,088

Updated for the coming year is the Brixton Motorcycles range of retro motorcycles in Malaysia – the base model 2021 Brixton 150 is now priced at RM10,488 (previously RM8,988 in 2018). The BX150 is accompanied the scrambler styled Brixton BX150X at RM10,788 (RM9,288 in 2018) and the cafe racer Brixton BX150R with low handlebars and clubman seat at RM11,088 (RM9,588 in 2018).

Pricing does not include road tax, insurance or registration and every Brixton motorcycle purchased from an MForce Bike Holdings authorised dealer comes with a two-year or 20,000 km warranty against manufacturing defects. The Brixton range of retro bikes can be viewed at dealerships as soon as government Covid-19 lockdown procedures permit.

The Brixton bikes only differ in styling and colour choices which each model coming in a single specific colour depending on the model. The BX150 base model comes in Black/Dark green with brown flat seat, the BX150X, painted Matte Black/Grey, features block pattern tyres, braced handlebar, tank pads and black flat seat while the BX150R is equipped with chrome bar-end mirrors on the low set handlebars, classic look tyres and clubman seat, finished in Red/Grey.

Mechanically, the BX150 comes with a 149 cc, air-cooled, SOHC single-cylinder producing 11 hp at 8,000 rpm and 11.9 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm, fed by EFI. Power gets to the ground via a five-speed gearbox and chain final drive, making the BX150 simple in engineering design with the inclusion of a kick starter together with the electric starter betraying the vintage of the engine.

Suspension uses non-adjustable telescopic forks at the front end and twin shock absorbers are the back that are adjustable for pre-load. Braking is done with a single hydraulic disc front and rear, with combined braking – front and rear brakes are activated when the front brake lever is pressed – giving a measure of safety during hard braking.

Rolling on an 18-inch wheel in front and 17-inch wheel at the back, both spoked in keeping with the retro styling, the BX150 is fitted with 100/90 and 120/80 tyres, front and rear, respectively. Weight for the BX150 is 157 kg with 14-litres of fuel carried in the tank, while seat height is a rider-friendly 770 mm.

GALLERY: 2021 Brixton Motorcycles BX150

GALLERY: 2021 Brixton Motorcycles BX150X
GALLERY: 2021 Brixton Motorcycles BX150R

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ben Yap on Aug 30, 2021 at 11:24 am

like the retro design but turn off by the air cooled engine.

• Dksas on Aug 30, 2021 at 6:19 pm

You want retro design with water cooled engine?

• Awang on Aug 31, 2021 at 2:41 am

Yes please. Like triumph for example. Keeping retro looks but the feature my god I don’t know where to start

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 01, 2021 at 1:15 am

Retro doesn’t need shod with antiquated hardware.

While there can be a case made for a simple, basic, cheap, cut down bike, being retro isn’t the excuse.

• Ah Chong on Aug 30, 2021 at 1:50 pm

What’s the reason behind the big price hike? Does it get ABS or something new? Or did the ringgit drop again?

• Awang on Aug 31, 2021 at 2:50 am

You know why these retro bikes wont sell well here? It’s coz the these bikers company think they know what we want. What actually we want is :

1. Reasonable speed. Eg if it is 150cc then make it 15 hp. Not with a power that honda ex5 can cut me off on a highway easily. Come one brixton what a shame

2. Retro design with latest features. We want ABS, great suspension, great brakes, keyless, water cooled and etc. Come on we are living in 2021 and take a triumph for a good example. That’s what we really want. If not perhaps ABS feature only will be mean so much to us.

3. Reliability. Is brixton shop inside shopee? If yes this company better be. Please where’s the custom parts that we can easily go to the shop and buy one.

• Ah Chong on Aug 31, 2021 at 2:41 pm

Bro, I think what you want sounds like the Yamaha XSR 155, maybe with ABS, and maybe as cheap as possible.

I still think there will be people who really want something classic, air cooled. I just think it’s missing ABS, and it’s going to be fun puttering around at 70kmh on country lanes.

• Awang on Sep 01, 2021 at 12:48 pm

Not XSR actually, XSR is not a retro bike anymore, u can see by it’s frame already.

Speaking of the features, ya like i said, mybe ONE of the features will do, if not abs then its water cooled, if not water cooled mybe keyless or so on. sometimes a small features like kill switch or beam light flicker gives a big impact to the riders too.

i agree with you on the air cooled. to me i dont mind to pick between air cooled or water cooled. Harley still uses air cooled and i am pretty dang like it. triumph use watercooled and i like it too.

The main problem is the horsepower they produced is too little to be expect from 150cc for the first impression. i thought it gonna be as fast as y15 but nope, EX5 still can catch up *lmfao* it barely can reach 110 kmh.

• Akira on Mar 21, 2022 at 4:18 pm

Although i am late to reply by few months but you are wrong my friend. Brixton is super hotcake in malaysia due to the nice friendly pricing compare to triumph . Its everyones dream to own a cheap as built cafe racer without customize and trigger JPJ . Ive been waitin almost a year for them to restock cafe racer model lei!