Touch n Go eWallet Visa prepaid card coming in 2022

Touch n Go (TnG) has entered into a strategic partnership with Visa, and the partnership will see the Touch n Go eWallet join Visa’s Fintech Fast Track Programme, which allows TnG to directly access Visa’s global network of partners and affiliates.

What this tie-up means for Touch n Go eWallet users is that we will soon get to use a Visa prepaid card that is tied to the app – think BigPay and Maybank’s MAE card. TnG says that the card will debut in 2022.

According to the Visa Consumer Payment Attitudes study, both contactless cards (92%) and digital wallets (81%) are widely used in Malaysia. Data shows that 77% currently use both. With the upcoming Touch n Go Visa prepaid card, “Malaysians can enjoy the best of both worlds” as the card complements Touch n Go eWallet’s existing network of QR merchants in Malaysia with Visa’s network of more than 70 million merchant locations globally.

TnG says that the upcoming card will offer Touch n Go eWallet additional cash-out options through enabling last-mile withdrawals at Visa enabled ATMs in Malaysia and abroad. Those who use multiple cards will have to see if there are further benefits, but TnG eWallet users who want simplicity will soon be able to use one card and one app to tap one source of funds.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• dingle on Oct 29, 2021 at 10:39 am

Here’s the million dollar question…..will we be able to use the card as a TouchnGo card for train rides, parking, toll, etc.?

If that is possible, then you’ll never need to top physically top up the card anymore.

• Kenny Lim on Oct 29, 2021 at 10:56 am

So many cards, so many e-wallet but in the end when we tried to pay with the e-wallet, the shop said….”System down, cash only”….win liao

• Shekar on Oct 29, 2021 at 11:19 am

Dear T&G, my 2 sen to you: First solve your existing problems before presuming to venture into bolder territory. You have a touch and go app linked to a credit card, all very well and good. But when my touch and go Smart Card runs out of credit, I cannot automatically top it up using my touch and go e-wallet and it’s linked credit card. Instead I have to line up at a counter and top up the touch and go to Smart Card using cash. Why will you not go that last mile and make Smart Card topup automatic?? And I don’t think it’s because you have an incompetent IT team

• Shekar on Oct 29, 2021 at 11:20 am

first fix your TnG auto topup issues

• Menteri Pasola on Oct 29, 2021 at 5:18 pm

Touch n Go still need to top up at counter using CASH ONLY

• Halloween on Oct 30, 2021 at 12:26 am

U will be cursed forever until u settle your auto top up dragging issue.