Pas Mutiara My50 – free Penang bus rides for 2022

Good news to Penangnites. You’ll get to enjoy free Rapid Penang bus travel for the whole of 2022 with the Pas Mutiara My50, previously known as the Pas Mutiara My30. The free unlimited 30-day travel pass is limited to the first 7,500 applications though, so it’s first come first served.

The Pas Mutiara My50 can be purchased at the Rapid Penang HQ (Lorong Kulit), Weld Quay bus terminal, Komtar bus terminal, Bukit Jambul bus hub, Balik Pulau bus terminal, Bukit Mertajam bus terminal, Kompleks Dato’ Kailan Kepala Batas bus hub and Penang Sentral.

The Pas Mutiara is applicable for Rapid Penang bus services in Penang Island and the mainland, but will not include ferry services, which is not operated by Prasarana.

However, the Penang passenger ferry – the passenger-only fast-boat ferry service that replaced the beloved and iconic (but unreliable) Penang ferry – will remain free of charge for the whole of 2022, as announced in December. The ferry service for pedestrians has been FOC since July 2021.

This means that if you manage to get the free Pas Mutiara My50 every month, you can potentially commute for the entire year on ferry and bus for absolutely nothing.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 04, 2022 at 3:05 pm

Tenkiu better nation penyayang.

• Not my thing on Jan 04, 2022 at 6:27 pm

Oh my… There’s just everywhere this “My” be! Not for me and I wonder if it really helps the citizen to differentiate the schemes being offered and over-hyped the My thing.

And then there’s this hashtag trend, I don’t recall any other countries doing this as often as MY.

• Carol on Dec 20, 2022 at 8:26 am

2022 coming to an end. Is the Penang Rapid bus free service My50 extended for 2023? TQ.

• Albert Chew on Dec 28, 2022 at 11:14 am

We are eagerly awaiting the good announcement too…Btw, the free ferry passenger service has just been announced effective 1 Jan to 30 June 2023.