MyCC to monitor PLUS, Touch n Go on RFID rollout – suggests debit/credit card payment and other e-wallets

The less-than-smooth RFID rollout by PLUS and the subsequent furore by motorists has attracted the attention of the Malaysia Competition Commission (MyCC), which held a discussion with PLUS and Touch n Go (TnG) last week.

MyCC – which stated aim is to implement and enforce the provisions of the Competition Act 2010 and protect the competitive process for the benefit of businesses, consumers and the economy – said that the discussion is for it to have a better understanding on the nature of the matter and the latest progress in relation to the implementation of RFID.

“While it welcomes innovation such as the introduction of RFID in the toll collection system, MyCC believes that the implementation of the system needs to be carried out effectively in order to achieve its objective. MyCC takes cognisance of the plans to ensure a seamless transition to RFID for highway users and the cooperation between PLUS and TnG in the relevant toll collection system,” MyCC said in a statement.

“In light of the increasing complaints by consumers on the issues related to the implementation of RFID across PLUS highways, MyCC also shared its assessment and concerns in the same meeting on the said implementation including enabling access to other payment platforms for the payment of tolls not only via debit or credit cards but also other e-wallet systems,” it added.

MyCC said that it will also focus its efforts in consistently monitoring the development of the RFID implementation in line with its role in championing and promoting the process of competition in the interest of all Malaysians.

“Taking into account the special responsibilities arising from the dominant positions of both enterprises in the relevant markets, MyCC will continue to monitor the situation from time to time and when any competition concern is identified, the Competition Act 2010 will be enforced. Secondly, it is pertinent to remember that innovation-related markets can create uncertainty. Thus, MyCC will work closely with the government to ensure these changes will always serve the consumers’ best interest,” said MyCC CEO Iskandar Ismail.

The situation at North South Highway toll plazas should be back to normal now after the concessionaire apologised for the inconvenience and promised to reactivate 43 SmartTAG lanes at 34 toll plazas.

On the topic of other forms of toll payment, we reported earlier this month that PLUS will soon accept debit and credit card payments. This is a good move – almost everyone has debit/credit cards and those are things that are permanently in the wallet. Card payment would also be convenient because there’s no reloading needed. What do you think of this move?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• terrible move as we’d have solved nothing in reducing congestion at toll booths.

• Celup King on Jan 25, 2022 at 11:48 am

And the solution is….
      No need to pay toll.

• sohai on Jan 25, 2022 at 12:17 pm

20yrs ago Singapore paid toll at 110kmh all lanes smooth ZERO bottleneck conggestion. 2022 Malaysia developed NEW SYSTEM pay toll at 20kmh with bottleneck coggestion like hell, adding bonus with never ending story of intermittent failed detection. MALU betoi who propose and approved this project, kurang cerdik people.

• Joker. Where in Singapore can you travel at 110kmph, none of their highways go that fast. I bet you never even step on that island before but making stupid, easily debunked comment.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 25, 2022 at 6:55 pm

He’s talking about 20 yrs ago la…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 26, 2022 at 12:32 am

Abesla 64year UMNO BN rule. Malaysia a better nation soon,

• Amran on Jan 26, 2022 at 2:29 am

Nama pun sohai, memang jelas dia salah satu kurang cerdik people.

• PlainBS on Jan 26, 2022 at 11:56 am

Tak ngapa la tu.. selagi i lebih cerdik dari korang semua..

• Robinhood on Jan 25, 2022 at 10:41 am

Finally the MYCC came out. Otherwise, T&G including PLUS is taking the rakyat for granted. Dahlah monopoly, price and service are not up to expectation. One thing for sure is RFID is slower than Smart Tag. Sigh…..Paying RM35 to bring problem into our life routine. What nonsense!

• I used both and can say Rfid is much more faster to go thru than smarttag. My car has tinted windscreen which cause smarttag difficult to detect but that is not a problem for my Rfid.

• swoosh3553 on Jan 25, 2022 at 2:15 pm

Bro Jack… if your windscreen has no metallized ions in its tint property, 100% smart-tag detection guaranteed. Tints of premium that has those nano-metallic ions are a little over-hyped in apparently cuts of 99% UVA/UVB rays, 99% IRR…where a middle range tints that has no metallic particles that does 80%-90% UVA/UVB/IRR blockage is good enough protection for your dashboard as well as your extended driving arms…and that does well with Smart Tag detection. I learnt all these through my experience using wide range of tints on my windscreen. VKool is one that is good, expensive but crappy for Smart Tag detection.

• Premium tints with the highest heat rejection are all bad for smarttag, I use 3M Crystalline and heard the same for Vkool, Huper, top range tints too. So unless you use cap ayam super dark tint but poor heat rejection, then smarttag is worse than Rfid. Since I migrate, never have to go slower or frantically waving my smarttag device like a madman anymore. For that Im thankful for having Rfid.

• Kassim B Khairul on Jan 25, 2022 at 11:04 am

Every animal want their pound of flesh. So ngam my daily highway use I have switched from smartag to rfid right when I see smartag lanes are getting clogged up while rfid remain free.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 25, 2022 at 11:20 am

As long there’s no need to buy extra things from TnG, direct payment via debit & credit card is a jolly good idea, not only for toll highways, but also for public transport’s buses & trains.

• newme on Jan 25, 2022 at 12:20 pm

“MyCC to monitor PLUS, Touch n Go on RFID rollout – suggests debit/credit card payment and other e-wallets”

MyCC has so much power to even impose fine on organisation, takkan suggest je kat sini.

• Aniki on Jan 25, 2022 at 12:28 pm

This is not about monopoly but to standardize RFID in order to implement barrierless toll system in the future. Should have just put all RFID except one lane for tng/smart tag to force stubborn users to migrate

• Fully agree. Malaysians are stubborn lot and donkeys to change, have to be forcibly coerced and even then they will push to return back the old system like many of the comments here.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 26, 2022 at 12:55 am

Why need to think so much about how to pay if toll is abolished.

• Sick&Tired on Jan 25, 2022 at 12:36 pm

It’s time to end touch and go’s monopoly!

• Monopoly business by plus! Provide third world service!

• Kbchan on Jan 25, 2022 at 1:42 pm

If use debit card the rate for Penang bridge will be the same for Penang special rate for penangites. If not what’s the purpose

• Casta on Jan 25, 2022 at 3:09 pm

I’m using van.. if traveling at PLUS shall be no problems as may use RFID lane since its under Class 1 (same with car) category BUT whenever use Penang bridge i still have to use commercial vehicle lane since van is classified as class 2 (car is class 1)..still need to Q & have different rate. The best part is if use TnG can use at mall car park..RFID? just for show ar? Kamjat btoi..

• https://paultan.org/2020/02/06/touch-n-go-rfid-targets-usage-beyond-toll-payment-parking-fuelling-up-drive-thru-retail-from-q3-2020/
      RFID has way more potential functions than TNG card ever could do.