PLUS to accept debit, credit card toll payments soon

As previously announced, PLUS will be introducing RFID toll payment for passenger vehicles (Class 1) on the main stretch of the North South Highway (NSE) from Juru in Penang to Skudai in Johor. RFID toll collection will start at 10pm on January 15, which is tomorrow night.

The RFID roll out by the country’s biggest toll operator (Klang Valley highways have been accepting RFID for some time now) will see all 83 toll plazas along the NSE have at least one RFID lane. PLUS has been hard at work promoting RFID usage and has even set up a specific page to do so. It’s on this “Jom RFID” page that we found something new.

In the “Lebih Senang” section touting the convenience of RFID, PLUS says that debit and credit card toll payment options are coming soon, with pilot testing already underway at selected toll plazas – see the screenshot above.

This is a good move and one that’s very convenient for motorists – almost everyone has debit/credit cards and those are things that are permanently in the wallet. Klang Valley residents would have noticed that there are more shopping mall carparks with credit card payment now, in addition to Touch n Go. Card payment would also be convenient because there’s no reloading needed. What do you think of this move?

Anyway, here’s all you need to know about RFID toll payment. Where to get it, how to install, how does it all work? It’s all in this FAQ post. Is special care needed once you have the sticker on? More on that here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on Jan 14, 2022 at 1:31 pm

Isn’t their concession ending already? Why keep talking about paying?

• curiousme on Jan 16, 2022 at 1:14 pm

Whether concession ends or not, the highways will still have tolls, no?

• hazri on Jan 20, 2022 at 9:24 pm

we pay the toll basically for the highway maintenance.

• transformer on Jan 14, 2022 at 3:42 pm

even debit card has visa wave for years already

who cares about TnG if not bcoz of tolls, keeping rakyat reload for their own benefit for decades already, not forgetting those lost and unclaimed balance forfeited….

• Norlia on Jan 15, 2022 at 1:37 am

Once reach toll plaza:
      15secs to take handbag from footwell
      15secs to find purse inside handbag
      10secs to select which CC to use
      10secs to wind down window & touch
      10secs to put back card into purse & into bag
      5secs to but bag back to footwell

So I hope you gaiz dun mind us gurls take 1 minit to pay using our CC yeah.

• Celup King on Jan 15, 2022 at 5:31 pm

I thought the girl guides share the same motto as the boy scouts: Be prepared!

• 90s Bas Mini commuter on Jan 15, 2022 at 8:00 pm

additional 30 seconds wasted when you accidentally dropped your card while trying to tap the reader, opening car door get out of car finding the dropped card go back into car shut the door…..
        meanwhile cars queuing behind already reached as far as 100 meters……

• bieight8 on Jan 14, 2022 at 4:03 pm

Should have done it many years ago….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2022 at 4:57 pm

hold ur breath, will be buggy

• pomen on Jan 14, 2022 at 5:04 pm

previously they said by the end of 2021…now they said coming soon..when is your ‘coming soon’, 2023??? lol

• Boycott RFID. The sticker just worth cents and sell for rm10 without any credit inside. I will stick to my T&G card. They take it or leave it.

• Redzuan on Jan 16, 2022 at 1:50 pm

Yeah, isn’t it the same about T&G cards though? A monopoly all these years.

Not only did we have to fork out RM10 for a cheap card, there’s penalty to cancel/replace T&G cards or redeem our own money.
      And then there’s the extra service charges that T&G had been imposing for years (e.g. parking, by PERCENTAGE use), despite us topping up in advance and giving them hundreds of millions in capital, and despite the lower operating costs for not having to deal with cash payments (no extra machines/maintenance or attendants or security escort or paper receipts etc).
      Bank IBG transfer fee used to only cost 10cents per transaction. And imagine if ATMs charge cash withdrawal fee BY PERCENTAGE (but at least in ATMs case, the banks had to pay for services to top-up the physical cash). Only now after pushbacks, that T&G tried to improve. Too late?

If this RFID top-up via debit/credit card is for pay-per-use (i.e. no need advance top-up), then I fully support it. The volumes of transactions per day on that platform should be enough to sustain the business model (but not enough to support greed).

Even if the infra cannot support true “pay-per-use” model, I still think there’s a way to do it by charging a floating, pre-approved top-up amount (say RM200) on our debit cards once our RFID wallet balance is down to a nominal value (say RM50). Then credit back whatever unused amount from that RM100 back to our bank accounts at the end of billing cycle (say 1 month). For credit cards, it’s much easier. This is fairer, no?

• KYspeaks on Jan 15, 2022 at 12:58 pm

Need to have a lot more RFID lanes than currently provided on all these toll collection sites though, mostly just 1 lane right now.