Touch ‘n Go RFID – where, how to get it on your car

You’ve probably heard recently that PLUS Malaysia (PLUS) will begin accepting toll payments via Touch ‘n Go RFID on the main stretch of the North-South Expressway (NSE) beginning from January 15, 2022. If you haven’t, we’ve covered the topic in detail in an earlier post so you can get up to speed on what to expect.

The rollout of RFID has been ongoing for some time now, with most highways that have an open toll system (fixed toll rates based on vehicle class) like the New Pantai Expressway (NPE) and Guthrie Corridor Expressway (GCE) already supporting the toll payment method.

In the case of the NSE, which has a closed toll system (toll charged based on distance travelled), the implementation of RFID toll payment is new and will eventually result in the discontinuation of Touch ‘n Go card and SmartTAG toll collection. Don’t worry, as you’ll still be able to use both in the near term, with the government previously saying it plans to only end both by the end of 2023.

Even so, motorists will have to make the switch to RFID eventually. If you’re already an RFID user, you’re probably already familiar with how the whole thing works and are part of the 1,269,957 total number of claimed users according to Touch ‘n Go. However, for newbies who are unfamiliar and are wondering how to get their vehicle equipped with the technology, read on.

Can someone install RFID on my car for me?

Yes. There are plenty of RFID fitment centres located in Peninsular Malaysia that can assist you in installing the RFID tag on your vehicle. The list of centres can be found here and it will cost you RM35 per RFID tag.

Can I install the RFID tag on my own?

Sure thing. You can purchase RFID self-fitment kits from the Touch ‘n Go eWallet app or from Shell and BHP Petrol stations, Watson stores, or Lazada and Shopee online stores. Just like at RFID fitment centres, the price of the self-fitment kit is RM35.

Each self-fitment kit comes with an installation guide provided via a QR code as well as a step-by-step guide on how to install the RFID tag. It’s recommended that the RFID tag be placed on the left-hand side of the car, be it on the headlamp or windscreen.

This is because of where the RFID readers at the tolls are aimed at, and putting the tag on the right-hand side simply means the toll palang will not be raised because the tag cannot be detected.

Additionally, the RFID tag needs to be situated at least 5 cm away from metal parts to prevent any possible interference, which, on the windscreen, means away from the A-pillar, and if located on the headlamp, in the middle to have some distance from the bodywork.

Should you choose the windscreen as the spot to place the RFID tag, take note of the path of your car’s wipers and if your car’s tint has a high metal content. The headlamp is preferred for a majority of applications should the latter be the case.

Our RFID tags do not require an external power source, so you will not need to change the battery like you would with a SmartTAG. The readers at the tolls use radio energy transmitted to read the tag and gather the necessary information for the toll transaction to occur.

What do I do after getting the RFID tag installed?

The next step is to activate the RFID tag, which can be done online via the TnG RFID Portal or the TnG eWallet app. The process for either is the same, requiring you to input the ID number of the RFID tag purchased, the vehicle details and other personal details.

Once completed, you’ll be notified on your phone within 24 hours when the RFID tag is activated. Each tag is linked to your TnG eWallet, and you can have multiple tags linked (one for each car), with a dashboard to keep track of transactions and other information.

Toll payments via RFID are done via the eWallet, which is a digital wallet that you’ll need to load with money, just like you would with Boost, FavePay, GrabPay Wallet, ShopeePay and many others. Reloading is a simple process and can be done in the app itself using credit card, online bank transfer (Maybank2U, CIMB Clicks, etc.) or an TnG eWallet reload PIN.

This is a lot more convenient compared to TnG cards that require you to physically head to a kiosk or petrol station, and there’s no reload fee for the eWallet. If you prefer not having to manually reload your eWallet, you can also make use of the auto-reload function that automatically tops up when the balance hits a certain threshold.

The RFID tag is activated and I have money in my TnG eWallet. How do I use it on highways?

With everything readied, paying tolls via RFID is a simple as driving through the dedicated (or hybrid) RFID lane at toll plazas, just like you would normally. As you pass through, the tag is read, the necessary toll charge is shown on the display board and deducted from your eWallet, and the barrier is raised. You’ll also get a notification sent to your phone containing details of the transaction.

Depending on the type of toll system you encounter, you’ll either be charged a fixed rate on highways with an open toll system, or charged based on the distance travel on highways with a closed toll system like the NSE. Further details on how the latter works can be found here.

Overall, the toll payment process is certainly simpler and quicker than having to tap a TnG card on a reader, or having to hold up your SmartTAG (if you don’t have it stuck on your windshield) to the overhead reader. The latter is still relatively convenient but is still reliant on a TnG card, which isn’t the case with RFID that gets its funds from a digital wallet you can reload anytime, anywhere. TnG PayDirect is somewhat similar, but you’ll need to remember to have the linked TnG card in hand versus the RFID tag that is permanently on the vehicle.

Can I transfer my RFID tag to another car? What if it gets stolen?

The RFID tag is claimed to be dirt, weather and waterproof, but also to stop functioning once peeled off the surface it is stuck on. As such, you won’t be able to transplant the RFID tag to another location and it also means that it is of no use to thieves.

Even so, should you install the RFID tag on a headlamp with a protective film already installed, thieves could carve out the RFID tag from the additional layer, so keep that in mind before getting yours fitted. In the event the tag goes missing for whatever reason, call up the TnG Careline or log into the RFID Portal to suspend the particular tag or to arrange for a replacement.

What if I sell my car already fitted with an RFID tag?

Every RFID tag is uniquely identified to the car it is registered to, so unlike a SmartTAG that can come along with you, you’ll first need to terminate this association. If not, you’ll be doing some charity by helping the next owner of your car pay his/her toll using your TnG eWallet account. As we’ve reported previously, there’s no compensation for deducted toll fare if a customer has failed to terminate his/her RFID tag.

You can terminate an RFID tag by calling TnG Careline or via the RFID Portal, whereby you’ll need to provide personal details to be identified as the legitimate user. After confirming the termination of the RFID tag, you can verify via the eWallet app if the car has been removed from your account and you can proceed to register for a new RFID tag for your next car.

On the flipside, if you purchase a car that already has an RFID tag fitted, it’s of not much use to you since it will likely already have been deactivated. You’ll need to have it removed and install a new one linked to your account.

Where can I find even more information?

We’ve covered the RFID topic many times in the past and you can find out more in the links below:

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• For those who complained about bad detection, here’s a tip. Just get the RFID installed at their authorised installer. They have the detector which could help simulate to determine ideal sticker placement for best detection. I did that for my car and not once did it fail to detect.

I suspect those poor detections are coming from users who self install and simply agak the location without considering headlamp height & curvature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 35
    • the problem with so call bad detection has or is little to do with installation,… it’s the RFID technology deployed – Passive RFID compared to the others Active RFID

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Copy Paste on Jan 04, 2022 at 10:55 pm

Copy paste: “As you can see, the RFID sticker’s best location is on the car’s left headlamp. We assumed that the windscreen would be the ideal location, but were told that the sticker can’t be located near metal, which rules out the top of the windscreen and the side next to the A pillars, where most people place their road tax stickers. The signal “gun” used to test reception shows interference if the sticker is placed on the top/side of the windscreen. Window tint is a barrier for in-cabin placement of the sticker, literally.”

Copy paste: “but one can breeze through the gates faster, and the gantry operates at a slightly faster speed.

By the way, our RFID’s detection range is 2m versus Smart Tag’s 1.5m. Active and battery-assisted RFID tags have greater range, but they require power and are more expensive.”

• I disagree. I’m among the pioneer RFID users, had 3 cars installed with RFID in 2018 at authorized TNG installers, drove all 3 cars through the Grand Saga toll plaza in Batu 8 Jalan Cheras on 3 separate occasions, guess what, all 3 cars sangkut there!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Calvin on Jan 04, 2022 at 10:27 pm

I disagree with your disagree. Am one of the initial pilot users. Guess what, my sticker is still original unit and so far never failed to detect, whether it is NPE, Besraya, SPRINT, KESAS. My family 4 cars all installed at different times, none have detection issues. I think this was blown to out of proportions as none of us 5 cars have any issues. FYI we all done at different RFID fitment centres so nope me & my family categorically say we have no issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Same here, pilot programme user. No issues for me.

• IGP mom on Jan 07, 2022 at 1:34 pm

I hope you are not trying to suggest that with 4 cars … err 5 cars no issue, you think that can be good enough to represent the population. Imagine just 5% of the people running into issues, that would mean 95k cars out of 100k would be free of problems, but nightmare to the other 5k cars. Who are you to brush off others who ran into problem just so you are a tad luckier??

• Copy Paste on Jan 04, 2022 at 10:56 pm

Copy paste: “So there you have it, our first hand experience of being among the first to install and use RFID toll payment in Malaysia. No more hiding away and taking out Smart Tags, no more 9V batteries, no more reloading TnG cards at petrol stations and ATMs”

• I too am pilot programme user back in 2018, stick on windscreen so far no issues for me. That time I also noticed a super dark tinted XC90 whom tried and & failed to stick on windscreen coz of bad detection. Some could insist to do it anyway which lead to frequent bad detection, so this might apply to you. As for me, it convinced my entire family to install RFID and none complained about bad detection, caveat is that all of us stick on windscreen by authorised installers and all are not super dark tinted.

• I still think it’s so inconvenient, especially if you have more than 1 car ,2nd if you sell or it gets damaged for some reason ,you need to call the cs ,and once everyone starts using its gonna be damn irritating to call the call center

• Copy Paste on Jan 04, 2022 at 11:03 pm

Copy paste: “Overall, the toll payment process is certainly simpler and quicker than having to tap a TnG card on a reader, or having to hold up your SmartTAG (if you don’t have it stuck on your windshield) to the overhead reader. The latter is still relatively convenient but is still reliant on a TnG card, which isn’t the case with RFID that gets its funds from a digital wallet you can reload anytime, anywhere.

You can terminate an RFID tag by calling TnG Careline or via the RFID Portal, whereby you’ll need to provide personal details to be identified as the legitimate user. After confirming the termination of the RFID tag, you can verify via the eWallet app”

• Darren on Jan 04, 2022 at 2:51 pm

I deactivated the RFID via tngo app when I sold my car (where you can view the RFID status active or deactivated from tngo app). It seems like there is no need to call tngo careline to complete the deactivation process.

• Copy Paste on Jan 04, 2022 at 11:01 pm

Copy paste: “for whatever reason, call up the TnG Careline or log into the RFID Portal to suspend the particular tag or to arrange for a replacement.”

• Copy Paste on Jan 04, 2022 at 2:54 pm

Copy paste: “As you can see, the RFID sticker’s best location is on the car’s left headlamp. We assumed that the windscreen would be the ideal location, but were told that the sticker can’t be located near metal, which rules out the top of the windscreen and the side next to the A pillars, where most people place their road tax stickers. The signal “gun” used to test reception shows interference if the sticker is placed on the top/side of the windscreen. Window tint is a barrier for in-cabin placement of the sticker, literally.”

• Jeryl on Jan 04, 2022 at 4:28 pm

Penangnites who registered their TNG will have cheaper rates crossing the Penang bridge if they use TNG Card (RM 4+) as compared to using RFID @ RM 5.60. Anyone got any comments on this? IF we use the bridge daily, it will add up to a lot of Ringgit spent.

• Albert on Jan 08, 2022 at 6:39 pm

Actually u still can register to get the discount for RFID if u staying or working in Penang. I forgot the link, u can try google it

• efemkay on Jan 04, 2022 at 5:05 pm

None of the info presented in this article makes feel happy about rfid tag (paultan.org makes the best effort to be neutral though :))

– rm35 for the tag is appalling. Esp when u know at cost it is only abt rm1. You can charge rm10 or maybe even rm20. They really are stretching it at rm35. Just google “how much passive rfid cost”

– you would have to fork out ur own money to buy again if its broken (or even not placed it correctly the reader cannot detect it). Saying it is all kind of -proof doesn’t mean anything without actual guarantee u would replace it

– linked to ewallet is already available for tng n smarttag for kl open-loop toll, so its not an advantage rfid bring

– need to call to cancel? God, what the…

On additionional note, car rental would be interesting to watch out for. Especially those smaller player/individual. Also, how would they deal with more rfid tag cars not detected at the booth and cause the jam. Its noted in their plan have camera detect those undetected rfid n sort of charge them later of some sort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Calvin on Jan 04, 2022 at 10:40 pm

Initial pilot user here so let me reply:
      – As compared with paying rm90 for a smart tag device? Yeah, pass me the sticker please.

– Ditto with the easily spoiled smart tag device which are pricier than RFID sticker. I lost count how many I replaced. Does TNG guarantee me free replacement of faulty smart tag devices? Heck no!

– Fking hell no. TNG without directpay is taking credit from your card and if it’s emptied you are royally screwed. Double royally screwed if you forget to change the 9V battery as well.

– You need to call the bank to cancel credit cards right? So why the F….

– The camera is not to detect those undetected but to resolve misdetection. That showed how misinformed you are about RFID tech. Go out, get it installed, and try it yourself.

• Copy Paste on Jan 04, 2022 at 11:01 pm

Copy paste: “for whatever reason, call up the TnG Careline or log into the RFID Portal to suspend the particular tag or to arrange for a replacement.”

• Penangites have difficulties in registering for the 20% discount on Penang bridge. Please approach TNG or Plus for the correct link. Registration failed when we registered thru TNG eWallet. Thanks

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 04, 2022 at 9:06 pm

get rid of the stupid palang

• Lisa Lai on Jan 05, 2022 at 12:49 am

Sharing my car with my son, so my son also need to register the car info in his e wallet in order to pay RFID, or we only need one account to pay.

• Puvanesvaran on Jan 05, 2022 at 1:35 am

How to resolve in the senario where someone sabotage or vandalise our rfid and cause time and money to install back or had minor accident where headlamp damaged. If we have tools like card or smarttag we have protection against these kind situation. Sunlight and dirt will cause damaged the strip. How about those working dusty and dirty environment should they clean theor vehicle each time encounter some dirt issue. How about bird dropings?

• Copy Paste on Jan 05, 2022 at 11:26 pm

Copy paste: “The RFID tag is claimed to be dirt, weather and waterproof”

• IGP mom on Jan 07, 2022 at 1:40 pm

@Copy Paste …

Let me copy paste for you to also read what the question is:

‘where someone sabotage or vandalise our rfid”

Its about sabotage/vandalize … example if it is scratched, torn, etc … its nothing to do with dirt, weather, waterproof.

• Dr Ray on Jan 05, 2022 at 9:45 am

I just started using RFID 1 week ago, it works fine for me…i sticked it at my windscreen top left 7cm from the metal…Im using a SUV… i realize that most of the vehicle which ‘sangkut’ at the toll actually sticked the RFID at the headlamp…

• Scenario A:
    i bought meals via Foodpanda..it costs me more than going to the kedai myself..i paid for the conveniences
    i bought the smart tag, it costs me more than using the TnG card..i paid for the conveniences
    i went to private hospital..it costs me more than going to government hospital..i paid for the conveniences

Scenario B
    government replaced the laminated IC with the chip embedded IC (yes, i am old) because the new IC comes with conveniences. rakyat was given a year grace period to do so if my memory dont fail me, it cost me nothing to replace it..it was mandatory for all rakyat..

Scenario C
    i paid to use the highway because of its conveniences. Government is going to make RFID usage mandatory eventually albeit not immediately (allegedly for the extra conveniences)..i have to pay RM35 for the extra which i dont need..why do i have to pay?

Scenario A and B make sense to me. Scenario C? cars change hands in its lifetime, rakyat change cars in our lifetime, and rakyat have to pay for this extra conveniences which for some is not needed, on top of already paying to use the highway? Supply of RFID sticker is a business by itself and a source of income to the supplier.

• Daljit on Jan 05, 2022 at 2:51 pm

With all this hype Melaka still lacking an installation entre.

• i still think this is not a mature solution. it is making the car super ugly. The sticker will gradually collect dirt, and it’s so inconvenient for people like to change cars.

• Anonymous on Jan 05, 2022 at 8:21 pm

Are there any concessions made for rental, leased or car sharing applications?

Similarly the distribution of VEP RFID tags for foreign registered vehicles has been frozen for more than a year.

I sure hope this was clearly thought out for such scenarios.

• Andrew Wong on Jan 05, 2022 at 8:23 pm

Why must we pay for something we have already been using for umpteen years and have to pay for the useless sticker why can’t we allowed to register on line and do own printing even the smart use is much better only install more sensor like our neighbour Singapore which are the colonies making money out of this stupid RFID sticker

• Sugumaran on Jan 05, 2022 at 9:48 pm

How will it work for my Texi?

• Nix Chung on Jan 06, 2022 at 12:17 am

RFID should look into China n Thailand on how they work they don’t need to have it fixed on lamps n glass just a tag fixed on internal front windscreen or put in side car for mobile purpose in case needed like the current touch n go smart tag but smaller why what to affix on with so difficult process n let’s say car is eventually so how to recover the RFID ? This is a pure operation behind black curtains monopolised by touch n go they are moving backward instead of forward !

• HI,

Issues such as dirty vehicle, bird dropping, vandalism, sabotage, damaged, defected and wrongly placed RFID unit should be solved by PLUS. I personally prefer if we as users, are given options rather than eventually forced to use RFID as a single way for payment. Not everybody owns a smartphone to use e-wallet.

Perhaps, FRID suppliers can prepare a template sticker with ideal distance to place the unit at the top of the windscreen at the side of the A pillars.

• Jess Lim on Jan 06, 2022 at 12:36 pm

Will we get a free replacement if we replace damaged windscreen and or lights ?

• windscreen replacer on Jan 22, 2022 at 5:55 pm

Nope. They say the first replacement is free. But that’s BS in my experience. Changed my windscreen since it had a crack on it. Requested a refund twice. Got rejected. End up buying a new one and re-activating

• j yip on Jan 08, 2022 at 5:44 pm

We are still trying to implement RFID when Singapore has been using number plate recognition for years…and eliminate the need to even slow down….

• Choong yoong fatt on Jan 09, 2022 at 10:38 am

After so long delayed deduction of tol charges is still happening, why cant t&g rectify it?

• pxp154 on Jan 12, 2022 at 8:58 am

Commuting wknd KL-JB for the past 2 yrs, seen few stuck due to undetected stickers during peak hours. I stay with T&G card. Good luck RFID users(Cap Ayam). Tech not reliable especially during rain…

• I prefer something portable like Smarttag or TnG, so that we can bring along in different car. If can stick like road tax & able to detect then will be better. I believe many have the same issues. Anybody tried sticking inside car, & can detect?

• LIM Mark on Jan 20, 2022 at 8:17 pm

It sounds like the TnG rfid is different from the VEP rfid that is fitted on singapore cars. So if singapore car want to use TnG rfid they will end up having two different rfid tags both pasted on the left headlight is that correct? will that confuse the VEP and TnG reader ? thank you if anyone can link me to the answer..

• dhtnm

• jayaratnam on Jul 07, 2022 at 2:51 pm

Very poor unit, how to check replace the RFI on my car