VIDEO: Touch ‘n Go, RFID, PayDirect – what do Malaysian drivers think of them; the good and the bad

Touch ‘n Go is pretty much part and parcel of life for Malaysian drivers. It’s probably safe to say that no one really likes paying toll in Malaysia, but for those who use the Touch ‘n Go card, SmartTAG, Touch ‘n Go eWallet, RFID and now PayDirect, there’s no denying that every layer of innovation makes doing the deed more convenient.

If you have not heard of PayDirect, it essentially allows users to link up to three Touch n’ Go cards to their eWallet app. Once linked, the toll charge will automatically be deducted from the eWallet whenever it’s used (either by tapping it on a reader or by using a SmartTAG), without any deductions on the physical card itself.

In the event that the eWallet has insufficient funds, only then will the fare be deducted from the card’s balance. Reloading the eWallet is done through the phone app via credit or debit card, online banking or TNG Reload PINs with no additional fees.

In the video above, we ask a few Malaysian drivers what they think of each of the above ‘conveniences’. Be sure to watch it, and don’t forget to let us know what you think!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Would be better if eWallet can be accessed from computer as well. And can eWallet integrate a NFC reader so pongs with NFC can read the card remaining value (not the wallet value)?

• Juned on Apr 19, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Touch ‘n Go alredi so pening kepala . Giv cash easier for kampung pipu jarang pakai highway,

• Hafiz Hisham on Apr 19, 2019 at 6:10 pm

And kampung people can’t even use public transport anymore (https://paultan.org/2019/04/09/rapidkl-buses-to-go-cashless-from-next-week-apr-15/). Kesian mereka terpinggir.

• Betui Hafiz. Ini semua salah TnG CIMB.. Pffftt

• P. Alyanna on Apr 20, 2019 at 12:03 am

But RapidKL is the one making that decision and RapidKL is belong to the Government. So can I conclude ini semua salah Gohmen kita?

• My card already have TnG function. Just need to top up to use.

• Technically, all Malaysians who hold a MyKad has a T&G card, it is built into our MyKad. You simply need to go top it up with $$, can use lorr.

• MyKad TnG on Apr 22, 2019 at 4:05 pm

Yes, it is true. I keep RM20 inside MyKad’s T&G apps for emergency use case. It will come handy during unexpected moments.

• They should not penalize the user with additional fee (10%) for using Touch ‘n Go for car park at the malls. Not a good encouragement.

Secondly, I dont think it is a good idea to stick the RFID card permanently… what if i have more than just one car or got damaged when washing the car?

Lastly, we should think far ahead instead of just shortsighted.

The system in Singapore and Japan is very practical and convenient… why cant we do something like them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Hafiz Hisham on Apr 19, 2019 at 6:14 pm

Not Touch n Go that is issuing the fee but the parking operators.

If more than one car, simply register for that other car. If damaged, simply go back and replace.

SG system taps power from the car battery, very fast condemn that way, and Japan one is integrated into the car features itself, not something doable here with so many brands plus CBU imports.

• A car user on Jul 19, 2019 at 11:41 pm

Tapping power from the car battery is simple.It doesn’t need to be pre-installed by the car manufacturer, just like dashcam.It does not consume any power when the engine is off.When.the engine is running, the battery will be charged continuously anyway and it consumes far less power than some other electronic/electrical equipments in the car, such as the headlight bulbs.So what’s the issue?

• Choong Yoong fatt on Apr 27, 2019 at 1:39 pm

If u have 3 cars u fix 3 RFID each RFID u top-up RM20, imagine millions of user top-up such amount 1 day how much interest earned.

• I don’t think this RFID is not well thought of

Imagine inconvenience it caused when the rfid drop off

I have seen many car fitted with rfid cannot go through toll booth

So what this proof?

• PJ fella on Apr 19, 2019 at 11:46 pm

Are you so sure they are fitted with RFID? I never had a failure ever despite using to and fro everyday.

• toyotafan on Apr 19, 2019 at 6:35 pm

What i think of the e-wallet of TnG?

Well, deducts the amount from the app and deducts the TnG card.

Can’t identify the TnG cards that you own registered in the app and prevent double charging.

Can’t even register more than 3 cards in the app.

We have a lot of cars, and hence a lot of cards!

• I understand that they are still testing the system but how come I have to drive slower in the RFID (10kmh+) gate than the SMARTTAG (20kmh+). Just a thought that maybe we can just pass the tolls at 40-50, slow enough to detect, fast enough to not cause traffic build up

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 19, 2019 at 8:30 pm

T&G has ambition of being the cashless payment provider, ala Alipay, WeChat Pay.

• hondaman on Apr 19, 2019 at 9:33 pm

as long as we can’t top up our t&g card with ewallet… then no use for me..

• PJ fella on Apr 19, 2019 at 11:47 pm

Do read the article about DirectPay. As long as you keep your eWallet filled, you will never run out of credit because you are effectively using the eWallet, and not the card stored value.

• FRanger71 on Apr 21, 2019 at 1:27 am

DirectPay is only for certain highways where deduction is from ewallet not from the TnG card. How about transferring funds from ewallet to TnG card, tak boleh! So one area to improve. There should be no more surcharges, TnG already gets time interest on your credit, gila untung!

• MengkuduMasam on Apr 22, 2019 at 5:29 pm

agreed.

I did reload my e-wallet without checking which highway can use. I thought the credit can transfer to T&G card which is more convenience rather than need to queue to top up.

End up, my e-wallet not being utilize. Coz the road that i’m using not supported.

Bengong

• crtswong on Apr 29, 2019 at 5:07 pm

TnG sync with eWallet = no can’t do
        As both is a different company

• Wherr to purchase tng reload pin on Apr 19, 2019 at 10:06 pm

Pls make reload more convenience; and no extra charges for using tng at parking and reload in some cases.

• P. Alyanna on Apr 20, 2019 at 12:05 am

How more convenient can you get from reloading via online transaction using your credit card? It is as convenient as online shopping.

• Rina Ho on Apr 20, 2019 at 11:36 am

I would like to comment on the toll detector at Ampang elevated highway using rfid. I have to slow down my car or near to complete stop in order for the detector to detect my rfid which is on the windscreen. I thought having rfid is better than tough n go or smart tag but its not in my case. Can someone assist on this matter please?

• Robin on Apr 20, 2019 at 11:45 am

Way to go ..now paying toll while still painful is hassle free with auto top-up of ewallet. Waiting eagerly for more RFID dedicated lanes… Still cannot understand why parking with TNG still have surcharge?

• Lawrence on Apr 20, 2019 at 1:03 pm

I challenge you Touch and GO RFID. If my car can pass 3 tolls smoothly I will be paying you RM500 for the installation instead of free. This is not the first time I challenge you but every time you dare not take the challenge. Poor technology!

• johnnyk on Apr 20, 2019 at 8:57 pm

RFID is nothing much better than smartTAG (except battery needed). no different…

• Don’t see the benefit of pay direct. With or without pay direct, I still need to top up either my ewallet or my tng card.

• Aniki on Apr 22, 2019 at 8:54 am

Very nice feature whereby if i saw long queue on the rfid due to technical reason, i can faster switch to TnG or SmartTag to use the physical card but still deducting from e-wallet.

• Sharifuddin on Apr 22, 2019 at 9:24 am

I have installed RFID in all the 3 cars used by me, my wife and my daughters. We use RFID lanes at Guthrie Highway Toll at Bukit Jelutong almost daily. Feedbacks so far:
    GOOD – Almost no traffic passing the RFID lanes at most of the times, so it is supposed to make the process faster….
    BAD – Unfortunately, I would say 30% of times the system indicates “SILA UNDUR” as the RFID sticker can’t be easily detected even at super slow speed. Although the installations for the 3 cars are at different places ([1]Headlamp [2]External side of the windscreen [3]Internal side of the windscreen), they are all having similar difficulties in getting the RFID stickers detected. In fact, it is more assuring and a lot faster to use SMARTAG lanes when we use PLUS Highway.

• Navin Sukilan on Apr 22, 2019 at 1:06 pm

I agree with you sir. I use the same rfid toll booth you mention but it always fails to detect despite comingvto a near standstill. Mine is installed on the headlamp. I find it a real annoyance and there are no plus staff that attends as well when this happens.

• Aniki on Apr 22, 2019 at 2:33 pm

I still feel that the RFID is not really radio frequency but still using infrared technology… the radio frequency should be easily detected without eye of sight by the scanner but instead TnG giving reason like don’t block it with windscreen tinted film this kind of excuse…

• Sharifuddin on Apr 22, 2019 at 9:38 am

I wish T&G would extend PAYDIRECT to work with MRT, LRT & Monorail (and other operators such as KTMB and ERL) so that users don’t have to manually top up their T&G every now and then. Even for users that opt for MY100/MY50, they still need to manually top up their TNG cards to pay for the parking. In addition, please get PAYDIRECT to work with parking operators too. It would be a big hassle to pay parking especially at places like KLIA or KLCC where the parking charges could easily hit RM40 or more.

• selvi on Apr 23, 2019 at 3:11 pm

i am facing problem with RFID and i have email to touchngo customer service but until today no reply from them.
    My contact no Mr Pandiyan hp no 012-3780692

• David on Apr 24, 2019 at 11:02 am

My feedback / suggestions:
    1) Provide dedicated RFID lane instead of sharing with TnG cards, slows down flow when there are people tapping their cards still;
    2) With SmartTag & RFID, we can get rid of the barriers altogether (like those in Singapore), this would definitely improve traffic flow;
    3) RFID technology needs to be improved, car has to slow down so much otherwise it can’t be detected. SmartTag is far more superior in this area.

• kfwong on Apr 24, 2019 at 6:03 pm

I’m using RFID fixed on headlamp…always didnt go thru’ during or after rains (maybe water drop on the strip cause the interruption). And furthermore, need to drive very very slow even on a normal weather while thru’ the toll to be successfully…

• Albert Lim on Apr 28, 2019 at 6:48 am

RFID unable to generate statement therefore it is not possible to claim the companies business trip. If this feature is in then it is fine.

• Mohd joned b Mohd saat on Apr 28, 2019 at 7:56 pm

I like to apply rfid

• Brian on Apr 29, 2019 at 11:05 pm

When are the tolls going to close as promise by ph