Touch ‘n Go RFID public pilot begins Sept 3, launch in Jan 2019, SmartTAG sales discontinued immediately

Finally, some news on Malaysia’s radio-frequency identification (RFID) system for paying toll fares. Originally slated to be implemented in January this year, the system will finally be trialled in a public pilot programme on September 3 ahead of a full-scale launch in January 2019, Touch ‘n Go announced today.

The trial is open to Klang Valley highway users who drive Class 1 vehicles (passenger cars, vans, 4x4s and pick-up trucks) with private registration. Those interested in joining the programme can register on the official Touch ‘n Go website. For now, there are 16 highways already equipped with the RFID system, the full list of which can be found in the FAQ below.

Touch ‘n Go RFID public pilot begins Sept 3, launch in Jan 2019, SmartTAG sales discontinued immediately

The company will waive the RFID fee during the trial period, but users will still be required to pay toll charges. Reloads can be made through the eWallet app (iOS here, Android here), which is necessary for users to join the pilot. Touch ‘n Go said that the RFID sticker will need to be installed on the car’s windscreen or headlamp at an authorised centre – a process that should take around 15 minutes.

It has also been confirmed that, as part of the RFID programme, sales of SmartTAG devices have been discontinued with immediate effect, with RFID set to eventually replace the SmartTAG system in the long run. Existing SmartTAG users will still be able to use their devices to pay toll charges until further notice. All SmartTAG purchases are final, non-refundable and cannot be swapped for an RFID sticker.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Khairi on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:41 pm

What is the point of having this when the promise is to abolish the toll system?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 248 Thumb down 4
    • Suansuan on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:52 pm

Bro, you nail that well

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
      • It's not Bieber on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Have no problem claiming refund and toll rebates from Touch’n Go. But still waiting for GST refund from 2015

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • Ur documents r suspicious and full of holes, deswai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
        • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Touch and Go is just another kroni company trying to perah money from the rakyat. Dont forget in a year, thousands of our touch and go cards get blacklisted. TOuch and GO earn millions of ringgit per year because they know most people find it very hard to go to their HQ to claim the money back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 23
          • Spin Too Much on Aug 08, 2018 at 6:01 pm

So when is your boss going to make this RFID obsolete? We are still waiting for toll abolishment as promised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
          • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 08, 2018 at 7:24 pm

sorry, can’t do it too soon cause before they took over, they were sure corruption was only RM50 billion per year, but after they took over and opened up all the secret sealed documents, corruption is now RM500 billion.

So, they need money to undo all this huge corruption problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
          • Spin Too Much on Aug 08, 2018 at 11:38 pm

Lame excuses. You leaders repeatedly told us, the country was going bankruptcy when they made those promises. Are you saying they didn’t factor that in when they made all those promises. Enough excuses and start governing, honour the promises or we will boot you all out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
          • kingslayer on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:03 am

no substance.. mere plucking figure from the RBA sky…

tbh, i’m still waiting someone to point out concrete evidence of corruptions or cronyism from previous gov, especially related to DSN.

so far, no one, current gov included come out with a concrete listing of DSN cronies, if any, that looted massive amount of taxpayers money.

i know you’ll popup Jho Low name. But really? you can list tycoons related to PM4 but only 1 related to PM6?

share me a link if you hv any. thanks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Ahmad on Aug 09, 2018 at 7:53 am

TNG can now focus on revenue to parking n public transportation. Of course with extra 10% service charge and additional 5% service tax.

Well for 3M crystalline tinted user, can the RFID wave pass the coating?

• astalavista on Aug 10, 2018 at 3:30 pm

can. they will install the rfid sticker outside your car.

• Jusoh on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:53 pm

Keep calm & Abolish gst first …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
      • Chandra on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:56 pm

And then implement SST at higher rate? Another what’s the point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
      • Please educate yourself on the abolishment of gst and the implementation of SST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
        • Leonardo on Aug 10, 2018 at 9:58 am

@Adam, can you share your expertise and explain the Pros and Cons of SST vs GST? Do educate us.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:53 pm

So true! What’s the point if janji is ditepati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:02 pm

with rfid…they can eventually abolish toll….toll hilang aje…masih charge you. janji dicapati haha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
    • Mikey on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:05 pm

That mean NO toll abolish. We are screwed ROYALLY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Suddenly so apt:
      Oh na na, just be careful, na na
      Promise me no promises, no
      Don’t you promise me nothing
      Promise me, me, me, me
      Just be careful
      Promise me no promises

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • 9th to The May on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:42 pm

Good job TnG, Better late than never.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • Happy on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:54 pm

Too late ady. Toll abolishment supposedly incoming. Just dunno when.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Sparcov on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:44 pm

Why can’t we go for system like Autopass in Singapore? whereby once the car register with the system, the camera can scan the registration plate rather than scan the RFID.

RFID over time, also need to replace.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:55 pm

That’s only for foreign-registered vehicles. Singaporeans still need to install an in-vehicle unit (a SmartTAG-like device) for ERP collection.

• Bro Jonathan. Will this RFID unit be powered from the car like SG ones or still using battery? Will this unit be tied to the car registration as well?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:01 pm

There aren’t any specifics announced yet, but it should be just a sticker running without a need of a battery, like the access cards used by some housing areas.

• Hmm.. interesting. Kinda like the ERP system used in Sydney then. The gantry can be so well hidden, u wun know u got charged.

• venven81 on Aug 09, 2018 at 7:18 am

This RFID sticker is a passive device and hence no need for battery

• Ben Yap on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:54 pm

Soon the new myvi’s built-in touch and go reader will be deem useless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • M.hameed on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:15 pm

Agreed. Gotta bring my old folks in Pendang Kedah to upgrade RFID sistem, thou they rarely used TnG like twice a year when raya.

• thepolygonal on Aug 08, 2018 at 4:58 pm

What RFID fee that will be waived during the trail period? You men after that, there is fee for using the RFID other than the installation fee?

• Paul Tan on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:06 pm

You still need to pay for toll by topping up the e-Wallet.

• Ahh, no wonder they started this https://paultan.org/2018/01/09/touch-n-go-to-offer-alipay-mobile-e-wallet-services/

• Paultan rawks on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:51 am

Hi Paul Tan you’re awesome.!

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Most probably pay a monthly fee for the RFID service, irrespective how many times you pay roll monthly.

Looks like we’re helping them payoff the Capex spent on installing this RFID system.

• thepolygonal on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:03 pm

Suddenly no need to stock up on 9V battery anymore.

• Mikey on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:09 pm

Ha ha ha. No refund for our smarttag. Blardy blood suckers.

• pengayuhbasikal on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:16 pm

3 cars…3 rfid tag…need to maintain credit on all 3 rfid tags….useless application…non transferable

• funtasticko on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:29 pm

swap same RFID sticker among 3 cars …

• Previously with Smarttag, pipu complain easy to steal and reuse. Why still complain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • MOHD AKHIR A RASHID on Aug 08, 2018 at 10:16 pm

If I have 3 cars, I have to install 3 RFID. Do I have to have 3 separate e-wallet. If yes, then this RFID is a killer. Imagine If I put RM100 in each e-wallet, total become RM300. If I use Smartag, I can easily do with RM100 top up and use it flexibly on any of my three cars. FOR THAT REASON THE GOVERNMENT MUST NOT APPROVE THIS RFID. I don’t like my “blood” to be sucked. Somebody is going to enjoy the surplus money. That is unfair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • “You can register RFID with someone else’s car but linked to your Touch ‘n Go eWallet for toll deductions. Further information and instructions will be shared soon.” Item 16 (2nd 16?) in the TnG Q&A.

• Ahmad on Aug 09, 2018 at 7:49 am

Bro, you should consider to redo the math bro. In terms of usage (excluding reader purchase and installation) the consumption rate is still the same.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:20 pm

Pity to those who bought their SmartTAG yesterday. Those RFID tags are bloody cheap to get so they could swap existing SmartTAGs for it. Also this just made all the Myvi built-in SmartTAG readers useless. I guess future Myvis will have a bigger space to store loose coins!

• Hiways alredi cashless, parking oso becoming cashless. Coins in car becoming redundant. That bigger space to store loose coins will oso become redundant as well.

• Their e-wallet apps damn cacat 1, reset pwd pun x blh yihhhhhh

• pengayuhbasikal on Aug 08, 2018 at 5:58 pm

they shall use the RFID card laaa…not the sticker/tag type…aiyooohh…very stupid laa..wonder which dumb make the decision…

• pengayuhbasikal on Aug 08, 2018 at 6:01 pm

nevermind laa…later…i stick the RFID tag/sticker on TNG card….so…both type of transaction can be use…hihihihihihihi

• TNG card oso use RF, so both might interfere each other.

• Jackarse on Aug 08, 2018 at 9:53 pm

Then you will he double charged. Haha.

• john tipu on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:59 am

you DF john, TNG use NFC-like CHIP, it is smart tag that uses the RF tech. now dont be uncultured by not apologising on spreading fake news

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Bro, the SMART-TAG do not use RF, but use IR (infrared) instead. That’s why it is super unreliable, unlike the old FASTRAK/KESASTAG which used 2.4GHz RF.

• Ur a fool, and worse a Luddite who profuses to knows about this tech. NFC is just the tech using RF for transmission. RF is not a tech, NFC & RFID is the tech, do u know what is RF? Radio Frequency.

• Dzulkarnaen Mohamad on Aug 08, 2018 at 6:37 pm

Owh rfid still have a service fee…. Waived only for trial period….

• Max291 on Aug 08, 2018 at 11:09 pm

If still need to pay on top of toll price, what’s the point? I would rather create traffic jam on TnG lorong instead. I though this tech is going to be implemented to ease congestion? Plus like congestion?

• The only reason for congestion is coz of lorong tambah nilai. Remove that and TNG will be smoother than Smarttag.

• Aiyah! just making it for older people…

• AKHIR RASHID on Aug 08, 2018 at 10:30 pm

RFID is a system that will burden users financially.
    If I have three cars I will need three RFIDs. Each RFID will be linked to one e-wallet. Thus I need three e-wallets. If I put RM100 in each e-wallet, I have to put a total of RM300 in all the e-wallets. Compare this to Smartag. Using Smartag, I only need RM100 and I can flexibly use it on any of the three cars. If all RFIDs registered under one name cannot be linked to one e-wallet, then this RFID system really sucks. It sucks us financially. It is unfair as the company shall be enjoying our surplus money.

• Don’t you know that you can have multiple RFID sticker tied to a single e-wallet? The value itself is not stored in the RFID sticker unlike touch n go card.

• Ah boy on Aug 09, 2018 at 12:16 am

Oh my, never seen such idiots commenting on something they have not started using yet.

• Add A Comment on Aug 09, 2018 at 7:49 am

Many people have multiple SmartTag devices with multiple TnG card with them. Especially working class like most of us where Hubby and Wifey work at different places and drive different cars to work. Think about it. Hence, maintaining multiple RFID with multiple e-Wallet makes no difference for them.

Those that are bashing maybe you are the minority that either not working or no need to work hence not using the toll as frequent with the others, or even too rich that you 1 person owns 3 car…just asking?.

Anyway, I believe the TnG card will still remain. Just use the TnG card and forget about the RFID. Then u can continue to transfer ur card to multiple kereta and multiple pemandu…and use the TnG only lane. No one is forcing you to use the RFID if you find that it doesn’t suit your lifestyle.

But honestly, how many of you really really….only have 1 TnG card instead of 2 or 3? Even if you are single, you dad could have 1, your sister could have 1…that makes 3 of the card? Come on guys, don’t just bash to the sake of bashing….

Oh by the way, even if you use RFID, you might still have to maintain your TnG card if you are using it to pay 7-11 or My News purchases or Car Park…again, think about it.

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Zhang on Aug 09, 2018 at 8:19 am

U ppl r too naive, if u want free toll then u hv to pay 4x roadtax

• komarad on Aug 09, 2018 at 9:25 am

still cannot use at PLUS highway as they’re using closed toll system…

• Ben Yap on Aug 09, 2018 at 9:40 am

can grab drivers charge the RFID fees to riders?

• Isnt that alredi factored into the Grab price b4 taking on passengers?

• Mokmok on Aug 09, 2018 at 1:52 pm

15 minutes installation seems fishy. There should be a cost to install this thing. A DIY fix
    can’t do it?

• passion on Aug 09, 2018 at 2:44 pm

toll will not be abolished. it is a given!

• Kelvin Lew on Aug 10, 2018 at 9:18 am

Have to use TnG app to reload?

How about no.

• Touch & go user on Aug 10, 2018 at 12:27 pm

Touch & go is blood sucker. One time they over charge toll fees RM 30. Luckly i noticed that and if you didnt they wont refund for u. So beware!

• sampan 250kmph on Aug 10, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Why not the MOT starts research and later implement vehicle number plate with integrated RFID? It can be utilised for many purposes.

• Steven Tan on Aug 15, 2018 at 6:59 pm

Another method of making the road user heavy burden, then in the end , new cars like myvi with built-in smart tag becomes useless

• Navinderjeet Singh on Aug 16, 2018 at 9:07 pm

Good convineance

• Harvinderjeet Singh on Aug 16, 2018 at 9:09 pm

For smooth travelling

• gurdeep singh on Aug 19, 2018 at 2:03 pm

wish to be a pilot user

• Mohd azrul bin abdul aziz on Nov 02, 2018 at 8:08 pm