Free RFID tags could be given to motorists next year

Motorists with locally-registered vehicles could receive radio frequency identification (RFID) tags for free from early next year, according to the Malaysian government. These will work with the RFID Tag gateless gantry toll system for electronic toll collection that is currently being rolled out on major highways.

As reported by The Edge and NST, the government is looking to implement the system at all tolled roads nationwide and is currently in talks with Touch ‘n Go to distribute the tags for free.

“The Touch ‘n Go e-wallet system is being developed to allow payment of road charges through RFID tags linked to the Touch ‘n Go e-wallet account, compared with the usage of (Touch ‘n Go) cards presently,” said deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi during a Parliament sitting.

“By early next year, RFID should be available for local vehicles, and the Government is currently discussing with Touch ‘n Go to provide it for free to all Malaysians,” he added in response to a query from Sekijang MP Anuar Abdul Manap.

The implementation of the RFID Tag system is similar to Singapore’s Electronic Road Pricing (ERP), and will gradually phase out Touch ‘n Go card-based toll booths. As the RFID tags will be read by overhead scanners on gantries, stop time at toll booths will be virtually eliminated.

The Touch ‘n Go e-Wallet is now available in the iOS App Store and the Google Play Store.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Stevie on Apr 09, 2018 at 3:54 pm

Then the new myvi integrated touch n go reader would be pretty useless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • Caretaker Gomen on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:18 pm

Fake news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • sohai on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:38 pm

New RFID coming to install free permanent for all car with internal car battery supply. Tng mau clear stock tng reader so engage p2 to install at myvi… See who is sohai in the end …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Din I say that? But P2 SA here still crow about it like a fantastic invention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Did they say they want to stop smart tag immediately? People are enjoying what is offering now. Unlike syok sendiri company always looking forward, thinking that they are a formidable rival but lose badly again and again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Once its released to public use, its roll out will be soon enuff. Ur smarttage reader will be another relic in a dinosar car.

• Once? wait till that day. For now people are still enjoying it.

The whole Proton is still living with “Wahh, lucky I didn’t book the other car” mentality.

• Sounds more like P2 cars,

Haha!

• Wait til that day come? Then whatcha gonna do with that useless crap? Throw the car into river better lah. Outdated dinosar.

• Ksatria on Apr 09, 2018 at 8:14 pm

U mean proton?

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 09, 2018 at 3:56 pm

P2 Myvi got integrated TnG reader so no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
  • Hopefully this system will be linked to the car, so no need alwiz replace battery and somemore worry about theft.

• It should be passive RFID, so no batteries involved.

• Rayc216 on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:46 pm

If it is given free who wanna steal?

john oh john akal jangan tertinggal kat rumah.

• U veli certain is foreva kah? 10 years later i come claim free from u boleh?

• azrai on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:16 pm

How about trade in or replaced one on one with smart tag. those who do not own smart tag just add RM10 to get a new one. The old smart tag the ncan sen to India or Myanmar for their highway usage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • 12yrsold on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:40 pm

Great. My “Smart” Tag can be put into Museum as a token.

• banzi on Apr 09, 2018 at 4:54 pm

Good. Give it for free. since I have bad experience with your smart tag reader.

• lol gg myvi cars

• No more tolls when Gov. have change so no need RFID

• The D on Apr 09, 2018 at 11:49 pm

Well, prepare to see ERP like gantries in the golden triangle once the infrared tag is phased out.

• the cost sure will later transfer to the user. Nothing is free in this world.

E.g. how you going to “reload” into the FRID sticker? I believe it will “link” to the so-called TnG E-Wallet, which every user have to download and install the Apps on the phone.

• calvin1702 on Apr 10, 2018 at 11:36 am

agree with you as TnG is currently doing their own e-wallet, the problem is need to keep link the FRID with my TnG apps if i drive my fren car? If phone battery flat?

• Ben Yap on Apr 10, 2018 at 11:42 am

that’s why honda don’t come out this kinda integrated TNG systems in their car because it is useless when outdated. Jepunis people have good forward thinking and don’t simply come out with a useless gimmick.