2022 Toyota Camry facelift launched in Malaysia – new 209 PS/253 Nm 2.5L Dynamic Force engine, RM199k

Here it is, ladies and gentlemen – the facelifted eighth-generation Toyota Camry has just been launched in Malaysia, giving a much-needed refresh for the now three-year-old XV70. The D-segment sedan gains a new look, an impressive level of added equipment and, finally, the brand new engine and gearbox combination it was designed for in the first place.

Despite the Bukit Raja plant now being able to assemble cars based on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), the Camry continues to be imported from Thailand. So you still get only one variant – the full-spec 2.5V priced at RM199,110 on-the-road without insurance. That’s over RM10,000 more expensive than the outgoing model, which retailed at RM188,763.

This figure, in case you’re wondering, includes the 50% sales and service tax (SST) rebate valid until June 30. A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty comes with every purchase.

The big news here is, of course, the new 2.5 litre Dynamic Force four-cylinder engine, replacing the dated 2AR-FE from before. Still naturally aspirated, it features D-4S direct injection, electric variable valve timing (VVT-iE) and a redesigned cylinder head for improved tumble flow; with a compression ratio of 13:1, it delivers a thermal efficiency of 40%. All in all, the Camry now produces 209 PS at 6,600 rpm and 253 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm, representing increases of 25 PS and 18 Nm over the outgoing unit.

The mill is paired to a new Direct Shift eight-speed automatic gearbox, which comes with a wider spread of ratios and a lockup clutch for a more direct driving feel and greater efficiency, all while being more compact than the old six-speeder. Toyota claims a combined fuel consumption figure of 6.8 litres per 100 km, an improvement of eight per cent over the old engine and transmission combination.

On the outside, the changes are rather mild, limited to a new front fascia with a more defined centre air intake section and black slats that run the full width of the car, bookended by grey C-shaped frames. There’s also a new design for the 18-inch alloy wheels with a machined two-tone finish, plus smoked internals for the LED taillights. As before, you get full LED headlights and front and rear fog lights.

Step inside and you’ll find a new freestanding OEM infotainment touchscreen that sits atop the dashboard, now measuring nine inches across (an inch larger than before) and coming with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity for the first time. This pushes the centre air vents downwards, placing them just above the air-conditioning controls. The faux wood trim is also black instead of brown, while the window switch surrounds come in a matte grey rather than the previously glossy finish, presumably to reduce fingerprints.

But it’s the rear passengers that are the biggest beneficiaries, gaining power-reclining seats and a separate climate control zone (three zones in total). These, along with the powered rear windscreen sunshade and even the audio controls for the whole car, can be adjusted using a new touch-sensitive control panel on the centre armrest, which also houses twin pop-out cupholders.

Manual side window shades have been retained, although in the boot, the full-sized spare tyre has been switched to a space saver; even so, luggage capacity remains unchanged at 493 litres. You still can’t fold the rear seats (especially now that they are powered), but there is a ski hatch for transporting longer items.

The kit list is otherwise identical and includes keyless entry, push-button start, auto lights and wipers, power-adjustable front seats (ten-way for the driver, eight-way for the passenger) with driver’s side memory and passenger shoulder switches, black leather upholstery, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a seven-inch multi-info display, a Qi wireless charger, a 360-degree camera system, a nine-speaker JBL sound system and a vehicle telematics system. A welcome light projector, visible in these images, is a RM990 option.

Safety-wise, the Camry has been upgraded to the latest Toyota Safety Sense 2.5 suite of driver assistance features, which adds nighttime pedestrian and daytime cyclist detection for autonomous emergency braking. The adaptive cruise control has also been improved and can now slow down for corners and speed up in anticipation of an overtaking manoeuvre when an indicator is switched on.

Also new is lane centring assist, which keeps the car in the middle of its own lane; an auto brake function for the rear cross traffic alert and an Intelligent Clearance Sonar (ICS, Toyota’s version of Perodua’s Pedal Misoperation Control) round off the safety improvements. Seven airbags, stability control, rear ISOFIX child seat mounts and a blind spot monitor continue to be fitted as standard.

We’ve already driven the facelifted Toyota Camry, and you can read our review here. You can also browse full specifications and equipment on CarBase.my

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Huck Phin on Feb 17, 2022 at 9:32 pm

Toyota Voxy was launched in Indonesia recently. Maybe UMW Motor can consider importing this into Malaysia.

• Jeremy on Feb 17, 2022 at 11:31 pm

Toyota vios, Yaris or camry. Superb cars, Best RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Kanasai on Feb 18, 2022 at 10:55 pm

Ops! I want to cancel my booking. Waiting for 4 silinder GDI turbo engine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • GDI engine has issues on fuel system clogging and engine carbon buildup which can be drastic, with some drivers experiencing loss of power and engine stalling

• Albert Einstein Sr on Feb 17, 2022 at 9:36 pm

I drive a 18 year old Camry..still solid in quality.
    Just do routine car maintainance,change absorbers,tyres and 2 power window sets..thats all..no oil leakage,rack konking,ball joint giving way etc common in a rival Japanese marque.
    Like it or not,Toyota has maintained very strict quality control on its parts supplied by hundreds of worldwide suppliers.
    Thats why,this ASIAN brand can unseat GM and VW in terms of top sales.
    In insurance language,Toyota is “Billion Dollar Round Table” achievement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
    • Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2022 at 12:03 am

Copy paste: “the direct injection TGDI engine is a valve carbon deposit maintenance nightmare .”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
      • Depends but more reliable and powerful engine

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2022 at 11:27 am

Copy paste: “This isn’t a problem if the owner always revving the engine on high rpm note. But seriously who will do that in public road?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
          • David on Feb 19, 2022 at 3:38 pm

May I ask, what is the point of copying other people’s comments? What are you trying to achieve and why can’t you make your own comments?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Mr. Sotong on Feb 18, 2022 at 9:35 am

This is only true for direct injected Turbocharged engines. Not so much for naturally aspirated.

• @Copy Paste
        No, Toyota Camry DFE 2.5L engine using Direct Injection AND Port Injection system. The injector inter-switch depending on load condition. Port Injection is the one that cleans the valve carbon deposit. So Valve carbon build up is not a big issue here.

Only those engines that just use Direct Injection like VW and BMW will suffer from carbon build-up. Toyota thought of all issues when they design their engine

• PlainBS on Feb 18, 2022 at 12:46 pm

Be careful. Somebody earlier commented the same to Copy Paste but he (or she?) apparently masqueraded as that somebody to claim that it was an imposter’s comment, as some form of revenge.

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2022 at 11:05 pm

Copy paste: “Bro, kan dah bagi tahu u to register your nick the PT way if u don’t want others to use it, but u still choose to bising2 lagi.. Bro, I’m also thinking, apa pasal u nak defend si-copycat ni? I pikir ada byk org dah naik fed up sebab comment mereka ditiru oleh sicopycat ni sampai ada mereka yg pakai nick org lain utk release tension. But this is only my speculation sebab hanya org PT yg tahu cita sebenar.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
          • Far miles behind on Feb 19, 2022 at 5:23 pm

@Copy Paste

Disagree

• PlainBS on Feb 21, 2022 at 11:42 am

@Copy Paste, good that you’ve admitted/confessed to your unapproved behaviour.

• Copy Paste on Feb 21, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Copy paste: “Pedas ke? Siapa tu yang makan cili. hi hi hi hi”

• PlainBS on Feb 21, 2022 at 7:11 pm

@Copy Paste, mmg betul kau juga menyamar sbg Amran.. Kesian…

• Ajibkor on Feb 18, 2022 at 12:54 pm

Mr TSI,this copypaste dude is definitely a Toyota hater.His facts are twisted.Thanks for pointing out some crucial facts.

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2022 at 11:07 pm

Copy paste: “if some don’t like the taste of their own medicine… well, tough luck.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • Far miles behind on Feb 19, 2022 at 5:25 pm

@Copy Paste

We people disagree with you nowadays

• True

• Copy Paste on Feb 18, 2022 at 2:51 pm

Copy paste: “Sounds like the excuse of an automaker that’s lagging behind competitors and don’t want to embrace electrification.

Yes, the source of electricity matters but dismantling the petrol infrastructure matters more. Even if it’s coal, several of those is better than hundreds of thousands ICE since you can decommission the coal plants faster and replace with less environmentally taxing power generation methods.

HEVs are prolonging the petroleum infrastructure that should be dismantled quicker as we adopt more EVs and build out the infrastructure for those. It’s a half-measure that only keeps big oil happy. And I’m sure Perodua and Toyota are happy to sell HEVs that have both an ICE engine requiring maintenance and need expensive batteries that can only be replaced by the OEM. An EV is much simpler to make and has less maintenance, even if the battery is expensive. I’m sure Perodua has done their calculation showing the drop in maintenance revenue and propping up HEV is their countermeasure for that.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
          • Far miles behind on Feb 19, 2022 at 5:26 pm

Yeah but no one agrees with you

• hafiizh on Feb 23, 2022 at 10:31 am

The latest generation VW EA888 also equipped with additional port injection

• Do not stay your mind to old times, nowadays Toyota quality is deteriorated. New Japanese car come with many electronic parts and even turbo. The maintenance and reliability has been reduced greatly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • najibrazak on May 01, 2022 at 9:54 am

I agree that Toyota has best quality, 18 years ago. But nowadays, even the imported Corolla’s making rattling dashboard noises.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2022 at 9:52 pm

better buy this than the overpriced a-class

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Roger on Feb 17, 2022 at 11:54 pm

Interesting

• Yes… in any aspect, Camry is a better car.
      But there are still badge snobs who gonna justify their 218i and A200 purchases

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • jonsnortssnow on Jun 23, 2022 at 7:52 pm

A200 /218i = Tell me you are not rich without telling me you are not rich.

• Ruslan Bahari on Feb 17, 2022 at 10:06 pm

Finally, the Lexus ES250 on the cheap. Same engine. Same boss control on rear centre armrest. Same auto rear shades. Same manual rear side shades. 130k cheaper.

• Nice bro.. um so why buy lexus? Badge snob? But what is there to snob i wonder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Kunti on Feb 17, 2022 at 11:09 pm

Good job, Toyota Malaysia, even though this is just CBU. For me, this is better than RAV4, if u dont mind sedan style these days. Cheaper than the RAV4. RAV4 still with TSS2.0 but this is TSS2.5+, something that Malaysian doesn’t care. RAV4 is what, 215k and this is below 200k? Weird!

• Accord Is Here on Feb 17, 2022 at 11:12 pm

Finally an almost perfect sedan in its class…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 18, 2022 at 1:48 am

Add 10k to the pricetag but thank goodness the kit count also went up.

• His Friend on Feb 19, 2022 at 12:34 am

Thank goodness if you are looking to buy this car as you are assured of a rare exclusivity since only a handful would be that brainless to plonk Rm200k for a mere Camry. This car will be rarer than Ferrari in KL. That is supercar rareness exclusivity level my friend!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • 30KVE on Feb 18, 2022 at 2:31 am

Looks good minus the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Ahmad Azamiruddin on Feb 18, 2022 at 9:16 am

If they offer multiple color option for interior it would be nice. Black is too common and boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Seribu on Feb 18, 2022 at 9:25 am

Camry good. How about Voxy

• Real Roar on Feb 18, 2022 at 9:33 am

Same gearbox as Golf R-Line

• Zoom zoom on Feb 18, 2022 at 11:08 am

Nice sporty design + TNGA+Dynamic force + 8speed + Toyota reliability. A Perfect D segment Sedan. better than accord now. worth the 10k extra. Cheap compare to kosong 218i / A200

• Malaysianised on Feb 18, 2022 at 11:34 am

Buy Kia Carnival la. get more for the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Grand Carnival should compare with Alphard/Vellfire but not Camry

• Hardly see any Camry or Accord on the road these days, ppl shift to SUV perhaps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Haji Awang on Feb 18, 2022 at 12:10 pm

The interior is too dull, if there is two tone interior like the harrier dark red leather top that will be fantastic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • The best Camry was the 1999 2.2GX SXV20.
    And this looks like a winner too!

• Accord Is Here on Feb 18, 2022 at 10:04 pm

Lovely

• Nice….

• Vasanthan on Feb 21, 2022 at 8:48 am

Nice car but 199k

• potato on Mar 02, 2022 at 12:25 am

no mention about the front and rear dvr. does the screen switch to rear when reversing?

were these available with the outgoing version?

• nice car

• Muhammad Najwan Aqra Bin Sahidan on Aug 29, 2022 at 8:48 pm

What about the boot space? Other said 524L while others said 493L.Which one is the official New Camry 2022 boot space number?

• For those who think SUV is better, think again. It’s heavier and less aerodynamic compared to sedan and hence higher fuel consumption. You don’t fill up your car with max passenger everyday, do you?

• Muhammad Najwan Aqra Bin Sahidan on Feb 05, 2023 at 9:50 pm

Oh my dream car,I really XV70 Camry so much