PM10 Anwar prefers Camry official car over Merc S600

Over the weekend, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim made it public that he declined the use of a “Mercedes S600” as his official car. The German limo was previously purchased by the PM’s department. As the S600 no longer exists, Anwar probably meant the latest W223 S580e plug-in hybrid. So what will PM10 be chauffeured in if not the S-Class?

Looks like it could well be a Toyota Camry, for now. Yesterday, Anwar attended a Pakatan Harapan (PH) presidential council meeting at PKR’s headquarters in Petaling Jaya and rolled up in a black Camry with the number plate WRN 222.

When asked by reporters, he said in BM: “The Mercedes is not here and I’m using this car (the Camry), that’s OK right? Any car that’s available (Kereta Mercedes tak sampai…saya pakai kereta ini OK kan? Mana-mana kereta yang ada).

The newly-minted prime minister, who is also PH chairman, explained that the Mercedes was ordered by his predecessor and upon checking, the order can be cancelled. It’s clear that this is both a cost-saving move and a PR one. If Anwar continues to ride in a Camry, it’ll be a rather modest sedan for a PM, given that the benchmark D-segment sedan is widely used as a taxi in places like Taiwan.

The CBU Thailand RM209,800 Camry facelift, launched here in February, is now using the 2.5L Dynamic Force engine with 209 PS/253 Nm, up 25 PS/18 Nm from the pre-facelift’s 2AR-FE. The NA engine is paired to an 8AT, two speeds up on the pre-FL. The facelift is a rather mild one, but you can tell one from its more defined centre air intake section, two-tone 18-inch wheels and smoked internals for the LED taillights.

Of late, Anwar has been riding in a black G12 BMW 7 Series with the famous number plate BEM 1.

GALLERY: 2022 Toyota Camry facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I thought I saw the 7 series plate as BEN 1 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Squid on Nov 29, 2022 at 11:09 am

That was a loaner from a friend during campaign period. Already returned the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Hamdan Sharif on Nov 29, 2022 at 12:48 pm

eh…..why never use our own Prootn? Proton fanboys say that Proton is better than BMW.

Even one of the ministers last time said also, Proton is the BMW of Asia.

Some fanboys even claim that Proton got Volvo technology. Kelakar betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
      • FudgeMeSideways on Nov 29, 2022 at 2:20 pm

It’s nice to have rich friends.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 29, 2022 at 4:11 pm

Sure Sultan Brunei willing to borrow a couple of sportscar if PM-10 asks

• Roti john on Nov 29, 2022 at 2:46 pm

Such a Game-Changing Prime Minister. The reason why our self-estmeed PM chose the Toyota Camry over a Merc is because the Camry is cheaper, so the rest of the money can be used for building public facilities, subsidy, etc. If BN/PN won GE15, I think their PM will choose Rolls Royce, Chrysler, Cadillac as their official car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
        • Actually, BN is not like PN buying such luxury items for themselves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • suomynona on Nov 29, 2022 at 9:05 pm

Your Sabri buying nice Burberry shirts

• PapaG on Nov 30, 2022 at 12:09 pm

Our Sabri didn’t spend so much and didn’t stealing more on our rakyat money, unlike Moo

• Tutee on Nov 29, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Agree with your words on PN but disagree on your words on BN, so you should drop your habit on using BN,

• Lari Bogel Mana? on Nov 29, 2022 at 2:59 pm

If BN/PN won GE15, their Game Over PM will for sure waste money to buy Rolls Royce for john and Rakyat Malaysia instead of allocating the money for education, military, subsidy, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • Actually, BN is not like PN buying such luxury items for themselves. PN loves to buy such Mercedes and Roll Royce and Bentley and love to steal RM600 billion, unlike BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Tutee on Nov 29, 2022 at 5:24 pm

Agree with your words on PN but disagree on your words on BN, so you should drop your habit on using BN,

• Badrul Hisham on Nov 29, 2022 at 5:55 pm

LOL that is so funny and true!! ha ha ha ha

• Badrul Hisham on Nov 29, 2022 at 5:59 pm

they will also buy for AutoFrenz…..ha ha ha

• LaksaKL on Nov 29, 2022 at 10:29 am

Likely more comfortable at the Camry.

save that > RM 500k and moving Gold Forward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Nov 29, 2022 at 10:40 am

Sam Loo would have loved to see this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • AP Putra on Nov 29, 2022 at 10:51 am

Why Lexus Malaysia didn’t sponsors a car for PMx?

• Because Lexus is mainly for rich while Toyota is not for the rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • SPRM guideline:”Civil servants are allowed to receive gifts provided the value of the item is ¼ of the emoluments or less than RM500.”
      Lets not get the new government into any trouble.

• Good choice

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 29, 2022 at 11:11 am

Many people will call this a ‘PR’ move but the fact is that it is at least a few hundred thousand worth of public funds save. Let’s call it what it is and remove all biasness naming it a PR move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • glock on Nov 29, 2022 at 3:52 pm

You can still acknowledge it as a PR move, but rather an effective one. Nothing bad about it.

• Kanasai on Nov 29, 2022 at 5:23 pm

Meanwhile Selangor & Penang official cars are Mesidis. This is just wayang show. By right what is wrong with the current official PM car? Change for what. Just becoz he become PM then need new car ahh? You can say it is few hundred thousands saved by not going with Mesidis, but if he did not change car we will save a few hundred thousands more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • PapaG on Nov 30, 2022 at 12:07 pm

Selangor official cars and our MB of Selangor are using Camry, same goes to Penang. Those Penang Official Cars are also using Camry not Mercedes, except our Penang MB using Mercedes

• Stanop on Nov 29, 2022 at 11:18 am

Wow what a humble man! Just forget the fact that he became a multi millionaire on a politician’s salary and spending years in jail. All politicians are corrupt.

• All politicians are corrupt, you are right. But PN members and Muhyiddin is more worst than other politicians. During Muhyiddin rule, love to lockdown as always but stealing RM600 billion from our rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • FrankC on Nov 29, 2022 at 9:04 pm

The late Nik Aziz is also a politician. He is honestly humble too.. Drive an old Toyota corolla.. Humble and frugal

• EXP24 on Nov 29, 2022 at 11:49 am

Jom. Time to buy toyota with more reliability

• “As the S600 no longer exists” maybe they were looking into importing a grey market unit of the previous generation

• Bob Mal on Nov 29, 2022 at 1:36 pm

Well good choice and for the environment since the car manages to achieve 40% thermal efficiency with the dynamic force engine which the other Mercedes Benz can’t. Next challenger in Malaysia probably the 2.0L Honda Hybrid Accord.

• MengkuduMasam on Nov 29, 2022 at 1:46 pm

my instinct says, some royal members down south will give a new car for free..just to clear some space for for His new coming toys..

Hyundai Genesis G90L perhaps..

• dong gor on Nov 29, 2022 at 2:46 pm

it’s off to a good start by setting the good example. there is some hope finally…

• Kanasai on Nov 29, 2022 at 5:24 pm

By wasting public money buying unnecessary car when current official car is just fine? Right…

• PapaG on Nov 30, 2022 at 11:57 am

Because he needs new his official prime minister car to work at prime minister office in Putrajaya

• PapaG on Nov 30, 2022 at 11:57 am

But as long as not buying such expensive cars with higher maintenance cost

• hazri on Nov 29, 2022 at 4:41 pm

best ke camry ni? nak cari recond satu.

• MarkX on Nov 29, 2022 at 5:46 pm

Toyota is the BEST, qualiti dijamin..

Even the Japanese Emperor and Prime Minister are chauffeured in Toyota sedans.

• CKD-lah on Nov 29, 2022 at 8:14 pm

Dear Mr PM.. very noble and conscientious of you. But may I humbly propose you instead use a locally produced car instead of a Thai built sedan..? An Accord, or Passat or Teana maybe? Or perhaps something a bit premium which is ok as PM but not necessarily OTT – a base E200 or 520i also sends a message not only of austerity but also aspiration

• Nouse on Nov 30, 2022 at 12:16 pm

– Why buy Accord when Camry got everything package but accord don’t have but technology really outdated
      – Buying Passat but maintenance lagi mahal dan reliability ok lah tapi tak baik macam toyota/lexus
      – Teana out of production and in malaysia
      – E200 or 520i are more luxurious cars

Camry is imported but made from Thailand but still reliable depending on what is the condition for car brands even produced in Thailand. I use Altis in 2005 but till 10 years still not issues, though made in thailand

• I dont need merc since I have heli on Nov 29, 2022 at 9:00 pm

Why toyota when you can support proton or perodua? Save more money, or just use public transport or even grab.

• PapaG on Nov 30, 2022 at 12:10 pm

His preference choice, he likes sedan but not using money to buy Mercedes to avoid wastage public funds

• Nouse on Nov 30, 2022 at 12:20 pm

Perodua are reliable cars but very small to ride. Proton don’t have sedan but got bigger SUVs but concerning on reliability, though already improve on reliability. But why toyota cause got bigger sedan but more reliable. But why not lexus/Mercedes/bmw because too luxurious car

• Why merc when you have a heli on Nov 29, 2022 at 9:02 pm

Use proton, or public or grab.

• Paul Banks on Nov 30, 2022 at 10:57 am

S600 or Camry is nothing if you can go everywhere using Helicopter. Demi Rakyatttt

• Transportation is essential item.

There are also economical Helicopter, and luxury Helicopter.
      There are also existing Helicopter, and choice of buying brand new luxury Helicopter.

• Ben Yap on Nov 30, 2022 at 10:59 am

If anwar rides a camry, his deputy must ride an altis? the rest of the ministers should ride vios and the DUNs will have to ride Veloz. Macam tu baru hidup macam rakyat biasa.

• AppleTree on Dec 01, 2022 at 12:47 pm

When it comes to politics, normally more comment contributors.

Choose a Camry over existing Maybach is a good move by PMX.

Then, what is going to do with the Maybach? Our govt policy is buy then lease with contract. Use it or not, the leasing and maintenance keep on running until the end of contract. You can’t return the car.

If he refuse to use the existing car, and choose to buy another Camry just for this purpose, then he is actually spending more tax payer money. I hope not.

• Boboboi on Dec 03, 2022 at 11:15 am

Early termination will have penalty. Pls find out how m7ch penalty to pay. I hope pm10 got check pro and cons first b4 decide.

• Boboboi on Dec 03, 2022 at 11:13 am

S600 lease contract cancelled? Got penalty for early termination? Usual lease early termination, 100% got penalty. I have seen where company has to pay full remaining lease amount for early termination. (Less insurance etc )