BMW Malaysia, Millennium Welt unveil EV chargers at Gamuda Gardens; operational 24 hours, seven days

BMW Malaysia, with Millennium Welt has unveiled today the BMW i Charging facilities for plug-in hybrid and battery-electric vehicles at Gamuda Gardens near Rawang, Selangor.

The charging facilities are open for public use, and will serve residents with electrified vehicles residing within and around the Gamuda Gardens township. The charging station is located in front of the entrance to the Gamuda Gardens Experience Gallery, accommodates up to two vehicles, and is operational 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Featured here are two BMW i Wallbox chargers, each rated at 11 kW AC. For a vehicle such as the BMW iX photographed at the charging facility here, charging via the Type 2 connection will yield a full charge in seven hours and 15 minutes. In xDrive40 form, the BMW iX employ two electric motors with combined outputs of 326 PS and 630 Nm of torque, enabling a 0-100 km/h sprint in 6.1 seconds and a top speed of 200 km/h.

“We are confident that the future of mobility in Malaysia is electric, and it is especially so as we continue to see a rise in uptake and interest for electrified BMW vehicles amongst our customers. The introduction of these new BMW i Charging facilities in Gamuda Gardens underlines our commitment, in tandem with BMW Group Malaysia, to provide electric vehicle owners across the country with an ownership experience that is the hallmark of BMW i,” said Millennium Welt managing director Bryan Wong.

Gamuda Land, developer of Gamuda Gardens intends to further expand on this collaboration for EV chargers with BMW Malaysia, said Millennium Welt. Most recently, Millennium Welt’s expansion has seen the launch of its fourth BMW dealership in Kuala Lumpur North, which is the dealer’s first in the Klang Valley following its other locations in Seremban, Negeri Sembilan; Batu Pahat, Johor and Kuantan, Pahang.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• FreakingAnnoyed on Feb 25, 2022 at 8:57 pm

Booo….. We need more DC charger not AC charger!

• Jeremy on Feb 26, 2022 at 12:43 am

Yeah, as if giving electricity is a 9 to 5 thing, so must promote when it is open all the time. LOL!
    Desperate for good news I guess.

• Paul Tan on Feb 28, 2022 at 12:45 pm

There are many chargers that are hard to access outside of office hours because they are behind gated areas. If you were an electric car user you would understand.

• Susukotak on Feb 26, 2022 at 8:49 am

How the payment system work?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 27, 2022 at 10:13 am

i hope ix specific chargers are as far away as possible so the rest of us dont have to suffer looking at it

• Neutral on Feb 27, 2022 at 8:40 pm

While EV is the trend of the future. Charging it is very inconvenient at the moment. Plug-in hybrid seems to be a better choice but the cost of charging it at home is also not that cheap especially for those house holds that consume more than 900 kw unit of electricity per month. My 2018 330e takes about 3 to 4 hours to be fully charged and can travel up to about 20 Km, the cost of which according to rough estimation is about 4 ringgit. The plus side is that the car in electric mode is very quiet, smooth n fast.

• Mr Mar on Feb 28, 2022 at 12:40 pm

WHO TF wanna parked there for 7 hours to fully charge their car ? WE NEED DC not AC charger Lols

• Paul Tan on Feb 28, 2022 at 12:47 pm

Electric car user behaviour is to charge while they are doing something in the area and then unplug & leave when they are done with whatever they are doing. Any amount topped up to the battery charge is a gain. Not necessarily to wait until full charge before leaving.

Even with DC charger, charging slows down significantly once you are close to full. People usually recommend stopping when you are around 80% charge to let someone else use the DC charger.