Youths accounted for almost 50% of the 14,308 road accident deaths recorded in Malaysia from 2019-2021

Prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has revealed that youths accounted for almost 50% of the 14,308 road accident death cases recorded in Malaysia from 2019 to 2021, as reported by Bernama and Berita Harian.

He noted that on average, 4,769 lives lost each year during the period, with youths making up an average of 7,077 cases. “This statistic shows that youths are exposed to higher risks while on the road and it is a challenge for enforcers to curb the trend,” said Ismail Sabri.

To meet this challenge, Ismail Sabri said the road transport department (JPJ) should organise more advocacy and engagement programmes that are in line with the government’s desire to bring down road accident fatalities by 50% by 2030.

The prime minister was speaking at the Malaysian Family Driving Licence Aid Programme (BLKM), which saw 404 Orang Asli residents from the district selected under the programme to acquire motorcycle driving licences at minimal cost.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 14, 2022 at 1:36 pm

Stop short on saying what demographics were the youth.

That would be more telling. You know I know who is the greatest contributor to this statistic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Lets See on Mar 15, 2022 at 12:11 am

Well many would attest it is women drivers but you can’t just go out and say the truth nowadays with women empowerment and women rights and all that…

• Gomorrah on Mar 14, 2022 at 3:17 pm

So if nearly 50% were youths, why the hoo haa about senior citizens and taking away their licenses after some mandatory age? Why not address the fact that our licensing requirements are comically inadequate and enforcement of the law is atrocious as well as have a balanced approach to reducing the road toll? This would include drivers of all ages. All this smacks of is ageism.

• Sodom on Mar 14, 2022 at 8:47 pm

Hello cousin Gomorrah,
      It all boils down to sporadic,announced enforcements.
      Does any robber announce he gonna have besar besaran campaign?
      The enforcement really starts following a hoo haa on a huge accident..after that ..just relax..

• Spin Too Much on Mar 15, 2022 at 12:19 am

So meaning time to increase age limit of license holders? Once the youth demographics have proven to be responsible, then can reduce the age limit back to 18yo again.
      Hmmm… maybe can do the same with voting age, if the youths proven to be irresponsible with their votes Gahmen can raise voter age limit back to 21yo until they have proven to be responsible, then can reduce back to 18yo again.

• bieight8 on Mar 14, 2022 at 3:48 pm

Women drivers are dangerous…

• Bel Jin on Mar 14, 2022 at 4:35 pm

An idea is to control those youths access to vehicles that may need more experience to handle.

For bikes.. anything more than 120cc 2 stroke or 140cc 4 stroke can be quite a handful for riders especially during emergencies. Besides.. yound blood riders are more likely to rider at higher spees.

For cars.. anything more than 150bhp would be tricky to handle especiall whose without active passive safety systems.

And prevent them from driving turbocharged pick up trucks too.

Apply these on anyone below 27 years of age.. until they reach the maturity of senses and responsibilties

• Hantu Raya on Mar 14, 2022 at 6:27 pm

I’d suggest 60cc two stroke, and 80cc four stroke mopeds. and for cars maximum 66hp.

Breach those figures kalau gantung lesen 1 tahun + mandatory resit written and practical exam.

• Ajibkor JV Hamidikor on Mar 14, 2022 at 8:42 pm

Bei Jin,you have written some good pointers.
      However,the reality we see…dad carrying mum,2 kids to school on a kapcai,underaged kids doing”Superman” stunts,without helmets,food riders 70% ignore red lights,and the” beauty” part of it…massive rebates on summons come year end.
      How on earth can we expect lesser fatalities,given the above scenarios?

• Brian on Mar 15, 2022 at 12:26 pm

If ur a bike rider, you’d know that safeguards are in placed to ensure only experienced riders could get on high CC powered bikes.

You see, B license have 3 grade levels and one has to start from B2 with <250cc bikes, then moving on to <500cc, and finally the big bikes. Each stage one has to undergo evaluation before moving up. This unlike cars where a D holder can drive anything from a Kancil to an SUV.

• It's okay big part of them still multiplying faster than suicide rate. on Mar 14, 2022 at 9:08 pm

Up the overall difficulty in actual driving and paper test, make the license harder and expensive to get while easier to lose if committed ant traffic offend, above all the execution is the key, then only we talk.

• Ramana R on Mar 15, 2022 at 10:38 am

Insurers in every developed country establish a higher premium rate for those aged between 18-35 years old in a reducing value based on statistical accident rates and higher premiums as you approach 75-years and above again.
    Here in Malaysia, nobody is looking at stats and managing risk premiums based on propensity to cause accidents, so everyone pays. If you’re in the high risk group, then you need to pay more as you’re likely to cause accidents. The premiums also follow good life-cycles, people whom are historically exempt from accidents pay the least, the current issuance of road-tax and premiums are archaic and silly.