2022 Subaru BRZ available for order in Malaysia – RM229,245 for 6MT, RM239,245 for 6AT with EyeSight?

Motor Image (MI), the authorised distributor of Subaru vehicles in Malaysia, has begun accepting orders for the second-generation Subaru BRZ, which was first revealed in the United States back in November 2020, and later went on sale in Japan last April.

While there are currently no details available on Subaru Malaysia’s website, and an official launch has yet to take place, dealers have already begun advertising the sports car. A quick check reveals the BRZ with a six-speed manual transmission will be priced at RM229,245 on-the-road without insurance. Keep in mind that there’s no official word on how many units will be made available, nor is there any indication on when deliveries will start.

Meanwhile, the six-speed automatic is costlier at RM239,245 and you do get some extra features beyond having a self-shifting transmission for the premium (more on that later). The previous BRZ in facelifted guise was launched way back in July 2017 and was priced at RM224,389 for the manual and RM230,749 for the automatic, if you’re looking for a point of comparison.

Both transmissions come with a Torsen limited-slip differential and are paired with a 2.4 litre naturally-aspirated flat-four (boxer) engine rated at 237 PS (234 hp) at 7,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 3,700 rpm. Performance-wise, the automatic takes 6.8 seconds to get from 0-100 km/h and will hit a top speed of 216 km/h, while the manual requires 6.3 seconds and maxes out at 226 km/h.

In terms of equipment, the automatic and manual are nearly identical, with standard items being 18-inch aluminium wheels finished in dark grey, an eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay support, a seven-inch digital instrument cluster, aluminium sports pedals, selectable drive modes, leather and Ultrasuede seat upholstery as well as steering-responsive and automatic LED headlamps.

Safety-wise, there’s seven airbags VSC, ABS, EBD, hill start assist and Subaru Rear Vehicle Detection (blind spot monitor and rear cross-traffic alert). The automatic variant is the only one with paddle shifters and the EyeSight suite of systems, the latter includes active cruise control, front vehicle departure alert, autonomous emergency braking and false start suppression control – the last two works moving forward and while reversing.

Seven colours are available, namely Ignition Red, Magnetite Grey Metallic, Sapphire Blue Pearl, World Rally Blue Pearl, Crystal Black Silica, Crystal White Pearl and Ice Silver Metallic. A five-year, 100,000-km warranty is included with each purchase.

GALLERY: 2021 Subaru BRZ

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Unknown on Mar 21, 2022 at 3:30 pm

CKD here lah! So expensive you expect ppl to buy kah?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
  • Seribu on Mar 21, 2022 at 4:34 pm

Hope to bring more subaru models soon. BRZ is nice

• Nice, got manual too.

• Straight line on Mar 21, 2022 at 5:12 pm

Time to trade my old brz to this

• KenZen on Mar 21, 2022 at 5:12 pm

I was told that the first batch are all sold. Next batch will only be end of the year. I personally prefer the less busy looking GR86 but it comes with a premium of RM30k. I will save the 30k and go for this instead.

• seancorr on Mar 21, 2022 at 5:22 pm

For 240k with all that kit, that’s pretty good.

• Sell like hotcakes

• SUPER on Mar 21, 2022 at 5:40 pm

Subaru is the best.

• Ferrari on Mar 21, 2022 at 9:42 pm

Small powerful stable car

• very old iphone on Mar 21, 2022 at 11:53 pm

Yes BRZ is back….GR86 incoming

• lexter on Mar 21, 2022 at 11:57 pm

Nice, sporty look even still NA but better power

• ROTI CANAI on Mar 22, 2022 at 11:21 pm

knowing tan chong, don expect much

• applegreen on Mar 26, 2022 at 10:06 am

Please bring in levorg

• Style on Apr 16, 2022 at 7:46 pm

Nice, but the power haih…even with perfect shift it still need to think hard twice to challenge a 10 yr old big sedan 528i f10. A 330i from the rear and you need to move aside. Normally ppl buy auto in Malaysia for convenient, so at 6.8sec its a mini cooper s territory. But u knw, Japan most likely to exagerate their performance. So you add 1 sec to whatever they publish. So this mean this car is btw 7.3-7.8 sec in a perfect drice. Thats slower than 320i. But nvm, at such low price, I ll still buy one for style and weekend slow drive. At least other than mid german, I still can smoke most cars including stupid Myvi and mazda. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Dr Ryth on May 17, 2022 at 4:50 pm

Shall wait till it reaches showroom to have a look before deciding

• JacQue on Jun 05, 2022 at 3:07 am

Never CKD. Will lose quality. Maintain cbu. Tqs