Selangor gov’t to tackle potholes with drones, lasers

The Selangor state government will use the Smart Road Asset Management System (SRAMS) for the quicker and more efficient monitoring, identification and repairing of damaged roads in the state, the Selangor Journal wrote.

The technology used by the system is developed by state-backed subsidiary Selgem, and combines artificial intelligence, detection and light expansion, according to the Selangor Journal. The equipment deployed includes smart drones and 360-degree cameras, and is aimed at facilitating the process of identifying road damage – such as potholes – automatically, and to digitise workflow and processing of complaints, it said.

This system will support the application for reporting potholes in roads (IRS) created by the Smart Selangor Delivery Unit, with the aim of making it easier for members of the public to file complaints which are accompanied by photos.

SRAMS will also help government agencies analyse the condition of highway assets which have been affected by the major floods that occured in Selangor late last year, said Selangor MB Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari.

“Through this system, user can not only file reports on a road’s quality and the shape of the ground surface, but also include [reports of] other accessories such as lights, traffic lights and road dividers. The system is very efficient, hence why we requested [that] it be combined with IRS, whereas before reports were made by the public through Waze,” Amirudin said.

All local authorities (PBTs) in the state will use the system by June, in order to standardise assets and road maintenance, he added. “We will see how it goes, perhaps by the middle of the year we will combine the system with all PBTs, as for the time being it is still with the Selangor public works department,” the Selangor MB said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Gabriel on Mar 23, 2022 at 11:28 am

Just wondering how much money will go to the cronies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Dong Gor on Mar 23, 2022 at 12:30 pm

Exactly.. End of the day the problem is not solved. Key is new project! More project more income! Income like 3rd world, but fix pothole system is beyond yr 2050

• newme on Mar 23, 2022 at 11:30 am

What drone, what lasers? All you need to do is to give your phone number to the public and you will get all pothole information for FREE. Nak bazir duit je.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
    • Sooooooooooo true!

• Zelensky Blinken on Mar 23, 2022 at 12:28 pm

Donate the blardy drones to ukraine.
      Tell your blardy officers go on the rounds with lorry filled with premix,patch up as you see.Go to Cheras 9th mile from balai polis to the many housing estates inside.
      The blardy MPKajang dudes are having gaji buta.Tons of potholes.They are either semi blind or just plain lazy.

• Alamak on Mar 23, 2022 at 4:06 pm

Agree. So high betul. Wasting money for tech just because you can. If you answer the phone calls and go to the location and just patch the damn road, then the problem is solved. It is called doing your job!

I once complained a very dangerous pothole location that caused many accidents for bikers with the GPS location. The emailed reply was they do not know how to check the GPS location. My gawd! Please lah. Simple thing also cannot do, some more want this kind of high tech stuff. I am voting you out during next GE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Mr. Sotong on Mar 23, 2022 at 11:31 am

Why do u need drones and lasers etc to identify crappy roads? Other countries have been doing it since roads were invented. Just another excuse to offer contracts to cronies or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Stephen Colbert Sr,The late show on Mar 23, 2022 at 12:36 pm

Sometimes,we cant blame those cronies.
      Those small cronies have contracts almost dried up,lately due to covid.
      Well Ahsiongkor dishing out MRT 3 federal packages..these people lobby around selangor dudes,for drones lor.
      The latest doctorate DEGREE in the market is called”The art of intensive and assertive lobbying:100% success rate”

• We don’t need all this gadget la MB. Just fill the holes.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 23, 2022 at 11:48 am

High tech solution for a low tech problem.

Another hair brain idea. Just get an officer on a motorbike and ask him to go ronda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Useless Idea on Mar 23, 2022 at 12:23 pm

Lmao. I’ve reported it via Waze and it has been a god damn 2 months. Nothing happened. Useless buggers. Typical gov servant.

• Safety First on Mar 23, 2022 at 12:26 pm

Rather than push to DBKL, Miros can promote speed limit reduction in Selangor city limits to reduce the wear & tear on road surfaces, this also keeps driver more alert and give more time to evade small potholes. This act is free and no need spend money on drones or lasers.

• Federal or state government, both same only. As long as these type “holes” are not plugged instead, the country is just marching slowly, steadily into bankruptcy in the near future. When that happens, the people that are responsible for it, probably is not in the country to face the consequences.

• Dom teretto on Mar 23, 2022 at 12:42 pm

My tax money going to waste again. Pocketed by cronies once again. Biasa la malaysia.

• And make sure the patched holes not becoming bumper

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 23, 2022 at 1:11 pm

When I read the headline I assumed that they were going to blast the potholes with lasers fired from drone. :P

• Mintaka on Mar 23, 2022 at 1:37 pm

My butt dyno can pull double duty to detect potholes too!!

• Autobahn on Mar 23, 2022 at 1:41 pm

State govt need to monitor the end result after fixing the road. Most of the time the contractor appointed do a shoddy works. Some even worse than before it was fixed. Mostly the resurfaced roads appeard to be bumpy, un even and coarse. Wonder who approved and give greenlight for payment to these type of work

• Bieight8 on Mar 23, 2022 at 1:56 pm

The main problem is overloaded heavy vehicle s…

• @SnakeBabu on Mar 23, 2022 at 1:59 pm

The things that our half-baked authorities/MP/ministries are doing just tickles me where the sun doesn’t shine..

• pomen on Mar 23, 2022 at 2:02 pm

just create a hotline and let people complaint via Whatsapp…it is free and more effective!!! it is useless if no action taken even after monitor with drone, laser or even satellite.. useless gov!

• Jangan on Mar 23, 2022 at 2:50 pm

Paultan, how dare you start posting comedy!?

• Lulla Singh on Mar 23, 2022 at 3:21 pm

Hire nasa for it

• just back from johore, while road is old and rough, at least its flat and the the road condition is 200% better than klang valley. driving in klang valley means a sudden dip, or sharp hump, or weirdly some rough cement patch on the road, whole car gone kling kling klong klong.

• Ghani on Mar 24, 2022 at 2:37 pm

Johor voted right for many years except 2018.
      Selangor voted wrong for many years. Time to Ubah Balik!

• what u thnk on Mar 23, 2022 at 8:55 pm

tak habis-habis cerita lubang jln ini? nak cari “lobang” ke nak timbus lubang?

• DroneMyAss on Mar 23, 2022 at 11:24 pm

Pakai drone macam pro, ada laser, tembak sini sana. Pund3k korang mata sama otak tak sambung ke? Cannot see that there are poor roadworks around you? Or the vellfire’s too plush combined with your fat 4ss absorbing the shocks? Songlap je la, asalkan kasi wayang kami orang mehsia hai-tech!

• what this again on Mar 24, 2022 at 3:57 am

U deploy drones, later workforce issue don’t man properly.
    Kan vehicle users are everywhere, they hit,saw, can report in whatsapp, fb.. kan free.

• Sairam on Mar 24, 2022 at 2:19 pm

Really?? We all know how u steal the money. Its all halal wht. Kelana Jaya roundabout replaced with 4 way traffic light many years ago. Why now reposition for round bout again!!!! See how u wanna steal.money. u ppl sit in office goyang kaki. Tak tahu mana ada road prb ka?

• Nampak tak baiki, bukan tak nampak bro…