Malaysia can learn from China expertise for transport infrastructure, flood mitigation – transport minister

Malaysia can learn from China expertise for transport infrastructure, flood mitigation  – transport minister

Malaysia should take opportunities to leverage on China’s expertise in transport infrastructure, said transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong.

“With the open tender for the MRT3 project about to begin in May and the transport ministry being put in charge of the feasibility study for the High Speed Rail (HSR) project, I believe we can learn a lot from the experience and expertise of the Chinese professionals in this aspect,” the transport minister said in a Facebook post.

The Chinese transportation infrastructure and network is an example for many countries to follow, Wee said, adding that Malaysia can localise the success stories of China in order to strengthen Malaysia’s own transport infrastructure, planning and management, he added.

Transport minister Wee also suggested that Malaysia consult experts from China with regard to flood prevention and mitigation solutions, following the widespread floods of December 2021. “Such a collaboration is reflective of the friendship between the two countries which are ever ready to extend their helping hands to each other in difficult times,” Wee said.

The transport minister also said in his post that among the several transport infrastructure projects discussed was the East Coast Rail Link (ECRL), which is currently the largest trade cooperation between Malaysia and China, he said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• yaya…learn and action…dont just talk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • suomynona on Apr 08, 2022 at 2:10 pm

Go read up about the Zhengzhou floods, better not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Did it happen again or not?

• suomynona on Apr 08, 2022 at 4:07 pm

Hunan, Jiangxi, Guangxi, Guizhou, Sichuan, Hubei, Chongqing, Anhui, Zhejiang, Fujian & Yunnan

This is all in 2020 alone
        https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2020_China_floods

• 2020 till now is 2 years dy. So did it happen again or not?

• suomynona on Apr 11, 2022 at 1:05 pm

The Ministry of Water Resources in China also say he expects a flood a come through this year:

https://news.cgtn.com/news/2022-03-08/Minister-forecasts-floods-for-north-south-China-this-year-18eqaj2vnGM/index.html

We can wait till June or August, & we’ll see how it goes then

• The Ministry of Works said that particular flooding will not happen again. So either you trust or you do not trust what China said, one or the other.

• suomynona on Apr 12, 2022 at 9:29 am

Yeah, if you trust them, you don’t know any better. Wake up.

• newme on Apr 08, 2022 at 2:25 pm

Yeah learn from China like how they tell the world they managed to eliminate poverty …… by making RM2600/year as benchmark. With that amount, Malaysia will have 0% poverty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • China are still closing the rich/poor gap. Meanwhile the West trumpets the rich over the poor and lauds their ever widening income gap as a triumph of democracy. LOl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • newme on Apr 08, 2022 at 4:25 pm

How many Chinese citizen wanting to migrate to democracy countries vs citizen in democracy countries wanting to migrate to China?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
        • The poor in China are still better off than the working class in Detroit, Pittsburgh or Michigan. Go figure which is doing right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • BOYRACER on Apr 08, 2022 at 11:24 pm

Ini sume salah 65tahun negara dibawah kuasa kjaan umno BN..

jika anda melihat negeri-negeri termiskin di negara ini, ia adalah Kelantan, Terengganu, Kedah dan Sabah. Ini semua negeri yang dikuasai bumiputera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Make Malaysia Great Again on Apr 09, 2022 at 5:51 pm

Kjaan umno BN has nothing to do with USA abandoning their working class to fester in poverty. Here 65 years of social improvement by umno BN has uplifted countless many that poverty is less than 10%.

• suomynona on Apr 09, 2022 at 6:15 pm

You forgot to include the villagers as part of the poor. They are unfortunately dirt poor.

Also, Detroit is in Michigan

• newme on Apr 11, 2022 at 8:36 am

Well, one would prefer to be in Michigan than in Xinjang.

• Veyron Owner on Apr 11, 2022 at 9:10 am

Just coz villagers have less money don’t make them poor as they live off the land. To them, money means little a good harvest carries far more meaningful. Don’t look down on them villagers.

• Well have you tried asking a farmer in Xinjang if he prefers to trade his farmlands for a life of nothing and no hope in Michigan?

• pomen on Apr 08, 2022 at 2:32 pm

spend millions for research and send bunch of stupid gomen staff to learn in China (actually free holiday) but then bring back nothing…you know what, flood is getting worst..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Weeweewee on Apr 08, 2022 at 2:35 pm

Why china? How much did they pay you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
    • Why So Serious on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:15 pm

Why not learn from a country with 5000 years of civilisation? Do you learn things in a vacuum or did others taught you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • suomynona on Apr 08, 2022 at 4:11 pm

5000 years history is null when the current gov took over in 1949, & began its backwards trajectory from there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
  • But our transport minister also chinese.

• Mr Mar on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:15 pm

Hopefully just learn, not all contractor also from China, machines from China, materials from China, manpower from China = in the end nothing for locals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Brian on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:42 pm

Yup. Like Penang undersea tunnel all China, the only thing Malaysian is that 10% ‘incentive’ recipient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Tkling on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:21 pm

learn from Dutch, I know some of you may not like Belandar

• Rich pepol on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:23 pm

Should learn from Netherlands, not China.

• bieight8 on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:24 pm

China is a communist country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • chickenhead01 on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:47 pm

dont they know there are super consultant expert on climate change and environmentalist in UM, UKM, USM, public unis that could be the advisor? why outsource when u have homegrown talents? use them, its free if its government order.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Menhaz on Apr 08, 2022 at 5:33 pm

Exactly.. we have enough expert locally to come out with solution.. it’s not super secret technology

• SliGTR on Apr 09, 2022 at 1:51 pm

I’m fedup with our Minister or politician that talks as if we Malaysians have no expertise. This kind of mindset that look down on local expertise has to stop. Our experts are internationally trained in qualified and top universities. They are the one who break their heads to solve our environmental problems. Yet our minister and politician just push them aside.
      Please learn from the handling of Covid-19 epidemic by TS Noor Hisham and his team. When the incompetent ministers and politicians were clueless, they are the one who soldiered on with bravery and their hearts on their sleeves. They have been recognised as amongst best 4 in the world.
      So dear minister and politician, save your comments on some other political diatribes and not on key crucial matters ie big floods.

• @SnakeBabu on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:51 pm

learning the wrong things..we expected to progress as a nation with good leadership but ended up with kroni & lanun looting the people.. not to mention some talibans too

• kevin Henty on Apr 08, 2022 at 4:15 pm

Wee Wee Pee Pee talks big. They now need a study tour to learn etc. Normal BS no action after 60 years. What a PIECE OF S>>>

• Umgok on Apr 08, 2022 at 5:37 pm

Or faster push ahead with kereta terbang, no need to worry about flood any longer

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Apr 09, 2022 at 5:54 pm

You’d have to ask Pakatan Harapan about that, it was their idea after all.

• many communist supporters here

• Is he joking? China suffer even worse flood than us. Even their subway got flooded. And we want to learn from them? This guy is in a court case for cancelling local contractor project after he refused to hand it over to china company.

• Yes, learning how not to do it.

• toyotafan on Apr 11, 2022 at 8:42 am

What is there to learn from China?

You mean failing / falling aquaducts? Falling bridges? Tilting apartment blocks? Breached dam walls?

Gee