Enhanced Touch ‘n Go Card – new RM10 card with NFC chip being scalped online by resellers for RM19

The new Touch ‘n Go card with NFC (near field communication) technology will soon be launched, finally allowing users the ability to reload their physical cards directly from the Touch ‘n Go eWallet app.

It’s set to be sold at RM10 each, but online resellers were seen selling them for as high as RM19 each, a full 90% markup. The listing appears to have been taken down, but that may be because the cards were sold out. There have been reports that the card is officially on sale at TnG’s outlet in Nu Sentral, but as of yesterday 6pm, it has been sold out.

paultan.org staffers were then directed to purchase the card directly from LRT stations, where we were initially informed that the new cards are in short supply, and that we should return at 6 am. This morning however, we were told that the LRT station only carries the old cards instead, despite being informed otherwise by two different officers yesterday.

Anyway, as seen in the photo above, the new card features a pearlescent finish and has an NFC icon at the upper right-hand-side corner. As with the RFID tag, the new NFC card can be purchased directly from the eWallet mobile app (after it’s officially launched), though the RM10 price tag excludes shipping fees.

Once you get your hands on the card, all you have to do is link it to the eWallet, after which you get to check its balance and make instant reloads. For the latter, the new Enhanced card must be held to the back on an NFC-compatible smartphone for five seconds. This is said to work on both iOS and Android devices. However, this new function is not available as of yet, pending the official launch and an app update.

Presently, the only link between the existing Touch ‘n Go card and the eWallet app is the PayDirect function, where toll charges are first deducted from the eWallet instead of the physical card. When the eWallet balance has been depleted, only then will the toll charges be deducted from the card. This, however, can be prevented by enabling the auto-reload feature on the eWallet.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Kota Sri Bhagwan on Apr 15, 2022 at 10:24 am

why not make your nfc prepaid card integration into apple wallet similar to travel card ie hongkong Octopus Card, use the phone anytime anywhere keep away the physical card.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • You didn invest a single cent in the R&D. So you can only choose to use or not using it. Making demands without paying investment cost is outrageous. Stop complaining for nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 72
      • They are making tons of monies with the sale and hoarding of cash in n the ewallet. Your caveman thinking is why malaysia continues to digress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • James Wong on Apr 18, 2022 at 1:26 am

What a Muppet

• as a matter of fact I contacted them in 2018 when they first launched the TnGo E wallet app and invest in CIMB shares for it but they ignored me, they just said its due to the technology limitation.

• Spin Too Much on Apr 16, 2022 at 1:31 am

TNG has even more advanced system called eWallet which linked to DirectPay, this enhanced card is only for dinosaurs still hankering to carry a physical card but only know to complain about its limited capabilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • newme on Apr 15, 2022 at 10:44 am

What are they going to do next? FORCE people to change their card?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • Then you dont use lo. No one force you ma. If want to stick to cash lane, go and knock yourself out waiting in line lo. Company investing in technology to improve way of doing this..then you complain…your lane jam because of ppl like you lining up also complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 49
      • Mr. Sotong on Apr 15, 2022 at 11:48 am

Not backing up anyone here but most tolls are cashless now. T&G is no longer a choice, it’s the onky way.

• Netizen on Apr 15, 2022 at 1:04 pm

True. Introduce RFID, but then now back to card with nfc? Lol tng

• Sick & Tired on Apr 16, 2022 at 1:36 am

This card is for those dinosaurs who WERE complaining about RFID.
            This is the sick problem of Malaysia.
            Buat pun salah, xbuat pun salah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Kudabosan on Apr 17, 2022 at 9:43 am

What to do….
        Monopoly company…. Runned by goons…
        Constant failed roll outs…
        Shameless clowns…

• Darren on Apr 18, 2022 at 10:17 am

From concert/sports tickets to computer GPU to hot properties, there will always be scalpers like it or not. It has nothing to do with the company, are u accusing Asus, MSI, AMD for distros selling way above MSRP? The fact that scalpers rely on first to market & people’s greed to be the first to own something new, so what can people do? Don’t buy for now, let TNG produce more cards that scalpers no longer have the advantage. People are stupid after all, they complain about paying rm10 to replace worn cards but will line up to pay rm10 for this new card even if they current ones are still valid.

• Kudabosan on Apr 17, 2022 at 9:45 am

This jack…. Must be a cyber trooper of TnG… A branch of the illegal government of the day…. Lolol

• Spin Too Much on Apr 16, 2022 at 1:35 am

Nobody is forcing to change as current issued cards are still usable lah, please educate yourself first. Nevertheless eventually each existing card will expire and be replaced with this next gen NFC version but guess what, TNG already has a much better pay system called eWallet. Oh but did I hear you complaining about that too? Then you better coop yourself at home and never go out where you might want to use their services.

• Im fine with new cards or rfid or wallet but the way u comment looks immature. U Use tng for toll only?

Everywhere is starting or already implemented gateless toll years ago.

Parking lot doesn’t accept e-wallet. Don’t bother to talk crap if you dont know all the functions. Do you use wallets in trains or busses? Do you educate/pay senior citizens with wallets or mobile phone?

Ewallet is nothing new.

Are you older prehistoric cells that still queue and pay cash? Dont talk about credit cards. Thats not a necessity for everyone or not a privilege for under 21 yrs

• Sam Hari on Apr 15, 2022 at 11:40 am

“paultan.org staffers were then directed to purchase the card directly from LRT stations, where we were initially informed that the new cards are in short supply, and that we should return at 6 am. This morning however, we were told that the LRT station only carries the old cards instead, despite being informed otherwise by two different officers yesterday.”

These 2 sentences perfectly sum up the culture of the civil service and GLC service providers in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • EM_mir on Apr 15, 2022 at 5:13 pm

Saw that the new card is now on sale. Went to Nu Sentral hub just to be disappointed. They mentioned it is not yet on sale -_-

• Chang Poh Eng on Apr 16, 2022 at 10:21 pm

I dare not add my tng card to my ewallet as I found that adding mine tng and rfid together, if I use my tng card there be double deduction on my ewallet

• Allan Mortensen on Apr 18, 2022 at 12:37 am

Nobody uses physical cards anymore, its all build into your phone.