ABB installs new 50 kW DC charger in Kluang, Johor – sole unit located at Petron station in Taman Bersatu

Fancy yourself a trip to the iconic Kluang Rail Coffee in your electric car? You can now do so in peace, because ABB has just installed a new 50 kW DC fast charger.

The sole charger can be found at a Petron station in Jalan Kluang 2, Taman Bersatu. It’s already listed on PlugShare, which states that the unit is accessible for the public 24 hours a day.

For DC charging, it features both CCS2 and CHAdeMO interfaces (both rated at 50 kW), while AC charging (Type 2 connection) is rated at a maximum 43 kW. Charging costs RM1.20 per minute, based on the JomCharge app. All three interfaces have attached cables.

This marks the latest addition to the growing list of public chargers in Malaysia. To make it easier for EV owners looking for a DCFC point, you may refer to our full list of all the known DCFC locations presently available in the country.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• newme on Apr 26, 2022 at 11:45 am

Charge by minute. You syok2 charge half way, someone come and use the other pump, there goes your 50kW, charging time become longer.

• Lolwhut? on Apr 26, 2022 at 5:30 pm

LOL! You sound like you don’t know how electricity works. Just cuz your neighbour on Aircon doesnt mean your own aircon suddenly becomes slower lah bro.

• newme on Apr 26, 2022 at 6:03 pm

You sound like you have no clue how EV charging works. It’s different from home electricity.

• hellocorrectla on Apr 26, 2022 at 6:08 pm

bro the 3 plugs are connected to a single 50kw max power source. if 2 plugs are used at once, the amps will be divided.

• Won’t be an issue with the ABB charger since simultaneous charging with CCS and CHAdeMO won’t be possible due to its power module configuration, while AC is delivered separately. So in principle the user will be able to utilize the full 50kW/43kW, depending on the EV’s battery SoC.

• Bieight8 on Apr 26, 2022 at 4:53 pm

Daylight robbery

• Lolwhut? on Apr 26, 2022 at 5:33 pm

How is it so? at 50kW DC you only need 40 mins to charge from fully kosong an MX30 puny battery.

• Newme on Apr 27, 2022 at 6:51 am

Wrong again. In EV, charging rate will slow down at 80%. So in reality, charging time will be much longer to hit 100%.

• gamburtz on Jun 29, 2022 at 3:21 pm

would love to know who did the installation tho. seems like they are much faster than ChargEV who promised bulan and bintang to malaysians.