Dash cams – what kind of MicroSD card should I use for reliability in our hot Malaysian weather?

Dash cams are only as useful as the recordings they produce, so it is important to use a suitable MicroSD card for your dash cam to store your video recordings.

Unfortunately dash cams are a rather hostile environment for MicroSD cards. The MicroSD card has to operate under the blistering heat of our Malaysian weather, and the card has to deal with continuous writing of video data to it. On top of that, the dash cam has to continuously delete older video files to write new video files, and it has to do this while storing data at a near 100% capacity.

Therefore we shouldn’t be looking for a MicroSD card focused on performance, but rather one that was designed for endurance, built with hardware and equipped with a firmware that can handle heavy deleting and writing in a reliable manner.

Here are a list of endurance-focused MicroSD cards available in Malaysia:

Sandisk High Endurance

32GB Buy RM33.30 on Shopee
64GB Buy RM49 on Shopee
128GB Buy RM91 on Shopee
256GB Buy RM179 on Shopee

Sandisk Max Endurance

32GB Buy RM44.88 on Shopee
64GB Buy RM66.88 on Shopee
128GB Buy RM128 on Shopee
256GB Buy RM248 on Shopee

Samsung Pro Endurance (red)

32GB Buy RM31.80 on Shopee
64GB Buy RM74.88 on Shopee
128GB Buy RM139 on Shopee

Samsung Pro Endurance (2022 blue)

64GB Buy RM66.50 on Shopee
128GB Buy RM135.90 on Shopee
256GB Buy RM299 on Shopee

Kingston High Endurance

32GB Buy RM40 on Shopee
64GB Buy RM52 on Shopee
128GB Buy RM90 on Shopee

I personally use the SanDisk High Endurance cards in my Thinkware U1000 and BlackVue DR900X dashcams, and endurance cards have sufficient write speed to handle 4K video writing with no issue.

The SanDisk Max Endurance cards are also quite intriguing because they have insanely long warranties – ranging from 3 years for the 32GB all the way up to 15 years for the 256GB, but they are also more expensive than the High Endurance model. Samsung’s Pro Endurance has a 3 year warranty for the 64GB and 5 years for the 128GB. The other endurance cards typically have a 2 year warranty.

UPDATE: Samsung’s 2022 Pro Endurance MicroSD cards with the blue logo are now available, and it looks like they are even more expensive than the prices of Sandisk’s Max Endurance range that we initially reported, priced at up to RM353 for the 256GB card. As for Sandisk Max Endurance, we can no longer find them on local seller listings at previously published prices.

UPDATE #2: Samsung’s 2022 Pro Endurance MicroSD cards with the blue logo gets a big price cut, with the 64GB model now priced at RM66.50 compared to RM110 when it was just launched.

Which MicroSD cards do you use for your dash cam? Drop a comment with your experience below!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Well done mate for review. A big thanks also suggesting (with link) for us. Appreciate it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Anti Mat Lajak on May 02, 2022 at 9:11 pm

Next is to test which dash cam battery can perform better under hot climate country: Capacitor battery vs Lithium battery.

• lucky PT give link. i tried finding myself and found many suspiciously cheap listings. im sure those are all fake sd card. now at least we know the price range for legit version

• Aura89 on May 05, 2022 at 11:09 am

This is already outdated. Samsung just launched a new series of Endurance Pro cards with 33X more writes. Look out these new ones are white casing with series of V10(32 & 64gb) or V30(128 & 256gb)

• Paul Tan on May 05, 2022 at 5:24 pm

the new samsung pro endurance cards (announced 3rd may in korea) have blue font for the word ‘endurance’ on the card. the one on sale in our market is currently red font.

• Aura89 on May 05, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Yup. Just wait for the new ones, they usually make landfall in a month or 2. With such high durability, i think it changes the equation.

• Paul Tan on Aug 26, 2022 at 8:36 pm

They are now available but quite pricey!

• Kiew Tee on May 02, 2022 at 7:22 am

Toyota dashcam user here, and even with these sd card models and brands, I still received sd card error. What to do. Just reformat, and the card is ok again.

• rendangayam on May 02, 2022 at 9:09 am

maybe you need to change dashcam bro… dunno what dashcam toyota is giving

• Casual reader on May 03, 2022 at 1:40 pm

Change brand of car better. If they willing to skimp on the sdcard, god knows what else they skimp on the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Car made by TOYOTA
          Dashcam retrofitted by local UMW

Dashcam not perfect, but car is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Kiew Tee on May 04, 2022 at 12:25 am

My Toyota dealer never offered to give a free sd card. Was very happy because I could buy a high endurance one.

• Kiew Tee on May 04, 2022 at 12:21 am

Planning that too. Hopefully 4K 60 fps, front and rear will be available from reputable brands soon.

• newme on May 03, 2022 at 1:57 am

You sure they are giving the high endurance model?

• Kariayam on May 02, 2022 at 7:58 am

I previously used lexar cards but lasted barely a year. All my SanDisk high endurance cards are still working in all my dashcams about 2.5 years since purchase but I noticed recently some of them were skipping sections of videos. Meaning even though they were recording, some footage was missing or corrupted.

• rendangayam on May 02, 2022 at 9:08 am

what dashcam are you using? i wonder if its a sdcard issue or the dashcam is getting abit old and isnt writing the video properly?

• Kariayam on May 05, 2022 at 6:50 pm

You’re right. Also It could also be the power socket not supplying sufficient electricity to the camera. I use 70mai on several vehicles at home.

• ROTI CANAI on May 02, 2022 at 5:12 pm

the old lexar made by micron were bulletproof, the new lexar are made by a different company after micron sold lexar

• Abraham Tawi on May 02, 2022 at 9:08 am

Have been using SanDisk Extreme in my 70mai Pro since September 2019. No issue thus far.

• Broddy Banta on May 02, 2022 at 11:56 pm

The problem is, your card’s warranty is automatically voided when using Sandisk Extreme on dashcam.

You can check Sandisk’s website for more details.

• Where is the reliable source to purchase 70mai Pro with best price of course?

• Rather too short and neither a review. Perhaps this article would be more meaningful if you do a comparo and state which card is the better performance, or reliability or value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • the photo with 3 cables connected into it is making me feeling uncomfortable, lol

• good article.
    welcome back Paul!

• testing on May 16, 2022 at 3:55 pm

One need to test the microSD card after it is full and overwrite occurs. Personally, I encountered that High Endurance couldn’t make it in DR650S-2CH. When first put in all is okay until it overwrites old videos. Then all hell breaks loose. Nonetheless, have to try out first. Guess every model behaves differently.

• I have SanDisk High Endurance and Kingston Endurance.

Kingston one failed on me. Skip recordings. Claimed for warranty already