2022 Honda HR-V launching in Malaysia soon – all you need to know if you want to buy a new B-segment SUV

There have been many 2022 Honda HR-V sightings in Malaysia over the Raya week thanks to countries in our region being in full on Raya mode this year. This means plenty of Singapore residents drove up their brand new 2022 HR-Vs up to Malaysia to visit their families here.

When will Malaysians be able to balik kampung with the new HR-V then? The new Honda HR-V will be coming to Malaysia in sometime in the second half of 2022, but perhaps not in time for Hari Raya Haji.

The HR-V is a very important model for Honda Malaysia, pioneering the entry-level SUV segment that rivals like the Proton X50 and X70 and Toyota Corolla Cross now compete in. Honda Malaysia will highly likely be launching it here as a locally assembled car just like the outgoing model.

UPDATE: (9 June 2022) – Honda Malaysia has officially opened bookings for the 2022 Honda HR-V.

Which version of the 2022 Honda HR-V will we get?

First of all, we can rule out the US market Honda HR-V as it is only known as the HR-V there. Globally, this particular SUV will be called the Honda ZR-V and it is positioned in between the HR-V and the CR-V.

This version of the “HR-V” is a larger vehicle and is based on the Civic instead of the City, aimed at customers who find the CR-V has grown too large for their needs.

This is the model of the HR-V that we will get, which is what Singapore, Thailand and Indonesia gets. But notice that there are two different ‘faces’. On the left is the ‘regular’ face, which sports horizontal bars. The car on the right is the ‘RS’ face, with a sportier look.

Indonesia gets both faces – the E and E SE variants with the normally aspirated 1.5 liter engine gets the regular face. The sportier ‘RS’ face is reserved for the model with the 1.5 litre turbo engine. In Thailand, the RS face is offered, but not with a turbo engine – the RS face is paired with the e:HEV hybrid engine there. Thailand also gets a version of the hybrid with the normal face.

We think there is a chance Honda Malaysia could only offer the sportier ‘RS’ face in Malaysia with multiple engine choices. After all, the hybrid City models get the RS face here, so it could be the same for the HR-V. And it would be weird for the sporty turbo model not to get the RS look as well. So we could be looking at both a HR-V RS Turbo and a HR-V RS e:HEV going on sale here.

But this is of course pure speculation, we’ll see. If there will only be one variant that gets the RS outlook, it will likely be the hybrid, as per the other Honda models. Which face do you prefer – the normal face or the RS face? We reckon the RS face would be more in line with Malaysian tastebuds.

Is the 2022 HR-V now a bigger SUV?

The current Honda HR-V on sale in Malaysia has the following dimensions – 4,346 mm length x 1,790 mm width x 1,605 mm height, with a 2,610 mm wheelbase.

The 2022 HR-V measures the following – 4,385 mm length x 1,790 mm width x 1,590 mm height, with a 2,610 mm wheelbase.

Surprise surprise, the new car has the same wheelbase as the outgoing car. It’s grown mostly in terms of exterior length, while maintaining the same width.

You can see from the comparison of the side profile above that the front and rear overhangs of the new HR-V are a bit longer than the outgoing model.

What engine will the 2022 Honda HR-V get in Malaysia?

Globally, the 2022 Honda HR-V is offered with three engine choices. The base engine is a normally aspirated 1.5 litre engine. For those who want more power, there is a turbocharged 1.5 litre engine. And then there is the e:HEV Hybrid for those who are into a bit more technology in their car.

1.5 litre four cylinder NA engine
– 121 PS at 6,600 rpm
– 145 Nm at 4,300 rpm
– CVT transmission

1.5 litre four cylinder Turbo engine
– 177 PS at 6,000 rpm
– 240 Nm at 1,700-4,500 rpm
– CVT transmission

1.5 litre four cylinder e:HEV hybrid system
– Atkinson cycle
– 105 hp, 127 Nm from engine
– 131 hp, 253 Nm total system output

In the e:HEV hybrid system, the 1.5 litre engine works with two electric motors. The e:HEV system uses the engine most of the time as a generator using one of the electric motors, which also acts as a starter. The second electric motor is larger – it is used to drive the front wheels most of the time. At high speeds where the system calculates that it is more efficient for the four cylinder engine to drive the wheels directly, a lock-up clutch engages and the engine drives the wheels instead of the motor.

It is not likely that we will be receiving the 1.5 litre normally aspirated engine here. The outgoing HR-V uses a 1.8 litre engine for its non-hybrid offering – going down an engine size for a normally aspirated engine in a SUV body be an issue being received by customers here (HR-V 1.5 NA is 1,250 kg vs City hatch 1,151kg). So we think the 2022 HR-V could be a turbo or hybrid only offering in Malaysia.

How much will the 2022 Honda HR-V be priced at?

This is a tough one to estimate. Here are the prices of the outgoing HR-V currently on sale in Malaysia.

2022 Honda HR-V 1.8 E – RM 104,000.21
2022 Honda HR-V 1.8 SE – RM 105,363.85
2022 Honda HR-V 1.8 V – RM 113,421.92
2022 Honda HR-V 1.5 Hybrid – RM 113,954.82
2022 Honda HR-V 1.8 RS – RM 118,581.81

However you need to remember these prices are with the current SST exemptions, which is scheduled to end on June 30, 2022. We need to go back in time a little to 2019 to get pricing with SST, as the new HR-V will most likely be priced with SST included. We can see SST represents about 4-5% of the pricetag.

2019 Honda HR-V 1.8 E – RM 108,800.00
2019 Honda HR-V 1.8 V – RM 118,800.00
2019 Honda HR-V 1.5 Hybrid – RM 120,800.00
2019 Honda HR-V RS – RM 124,800.00

Pricing for the new HR-V could go a bit higher due to the higher positioning of the engines offered, if we were to get the turbo and the hybrid only, skipping the normally aspirated 1.5.

If you look at the pricing of the new City Hatchback, the e:HEV RS is priced at RM 107,783.09 while the most expensive petrol model is only RM 91,708.51. The City Sedan’s e:HEV RS goes for RM 105,950.45 compared to the 1.5 V’s RM 90,212.36 price. That’s a pretty significant premium for the hybrid system – about RM15k or about a 17% price premium.

This is because the new hybrids use Honda’s new i-MMD system which is more expensive than the outgoing i-DCD system as it is more advanced. You’re pretty much driving an electric car with an ICE generator.

If we take the 2019 HR-V 1.8 V’s RM 118,800.00 with SST price tag as a baseline and add 17%, the new HR-V’s top of the range e:HEV RS model could cost RM138k. That would still be cheaper than the CR-V’s last with-SST starting price of RM151k, so it is a real possibility.

UPDATE: What do the HR-V pre-booking classifieds ads say?

We had a quick check on local classifieds websites and found that Honda sales advisors have already started advertising pre-bookings for the 2022 Honda HR-V.

Interestingly, all the sales adverts advertise a total of three engine options being available for the HR-V, so if this is true, this means our earlier prediction that the HR-V would be a hybrid or turbo only affair would be inaccurate.

Four different specs are listed in a majority of the ads – 1.5 NA S, 1.5 Turbo E, 1.5 Turbo V and 1.5 RS Hybrid. One particular ad even listed the specs of each variant, though we wouldn’t take this as confirmed until the car is launched.

Given the increased price of the turbo and hybrid engines, Honda Malaysia might have decided to offer a base model with the 1.5 litre engine as an entry level option for those who want the HR-V’s body but do not mind an engine with less power.

Are you eagerly waiting for the new Honda HR-V to be launched? If you are, have you placed a booking at a dealership already? Drop a comment and let us know if the sales personnel have given you any hints on pricing and specs!

GALLERY: 2022 Honda HR-V e:HEV RS (Thailand market)

GALLERY: 2022 Honda HR-V e:HEV EL (Thailand market)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Civic or HR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
    • Ox Wolf on May 13, 2022 at 10:03 pm

Both not nice. Civic and HR-V are copying from others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 20
      • Sure. Please sue Honda for copying. I bet you can’t even draw a car, let alone any design flair. Go take a look at how they actually designed the car before throwing useless accusations. Using your point of view, all car manufacturers copied Mercedes since they created the first car with 4 wheels after all. Yes, I own an AMG. Sheesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 49
        • SacktheDesigner on May 14, 2022 at 4:26 pm

Betoi. That 2008 Honda Crossroad is much better looking imho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • How do you know that all car manufacturers copied Mercedes? I only saw that the back of city hatchback is copied from A class but not others. You should relook all car manufacturers again on how the design look like before you comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Using Mr Ox Wolf’s argument, anything created after is a copy of before. It doesn’t matter what the designer did. It’s a fact that many car design will share similarities because how much can one deviate? So using his point of view, any other manufacturer after Mercedes patented their first 4 wheel automobile in 1886 is in fact copying Mercedes. Correct? According to Mr Ox.

Car design is not as simple as it seems. What one draws won’t necessarily can be produced because you have to create a full scale model, do wind tunnel testing, verify that panels can be manufactured, etc etc. Car designers are like artists with an automotive engineering background because what they draw needs to be able to be reproduced. And what they can create is limited by that so similar designs are almost always incidental… NOT A BLOODY COPY.

Honda CRV started the revolution of compact SUV in 1995. Mazda never had an SUV until 2013 when CX5 was introduced. I wonder who Mazda copied? Ox Wolf’s words. Oh, Volvo’s first SUV was in 2002, XC90. I’m sure he’s one of those who tells others that his father look like him. Yup. The son comes before the father.

Saying a car looks similar with another make is common. To accuse a manufacturer of copying is a bloody insult. Honda released a video on how their team came together to design the HRV before it was launched. Although in Japanese, you can see how they worked together to create the final product. Different manufacturers have their own unique design flair.

If anyone is to be accused of copying, the early China manufacturers fits that bill. Range Rover sued them and won.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
          • @KNS
            Did he said any other manufacturer after Mercedes patented their first 4 wheel automobile in 1886 is in fact copying Mercedes? Please read his comment before you comment again. I also don’t see that CX-5 2013 copied from CRV. He also didn’t even mentioned that XC90 also copying. And where you get your logic from? He didn’t say anything but he only mentioned that this HRV and new Civic was copied from others.

There is no any other manufacturers copied from other brands. And what you said on car designers can create is limited by that so similar designs are almost always incidental, I disagree with you because there is no anyone of car designers copied from anyone of manufacturers but can get idea from other manufacturers a bit but not really much.

Anyway, from Ox Wolf statement, I agree with him, can see that this HRV outside is copying from any of car manufacturers. If any of car manufacturers have their own designs even get a bit ideas from any manufacturers, so why don’t Honda follow on what any car manufacturers did.

• ALBW24 on May 14, 2022 at 11:05 am

True. Civic look like AccorVios. HRV look like CX5rrier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Azeez Tabung bayi on May 13, 2022 at 10:20 pm

Looks like a 400k SUV. Kudos honda Jepunis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 37
      • Banana shape on May 14, 2022 at 8:21 am

But here, honda quality is poor and not reach to 400k suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
        • U didn’t pay 400k for it bah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
          • pearlft on May 14, 2022 at 11:50 am

I drove both c class for only 2 years old and recently got my new civic for three months old. Both looks more like luxury. But just few months later, my c class is still working fine but new civic started to get problems with wierd noises and also from steering wheel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
          • ByeX70X50 on May 14, 2022 at 12:35 pm

At least 3 times more premium than Geely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • Casual reader on May 14, 2022 at 3:36 pm

Old HRV was funky and different compared to other SUV crossovers which made it sold well but for this new HRV is going back to a traditional boxy body which will put off a lot of HRV fans. This won’t sell well and sell evem worse if ZRV (US HRV) comes to Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
  • Ox Wolf on May 13, 2022 at 10:04 pm

Copy CX5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
  • Profiteering on May 13, 2022 at 11:10 pm

New HRV price will start from 119k (to look cheap because not hitting the 120k)…

• Kapchai on May 14, 2022 at 10:54 am

Dulu HR-V 1.8L game changing price is RM99k.

I think, now no more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • wrago on May 13, 2022 at 11:34 pm

Front and behind are copycat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
  • jamesng on May 13, 2022 at 11:59 pm

Been informed by SA.
    S 1.5 na
    E 1.5 turbo
    V 1.5 turbo
    RS hybrid
    Est : 110-140k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • Tortilla on May 14, 2022 at 10:52 am

Should give the Civic Cross @ This price instead.

Just do the same like how USA replaced the old HR-V.

RM110k – RM140k,
      Naik harga RM20k, but cannot get Civic Cross.

• BarNor on May 14, 2022 at 11:34 am

Just went to honda dealer just now. I was received by SA. The estimate starting price is between 120-140k

• Right? on May 16, 2022 at 12:33 am

See. Told ya. Hehehe… They price must more than the current P1 models. Just to make P1 value for money. No way H can get approval to sell it below it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
        • Amran on May 16, 2022 at 4:51 pm

Accord went from RM 156k to RM 200k, salah proton ke?
          Camry went from RM 166k to RM 210k, salah proton ke?
          Bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • zz.gg on May 14, 2022 at 12:22 am

Thanks paultan for addressing my comment in a previous post. Pray hard the RS will be offered with 1.5T. Will sell like hot cake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
  • Epson on May 14, 2022 at 1:27 am

Omada 5 looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Bossku welcome investment on May 14, 2022 at 9:32 am

If they can have 4s center in Malaysia then can consider, if not no need to consider.

• isnt it obvious they must have 4s center?
        how do you expect buying it? from shopee?

• vote boy on May 14, 2022 at 10:03 am

upvote for hrv. downvote for corolla cross

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
  • Typical honda car. Interior still using cheap plastic.

• Aeroheads on May 14, 2022 at 10:20 am

Got chip to launch new model, but no chip to clear backlog. What an irony Honda Malaysia??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • ALBW24 on May 14, 2022 at 11:10 am

Dull looking

• Crouch on May 28, 2022 at 6:26 pm

The new hrv is nice. But unfortunately, lack of space at the rear centre seat and lack of rear seat headroom are a dealbreaker. The TCC is better in these areas.

• Too expensive for a jacked up City Hatchback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • HR-V vs X-50… 2nd Round!

• Victor on May 14, 2022 at 2:18 pm

Why no mention of the Philippines again? This vehicle has been in the market as well. Has PaulTan always relies on Auto Industriya? There are also other PH car sites such as Auto Deal, Car Guide Philippines, etc….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
    • Paul Tan on May 14, 2022 at 3:55 pm

philippines is a left hand drive market. it will have different timelines and product availability because of that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • Christina on May 14, 2022 at 5:18 pm

Maybe philippines will get the same like USA HR-V, a civic cross a fully imported, better.

Otherwise, it just might be D.O.A, not able to compete with the same style, same shape Veloz Cross, which already better value than Corolla Cross.

But for a specific group for turbo, philippines here chinese turbo is cheaper and better looking.
      Here got cheaper better Chery Tiggo 2,7,8 Geely Coolray, Azkara, and the best GAC GS3, GN6. In fact, china Honda already absorbed by GAC. Honda also closed Philipines plants due to low sales.

https://paultan.org/2020/02/25/honda-ends-production-operations-in-the-philippines/

• Vito Aditya on May 15, 2022 at 9:38 am

Philippines already got the new HR-V, which is pretty much like the HR-V sold in most ASEAN countries as of now and the one in Japan.

• unfortunely i think hrv Asia wont provide dual zone aircon as standard like europian model

• 84b1bobo on May 14, 2022 at 6:48 pm

Why toyota tv come to hrv

• Susanne on May 14, 2022 at 6:56 pm

Compact SUV boot comparison:
    HR-V 2021 City Cross has the smallest boot –

1.Honda HR-V/City Cross 2021 319L
    Honda City Hatchback 2021 289L

2. Toyota CH-R 377L
    3. Mazda CX-3 350L
    4. Toyota Raize Ativa 369L
    5. TYT Corolla Cross 440L
    6. HR-V 2022 US/civic cross TBA.

• Christina on May 15, 2022 at 9:35 am

Veloz Cross LHD 499L.
      City Cross 319L
      Civic Cross, LHD should be the one coming to Philippines.

• zz.gg on May 15, 2022 at 12:05 pm

319L i think only applies to hybrid. Non hybrid should have bigger boot space. I could be wrong

• Ramesh on May 16, 2022 at 12:49 pm

If like that a TNGA Corolla Cross Prius SUV is miles ahead.

440L,1.8L Hybrid yet more fuel efficient, Japan No.1 actual road tested.

You really need that Civic Cross come here..
        Not this 1.5L hybrid City Hatchback Cross..

• 1.8L EV or 1.5L EV
          Both enjoy Electric Drive,
          Drive with EV, charged with Petrol. Extended range by Petrol.

If you can call it as a Petrol car with more features.
          You also can call it as EV car with more features.

• Dong Gor on May 14, 2022 at 7:09 pm

Same width, same wheel base… But will have a lot more cabin spaces! Only magic I can think off is make the seats and dash smaller / thinner Keke.

• Thank you. Good info and heads up on the new Malaysia spec HRV.

• Honda Lover on May 15, 2022 at 12:10 pm

The new SUV looks nice ngl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Partiban on May 15, 2022 at 4:16 pm

Hi, the salesman said, could start from RM110k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Crazy price for B-segment SUV, but should be roomier than the X50 which is supposedly in the same segment.

• Auntie on May 16, 2022 at 11:53 am

Australia HR-V 2021 City Cross is declared as a 4 seater.
      Not a 5 seater, due to safety reason.

The HR-V 2021 City Cross center seat doesn’t comply to Australian Design Rules (ADR),
      which stipulate any rear seat with a seatbelt must also feature a top-tether point for a child seat.

The center seat @ HR-V City Cross is also not comfortable, not flat yet narrow.

• Sunroofboy on May 16, 2022 at 12:38 am

Any chance In getting the sunroof version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • All you need to know? No price, engine type, specs…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • anonymous on May 16, 2022 at 7:32 pm

after what honda malaysia did with the civic by cutting out quite a few features, why would anyone be excited for this?

• We still prefer T over H and even suv proton geely is way better. Nothing great about this new hr-v.

• Pity Malaysian. Low budget SUV that becomes so popular and able to create so many topics for these type level of SUV……………….

• It’s a nice car but Honda Malaysia is Trash, took them so long to launch after country like SG, VN, PH, ID, TH. already launch their car months ago. Stop making our country looks like shit Honda Malaysia

• Crouch on May 28, 2022 at 1:47 pm

Its a nice car. Unfortunately, lack of headroom at the rear sear and small center sear, thats dealbreaker for me as comfort is important. Going for TCC.

• i have put in a booking but saw some reviews that engine noise above 100km and during acceleration is loud, up to uncomfortable level…hmm thinking twice now..

• Not a toyota fan on Jun 06, 2022 at 2:52 pm

RIP corolla cross