Jokowi meets Elon Musk at SpaceX site in Texas, invites Tesla boss to visit Indonesia later this year

Following his meeting with Indonesian president Joko Widodo over the weekend at the SpaceX site in Boca Chica, Texas, Elon Musk says he is considering a visit to Indonesia later this year to explore investment opportunities in the republic, Bloomberg reports.

During the visit, the Indonesian leader – who was in the country to attend the US-Asean Special Summit – extended an invite to Musk, who replied, “Hopefully in November, thank you for the invitation.” The invitation to Musk comes after Tesla representatives paid a visit to a nickel production hub in Morowali, Central Sulawesi last week.

The meeting between Musk and Jokowi had been arranged last month by the country’s coordinating maritime affairs and investment minister Luhut Pandjaitan, in the hopes of getting Tesla to invest in Indonesia, reports The Jakarta Post.

The government has held talks on potential partnerships with Musk’s teams over course of the last few years, including on the production of Tesla EVs and even the possibility of a SpaceX rocket launch site in the country, the latter part of the country’s ambition to join the space race, but no agreements have been reached so far.

Indonesia’s discussions with Tesla on the probability of setting up a factory in the republic to make batteries for its EVs fell through in March, apparently because Tesla was only interested in building batteries for energy storage systems (i.e. its Powerwall) instead of that for its cars. However, it was reported last month that Indonesia had restarted talks with Musk to join the country’s burgeoning nickel and EV industry.

The country has long been pushing for investments in EV and battery manufacturing, touting its reserves of nickel and cobalt – used in the production of lithium-ion batteries – as well as bauxite, which can be turned into aluminium. Indonesia, which has the world’s biggest nickel reserves, wants to build a full supply chain for extracting battery chemicals from the metal rather than simply exporting it.

Jokowi’s invitation to Musk reiterates the country’s intent to continue its efforts to develop its EV industry, and not just with the production of raw materials. In August last year, he said that the country had a great opportunity in developing industries from upstream to downstream, and that it should focus on the lithium battery industry as well as the production of EVs.

Malaysia has also extended an invitation to Tesla to invest in the country. Last week, prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said he had suggested to Tesla to invest in Malaysia and build its EVs here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on May 17, 2022 at 2:00 pm

DSIS didn’t apply to visit Tesla office. So sad….

• We must be careful dealing with this guy. He just scammed the whole of Indonesia and rather buy an online company than invest money into real things. He also burned way too many investors for the many umpteen years of massive losses that would have closed him down long ago if it weren’t for the subsidies he gets from the US Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • newme on May 17, 2022 at 2:04 pm

As a Malaysian, I would want him to invest in Malaysia instead of Indonesia. As a businessman, don’t even think of it to come here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 31
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on May 17, 2022 at 2:21 pm

If we have plenty of nickel reserve like indonesia why not…but since our main strength is in semiconductor we can focus on that…every country has its own niche

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
      • Eat My Smoke on May 17, 2022 at 2:55 pm

Small market, high wages and corrupted. Apa lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • Our market is relatively small, but Malaysia has the highest sales in Premium/Luxury segment than any country in Southeast Asia. Malaysians buy more Mercedes, BMW, Lexus and Porsches than any of our neighboring countries.

However with our higher wages, lack of transparency in doing business and lack of the natural resources required by EV could be putting us at disadvantage.

With our addiction to Petrol due to subsidy, we are still lack of initiative to move to EVs. I am sure Thailand will move to Electrification much faster than us due to their high unsubsidized petrol.

• Billie Dharmajaya on May 20, 2022 at 5:18 pm

well tesla actually see the ev market in south east asia and indonesia is the high for ev sales like for example hyundai ioniq 5 has sold 1.500 unit of them in indonesia just for 6 days that’s why tesla want big ev sales and support from the gov

• Ajibkor & Hamidikor on May 17, 2022 at 5:16 pm

Hello,our officials either think Elon Must is Tom Cruise(actor) or the genuine richest man in the world.
          When he reads about the policy U turns here,u think he will invest billions here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • Renaldi Soeryadi on May 17, 2022 at 10:19 pm

I think yes. That’s because Tesla need another country to produce it’s battery for Powerwall, not a battery for EVs (Since Tesla chose Panasonic for that), let alone it’s vehicle (Since Tesla chose India for producing it’s EVs besides China, but w/o further confirmation). That’s what Elon actually wants. If Tesla recieving go ahead, then why not?

• newme on May 17, 2022 at 3:43 pm

Different work culture. You think he can accept serving teh tarik, karipap and mihun goreng during meeting? If Kopiko only, ok lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Oldme on May 17, 2022 at 5:22 pm

Why are u still here then?

• Troll Hunter on May 17, 2022 at 5:56 pm

Rich people don’t spend their time trolling PT like newme doing. That indicates something.

• Tom Cruise maverick on May 17, 2022 at 5:40 pm

Elon: Give me intelligence on Msia.
      Board of Directors:We strongly recommend their neighbour ,Indonesia…got plenty of related raw materials,hard working labour ,friendly investor policy,no policy U turns.Sir,u can go ahead..invest in Jokowiland.
      Elon: What the hell are you waiting for? Call Jokowi for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Rakyat Malaysia on May 17, 2022 at 6:01 pm

As rakyat Malaysia we dun want him come here. Look at how he treats our Indon frens, skali mau masuk, next mau keluar. Jokowi pun bodoh still want to court him like an exwife. PM Sabri is smarter to ask for smaller things to setup Tesla Supercharger system here instead of big bombastic ideas to setup car making which he wanna bagi xbagi pun to Indon frens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • pdesign on May 20, 2022 at 5:21 pm

well it will be great if the indo president ask for big things it will be very impact on the investment in the future

• Ben Yap on May 17, 2022 at 2:36 pm

meanwhile widodo reluctant to send indonesian workers to malaysia and malaysia is still harping on Indonesia’s manpower. just open up to other countries like Cambodia, Vietnam, laos or thailand for manpower.

• John Gagal on May 17, 2022 at 3:18 pm

Indonesia zero corruption no need 51% freebies so that’s why Elon Tesla going there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Brian on May 18, 2022 at 1:04 pm

Zero corruption?
        Transparency index rank Indonesia at 96 way below Malaysia at 62.
        This is the internet bro, nak tipu siapa other than macais like yourself? Better shout out saying “Hey fellow macais! Listen to me!”

• Make Malaysia great again. on May 17, 2022 at 3:55 pm

Meanwhile Malaysia :

‘Ku mencari-cari teman (investor) yg sejati, utk menemani perjuangan suci (business)…’

Credit to Teman Sejati – Brothers. Not accessories shop one. Lol.

• Attachat Chanphol on May 19, 2022 at 6:52 am

Take you Take you