Indonesia, rich in nickel, has received an investment proposal from Tesla – focus is on making EV batteries

Late last year, a team representing the Indonesian government met Tesla for talks on the electric vehicle specialist setting up shop in the ASEAN country. Now, our neighbour has received an investment proposal from Elon Musk’s company, Indonesia’s deputy head for investment and mining coordination Septian Hario Seto told the press, reported by Reuters.

“I received their proposal yesterday morning. Next week we will meet them (virtually) to get an official explanation,” Septian said, adding that he could not elaborate on the details as there’s a non-disclosure agreement in place.

He did say that the focus of Indonesia and Tesla’s discussions had been on batteries and energy storage solutions. “If they only want to buy raw materials, we are not interested. This (proposal) is beyond just taking the raw material,” Septian added.

Why Indonesia? Well, the country has what Tesla needs as an EV maker. The republic is the world’s biggest producer of nickel, a crucial ingredient in EV batteries. It used to be the world’s top exporter, but Indonesia stopped selling the raw material last year; instead, it plans to develop a full nickel supply chain itself. Timely, as EVs are the future.

“It’s very important because we have a great plan to make Indonesia the biggest producer of lithium batteries and we have the biggest nickel (reserves),” RI president Joko Widodo said in November.

Besides having a plan to promote EVs and draw in EV-related investment, the country has been publicly courting Tesla to for investment. On Tesla’s part, the Model S maker said last year it was looking to find reliable sources of nickel globally.

Indonesia’s EV plan has already got off the mark. Hyundai will start making EVs in the country sometime in 2022, while top Chinese battery maker Contemporary Amperex Technology Limited (CATL) is building a factory in the republic, with initial production due in 2024.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mel Ayu Tanasegara Asin on Feb 05, 2021 at 5:54 pm

Everywhere investment, but msia.

Tengkiu caring gomen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 05, 2021 at 7:31 pm

Our caring gomen cares for our environment remain unspoiled so we can inherit to our cucu cicit. Meanwhile Indon will be turned into a gigantic open pit of toxic waste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
      • PEJUANG on Feb 05, 2021 at 8:00 pm

The young people on social media like reddit, lowyat, twitter, youtube etc etc are getting frustrated with PN. Muhyiddin’s speech video on YT (uploaded by The Star) got more dislikes than likes for goodness sake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
        • Spin Too Much on Feb 06, 2021 at 10:51 am

Sori bro. We have outed your fake news respawning here again. Who cares about these fake dislikes anyway it is just like your dislikes here, all faked since you repeated disliking. No real substance. The proof is whether they want to work or not. There’s plenty of work so stop spinning bro.

• PEJUANG on Feb 06, 2021 at 12:47 pm

There are no bots disliking posts or vids on reddit and YT. Just search r/Malaysia and see the sentiment towards PN.

We the youth from all races are done with the boomer politicians from BN/PN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • History Bender on Feb 06, 2021 at 4:16 pm

Hahaha…. if social media were trustable, Trump would still be president today. The facts speaks otherwise. History has proven otherwise.

• @Pejuang
            Siapa makan cili dia baru tau pedasnya. Kan?

• PEJUANG on Feb 06, 2021 at 11:36 pm

+History Bender

Biden was more popular on socmed.

+joe
            ye betul.

• History Bender on Feb 07, 2021 at 2:34 pm

Biden was no where near Trump online. Like him or hate him, it gets Trump the media attention he needs. The reason why Biden won was because America trusted social media less, not more.

• Oh? You mean like how you rigged the system here with multiple dislikes? So that is your KPI to earn your salary is it?

• PEJUANG on Feb 06, 2021 at 7:55 pm

i have better things to do than to repeatedly downvote (or upvote) a post here, Alan ;)

• Oh Im sure you do. Like talking nonsense when your not rigging the system everytime your boss unsatisfied with comments against them ;-)

• Logical Deduction on Feb 05, 2021 at 7:36 pm

See: Why Indonesia? Well, the country has what Tesla needs as an EV maker. The republic is the world’s biggest producer of nickel.

We don’t have this resource. This is the reason why they not coming here. Simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Rosman on Feb 05, 2021 at 8:18 pm

met with MB Kedah earlier today the immense potensi REE rare earth elements there,

• Malaysia geography doesnt have such rare earth material due to our quite stable landmass. Only those country having active geography ie volcanoes and earthquakes are tend to be rich in such minerals. AFAIK Kedah doesnt have such natural disasters.

• hazri on Feb 06, 2021 at 3:53 pm

You mean those the boomer politicians from BN/PN tipu kenching raykat again

• Your: “You mean those the boomer politicians from BN/PN”

And Pejuang’s: “the boomer politicians from BN/PN.”
            Exact phrases right down to the stoke and placement of bn & pn. Jeez, is this the “better things to do” that you were talking about? Like creating fake personas to copy paste comments kinda thing?

• PEJUANG on Feb 07, 2021 at 9:28 am

FFS Alan this guy isn’t my dupe! i only type with my iconic PEJUANG username here.

i swear to God that hazri is not my dupe and that dude literally just took my words and typed it in his comment ;(

really wished i could register my account here.

• hazri on Feb 07, 2021 at 10:23 am

Lol! #NeedsmoreVaseline

• History Bender on Feb 07, 2021 at 2:36 pm

Oh now I see the revival of Kunta troll and his game again this time with PEJUANG moniker. He is only good for traffic nothing else.

• Vanguard on Feb 05, 2021 at 5:59 pm

…..meanwhile in Malaysia, the beloved govt boasted that our crude supply is kaya and melimpah in volume, and will last for generations.

…….meanwhile Malaysian are happily driving and riding in ICE engines all year long, while content with “harga petrol paling murah di SEA”.

• tricycle on Feb 05, 2021 at 7:40 pm

exactly why 1MDB diversify into Renewable energy & hydrolectrik… RM55B is cheap pricetag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • History Bender on Feb 06, 2021 at 1:43 am

Exactly why Indonesia will soon join the infamous list that includes the Bhopal disaster, the Chernobyl disaster, Exxon Valdez disaster, Aberfan mine disaster, etc….

• If 1MDB don’t exist, we still have RM55b today to fight the covid cause slump!

• Dr Strange on Feb 06, 2021 at 11:10 am

Pointless comment. 55bilion cannot resurrect even 1 life loss due to pandemic.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 06, 2021 at 1:24 pm

55bilion each donation to every Malaysian then.

• Amran on Feb 06, 2021 at 1:59 am

Why bother have EV here when harga EV car macem yahudis?
      https://paultan.org/2021/02/05/tesla-worldwide-index-affordability-of-model-s-model-3-model-x-model-y-in-various-markets-shown/

• Indonesia will be turned into Mordor with huge grey open pit mines scarring the land. Well at least they won’t complain about their cities sinking anymore when they can live subterranean in these huge gapping holes that can be seen from satellites.

We having potholes the size of basketballs is bad but they will have potholes the size of city blocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Yes, even if Malaysia has those resources I wouldn’t like them coming and mining them here. I can’t imagine the environmental destruction.

• azrai on Feb 05, 2021 at 6:38 pm

Hello Mas Elon.

• Indo soon to become a Walking Dead scene with half the country become gigantic open mining pits filled with toxic waste and the other half becoming high toxic waste spewing EV batteries production and recycling factories with workers having shortened lifespan due to this waste.

If Indons think Tesla and its ilk will make safe and environmental factories like these (https://paultan.org/2021/02/02/volkswagen-opens-new-plant-for-ev-battery-recycling/) HAH! Think again.

• Sam Loo Redemption on Feb 05, 2021 at 8:05 pm

Indonesia like Malaysia is a blessed county. Bossku famous for 1MDB fiasco sold our country’s raw (bauxite, limestone, sand) to China, India and Singapore. Jokowi using the raw material they had, on the other hand, to force investors to invest, to employ local people, to add value and reexport to gain more profit. That is smart and decisive leadership.

• Dr Strange on Feb 06, 2021 at 11:12 am

We have been selling our natural resources ever since era jajahan. So all this problem can blame our colonial masters.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 06, 2021 at 1:31 pm

Correct bro, those ruled from 1957 selling our natural resources. The failed affirmative policy made it more worst. (

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • History Bender on Feb 06, 2021 at 4:11 pm

1957 only 64 years but we had been losing resources since 1511 so for 446 years our losses wew so much more. Affirmative policy at least make the losses more equitable today but the blame for that also goes to our colonial masters. Without them there is no need for affirmative policy.

• Einstein on Feb 06, 2021 at 6:41 pm

langsung xtepat. malaysia held proved oil reserves of 3.6 billion barrels as of jan 2020, the fourth-largest reserves in asia pacific after china, india, and vietnam.

since 1511 so for 446 years the colonial masters built Offshore oil rigs and Chainsaw balak stole our losing resources Oil gas and balak timber, and rare earth element REE. btw, our roadtax still based on colonial engine CC since 1945. civic 1.5turbo roadtax rm90 so no problem

• Betul tu bro Einstein. Nanti puak Indo akan gali Gunung Merapi rata siot smpi jadik Tanah Lapang Merapi utk nikel dan lain2 mineral. Xde lagi masalah Gunung Merapi meletup kannn….

• On all fairness, it proved our top leaders are much smarter than the close neighbours. If Tesla they only want to buy raw materials nikel, we are not interested. Our leaders demanded a plans to develop a full nikel supply chain itself. Sell your own resources, is too short sighted and reckless in current world trade. Glad that our leaders had improved in the game. Kudos

• History Bender on Feb 07, 2021 at 2:41 pm

You won’t be so glad once your fellow citizen start dying of strange diseases caused by toxicity in the air, in the ground, in the water, even in the fishes you consume. Only the rich will survive, maybe you’re one of them which is why you welcomed it. Never think about short term benefits that will harm your country’s environment.

• Rulered on Feb 05, 2021 at 8:18 pm

China is not sharing their nickel or any rare minerals, Vietnam is prudent plus it won’t be a surprise if they will be in automotive soon, Myanmar…well I think China is keeping an eye on it, so Indonesiaaaa….

• kimi's fan on Feb 06, 2021 at 12:38 am

don’t you think EV is a scam ? . it still need resources