MIROS urges eligible recipients of MyCRS subsidised child seats to immediately make purchase, 188k limit

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has released a statement urging eligible recipients of the Keluarga Malaysia child seat subsidy programme (MyCRS) to immediately make a purchase. To date, 231,012 of 427,798 applications are eligible, a number that is 20% higher than the programme’s 188,000 limit.

MIROS reminds recipients that the subsidy is given based on purchase and not eligibility, which is why they have to make the child seat purchase immediately at 240 authorised outlets nationwide, or online. The list of authorised outlets can be obtained at www.mycrs.gov.my.

All applicants are advised to check their application status again at the MyCRS website as the eligibility data has been updated. If the application is still not in the eligible list, one can file an appeal online.

MIROS explains that the MyCRS child seat subsidy allocation is RM30 million and it’s limited to 188,000 recipients. Each eligible person can claim subsidy for one child seat. Announced in Budget 2022, the subsidy is 50% and the maximum subsidy amount is RM150. Recipients are encouraged to make the purchase as soon as possible, in two months from the date of application approval, to avoid not making the 188k cut.

Jangan tunggu, beli sekarang,” said MIROS director-general Datuk Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on May 20, 2022 at 10:11 am

This is how government’s coffer spent on unnecessary things. If the people want to “beranak”, they should save up on this.
    Jangan pandai beranak je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • GenY AEB on May 20, 2022 at 1:47 pm

Car company can consider Baby Chair Sharing,
      Just like Car sharing…

Don’t need to waste too much money for a short period of usage.

• Correct. Bodohs like these should not have been conceived. When gomen are not helping the underprivileged, bodohs accuse gomen of cakap cakap cakap.
      When gomen is helping the underprivileged, bodohs accuse gomen of spending unnecessary things.

There is nothing unnecessary about safety, I bet your the type to drive without wearing belt because it is “unnecessary things”.

• newme on May 21, 2022 at 10:54 pm

Your underprivilege is your own doing. You have the choice to not have children if you can’t afford. Jangan pandai beranak je. Jaga tak tau.

• Why So Serious? on May 23, 2022 at 1:11 am

No parent would want to raise bad children, but reality the world does not always go the way we want. You parents also did not intend to raise you to be a troller in PT otherwise they would not have conceived you. Reality sucks.

• newme on May 23, 2022 at 10:27 am

Reality sucks yeah?. Must be hard being poor. Can’t even buy a child seat. Have you ask your parents why breed in the first place?

• For them,having a plate of rice on the table is a way more important than those seat.

• Who is there to eat the rice when their child is dead because of the lack of a car seat.