2022 Mazda 3 with Mazdasports body kit, dark grille surround, leather/suede interior on display in Malaysia

We recently came across this rather unique Mazda 3 being displayed at the Mazda Glenmarie showroom, which suggests that a Mazdasports package may be offered to customers. The Mazdasports name is not new here, as it is used for Mazda Malaysia’s advanced driving academy.

Before that, Bermaz Motor – the official distributor of Mazda vehicles here – applied it to an optional package that was offered to buyers of the previous, third-generation Mazda 3 Hatchback. Said package added several visual enhancements like a body kit, exhaust finishers, red accents as well as revised seats and steering wheel.

This Mazda 3 Sedan appears to follow the same approach, as it too gains additional body components like a front splitter, side skirts and a new rear apron featuring a diffuser-like element. Other differences from a regular model include a darkened grille surround instead of the usual chrome, prominent exhaust finishers and a small boot lid spoiler.

The lack of keyless entry and rear air vents indicate this to be the base variant of the Mazda 3 Sedan, which packs a Skyactiv-G 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine (118 hp and 153 Nm), paired with a six-speed automatic transmission driving the front wheels.

Said variant is supposed to come with fabric seats, but this example has its seats trimmed in leather and suede instead. Suede is also used for the shift boot and the top portion of the steering wheel, while you’ll find “MS” branding on the backrests of the front seats.

We’ve checked and were told that these add-ons are currently not available for purchase and there’s still no confirmation if it will be offered in the future. Would you be interested to purchase them if they were officially sold through dealerships?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Powerless car no need body kit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Brian on May 27, 2022 at 9:44 pm

Mazdasport used to be something now it is just a bodykit and sude leather brand.

• The KING is also powerless but has crazy bodykit!

• Kapchai on May 29, 2022 at 2:51 pm

King already has Hi-tech safety features to begin win.
        And likely run faster than this 1.5Skyactiv too.

• Ben Yap on May 27, 2022 at 7:01 pm

you can hardly see any Mazda3 on the road. the sales is so bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
    • are you sure? i saw it everywhere in kepong. It’s the new civic that i can’t seem to spot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • David Ryder on May 27, 2022 at 11:08 pm

And it’s becomes rare

• True, and it is because of the price. It really looks good. They should have done ckd

• Normally manufacturer will do this when the product cant sell. Personally feel the price can be positioned better or with more features with the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Dong Gor on May 27, 2022 at 7:39 pm

1.5 na engine for the 3? What is Mazda thinking? Big NO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • 10th civic was offered as 1.6 NA in singapore, will the 11th gen in singapore also gets a lower powered 1.5 turbo. Most of the advanced country have 1.5 or 1.6 on their c-segment. don’t be so katak dibawah tempurung

• Tortilla on May 28, 2022 at 10:13 am

1.5L premium compact sedan usually as cheap as 1.5L compact Sedan full spec.

Value for money for old tech era where there is no AEB, ACC, BSM, RCTA, MPC.

Today, some C segment also lighter than B Segment, with the use of racing car technology.

• if only they increase the rim size

• ROTI CANAI on May 27, 2022 at 10:51 pm

did they hire ex-proton marketing guy?

• Catch up Mazda on May 27, 2022 at 11:24 pm

Stop selling slow cars with large displacement engines without turbo, visually good are just not enough for us Malaysians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • RyanT on May 28, 2022 at 9:52 am

After the carbon clogged your inlet valves, then u will miss the beauty of NA…good luck turbo fan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • jonsb on May 30, 2022 at 10:41 am

If you have no money to maintain turbo vehicles, just stick to your boring NA cars. No need for you to worry about us the turbo car owners.

• We need the 2.5T model here, coupled with the body kit and it’ll be an attractive package, although priced closer to 200k

• It great..if I’m a good job hv mwy.i buy one low price..bring fmly round round .like last time grandpama

• SCion on May 28, 2022 at 11:05 am

Class-losing spec C segment car!

• funny on May 28, 2022 at 3:14 pm

asia’s answer to bmw

• Contradiction on May 28, 2022 at 11:20 pm

Funny how Mazda tried to price their cars against BMW but BMW buyers do not even take a look at Mazda, this is why Mazda sales plummeted. They should know where they stand and correct their policy back otherwise this is the end of Mazda.

• pengguna ploton kecewa on May 30, 2022 at 10:28 am

a little bit too ambitious it seems. too much sake on the boardroom. shit did happened when drunk

• jonfgh on May 30, 2022 at 10:43 am

ya, this is what we call ‘ukur baju di badan sendiri’ first before chasing for the waterfalls

• Azgarffield on May 30, 2022 at 12:29 pm

Since when there is “Mazdasports”?

It’s Mazdaspeed lah Gerard…..

• dellen on May 30, 2022 at 12:31 pm

this is not mazdaspeed. its mazdasports. a local name used for their driving academy, now on bodykit.