Mazda 3 Mazdasports now available in Malaysia – styling package for the hatchback, priced at RM9,880

2016-mazda-3-mazdasports-1

Bermaz has introduced a special edition of the Mazda 3 called the Mazdasports, which is currently on display at the company’s Mazda Mega Sales Roadshow at 1 Utama Shopping Centre (New Wing, Highstreet) from now until October 3.

Available only for the hatchback version of the 3, the Mazdasports package introduces several visual enhancements to differentiate itself from the regular car. For starters, there’s a full bodykit, which tags on a lip to the front and rear bumpers, along with side skirts, all finished in red.

Other changes found on the exterior include 18-inch alloy wheels in a gunmetal finish instead of silver, a more prominent black rear spoiler, red-painted side mirrors and “Mazdasports” exhaust finishers.

Moving inside, the regular fabric seats have been replaced with new ones featuring suede and leather upholstery (similar to the CX-3), plus ‘MS’ embroidered on the backrest. More suede can be found on the steering wheel, where there’s now a centre marker and red stitching.

No changes under the hood, so the Mazda 3 Mazdasports continues on with the same 2.0 litre SkyActiv engine (162 hp/210 Nm) and six-speed auto combo. Similarly, there are no changes to the car’s equipment list, aside from the visual ones mentioned above.

As for pricing, the Mazdasports will cost new Mazda 3 Hatchback buyers an additional RM9,880 (inclusive of 6% GST) on top of the car’s retail (RM120,705 solid, RM121,105 metallic). For now, existing Mazda 3 HB owners will not be able to purchase the upgrade, but we’ve been told that Bermaz is looking into the possibility of expanding its availability.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tsi280 on Sep 29, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Full bodykit additional 29.5 BHP.

• timbuktu on Sep 30, 2016 at 11:32 am

agree completely. stupid bodykit that makes you look fast but not actually fast. pathetic.

• mazdasucks on Sep 30, 2016 at 12:32 pm

So now mazdasport is very slow car? Before it is normal car.

• Screw the stupid body kit and package. Bring in the dam Diesel engines than we will talk about the rest.

Otherwise, there is nothing special with a typical Mazda. There are many brand in the same price range that are way better than a Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • Johnny Begood on Sep 29, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Kyle, are you the toyota-hyundai-proton salesman? Be professional lah, dont condemn other brands. Even if mazda bring in diesel engine, do you have $200k to spare?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • kakaka on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:40 pm

Butthurt kah? Kahkahkah

• stephen on Sep 30, 2016 at 4:52 am

not just diesel varient….also 2.5L instead of just 2.0

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:00 am

Vios has better RV than this although they are same sushi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • businessman123 on Sep 30, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Oi dumb-dumb, if you wanna compare, compare same segment car lah…. why dont you compare sport cars road clearance to an SUV??

• Incik on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:23 pm

“Mazda 3 Mazdasports now available in Malaysia – styling package for the hatchback, priced at RM9,880”

If I wouldn’t read it carefully, I would thought the car with the styling package is sold only at 10k. Some people could’ve been misled by the title

• Lockhart on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:24 pm

A bloody joke, no change in engine performance, applying “make-up” on the car for 9k is outrageous. No sports mode summore gg

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:28 pm

lol hatchback cannot sell stock clearance time, don buy now, wait till dec give 20k rebate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • omegle on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:41 pm

oh HELL no ppl are paying 10k for this……

• Encik Kunta on Sep 29, 2016 at 5:46 pm

Already Mazda sales are so bad and salesman complaining near ZERO sales, they want to intro all this?

Mazda, what people want is cheaper cars lah. Not all this gimmicks!

• Ruslan Bahari on Sep 29, 2016 at 7:11 pm

Honda is still the non-national leader by some margin, but previous foreign brand champ Toyota had an encouraging August with a 30.5% gain. Other top performers in August were Mazda +50.4%, Volkswagen +35% and Renault with a big 118.4% jump. It wasn’t such a good month for Audi (-21.6%) and Subaru (-35.9%).

http://paultan.org/2016/09/29/malaysia-august-2016-vehicle-sales-data-by-brand-top-5-unchanged-perodua-up-40-toyota-up-30/

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:02 am

Me and kunta will change our son saga to this

• Nuujib on Sep 29, 2016 at 6:51 pm

10k for cosmetic enhancements . Quite a similar price for a pair of boob jobs .

• Mikey on Oct 01, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Agree with U Nuujib. Since anyone willing to spent 9880 on the styling package, might as well spent it on enhancing your personal asset.

After the cosmetic enhancement can get more business/$$$. In short, its more profitable to get the boobs job than styling package.

Wait a minute, what if it is a Man ?!

• celoop on Sep 29, 2016 at 10:42 pm

This is TRD version of Mazda, avoid at all cost.

• ben yap on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:43 am

at RM10K, i can put in a bolt-on turbo and outrun any of their sports version and have all the bragging rights.

• Mikey on Oct 01, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Yes Ben, U are right. After outrunning your competitors, your warranties will also outrun U.

• Jojosmins on Sep 30, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Nice intelligent Compecx car in Malaysian fenomena the sports car , save speach and more cover truble on the many road

• Bernard on Oct 02, 2016 at 10:08 pm

Mazda cars too expensive .