Man who let his kids stick their bodies out of moving car in Ipoh charged, faces RM50k fine, 20 years jail

It’s fun to feel the wind in your face in a moving car, and surely having your head out the window to get that sense of freedom is harmless, right? Maybe even a torso, nothing the matter with that. Well, a 37-year-old man found out the hard way that the action is a chargeable offence.

T Vengadasalabathi was charged at the sessions court in Ipoh yesterday with three counts of endangering his children by allowing them to stick their heads out of the window of a moving car along Jalan Tambun in March, Bernama reports.

The insurance agent was charged with exposing his three children, aged four to eight, to danger in a moving car, in a manner that could likely cause physical injuries. The children were seen sticking their heads – and bodies – out of the moving vehicle in a video that went viral.

The offence was reportedly committed along Jalan Tambun between 6.20pm and 6.45pm on March 22, and on March 24, police detained the accused. Framed under Section 31 (1) (A) of the Child Act, the offence is punishable under Section 31 (1) of the same act, and this carries a maximum fine of RM50,000 or a 20-year jail term, or both, upon conviction.

Deputy public prosecutor Evangelin Simon Silvaraj asked for the court to set bail at RM15,000 for each charge and that the accused should not be anywhere near the victims. However, lawyer K Nahtan, representing the accused, asked for a lower bail of RM2,500 for each charge, stating that his client has three children, a wife and parents to care for.

He added that there was no element of sexual abuse involved and therefore, there was no need to separate his children from him. The court fixed bail at RM9,000 in one surety for all three charges and set July 1 for mention.

If you think the laws are a bit too stern when it comes to this, be thankful you don’t live in Australia, where resting an arm out of an open window in a moving car can get you a ticket.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• dong gor on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:57 am

should further investigate if he’s a stepfather etc and have some hidden agenda by endangering the girls. Hand is allow the children to sick their body out! Mana otak?

• Celup King on Jun 01, 2022 at 12:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 179
      • Azeezjibkor on Jun 01, 2022 at 2:33 pm

Don’t bring your bossku load of shit here,dude.Politics shift to different forum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 33
        • History Bender on Jun 01, 2022 at 3:55 pm

If give me a chance for time-reverse, I will find your parents and give them 2 advise

1) Use condom
          2) Shoot on the wall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 71
          • Dredd on Jun 01, 2022 at 4:13 pm

Those parents who let their kids out for beskal lajak should face fine & 20 years jail too. Dredd agreed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Safety First on Jun 01, 2022 at 3:54 pm

Later that parent will blame kids for “hanging out” lor. Sitting dangerous those “kids” sitting at the edge out to have fun, their parents will say they all semua budak baik maa.

• Auntie on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:58 am

RM50k is probably more expensive than the Old Benz itself…

This is a good classroom lesson reference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Jun 01, 2022 at 4:10 pm

Malaysian mentality; bapak punya jalan mah.

• Rafizi & Co on Jun 01, 2022 at 5:19 pm

Once he goes to jail,the Merc will be sold to pay piling bills and debts.
      One question,if everyone condemns this dude,what about a dad riding his kapchai with wife and kids behind helmetless? This is equally dangerous,once he encounters a slippery spot or pothole.Just go to any sekolah,you will be amazed if you can’t find any.

• 50k fine and 20 years jail? Good, my housing garden here happening very freqwuent. Let me send my camcorder clips to authority and see whether they want to take any action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Passing by on Jun 01, 2022 at 7:04 pm

Klang? I heard they migrate to nearby places like Setia Alam. It’s rampart already everywhere… Aiyah, my housing area also in Damansara got people like this, but you cannot do anything later fight shout to your face bring gang all.

• Mr. Sotong on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:10 am

What an idiot!

• Aikon on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:12 am

I just wonder why he did it, or allowed it…didn’t he think? Wasn’t he concerned about his children’s safety? I mean, these are plain, basic things that one would think of.

• Rafizi & Co on Jun 01, 2022 at 5:27 pm

Do you know,there are certain people who like to “show off” dangerous stunts?
      You condemn the mat rempits or basikal lajaks…all these are psychological stunts without them ‘insaf”.
      If they insaf what they do is wrong and dangerous,do u think they will do it? Their psychology is “DO IT ,LATER SEE HOW”.

• If these idiots can think of safety, the case in Johor would not happened.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:12 am

Tunggu apa lagi? Ada gambar dan plat nombor saman jer laa

• Yeah it’s inappropriate but 20 years?!

• Headline Click Bait on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:32 am

“Faces”. He still needs to attend a court trial to be convicted to face a POSSIBLE term.

He might just get a slap on the wrist and a minimum fine if he can afford a good lawyer.

• Boleh buat rayuan, minta Ampun.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:42 am

Trailer drivers endanger other road users on all major highways daily. Tailgating at 110km/h in the middle lane and right lane, and blasting their high beam. If we have footage of that, can they get RM50k fine and 20 years jail too for provoking fatal accidents? Or as usual, no action will be taken because the authorities have been “sorted out” from top to bottom?

• silverblu on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:46 am

Better let them sit/lay on the roof while the car is moving.

• Mathew on Jun 01, 2022 at 1:01 pm

Will the authorities take.same action against those who travel on motorbikes with kids sandwiched between two people or piggy backed on the pillion rider? Same danger, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Stupid is it. Those you accuse are sitting on the motor seat which is designed for people to sit on. Is Merc window edge designed for people to sit on? Maybe you can share your engineering design expertise here.

• Passing by on Jun 01, 2022 at 5:16 pm

Macha, don’t like that lah.dont bring politics inside here. Angry with certain race don’t have to give example just because they mostly use motorbike. People don’t go around talk about klang even though everybody know what’s up with Klang deyh

• Fabian on Jun 01, 2022 at 1:05 pm

It’s almost an everyday affair here in Klang Valley with luxury cars where kids stick half of the bodies out through sunroofs … even crossing paths with with enforcements … guess some of these people are above the law while others get the full brunt … selective prosecution looks like.

• Basikal Lajak on Jun 01, 2022 at 1:09 pm

But, in ‘basikal lajak’ case, totally u-turn. Parents not convicted instead send a victim to jail. Funny law!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • Lets See on Jun 01, 2022 at 4:01 pm

And who are the victims here? Did you see this car knocking down and killing anyone? Stop talking nonsense.

• Logical Deduction on Jun 01, 2022 at 5:10 pm

Malaysian netizen logic, if certain people do basikal lajak must condemn, but if the other certain people stick bodies out of car it is acceptable and must deflect issue to basikal lajak boys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Passing by on Jun 01, 2022 at 6:22 pm

Normal lah, if talk about Klang, one book itself not enough. Protect protect. Nobody wants to talk bout loud music, bottles thrown around after midnight because later got ‘uprising’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Choong Khim Fen on Jun 01, 2022 at 1:17 pm

Apa punya bodoh the parent. Haven we seen enough traumatic brain injury in paediatric already in Malaysia

• What about the parents of the kids riding basikal lajak on the highway in the middle of the night? Also endangering the kids life. Krik krik….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • This is madness!

• idea kimaks on Jun 01, 2022 at 2:33 pm

chow cheebai Parians! Send driver to prison and send kids to henry gurney school. Mader fader!

• paul tang on Jun 01, 2022 at 3:49 pm

this is not wrong,
    they just wanted to reach Nirvana quicker than anyone
    else

• Passing by on Jun 01, 2022 at 5:13 pm

Police should come to Klang and see…

• police wont come la idiot… u just upload the video la.

• Passing by on Jun 01, 2022 at 7:02 pm

Don’t feel angry lah, you among those people who play loud music, drink until mabuk throw bottle around is it? Try leaving Klang lah and show macho

• Ben Yap on Jun 01, 2022 at 5:41 pm

number plate also AFE already = Aiyo Face Enforcement

• that’s the consequences when the parents are brainless!

Itulah akibat pada ibubapa yg ada duit tapi tarak otak!

• Bieight8 on Jun 01, 2022 at 6:53 pm

Only 50k?

• haha…
    Tangkap, Donasi, bagi 500rm keluar, cuti cuti malaysia

• Chandran Segaran on Jun 01, 2022 at 7:41 pm

Probably it is quite a big achievement to drive Mercedez. It feels like the road belong to him and his family.

A Typical pariah you can find anywhere