Singapore COE prices go past SGD100,000 mark for the first time since December 1994, in open and Cat B

Demand for vehicles in Singapore has pushed Certificate of Entitlement (COE) prices for the open category as well as large cars in the country past the SGD100,000 (RM319,120) mark for the first time in nearly 28 years. The last time the COE was priced above SGD100k was in December 1994, when premiums in the then Category Four classification cost SGD$110,500 (RM352,600 at current exchange rate), Today reports.

Yesterday, COE prices in Category B (for large cars above 1,600 cc or 130 bhp and electric vehicles (EVs) with an output over 110 kW) climbed to SGD100,684 (RM321,300), a SGD4,795 (RM15,301) increase over the previous premium of SGD95,025 (RM303,245). In the open category (Category E), which can be used for any types of vehicles except motorcycles, premiums went up by 5% to SGD100,697 (RM321,345).

It wasn’t just these two categories that saw a price increase, because every classification saw a hike. In Category A (smaller cars under 1,600 cc or 130 bhp, or EVs below 110 kW), the premium went up by SGD5,800 (RM18.510) to SGD73,801 (RM235,514).

Meanwhile, Category C (goods vehicles and buses) saw COE prices go up by SGD1,501 (RM4,790) to SGD53,002 (RM169,140), and that in Category D (for motorcycles) was also adjusted, rising to SGD10,000 (RM31,912) from SGD9,490 (RM30,284) in the previous bidding exercise.

Industry observers said that high demand as well as a tight supply of COEs would likely keep prices elevated for the rest of the year. One said that the high COE prices reflected the number of wealthy people in Singapore who were not really affected by the COE price and were willing to part with large sums of money to get a car.

Most expect that COE prices to remain in the current price range until the end of the year, with some predicting that some potential buyers are likely to wait until COE prices drop before making a purchase, the report added. While demand for larger cars in Category B is strong, buyers of such vehicles in the lower-end of the category could be deterred by rising COE prices.

“A Toyota Camry is already SGD180,000 (RM574,418) to SGD190,000 (RM606,330). So, if it goes any further, the Camry’s going to shoot beyond SGD200,000 (RM638,243). Previously, you could buy a Mercedes-Benz E-Class with that amount. Buyers of Japanese cars are not going to pay that price,” independent car broker Steven Lim told the newspaper.

A COE is a quota licence that is required to own and drive a vehicle in Singapore, and grants the legal right of the holder to register, own and use a vehicle in the republic for a period of 10 years. It is typically factored into the price of the vehicle being sold.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 09, 2022 at 12:47 pm

Habeslah Rakyat Singapura soon only T20 there will afford a car. Just as DAP ever comes back to power only their members, T20, & cronies can afford to drive car, all other rakyats will have to walk.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 154 Thumb down 105
    • Mike Tee on Jun 09, 2022 at 1:05 pm

Not everything has to be about us and our politics. The average distance to walk to public transport in Singapore in 576m. It is fast, efficient and available. The benefit of being an island country.

You can get by without a car in SG unless you have limited mobility, in which case you are means tested and can get waiver for COE and ARF (additional registration fee).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • Rakyat Malaysia is our resident BN cybertroll. apa2 pun nid to bring in DAP, PH etc. he is oso racist against our minority friends! just dun layan him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 101
        • Bodo piang PH macai think I not around wanna steal my name. Real stupido when I just lurking and laffing at ur foolishness! LOLOL!
          Personally I dun see what is wrong that RM brought up, it is true DAP want to make cars freaking heck expensive. Are you calling PT fake news too?
          https://paultan.org/2022/05/31/driving-a-car-in-malaysia-should-be-made-a-luxury-not-a-necessity-says-dap-assemblyman-liew-chin-tong/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
          • dun be triggered dear john, u always did this since 2015. u think ur comments all these years not funny meh? sampai kena sounded by writer Hafiz himself lolz! register a gravatar lor if u wanna keep ‘ur’ name.

and dun be stupid, as a Melei myself i can see the racial insinuation from some of ur dear friends here. DAP is just an excuse for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
          • LOL resident basher here still got no balls to find his own name. Maybe he malu for his parents gave him such a shameful name kua. LOL And speaking of which I remember u kena sounded not just from Hafriz but from Paul Tan himself. That is ultimate kemaluan besar bro. Tak malu ke bro u still crapping fake news here since 2015? Call urself Malay but cant even spell properly somemore mana ada Malay dude name john bro. PH paid u to use brain but u use buttsacks to troll no wonder tabouleh caya u. Cuz u talking crap since 2015 normal pipu dah muak only consumption for ur shiok sendri fanbois, like dis go play in PH sites better then u get more fellow PH zombies to cheer. Do ur stupido crap here and you just make pipu hate PH more. Blahlah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • Casual reader on Jun 10, 2022 at 8:26 am

BURNN!!! HA HA HA!!!

• Ajibkor on Jun 10, 2022 at 1:50 pm

Hate me for bringing UMNO BN to jail real soon. anyway GST risen from dead again , Uurahhh

• Turn M on Jun 11, 2022 at 10:02 am

GST was a good idea but it gave me the bullet to manipulate enough stupid mudah lupa Malaysians to bring you down. Muwahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • Darren on Jun 09, 2022 at 3:58 pm

And only his troll buddies would dislike our post and like their own post haha what a loser

• u sound veli experienced, darren. do u do this with ur geng?

• Ringgit jatuh menjunam on Jun 09, 2022 at 4:28 pm

my jiran sebelah rumah a PAS member used to say , the tiny Singapore is alot more advanced nation becuz there is no Umno BN. I guess the money exchange rate is the proof SGD100,000 = RM319,120. Tolakkk Umno BN !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
        • Copy Paste on Jun 10, 2022 at 2:00 am

Copy paste: “DAP plotekting vvips dulu, kini dan selamanya. Mesti plotek jgn xplotek tau.”

• Truth Seeker on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:37 am

Hey Fake John, xyah la nak troll and be racist. Kita kena accept the fact that the chinese are better minister dari kita. Itu hakikat bro. Allah swt made humans difference on purpose and every race has their own strength and weakness. When all race work together, Malaysia will be number 1. Pasal IQ and policy making, orang Cina memang number 1. Just google Global IQ rank kamu akan tahu. Denying the truth only makes us weak. Look at SG. They are the same Chinese from Malaysia.Mana ada policy racist macam kita towards minorities kat Chinese majority country?? SG= equal for all. China= Minorities have more privileges by law than majority (Xinjiang hoax is fake and has been debunked by OIC leaders and UN. Itu kerja setan America like how they did to Iraq/Muslims)

Learn to unite baru we can see a strong Malaysia with a bright future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 10, 2022 at 11:31 am

Better? Better dari segi apa hang? Dari segi jual special late No1? Dari segi jual to China No1? Dari segi study xde habis dan xpernah berjaya No1? Dari segi curi duit rakyat No1? Ya betul conlanfirm better ministers. You win. Negara kalah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • Youngster on Jun 09, 2022 at 4:06 pm

Singaporean can Moped to work, to train station.
        500m, very near.

• Albert on Jun 09, 2022 at 1:49 pm

T20 singapore only buy 1 car per household of 4 to 7.
      Include support grandpa, grandma.

T02 Singaporean buy 1 car per person.

Singapore here.
      Grab easy, Train Easy, Bus Easy.

No meaning to buy a car to travel in a small city.

Why Malaysian make T20 a thing?
      Poor Malaysian, bullied by T.02.

• But why SG T20 come here act like B40? Then their B40 act like scum here? Msians much more tamadun compared to SG.

• Dorry on Jun 09, 2022 at 9:58 pm

Sinkie thinks Malaysia got no cctv,
          So it’s freedome,

Stress from singapore relieved here?

• Singaporean Malay on Jun 09, 2022 at 1:57 pm

Please move over to the left lane when i flash you from behind in my S Plate Honda Civic on NSHW!

• Dong Gor on Jun 09, 2022 at 12:57 pm

And there is excise duty of 20% plus 7% GST.. Really a luxury to own a car there. But yet, ppl come over to pump 95.

• Sinkie on Jun 09, 2022 at 1:10 pm

Malaysia can consider COE to regulated traffic jam too?

• we oredi got expensip car prices wei! no nid to make it worse…. later pipu who live far away like in kampung cannot afford how? public transport oso nowhere near gud like sinkieland.

• Contradiction on Jun 09, 2022 at 2:47 pm

How is it we got expensive car prices but epic traffic jams?

• Balik kampung on Jun 11, 2022 at 3:52 pm

Stay in Kampung la fkin John dude. Use bike or bicycle la bwahahahahahahah. All kampungis flood into KL bringing the samseng driving style pretend to be local KL ppl. Only Kampung ppl dont use indicator lights. Whenever I see no signal those are frm Kampung registering KL plate after few yrs workin here. And these kamping ppl are incresing in numbers can see otr. I told this to all my foreign visitor friends too. Now they can identify which is which. When festive season come, all this tipu tipu KL ppl vanished back to kampung. Thats the heaven time for KL.

• Kapchai on Jun 09, 2022 at 2:33 pm

COE in Malaysia will kill B40, Retired man oppurtunity for car ownership.
      Since it affects both New and Used car.

Finally, the heavily invested road and infrastructure not fully utilized.
      Highway Toll unable to collect sufficient return rate.

• Bieight8 on Jun 09, 2022 at 1:38 pm

No wonder their driving standard so poor…

• sinkies got 2 extremes: either they r slow road hogger OR they r speeding demons.

• Truth Seeker on Jun 10, 2022 at 10:37 am

Hey Fake John, xyah la nak troll and be racist. Kita kena accept the fact that the chinese are better minister dari kita. Itu hakikat bro. Allah swt made humans difference on purpose and every race has their own strength and weakness. When all race work together, Malaysia will be number 1. Pasal IQ and policy making, orang Cina memang number 1. Just google Global IQ rank kamu akan tahu. Denying the truth only makes us weak. Look at SG. They are the same Chinese from Malaysia.Mana ada policy racist macam kita towards minorities kat Chinese majority country?? SG= equal for all. China= Minorities have more privileges by law than majority (Xinjiang hoax is fake and has been debunked by OIC leaders and UN. Itu kerja setan America like how they did to Iraq/Muslims)

Learn to unite baru we can see a strong Malaysia with a bright future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 10, 2022 at 11:40 am

Better? Better dari segi apa hang? Dari segi jual special late No1? Dari segi jual to China No1? Dari segi study xde habis dan xpernah berjaya No1? Dari segi curi duit rakyat No1? Ya betul conlanfirm better ministers. You win. Negara kalah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Wake up on Jun 11, 2022 at 4:09 pm

Actually China supporting ringgit during ah Jib time and pushing the ringgit in its range. Zheng he frm China Ming dynasty protecting Melacca frm indon when the ruler request the China Ming dynasty during they pass by. China is the world richest country. frm a pariah state that eat rats after western 8 countries grp of you knw who invasion, to stand on par with USA currently. chinese is high level player in humanity. The earth majority ethnic is Chinese at 14 billions. Malaysian chinese and Sg chinese is same family frm south China province. We speak chinese and adopt same culture and problem solving method. China can wipe out SE asia easily with their economy and military nueclear power but didnt. Only US and western power like to wipe out civilisation. Zheng he which you call laksamana cheng ho carrying 30k military officer, weapon in 3000 war ships sail pass and protected the Malay empire hundreds of yrs ago but they can easily conquer the land they didnt. Western came and install Resident straight away and the ppl kow tow to them and being conquered. JApanese came, grab and destroy everything. Think with you mind. Chinese is reliable and belieavable. They were demonised by jealous ppl and always used as scapegoat for cover up. The chinese in Malaysia has only interest to modernise the economy and country facilities. They only want the place they stay can be on par with Japan or developed country. Religious? Nahh..they seldom carry them outside of house aside frm large festive day. Although im a Malay , i have chinese practical thinking style because my grandpa is chinese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1