Car driven in the wrong direction kills 4 on NKVE

Image: Fire & Rescue Dept

There has been yet another senseless loss of lives caused by a car driving against traffic earlier this morning at 4am. A total of four people were killed at 4am on NKVE near the Subang exit when a Proton Wira Aeroback traveling in the wrong direction hit a Proton Wira sedan.

The 28 year old driver of the Wira Aeroback died at the scene, as well as the driver and two passengers of the Wira sedan (aged 27, 28 and 31). A fourth occupant of the Wira sedan suffered severe injuries.

The police have urged anyone with information on this tragic incident to reach out to Insp Muhammad Hanif Sukri at 014-8066744

NKVE Fatal Crash: Family Still In Shock

The family of P. Puvaaneshwaran is still coming to terms with the circumstances…

Posted by Urban Lites on Saturday, 11 June 2022

We have posted countless of such incidents captured by dashcams. It seems like it is happening way more often than we think. We already wrote back in 2017 that we have been noticing a spike in these crazy antics, and it looks like it’s back after a short pandemic break. While no one got hurt in a lot of previously published dashcam footage, sometimes luck runs out of us and it results in death.

This is a reminder that drivers have to always be alert when behind the wheel and be able to swiftly move out of the way when encountering these lawan arus drivers. That could have been tough to do at 4am in the morning. We are absolutely nonplussed as to the circumstances of such behaviour – why would anyone think they could get away with going the wrong direction on a highway?

Sometimes it could be due to medical conditions – one case of lawan arus on NPE in 2018 was due to the driver involved suffering from dementia and hearing difficulties. That lead to calls for licensed drivers over the age of 65 to be required to undergo medical tests every six months to ensure their fitness for operating a motor vehicle. However in this particular case, the driver was young.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Rest in peace…

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 11, 2022 at 10:14 pm

Proton cars are unsafe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 47
      • You are going to hold up 30 year old cars against proton? Toyota’s back then were no safer and your kancil is a certified death trap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 12, 2022 at 1:10 pm

Why you use my name?

• Bro. The resident troll is back at hijacking other readers’ names and posting his shit comments. Name him and shame him when you this happening. Together we can kick him out of this forum. We don’t need fakes like him in this site.

• Xiaomi on Jun 13, 2022 at 10:11 pm

Porsche Macan collided with 2 Proton cars yesterday, Porsche’s driver died on the spot, and both drivers of the Proton cars survived without injury :)

https://www.kosmo.com.my/2022/06/12/pemandu-porsche-macan-maut-kemalangan-dengan-proton-waja-dan-proton-saga/

• Mat Arah Salah on Jun 12, 2022 at 12:04 am

Ape buat 3-4am ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
      • Bro, not all who are driving at 3-4am are criminals. Some have to do that due to work. Life is not easy, my friend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 12, 2022 at 11:14 am

Drink until drunk direction senseless. That is normal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
        • Ghani on Jun 12, 2022 at 5:04 pm

You gotta watch senseless mat rempit racing, lost limbs n heads…

• Amran on Jun 12, 2022 at 1:14 pm

Supo makbapak basikal Lajak lalai jaga anak,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
        • Brian on Jun 12, 2022 at 4:34 pm

Are you drunk like that Aeroback driver? This has nothing to do with bicycle at all.

• Dredd on Jun 12, 2022 at 11:11 am

AND THIS IS WHY JPJ WANTS TO DO THIS:
      https://paultan.org/2022/06/10/jpj-says-those-caught-with-a-long-expired-driving-licence-could-have-it-revoked-be-forced-to-re-sit-tests/

TO PREVENT SUCH FROM HAPPENING AGAIN. DREDD AGREES

• RIP. if they wanna suicide, at least dun involve others la. innocent victims oso lost their lives now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Why So Serious on Jun 13, 2022 at 8:09 am

inb4 parents of macha kereta sez he is veli good boy and bright future surely cannot be him at fault.

inb4 netizen logic sez parents of macha kereta must go to jail for not raising him well.

inb4 ini semua salah Wira sedan for being at the wrong place at the wrong time.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2022 at 11:27 pm

Apart from jackasses driving against traffic… Let this also be a reminder for those who are driving ancient cars with absolutely no airbags and with a chassis that has an absolute zero chance of surviving an offset frontal impact. Yes we can scream up and down about the govt’s car-scrapping plans that keep surfacing now and then. Perhaps the govt should start with zero-airbag crapboxes to begin with. Let’s keep in mind that many of these crapboxes like the ancient Wira, Satria, Iswara, Civic EG and EK hatches, Kancil and Kelisa are among the favorites of reckless car modders who shoehorn powerful engines into their feeble chassis and race recklessly on the roads. In this example, as we can see,even if the owner isn’t a rice-racer, he still killed a few people (who are in a crapbox themselves) with his crapbox. Chances are, had this jackass slammed into a current-generation Saga or Myvi, he’ll be the only one who died.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • crash test dummy on Jun 13, 2022 at 8:36 am

Offset crash tests are done at speeds of only around 65kph against a STATIONARY impact.

NO CARS, EVEN THE LATEST ONES CAN SURVIVE A CRASH WHERE BOTH CARS ARE DRIVING AT SPEED TOWARDS EACH OTHER.

THE MOST IMPORTANT NUT IN A CAR IS THE ONE BEHIND THE STEERING DRIVING THE CAR.

• Dong Gor on Jun 13, 2022 at 10:53 am

Based on the damage on the photo, if it was the latest car say a Civic/ Altis (of same segment) i think there is a chance of survivor or at least minimize the fatality in the sedan.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xidhx_f-ouU

• hahaha on Jun 14, 2022 at 11:03 am

Porche Macan vs Protons..

https://www.kosmo.com.my/2022/06/12/pemandu-porsche-macan-maut-kemalangan-dengan-proton-waja-dan-proton-saga/

• RIP..

there u go, netizen still dunwan to admit malaysia is ranked one of the most dangerous and stressful place to drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Dont drink and drive on Jun 12, 2022 at 7:48 am

4 am, NKVE. How much did he had? Our laws are so lenient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • FrankC on Jun 12, 2022 at 9:04 pm

We don’t know what these people do b4 go on the road at 4am. There are too many possibilities. I doubt being on the road at 4am is not the root cause of this accident but rather the crazy idea of driving in opposite direction..
      Sometimes i do travel to pj from penang and start journey on Friday nite after work and dinner. Too tired, i will rest in r&r then resume drive earlier b4 peak hour the next morning. So that could be a reason why ppl drive at this early hours

• Majulah Banglasia on Jun 12, 2022 at 7:50 am

Lucky the driver died! If no, he would hv gone through lot of nonsense from every corner. RIP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Seldom people or the authorities talked about motorcyclist that rides recklessly. Go against road direction, ignoring traffic light, travel on Highway instead lane prepared for them, ride in the middle of lanes and claiming their rights …. Really uncivilised and dangerous

• u drunk is it?
      article about car but still want to drag motorcyclist here, why?

“ride in the middle of lanes and claiming their rights”
      just honk them, they will give way…dont be a pussy

• Ruler on Jun 12, 2022 at 1:55 pm

‘Lawan arus’ driving was unheard of in the 70,80 and maybe 90s, we don’t hear this often overseas as well. Why? Any explaination? We have to get to the bottom of this.

• Albert Einstein Sr on Jun 12, 2022 at 7:10 pm

What is the toxicology test on the driver at fault,before we jump to conclusions?
      But what a waste of young lives due to a moment of carelessness.Many warga emas/cancer patients wish they have added time to be alive,to be with their loved ones.
      One person seemingly at fault,3 innocent lives just evaporated.Is there any way,these sad incidents be minimised?

• The reason why it was unheard of is because there were less one-way multi-lane roads back then. Most are just the usual one-lane with no dividers in between your lane and the one where the traffic is in opposite direction. So if you are facing the wrong direction, you just need to switch to the other lane.

• (cont)..

In fact, a head on collision while overtaking back then can be categorized as ‘lawan arus’?

• E Hus on Jun 12, 2022 at 3:24 pm

This phenomenon is called wrong way driving. In US it’s one of the leading causes of fatal accidents because its head on at high speeds. The authorities need to take immediate and urgent measures to stop this as the occurrences become more frequent. Among very effective measures are the use of permanently installed one way road spikes that disable cars that enter highways in the wrong direction. Get this done immediately to stop more innocent lives from being lost!

• Driving in the wrong direction will continue to happen on Jun 12, 2022 at 4:42 pm

Accidents happen because license expired

Accidents happen because driving oldjunks

UNTIL SOMEONE FIGURE OUT HOW DRIVERS GET INTO THAT POPULAR POSITION

• Albert Einstein Sr on Jun 12, 2022 at 7:12 pm

Hello,u mean driving new Rolls Royce or Benz or Porshe wont be involved in accidents?

• Proteus on Jun 12, 2022 at 10:14 pm

probably drugs or intoxicated but its just purely speculations without proof, condolences to the family of the victims involved

• I would expect an automotive portal to analyze the possible causes of the incident, e.g. poor road design, inadequate signages, etc., rather than be a commentor on the incident like others here. Also, a sketch showing where this happened, position of the cars, etc., would also help to shed more light, instead of saying ‘Subang exit’. In short, if nothing to add to what is already in other media, please write about something else.

• Iskandar on Jun 13, 2022 at 9:03 am

I have recorded 2 instances of people driving in the wrong direction and have submitted the video to JPJ & Police – but nothing has been done (or I have not been notified, which usually they will notify me that they have taken action). Not sure if there is a actually law that prohibits this such as driving on emergency lane / overtaking dangerously / driving over speed limit

• Subang Commuter on Jun 13, 2022 at 10:02 am

Normal drivers are not suicidal. Subang toll area is a mess both exit and entry. So many areas along the highway have ongoing constructions. Maybe driver confused and drove into the wrong lane.
    Better to find out the facts to prevent another such event. RIP

• A unimpaired, driver with common sense will stop on the emergency lane, turn on the hazards light and either reverse slooooowly back towards the other way if the intersection is near, or try to 3 point turn so his car is pointed to the right direction. At 4pm this might be do-able.

We would not know whether the driver is inebriated, has mental issues or plain confused (highly unlikely for a young adult).

Anyway, there is a typo with on of the victims age 31 -> 13.

• RIP and condolences.
    While investigation should be completed, a deep dive needs to happen on why the occurrences are increasing. Several factors come to mind:
    1) Driver taking shortcut
    2) Drunk driver or medical condition
    3) Driver unaware of wrong direction, due to either driver condition (medical, lack of awareness/road design etc).

I’ve almost gone down wrong lane before in the past before course correcting/passenger correcting – due to fatigue and road design markings for the entry point was not clear.