Free 1 month Rapid KL public transport rides from today – MRT, LRT, KL Monorail, BRT and buses

From today (June 16), there will be one month of free rides on the Rapid KL public transport network. This was announced by prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob at the launch of the MRT Putrajaya Line Phase One, which is ongoing now.

The free rides will be for a month starting today. It will include train rides on the MRT, LRT and KL Monorail. Also included are Rapid KL bus rides, feeder buses and the Sunway BRT.

The first phase of the MRT Putrajaya Line is 17.5 km long and has 12 stations in total, with nine new stations joining three existing stations that we’re familiar with from the MRT Kajang Line.

The three existing stations previous are Kwasa Damansara, Kampung Selamat and Sungai Buloh. From there, the line will follow MRR2 to Kepong, tracing Jalan Kepong and then Jalan Ipoh. The stations along this route are Damansara Damai, Sri Damansara Barat, Sri Damansara Sentral, Sri Damansara Timur, Metro Prima, Kepong Baru, Jinjang, Sri Delima and Kampung Batu.

Seven on the stations have park-and-ride facilities. The estimated travel time from Kwasa Damansara to Kampung Batu on Jalan Ipoh is 24 minutes. The new line will be served by 20 driverless trains sets, each with four cars for a total capacity of 1,200 passengers. With the train comes the feeder buses, and 13 routes will start today.

Phase one of the MRT Putrajaya Line opens to the public at 3pm today.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hibiscus on Jun 16, 2022 at 11:18 am

Itu dia, welcome back to Malaysia Public Infrastructure.

If everything a new launch of Phase completed with 1 month Free Ride,
    So exciting.

MRT Kajang-Putrajaya. Nice loop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 89
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 16, 2022 at 3:19 pm

Trims kaseh Bapa Keluarga Malaysia! #BetterNation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 84
      • badigol on Jun 16, 2022 at 11:24 pm

Janji bukan BN. Msians taknak Umno BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 48
        • Make Malaysia Great Again on Jun 17, 2022 at 4:08 pm

Too desperate to push your failed PH agenda. Nothing constructive at all. I read your whole comment and would only imagining you were crying while writing them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 72
        • Celup King on Jun 17, 2022 at 5:16 pm

Too desperate to push your failed PH agenda. Nothing constructive at all. I read your whole comment and would only imagining you were crying while writing them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • Jonathan Ong on Jun 16, 2022 at 11:31 am

Wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Give free means more headache for operators. They cannot even do a good job when passengers pay, what more free. Anyway best of luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
    • it’s easy to be negative especially if we’re assuming things. give also wrong, don’t give also wrong. sometimes i pity our politician.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 17, 2022 at 12:58 pm

Depends politicians which side. We pity those with 60 years ruling experience and knows what they need to do, we don’t pity 22months failed gomen politicians who not know head or tail how to manage the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 93
    • Rafizi & Co on Jun 16, 2022 at 2:20 pm

In life there is NEVER a free lunch.
      The sidedoor dude give you some sweeteners,cos Assmin n Tengku Z have been spewing dragon fire to scare us with abolishing fuel subsidies.
      Dont be surprised,u wake up one morning, “10 % GST launched”, and B40 only get fuel coupons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 68
      • I’d rather pay 10% GST to BN than having my right to own & drive a car taken away by DAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 97
        • 90% of Malaysians 30mil ciTizens hav decided to bury the hopeless BN. so Say NO to BN…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 50
          • Make Malaysia Great Again on Jun 17, 2022 at 4:09 pm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 74
          • Celup King on Jun 17, 2022 at 5:18 pm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Jabee on Jun 16, 2022 at 12:30 pm

Erl tada kah

• LRT User on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:28 pm

It is free for trial purpose just as 1st MRT line before
      https://paultan.org/2016/12/15/mrt-feeder-bus-free-for-one-month-says-pm-report/

Kudos to the Govt for reprioritising public transports after previous 22months of neglect!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 89
  • newme on Jun 16, 2022 at 12:32 pm

IT’s free now. So if got problem again, don’t make noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • LRT User on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:30 pm

Quite true. It is trial period to test out real world ride traffic and of course problems will bound to happen and they will have to work out the kinks in this new system. Give them time. Better public transport is good for all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Why not do it big discount for long term but give for free? Encourage public transport for 70% discount for 1 to 2 year, so people can plan to sell or keep their car and you subsidy less petrol.

• LRT User on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:40 pm

Rail rides are cheap enough for irregular usage. If you travel regularly like me, a big cost saving can come from monthly unlimited pass
      https://paultan.org/2021/12/28/my50-travel-pass-to-replace-my30-from-january-1-2022/

• Besi Busuk on Jun 16, 2022 at 2:30 pm

I rather pay double to get punctual and more frequent buses, lrts and Mrts than free but lousy services

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • Emergency Vehicles on Jun 16, 2022 at 4:41 pm

Well said. I couldn’t agree with you more.

The consistency is horrendous. Despite the apps Pulze, it’s useless, it doesn’t track the bus whereabouts, just scheduled movement, which is again useless. People are trying to go to work on time, those with office job / manufacturing can not rely on the bus service. Lenggang kangkung masuk kerja pukul 10am boleh pakai bas servis. Bila tanya bus captain, kena sound balik tak pandai tengok jadual, tapi dia sendiri tak ikut jadual. GPS sender for “Pulze” apps also non-functioning, but customer service selalu ingat passenger dumb tak pandai tengok. Serious revamp needed for Prasarana.

• LRT User on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:36 pm

I use PULSE regularly and I have no problem with its current implementation. As a user, why should I need to know the whereabouts of all the buses in my area? I only need to know at my stop which bus will come at what time and PULSE gives me that info to plan my journeys. What I would like to see better is how much cost of each ride & stop.

• Emergency Vehicles on Jun 20, 2022 at 7:29 am

Well when you actually planned your journey AND follow the bus schedule, trying to get to work, and then the bus didn’t arrive, then you’ll understand. Please try 752 Bus LRT Putra Heights at 7:00am onwards.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 16, 2022 at 2:35 pm

syukur

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 47
  • Alpha on Jun 16, 2022 at 5:38 pm

What will happend if they have monthly pass

• Lolwhut? on Jun 17, 2022 at 8:43 am

Easy. The free ride is extended to other modes of RAPID transportations.

• Joseph on Jun 16, 2022 at 8:37 pm

Great government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 55
  • Joseph on Jun 16, 2022 at 8:38 pm

Great country.. God bless Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 52
  • Chet Chin on Jun 16, 2022 at 9:16 pm

Is this for Malaysians only, or foreign visitors, too?

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Jun 17, 2022 at 4:11 pm

It is free for all. Let’s Make Malaysia Great Again!

• Salman Sharif on Jun 17, 2022 at 8:29 am

Thank you for free service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 50
  • BJ MaT on Jun 17, 2022 at 4:44 pm

Good in a way bad in a way too..its how u think
    Just hope for the best to all Malaysians

• Hi, one doubt is the free rides all public transport or only for the new putrjaya line only???

• From the web on Jun 18, 2022 at 7:18 pm

https://paultan.org/2022/06/17/free-rapid-kl-express-bus-from-lrt-pasar-seni-and-klcc-out-of-the-city-weekdays-evening-rush-hours/

https://paultan.org/2022/06/17/rapid-kl-one-month-free-rides-my50-monthly-pass-holders-get-to-redeem-foc-rides-after-card-expiry/

https://paultan.org/2022/06/16/free-ktm-komuter-rides-for-one-month-starting-today/

• Tan Siew Fun on Jun 19, 2022 at 3:19 pm

Only for golden age , OKU and children only.

• Ohh waiiiii on Jun 20, 2022 at 5:02 pm

Never mentioned that. In fact I tried both lrt & mrt last weekend. all free