Premium, high-performance vehicle owners switching to RON95 petrol due to current high price of RON97

With the price of RON 97 petrol at an all-time high in Malaysia, owners of premium and high-performance vehicles are forced to make the switch to RON 95 instead, Harian Metro reports.

As of the most recent fuel price update last Wednesday, RON 97 currently retails at RM4.83 per litre, up 11 sen from RM4.72 the week prior. Meanwhile, RON 95 remains pinned at its ceiling price of RM2.05 per litre.

According to the publication, a survey of several petrol stations in the Klang Valley revealed several owners of premium vehicles like the Toyota Alphard, Vellfire as well as Land Rover, BMW, Mercedes-Benz models fuelling up on RON 95.

Speaking to Harian Metro, 36-year-old businessman Kelvin Ng said while he has been an avid user of RON 97 for the past three years, he has had to make the switch switch to the more affordable RON 95 due to the high price of RON 97.

“Although I am reluctant and it’s disheartening to use RON 95 for my car’s engine because the quality is different from RON 97, I have no choice because I can no longer to afford it at the moment. Imagine a tank with a capacity of about 60 to 70 liters, filling up with RON 97 petrol to full capacity can cost almost RM280 just for a week’s use and it is not worth it,” he said.

Ng’s sentiments are also shared by 41-year-old contractor Mohd Amir Asyraf, who returned to using RON 95 for his BMW a month ago. “When I switch to RON95, I can save RM600 to RM700 a month. That amount is enough to purchase basic kitchen necessities for my family for a month. But I will reconsider using RON97 if the price is more affordable later,” said Amir.

Naturally, demand for RON97 has drop drastically, by as much as 65% as we previously reported. A petrol station operator in Subang Jaya said sales of RON 97 have dropped at his location by 50% following the consistent price increase of RON 97. “Since the price of RON 97 increased to RM4.08 and most recently, RM4.83, sales of RON 97 have decreased. Many customers choose to pump RON 95 because the government has set the ceiling price at RM2.05 per litre,” the operator said.

Are you one of those that switched to RON 95 from RON 97? How much are you saving as a result of making the switch?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ptuii..not so rich afterall…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 15
    • Maidin Ali on Jun 20, 2022 at 1:07 pm

Its not rich enuf. If really rich then any price no problem. But to be honest, the more rich the person, the more kedekut he is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
      • Civil Servant on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:28 pm

Even ministers with tens and thousands of dollars of salary use RON95, does that mean they are kedekut? No, they do it for the Rakyat. It shows that they are prihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 39
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 20, 2022 at 3:03 pm

So much tax-paid, consider rebate lor

• Xervexc Zymycur on Jun 20, 2022 at 3:58 pm

How do you know the ministers pump RON 95 for the rakyat?

• Aiyo, betul lah cakap kamu. Mari kita bagi respek kat semua menteri kita yg bawa Alphard

• Cashier on Jun 20, 2022 at 1:13 pm

Memang pun,

T20 household income RM11k+/RM5.5k per parent.
      Malaysia don’t have so much rich man.

Benz/BMW monthly sales now also less than 1000/month, quarterly sales less than 3000units.
      Malaysia have 33million people..5 years not even 1% population cumulative sales yet?

Only T01 able to buy brand new expensive cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • God please help this guy on Jun 20, 2022 at 3:36 pm

Please stop with your RM5.5k per parent theory, change name but still CinKaLan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2021/08/07/more-poorer-households-last-year-stats-show

‘Meanwhile, 20% of households from the M40 group with income between RM4,850 and RM10,959 has moved to the B40 group. Households in the T20 group are also affected by Covid-19 pandemic where 12.8% of this group has shifted to the M40 group,” he said in a statement.’

M40 Household – RM4850-RM10,959
          Per parent M40 earn RM2.5k-RM5.5k.

If husband working @ RM5k, wife not working, also M40 Household.

• Ya Mentri on Jun 20, 2022 at 6:51 pm

Per parent would have to earn rm6-7k for each to be considered as T20.

• Fortnite on Jun 21, 2022 at 10:02 am

Per Parent RM5,6k pun dah T20.
            But not yet, provided both also RM5.6k.

T20 top20% ni minimum household RM11k like that..

Tak kaya pun, Baru $3.5k sgd.. 1 family, 3 budak…

• Celup King on Jun 20, 2022 at 4:54 pm

lel. Isn’t it time to revisit my idea of making all luxury cars programmed to only use RON97 and above or else suffer irreparable engine damage as with Swift Sport or Type R?
      A counter to that is DAP’s brilliant idea to make cars so expensive for the the regular rakyat to use that only their members, T20 & cronies are allowed to own cars. When only rich people can afford to have cars no need for B40 subsidy petrol anymore.
      Which will Malaysians choose???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
    • Brian on Jun 20, 2022 at 5:42 pm

lel. Isn’t it time to revisit my idea of making all luxury cars programmed to only use RON97 and above or else suffer irreparable engine damage as with Swift Sport or Type R?
      A counter to that is DAP’s brilliant idea to make cars so expensive for the the regular rakyat to use that only their members, T20 & cronies are allowed to own cars. When only rich people can afford to have cars no need for B40 subsidy petrol anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jun 20, 2022 at 12:59 pm

I still can use 97 because I eat kangkung only. Kangkung dah turun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Switching because you are not real rich people, just pretent and force to be rich. A real rich people, this increase is nothing to them. Never see nice and luxury car parking inside low cost apartment? They just squeeze every single cents for the car. My factories also with a few factory supervisor stretching themselves for a civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • stranger on Jun 20, 2022 at 1:40 pm

cheapskate!

• Kea Was on Jun 20, 2022 at 1:47 pm

“Although I am reluctant and it’s disheartening to use RON 95 for my car’s engine because the quality is different from RON 97,

Please do tell how is RON 97 so different from RON 95? Does it have more Hydrocarbon, or does one contains lead or more Sulphur? Also kindly enlighten us which car did you drive that specify the need for RON 95 or higher except Toyota 86 bearing in mind USA only had 92 grade while they had much more supercars than us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Mr. Sotong on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:18 pm

You are right. However I have to point out that 92 octane gas in US is equivalent to our RON97. They calculation methods are different.

• Western Star on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:30 pm

97 is less prone to knocking particularly with high compression and free revving engines. That lexus above is one that will suffer a lot if run at full speed on 95.

• Trust me on Jun 20, 2022 at 11:41 pm

Cars nowadays have a very intelligent icu to prevent knocking. Even new BMWs are tuned for 95 with a range of 92-98. Don’t believe me? Go see the fuel cap.

Stop with the old school thoughts of 97 > 95.

• It is now how intelligent it is, the point is how the manufacturers setup the car and program it to run properly on which fuel grade. You can set a K20A to run RON91 even but you won’t get the full potential power of a standard K20A.

• smart bmw driver on Jun 20, 2022 at 10:23 pm

i work in oil n gas lab. i tell u what. no diff at all. same distillation point, same component, the diff is ron only. if ur car requirement min 95 then use 95 lor. lucky my bmw requirement is 95.

• Sparcov on Jun 20, 2022 at 1:49 pm

My GLC use Ron95 since new, minimum to run the car is Ron95. So no issue to use Ron95. This is a CKD model tuned for local environment.

You don’t really need Ron97 for city driving. I have not pump in Ron97 to the car before, so I can’t really tell the different but it run just fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Mr. Sotong on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:19 pm

You car do not need RON97 for ANY driving if the manufacturer does not specify it.

• sahdam on Jun 21, 2022 at 9:26 am

glc uses renault engine.. of course can sumbat ron95.. its not performance car tho. its just normal drive suv

• Sparcov on Jun 27, 2022 at 6:22 am

GLC is not a renault engine. Renault engine used on newer mercedes A200, GLB200 with engine capacity of 1.3cc. While GLC200,250,300 is 2.0 cc. Ya, the fuel tank sticker also mentioned min. RON95. so no need higher than that for normal driving.

GLC43 and GLC63 is another performance type species.

• Sparcov Nuts on Jun 21, 2022 at 4:13 pm

Its not about whether your GLC can use RON95 or not but whether you deserved to get the subsidised fuel or not! You can afford to buy a RM300k++ car but at the same time you still want to be subsidised? What even makes you think rich people wannabe like you deserved to get subsidies in the first place? People like you are purely abusing the privilege’s when you don’t deserve it at all.

• Sparcov on Jun 27, 2022 at 6:16 am

What make you think we, you so call ‘wannabe’ deserve or not when most of the income from this group of ‘wannabe’ people contribute the most as the tax payer in ths country? Getting subsidies is not a privilege’s at all. Driving big car also a citizen of the country. We equally contributed our part to the society and deserve our rights to receive benefit from the government. Do you mean we are not deserve to get subsidy in rice, flour and cooking oil too?

• Stopbeingbitter on Jun 28, 2022 at 7:54 pm

But the subsidy for RON95 is also based on the tax paid by these so called wannabe so they should have the right to enjoy it.

But TBH, some people pay low / no taxes (super rich too) but hope for handouts. Same like anak menteri.

• Not that the rich can’t afford, it’s just that they’ll prioritize their spendings on gourmet food & coffee instead of for their premium vehicles. Ron95 still petrol mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • such a “AHA” moment for several users to realize that their cars work just fine with RON95..

• i guess this is the time to differentiate ‘very rich’ and ‘rich’.
    my boss punya car, still pumping Ron97. i never heard he complained a single word.

but friends still complaining Ron97 too expensive although driving Merc, BMW.

it’s just different level of being rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • dong gor on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:23 pm

want to own premium car, but no money pump petrol banyak torsuikan lor kekeke. maybe change tire also go get used one. and but fruits at pasar malam want to potong harga…sounds about right for this group of “wanna be rich” ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Silpheed on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:27 pm

Cheapskate. Dare to buy expensive car, but when it comes to pump price, says it is expensive. May as well sell it off and drive a saga sv.

• seancorr on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:37 pm

I think this article it meant to stir up sentiments in the society. If you really have a look properly, even way back before the pandemic, majority of the BMW and Mercedes-Benz vehicle owners are using RON95 because their engines allows them to do so. Go walk into any 3S SC in BMW and ask the SC manager what kind of fuel his customers are using and he’ll tell you the same.

Now what I really want to know is if Ferrari or Lambo owners are switching to 95.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • dellen on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:39 pm

bro, if you are a regular on this site, you will know lambo owners do charity also they can only come out few hundred per car… of course they are using ron95 now, hahahaha

• Anas Fadzli Bin Mohd Anuar on Jun 20, 2022 at 2:51 pm

Finally those disgusting Velfire and Alphard drivers are getting a reality check.

• Ramesh on Jun 20, 2022 at 3:40 pm

The rich man also no there is negligible difference between Ron95 and Ron97 to its car.
    It’s congested, traffic jam anyway.

What Crazy Rich Man want is RON100/V power.
    Properly different.

• Abyasa on Jun 20, 2022 at 4:54 pm

Ron95 is good oil.

Even Singapore still got Ron92.
      https://www.caltex.com/sg/motorists/products-and-services/fuel-prices.html

Indoensia was Ron88,90 too.

Ron95 and Ron97 – lebih kurang. Ron100 berbaloi.

• Ben Yap on Jun 20, 2022 at 3:41 pm

now top speed and century sprint already gone down.

• Bruce on Jun 20, 2022 at 4:45 pm

Switch from RON95 to RON97 now. Because it is premium enough now.

• Muppet Guy on Jun 20, 2022 at 5:15 pm

Rich will spend RM100 buffet but consume rm50 worth of food. Clever rich will spend RM50 in restaurant for RM50 worth of food. So why pump Ron97 when 95 will still get you from point A to B for half the price? I drive a new X3 but considered orang miskin by certain people cause I chose to eat RM8 nasi ayam. LOL

• Bieight8 on Jun 20, 2022 at 5:18 pm

The only way to improve sales of Ron 97 is to remove fuel subsidy…

• stop RON 95 start selling RON 92 back or better go for lower RON 91

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Henry on Jun 21, 2022 at 10:07 am

If RON95 is not subsidised the current price should be about RM 4.70/litre.

• Aleein on Jun 21, 2022 at 1:36 pm

So, later government will increase the ron95 price to rebalance the price and demands base on petrol usage..

• S.mong on Jun 21, 2022 at 2:42 pm

Diesel is the answer…

• Reality check on Jun 22, 2022 at 9:43 am

If you guys think the rich became rich by spending all their money away on useless stuff. You got a rude awakening. Just because someone’s rich doesn’t mean that they need to spend on the most premium car and petrol, or the biggest house.

The truly rich people I know are the uncle’s wearing white singlets and driving 15 year old cars which they refuse to change. They are in their 50’s but still keep investing and are some of the most frugal people I know.

Only insecure peeps need to “look” rich

• lel. Isn’t it time to revisit my idea of making all luxury cars programmed to only use RON97 and above or else suffer irreparable engine damage as with Swift Sport or Type R?

• autobahn on Jun 25, 2022 at 1:36 pm

I cant afford the expansive akra full system, the custom mapping or stage 3 turbo upgrades for my car.. running ron 97 is the cheapest mods for me

• You don’t have to keep highlighting this issue. It is normal for all people to switch to cheaper alternative. Rich people can use cheap toilet roll as well.
    When Ron 97 is cheap, kancil owner also can switch to ron97, and it is nothing to be guilty at all

• Khaleel on Jun 27, 2022 at 12:03 pm

I have been using Ron 97 for all my cars from 2009. A week back I got my new BMW 630i GT and am forced to use RON 95. I save around RM 550 a week. But will switch back to 97 as soon as it becomes affordable.