Speeding Proton Wira driving against traffic on Federal Highway at 2am today causes big head-on accident

There was a big accident on the Federal Highway at 2am yesterday, reported by Twitter user Ceddy. The aftermath shows a damaged Proton Wira on the right lane of the highway and a wrecked Honda City on the left lane, the latter with significant damage on its front right side.

The post did not mention where exactly the crash happened, but the building on the left looks a lot like Menara Celcom in PJ, just before one passes Hilton PJ, Shah Alam-bound.

Ceddy later replied the thread to say that others DMed him to inform that the Wira was speeding and driving against traffic, which makes the Honda City an innocent victim. Twitter users Amrfz. and toxic apek say they passed the crazy Wira earlier, with the latter adding that he nearly crashed into the Proton but was “saved by a Myvi from the opposite direction who kept flashing his lights”.

The same Twitter user added that the Wira driver died on the scene but the City driver survived and was rushed to hospital. We hope that he/she makes it with minimal injuries. The impact must have been quite big for the two cars to land so far apart.

This incident is crazy, but cases of cars driving against traffic has been happening quite often of late? Or has it always been always this common but unreported?

In any case, it’s impossible to defend against a speeding missile heading towards you on a highway, if you’re on track for a head-on. We can’t do anything to avoid this other to, well, avoid it. Be alert at all times, like the guy above who dodged the Wira because he was aware of the warning by another motorist. If your mind is away and you’re driving on “autopilot”, you’ll react slower to unexpected hazards. Be safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• DonkeyKong on Jul 04, 2022 at 10:01 am

Most importantly – DON’T DRIVE ON THE FAST LANE UNNECESSARILY! Malaysian drivers have the bad habit of merging into the fast lane and then driving slowly. Look at our highways and trunk roads. Most of the time, the fast lane has become the slow lane, and people have to pass slow vehicles by undertaking on the left or middle lane!

Driving on the fast lane exposes us to more dangers. Any out-of-control vehicle that smashes through the road median from the opposite side will strike a vehicle on the fast lane first. Any speeding vehicle from behind that can’t slow down on time for a slower vehicle on the fast lane will ram it from behind.

When not overtaking, KEEP LEFT. If the lane to your left is clear, regardless of whether you’re at or above the speed limit, KEEP LEFT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Maverick Tajuddin (Ambassador to Timbuktu) on Jul 04, 2022 at 2:28 pm

Donkey Kong,can u explain why motorcyclists like to hog the middle and fast lane,knowing they are like sitting ducks when a speeding gonzalez is around?
      Years ago,in driving school,we were told to keep to the left or slowest lane to allow faster vehicles to overtake.
      Now,if you honk them,they suddenly let you overtake and then speed up to your boot and fist bang your boot.

• Donnos on Jul 04, 2022 at 4:04 pm

Cause many drivers when want to turn left or exit left turning don’t look at their side mirror before doing so and crash into motor rider. In top of that most lorry drives in the left lane which makes the riders feel more “insecure”

• DonkeyKong on Jul 04, 2022 at 4:19 pm

Brief answer – because they have poor road habits and endanger themselves all the time without much thought.

• Chinese saying, if you want to kill yourself dont involve other people or worse bring them with you.

• Kapchai on Jul 04, 2022 at 10:11 am

reckless wira driver – r.i.p.
    hope the city driver recover fast.

A fatigue driver will not able to multitask at the same time – hard pedaling (reckless speeding) + focus. Autopilot removed the needs of continuous pedaling, can help experienced driver to stay focus and ready to brake/sway off to avoid any collision. Autopilot need ethical driver so he know how to slow down his car when doing cornering, re-adjust the speed to safe speed limit.

L2 ACC Self driving/autopilot required focus and steering control anyway. Autopilot is meant for helping reduced fatigue in experienced driver, not over-confident/reckless guys.

• Stress issue ? on Jul 04, 2022 at 10:22 am

What happen to Malaysian citizen ? So many news about driving against traffic, blocking ambulance, driving on emergency lanes etc.

Law not strict enough ? Or weak enforcement ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Brian on Jul 04, 2022 at 1:57 pm

It was 2am in the dead of night, and the accident happened suddenly. What enforcement can be done to prevent such stupidity?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Malaysians losing their mind with how the government is being ran and the creation of jihad task force to fix stuff is beyond stupidity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Copy Paste on Jul 05, 2022 at 7:58 am

Copy paste: “Weekend? Check
        Late late AM nite? Check
        Speeding on wrong side of road? Check
        Easy to guess what that driver was doing prior to driving off into hell.”

• Weekend? Check
    Late late AM nite? Check
    Speeding on wrong side of road? Check
    Easy to guess what that driver was doing prior to driving off into hell.

• again against traffic, again Wira???

• Santai on Jul 04, 2022 at 10:58 am

if you happened to see opposite lane flashing at you,
    you know something at the front – hazardous condition.

Armfz? had the opportunity to noticed myvi flashing warning and successfully avoid – Lucky driver, near missed.

• Anonnnymoussssss on Jul 04, 2022 at 11:10 am

Good that the wira driver died

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Zhafri on Jul 04, 2022 at 11:20 am

Kerajaan/ Penguatkuasa please do something for this crazy guy, too many case drove wrong direction like this and to many innocent people died…so sad

• Maverick Tajuddin (Ambassador to Timbuktu) on Jul 04, 2022 at 2:21 pm

The crazy dude already dead..what can backdoor garmen do?
      As usual lah,dead or semi paralysed,,Ah Wee will say “kami akan memantau”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Dr Strange on Jul 04, 2022 at 3:24 pm

What do you expect Dr Wee to do… summon that driver back from the dead? Sorry you called the wrong doctor.

• bieight8 on Jul 04, 2022 at 11:27 am

This kind of thing happens everyday…

• komarad on Jul 04, 2022 at 12:37 pm

there’s law but enforcement lacking.. those who caught without causing accident not jailed so they will repeat doing it until the innocent dies..

• Korean Fan on Jul 04, 2022 at 12:40 pm

Just drive on emergency lane. Safer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • loktor Weeeeee on Jul 05, 2022 at 1:32 am

Let’s just start with the simple things. Stop, penalize, fine, educate etc
    1) people who tailgate (those with video cam) submit the video and jpj or any enforcement body can issue fine.
    2) you can see everyday: people driving without lights on.they’re not stopped or compounded.
    3) still mat rempit seen. Although lesser
    4) lorry batu driving on the speeding lane. Commercial lorries also.
    5) we appreciate food or delivery motorcycle riders. But we don’t appreciate the way they drive
    6) hate drunk drivers. If caught put them in jail. The law is there, yes they’re enforcing it. But not good enough.
    7) slow drivers now like to hog the right lane. And their braking is poor: causing unnecessary jam and danger. Not just speeding. Tiurtle driving needs to be compounded.
    8) not a lot of people will like this. Put a stop to super dark tint rule. Yes maybe a slightly darker tint. But not those 80%-90% dark tints that endanger lives and thieves can hide too
    9)1-8 will not happen

• Xie xie on Jul 05, 2022 at 3:57 am

Too many stupid driver, drive during drank alcohol..

• driving against traffic is normal phenomena on B road, especially motorcycle, i have encounter many of them and if you honk they will give the middle finger.

• Actually, it’s not so difficult to enter the wrong lane at a traffic junction into Federal Highway. With no cars late at night, a senior 72 year old driver with poor eyesight, Waze showing a turn before the actual turn 30m ahead, he can actually drive against traffic. Panic sets in and with no way to u-turn out, it can really happen. Anyway, RIP to the Wira driver and speedy recovery to the City driver.
    If you see any car driving against traffic, call the authorities immediately if it’s not safe to try to get them to pull over. Let’s do our part to keep our roads safe for all

• Style on Jul 10, 2022 at 7:06 pm

One less insane dude otr, no matter what sex or race or age they are.