Proton X50 driver makes sudden lane change, Toyota Avanza fails to avoid in time – look before you move

Yet another accident captured on a vehicle’s video recorder, or dashcam has been making the rounds on social media, and this time a round the incident involves a vehicle making a sudden lane change into the path of another vehicle approaching at much higher speed.

Here, the footage uploaded by Facebook user Ruhaiza Samsudin begins with a Proton X50 in the same middle lane directly ahead of the camera vehicle, which also shows other traffic on the right-hand-side lane travelling much more quickly.

One of those vehicles is the black Toyota Avanza shown in the screengrab image above, and its driver has failed to slow in time to avoid colliding with the X50 that has just pulled into its path, thus making contact and appearing to also make contact with a red Proton Waja taxi that has pulled over to the shoulder, behind the X50.

According to the stamp on the footage, the camera vehicle was shown to be travelling at 92 km/h before the X50 made the sudden lane change to the right, and before that, traffic on the overtaking lane can be seen to be travelling considerably quicker than that.

Looking more closely at the shadows of the vehicles ahead – that of said taxi, and the white BMW 5 Series between it and the X50, the preceding two vehicles were already their lane before the latter made its lane change.

When the Avanza enters the frame its front wheels are already locked as it trails plumes of tyre smoke, and inevitably collides with the X50 that has pulled into its path. As the X50 then gets pushed wayward, it appears to have collected the taxi as well, as indicated by both cars moving to the left shoulder.

While adhering to the posted speed limit should be a given, the responsibility of using the road safely also lies with the party making a manoeuvre to change lanes – or in any other instance of crossing the path of another road user – especially when a large speed differential is involved, which should already have been made clear to the driver of the X50 in this footage.

Even if speeding road users falls foul of the rules by exceeding the posted limit, and if the other party is at fault in other instances of failing to stop in time, the point is moot if the collision could be avoided, along with the attendant losses of time, use of property and money, as well as potential injury. Remember – look, indicate, and be sure the path is clear before making a move on roads and highways.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• semprit on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:03 pm

mana boleh tukar lane mcm tu gile..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • Kacang on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:35 pm

Turbo lag @ X50 DCT?

Cannot pickup?
      Or.. Got BSM but still come out to road hogging?
      Got side mirror don’t need to use?

Either he don’t have pickup skill, or he is orang gila.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • Tiger on Jul 18, 2022 at 5:03 pm

You can see that he didn’t maintain a safe distance from the car in front so the problem became twofold:
        1. Couldn’t brake in time
        2. Couldn’t accelerate before swerving into the overtaking lane

• Kapchai on Jul 19, 2022 at 9:25 am

If a motor rider behind,
          One would be dead.

The X50 owner attempted murdering, smooth criminal.

• Idiocracy overload on Jul 19, 2022 at 1:29 pm

How are going to avoid someone changing lane immediately? Keep a distance from who? No car in front of u then suddenly slow car appear in front of u. What a stupid comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Vezeroth on Jul 19, 2022 at 9:06 pm

Why so rude, you dint understand that the x59 dint maintain distance with the bmw infront of it and suddenly last min change lane while braking.

• AppleTree on Jul 21, 2022 at 10:10 am

You out of context la. if you watch the video carefully, the proton driver did not keep a safe distance with the bmw in front, thus he suddenly brake to avoid hitting the bmw, then suddenly he change to right lane.

• Jho Loo on Jul 19, 2022 at 1:55 am

Same like previous 2 eksidens involving proton wira at Nkve & Federal hiway. Ini semua salah PROTON lgi..

• X50 Owner on Jul 19, 2022 at 11:03 pm

You are correct Jho Loo. I’ve purchased my first Proton, an X50. I found that it’s Blind Spot Monitor and side-mirrors are dangerous. The side-mirrors are based on left-hand drive. Proton knows the issue and irresponsible.

• Steve Jobs on Jul 20, 2022 at 11:35 am

That is why you get BSM but you too noob to use such a sophisticated car. As Steve Jobs said, it is not the phone but the user that is problem.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:01 pm

Avanza no ABS? Smoked all da way
      X50 LDA not working? Stoopig betoi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • Trust on Jul 18, 2022 at 4:37 pm

Lengcai, all those what ABS AeB this tat is just marketing gimmick for you guys to happy when sign contract. Those things only works in greater continental car aka BMW Benz etc. I know because last time I drive camry now drive BMW. Same scenario of lost control in both car when I purposely trigger it to learn the car behaviour, the camry with all safety gadgets success to lost control and skid like hell while BMW with minimal not so shiny gadget lost and regain control almost instantly with AI cut in and balance the car. Wow..impressive! .frm then on, I never trust asian safety tech on broachure especially those Myvi or Beza…haha.. but at the end, law of nature is the boss. So slow your cat when nearing other cars, never trust Malaysian driver, treat them all as baby driving car especially soccer mom, so you will be save all the time. Nature 1, human 0.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Hantu Raya on Jul 19, 2022 at 11:10 pm

Ermmm, you’re a Malaysian driver too right? So you’re a baby too?

• Tampak X50 tdk fokus pada pemanduan, mungkin tgk HP. Sekali tgk depan, kereta putih brek, dan disebabkan terkejut, driver x50 brek dan kilas steering ke kanan tukar lane..

• 2 wrongs don’t make a right bro. X50 cut out suddenly but that Avanza was going way too fast to be within legal limits. This video doesn’t say anything except the stupidity of malaysian drivers and they have the cheek to blame road, authorities or WKS for their stupid acts. Epic LOL

• Mr Fakta on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:06 pm

All drivers should take a stupidity and mental test every 5 years. Too many stupid drivers on the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 0
    • Maverick Rafizi on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:07 pm

The worst r the “rogue” bikers,especially the Grab,Panda,Lalamove riders.
      They speed from the middle lane,trying their “skill”to overtake from the left.
      From the video,once the X50 suddenly change lane..the RIDERS become “SUPERMAN”.
      Those who didnt die,need a wheelchair for life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 44
      • Make Malaysia Great Again on Jul 18, 2022 at 5:25 pm

This is about cars not bikers. As with Lapizi talking nonsense about wrong subject again. Too much drinking sessions?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • The accident involves only cars. Manade kena mengena with bikes bro? Buta ke.

• I disagree. Make it 2 years.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Jul 18, 2022 at 5:23 pm

How many will bet that Avanza was speeding excessively on the right lane? ;-)

• LaksaKL on Jul 19, 2022 at 9:52 am

X50 reckless driving.
        X50 could have killed others for dangerous lane switching, without looking the rear.

X50 should brake, x50 should have safe distance so his braking won’t hit that BMW.

Avanza reckless driving? Police to verify its speed, and speeding saman accordingly.
        Accident is caused by X50. Different issue.

• Copy Paste on Jul 20, 2022 at 11:38 am

Copy paste: “Can see cam car was going at 90kmph, X50 cutting out was presumed to be about the same speed, max 110kmph could still slow down to match it at 90 but it was obvious that Avanza was going much much faster than max speed limit.
          Bincangkan how fast that Avanza was going.”

• AppleTree on Jul 21, 2022 at 10:12 am

you from puspakom? hahaha… just joking

• lowpro on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:15 pm

Just too many stupid drivers who can’t gauge in their head the speed of the rear approaching vehicle. These morons are the ones who will just pull out thinking the car behind will brake for them. Well, this is what happens lah.

And please be considerate, it is a fast lane, so when you come out, drive FASTER!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 2
    • Logical Deduction on Jul 18, 2022 at 5:48 pm

Can see cam car was going at 90kmph, X50 cutting out was presumed to be about the same speed, max 110kmph could still slow down to match it at 90 but it was obvious that Avanza was going much much faster than max speed limit.
      Bincangkan how fast that Avanza was going.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Lord 444 on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:29 pm

You can clearly see that not X50 fault. It’s actually MYVI fault. X50 doing nothing wrong. Everything is MYVI fault. Fuel price increase also because of myvi. Ayam and telur so expensive also myvi fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 87
    • smart on Jul 18, 2022 at 3:45 pm

X50 changed lane and didnt signal at all. I bet you you are one of those that dont signal as well….

• Ofcourse, Myvi just stay home. Because Myvi is the most hated car on Malaysian road. Girls also dont want a BF that drive Myvi. Girls parent also dont want their future son in law to drive Myvi.

• Don't be Letard on Jul 18, 2022 at 4:44 pm

Are you perhaps the X50 driver? It explains the stupidity written in your comment.

• Myvi is the King of Faulty

• Faris on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:31 pm

Hmm .. X50 driver refused to slow down following the car up front and decided that it’d be best for him/her to change lane but failed to asses the traffic as a whole – truly a teaching event.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • abang durian on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:40 pm

1. X50 change lane to avoid bimmer who reduced speed ahead, but apparently did not take a look at his right mirror so did not notice the fast-approching Avanza.
    2. Avanza is going fast, the camera car is doing around 90km/h, and Avanza might around 110-120km/h, not sure about the speed limit in this area, but Avanza is going too fast, even the driver did applied brake, but failed to reduce speed.
    3. Avanza no ABS? can see the front wheel lock up so badly. and its tyre must not in good condition either.
    4. kudos to the white bimmer, good avoid, make itself free from getting involved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • bangi on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:21 pm

there’s an AES, that’s why car slowing down. 90 km/h speed limit.

This happened at the highway near Bangi area.

• There’s a taxi in front of the Bimmer that is slowing down.

• YB Kunta Albert Albata on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:46 pm

white BMW so calm so pro avoiding mess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Bmw is also good at Moose test., and the f10 steering is variable steering so very very quick since variable ratio at lower speed thus could avoid hazard with less manouvre. Even without fancy safety assistent you can now see germany really put effort to create safe car. Whats the use for fancy marketing poster if at the extreme situation it all fall apart. Imagine the Avanza go any faster the driver might go to hell already. Thanks the Waja amd divider the X50 not rolling around. Imagine happen in middle lane both car will donut around and roll over and create a lot tomato juice all over.

• ToyMachine on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:00 pm

That bmw has super quick response! avoided any damage to both his side and front… wow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Thanks to super quick variable steering to avoid, and brilliant braking system to slow speed. A 10 yrs F10 Walk out like a hero even without very fancy safety gadgets.

• Gojek Ko on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:02 pm

Root cause was the slow moving taxi occupying the middle lane. It should have been at the left most lane. Even the small lorry at the left most lane is faster than the taxi. Of course the x50 obviously changed lane without looking at the side mirror or misjudged the Avanza speed. The Avanza could have slowed down and standby to brake when start seeing vehicles queuing up behind the taxi. The whole accident can be avoided if any of the party played their part at any particular stage of the build up. They all need to go back to the driving school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • Aduha on Jul 18, 2022 at 3:26 pm

If someone is passing you on the left, you are definitely too damn slow. Sadly most dont understand. And u should always check rear view mirrors every 10sec, at least 20 secs

• dingle on Jul 18, 2022 at 3:58 pm

Ultimately it’s only the X50’s fault. That’s how the law applies. Nevertheless, as you have mentioned, all of those could have played their part to avoid any type of accident.

• Kereta depan slow,
    Brek ❎
    Tukar lane ✅

• Zeerk on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:16 pm

All that ADAS specs.. pointless.
    The best ADAS .. is the driver. Educate, be a better driver, stay vigilant, and be considerate of others. That’s all there is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • pyraxle on Jul 18, 2022 at 5:36 pm

That’s why i think for some competent drivers, they don’t need all these ADAS. I have driven for almost 15 years now but i still remember what my driving instructor told me, to check all your mirrors every 10-20 secs and I did that until today. Never been into an accident but i have evaded a lot of potential accident by doing that. Just focus around your surroundings at all times, drive safely and always check your mirrors! It really does help to save you.

• Laugh Hard on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:18 pm

Most of the people who bought the X50 are those who wants a powerful car at a budget price.
    That’s why you’ll always see an X50 driving crazy fast or sticks to a speeding bimmer on the highway.
    The need for showing speed.
    However, they fail to realise that the X50 is not really a fast car.

But who knows… maybe the X50 in this video is trying to test something else… rear collision safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • AES Trap Ahead on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:19 pm

This is where the speed limit reduced from 110km/h to 90km/h with AES camera ahead on Plus highway, between Bangi and Kajang interchange. Most of the car starts slowing down to less than 70km/h to avoid get snapshot here, many just not notice and keep speeding 110km/h on the fast lane, or perhaps they run there everyday and know exactly where to reduce speed approximately 50m near the camera to pass the AES camera…

• It’s really annoying when the driver in front brakes and slow down even though already within speed limit at this stretch. 60 or 70 kmh is really killing.

• OP Chong on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:20 pm

How many drivers are aware that when you join a lane, you must get up to speed as quickly as possible. So many just get into the fast or overtaking lane and prods along at standard speed… seen this so many times.

• Actually they know, just that their car power cant catch up to their ego. Thus bammm..

• Beria cakap “baik beli X50, laju, banyak safety features”
    Satgi accident sebab taknak tekan brake je.

• Ground europe passenger on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:29 pm

A cannot go any faster lorry at the left lane, a super slow day dreaming taxi at the middle, a patient bmw follow behind, a lousy driving skill x50 try to imitate her clan that flew past, a incomprehensible speeding avanza without vsc. The steady white bmw didn’t bother to stop even kena a bit on the right side.

• Ok, Grade A license for BMW.

• Anonymous80 on Jul 18, 2022 at 3:57 pm

Maybe taxi go slow to tunjuk samseng, X50 change lane but is still within the speed limit, IF avanza follow speed limit as well this accident could have been avoided. Taxi is the Main culprit here.

• hazri on Jul 18, 2022 at 4:46 pm

aku perati je orang tukar lane kanan tapi bawa slow. lane kanan tu lane memotong. maksudnya lepas potong kau kena bawa laju la sebab nak potong. lagi la ni highway, depan kau bukan ada kereta pun. kalau nak slow masuk lane kiri la. harap owner x50 dapat cepatla spare part nak repair balik belakang tu. semoga sabar dan tabah. owner avanza kena cek tayar tu, kenapa sampai berasap bila brake macam tak grip.

• Why all blame x50 driver only? Avanza driver should be blamed too. The driver should not drive too fast and expect emergency anytime knowing that the car condition is not good. Accident will not happen with only one side.

• Driba paloi on Jul 19, 2022 at 8:02 am

The driver of the X50 should expect for emergency too even his/her car condition is good. Thats why they put rearview mirror and side view mirror on the car. For you to look first before you change lane. And there is also the turn signal. Those things are put there are not for fancy display. I bet you are one of the many drivers that dont bother to look at their side/rear view mirror and use the turn signal and expect someone to brake and give way to you

• Commenters here forgotten that driver above speed limit is actually ILLEGAL but since they all do it they all think blame must be onto X50 only.

• It is the puting time on Jul 18, 2022 at 5:15 pm

Damn, this make people wanna drive BMW. Look like a hero walk out of clown of mess in relax mode. Thanks to fast steering, good moose test, and reliable brake. Fundamentally, it is already brilliant. Add in a little safety AI, bravo. Who need fancy safety system when it doesnt help in such situation. Rather be in a blant BMW than a fully bolt on safety system X50.

• This is 90km/h speed limit route. So everybody have gone beyond the speed limit except the small lorry.

• How did the bmw get out the mess unscratched? Steady!!

• Moral of the story: car maker should start develop tech that detect speed for car in front and behind for safer maneuver or lane change.

The BMW has skill and camera car follow safe distance rule properly.
    Thumb down to the taxi (hogging), X50 (stupid) and Avanza (speeding).

• Speed Relativity on Jul 18, 2022 at 6:12 pm

Things they don’t teach you in driving school.

Relative speed of vehicles from behind

When changing lane must ALWAYS look back a few times to gauge the speed of cars coming from behind.

Not just look once , then turn.

• Road user on Jul 19, 2022 at 9:21 am

Lorry/bus drivers sometimes fail to do these. They change lane to fast lane to overtake other lorry, even though there is a fast moving car at fast lane.

• From Rempit To Unker on Jul 18, 2022 at 7:06 pm

From what I see, the red taxi slowed down, so did the BMW behind the red taxi. The X50 braked and switched lane. What are the odds that the X50 feared he/she couldnt brake in time/wanted to avoid colliding with the BMW and he/she instinctively switched lane (I’m not saying its the right thing or the smart thing to do). My thoughts is that if you’re going to drive slow, go on the leftmost lane. Driving slow on any other lane is dangerous – it’ll make other cars impatient and possibly act dangerously. They may also have to brake more than they should or try to change lanes.

P.S: I used to rempit on the road with my Myvi, but now I drive like an uncle with my Saga on the leftmost lane.

• macampondan on Jul 18, 2022 at 7:23 pm

that’s the MY problem…. all bloody slow cars drive in the middle lane … then , faster car hog on fast lane.

what happened to slow lane? for illegal overtaking…

changing lane without signaling, bloody bikes riding in all lanes, even the bloody buses and trucks can hog on 3rd lane.

Semua ada gaya tapi takde otak.. mungkin MY educational standards syiok sendiri , producing tidak apa ppl with poor ethics and logical thinking

• To be fair, x50 driver has very very very big bond spot which proton refused to acknowledge. The driver side mirror angle is very small and you see half your car body at maximum.

• passerby on Jul 18, 2022 at 10:10 pm

there are many jibai drivers nowadays who cut out on the overtaking lane and then slow down ! lol – sure langgar la idiots !

• Myvi King on Jul 18, 2022 at 11:21 pm

IMHO, a lot of accidents on dual and multiple carriageways have middle and fast lane hoggers as one of the main root causes. They frustrate other drivers and lead to driving in anger and impatience. The Seremban to Nilai PLUS highway have 5 (yes, FIVE) lanes on each side and yet the middle and right lanes are always clogged while the left-most lanes are sometimes empty.

In the UK, middle lane hoggers on multi-lane highways are slapped with on-the-spot £100 fines, or receive the fine in the mail if caught on camera. There was even a case of a lone car (empty highway) caught on camera driving on the middle lane getting fined.

In the late 80’s when Miri opened its first dual carriageway between the town and Lutong, the police aggressively issued RM300 compounds to those who hog the right lane, pointing to the numerous signboards ‘Ikut Kiri Jika Tidak Memotong’. Perhaps it is time for the authorities to do the same on our highways now, using drone technology to pin the culprits.

• Paultan, you've missed an opportunity for education here. on Jul 19, 2022 at 11:40 am

Signal to change lane. It’s what you learn in driving school. Apply it. Nobody can read your mind.

• Overtake sideways Method on Jul 19, 2022 at 5:41 pm

TAKSI always Wrong no matter what

TAKsi drive slow and steady in middle lane also Wrong

x50 is not overtaking the slowpork taxi

after 3 seconds X50 still behind BMW butt

x50 slowpork in fast lane no wrong only taxi is wrong

Avanza shaft the x50 in less than 3 seconds that was hell fast

• 70% of people need to retake their driving licence. They think they are racing car drivers. I think X50 driver was on phone or got distracte by eating or smoking…….., people think they own the road.

• Namasayakol on Jul 19, 2022 at 7:59 pm

70% of people need to retake their driving licence. They think they are racing car drivers. I think X50 driver was on phone or got distracte by eating or smoking…….., people think they own the road.

• Scared on Jul 19, 2022 at 9:37 pm

This country failed from the instructor to the departments.
    Diffrentiating since day one in the driving school by teaching everyone which is fast and slow lane is so much crucial. Today highlighting tailgating has became a crime, but driving in the fast lane at below speed limit is legal and caused all sorts of jam. Cmon back to basic teach the basic so the norm will go on smoothly.

• Calvin on Jul 20, 2022 at 11:42 am

Dude going over the speed limit on fast lane does not make it legal dude. No matter what both were at wrong here.

• The only thing not correct is the car prices too high and the Avanza owner can’t afford to buy a better car with good performance. Or its Toyota problem that promote Avanza is good runner smooth handling even in high speed condition.

Just 2 questions –
    Can a small mpv like Avanza run in high speed??
    Can small mpv easy to handle in high speed??

Toyota Malaysia please advise Malaysian public especially Avanza owners based on actual facts on the two questions above mentioned.