PDRM explains video of police escort overtaking on double line – they have authorisation, gave warning

PDRM has acknowledged the viral video of a police escort car overtaking on a double line at the Gua Musang – Kota Bharu stretch of road. The cop car was paving the road for a convoy of two flatbed trucks carrying luxury cars, and a white Ford Ranger. It was a nasty surprise to the camcar, which had to evade and move into the road shoulder. Single lane road, by the way.

Acting Kelantan police chief Datuk Muhamad Zaki Harun said that the escort car gave ample warning or reminders (amaran atau peringatan secukupnya) by sounding its siren and flashing its lights. He also said that there’s confusion among the public, and that the escort car had authorisation (arahan yang sah) to lead the three vehicles behind.

“People raised the question that the escort car was driving dangerously (mengundang bahaya). Actually, the escort car was fulfilling its duty (mengatur dan mengawal) under Section 21 of the Police Act 1967. This means that other road users have to cooperate and slow down, give way to the convoy, or stop to prevent something from happening,” he explained, reported by Kosmo.

“Police escort cars have their own rules (peraturan tersendiri) and they cannot do as they like when on duty. I don’t blame anyone; perhaps many are still confused by the matter,” he told reporters at a press conference at the IPK Kelantan in Kota Bharu today.

There you have it. Even in a situation like the ones that went viral yesterday and today, the VIP convoy has the right of way. Sorry folks, it is what it is. Always be alert on the road, as many unexpected things can appear suddenly and fast action may be required. Drive safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sick&Tired on Jul 27, 2022 at 6:27 pm

Why is there a need for police escort when towing cars? Yes the 2 cars are expensive and belongs to a VVIP, however there is no need for police escort! I think people are getting fed up with the blatant abuse of power. The police officers could have been deployed elsewhere. This is a waste of resources.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 289 Thumb down 3
    • Exactly since when cars needs escort. The politicians are dancing around the bucket in regards to their situation in the likeness to what happened in Sri Lanka. Just a matter of time people will get fed up

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • As a tax payer on Jul 29, 2022 at 11:12 am

We should all ask PDRM for escort, since they are providing this service.

• One day one laughing stock on Jul 27, 2022 at 6:47 pm

Yeah right, essentially telling the public that they have the right within their rules, issues permits as they like and speculate no more. It looks like a Bentley there so there’s definitely enough to get such permit.

What so emergency about towing an luxury car that needs furious escorting? I don’t think those cadets back then sign this up for do such escorting, they’re there to service the community, right the wrongs among the people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 3
  • Always right

• David on Jul 27, 2022 at 7:19 pm

Boleh land

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Bobby on Jul 27, 2022 at 7:27 pm

Everything about VVIP is important. Even their pet is more important than us.

Live on, don’t complaint.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr on Jul 27, 2022 at 7:30 pm

So the PDRM has been reduced to a level where they have to escort flatbed trucks carrying some VIP vehicle.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 2
  • Only in melaysia. on Jul 27, 2022 at 7:53 pm

So the BS Warning is Absolute. Transporting VIP cars more important than our well-being.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • Vezeroth on Jul 27, 2022 at 7:59 pm

Omg! Whats the explaination that the cars need a police escort and require dangerous driving?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • BSPDRM on Jul 27, 2022 at 8:02 pm

Ridiculous.. escort for two cars on tow truck.. what happen to PDRM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • RON91 on Jul 27, 2022 at 8:08 pm

lambat sampai kereta mewah tu RIP nanti.
    Sebab tu kena cepat sampai bengkel kecemasan dengan segera.

• Exercise your vote, clean up these messy policies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Marky Law on Jul 27, 2022 at 8:49 pm

law enforcement agency personnel has authorization to break law?
    people should seek judiciary justice over this power abuser!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Mendan on Jul 27, 2022 at 8:57 pm

Pasang siren redah laluan keretapi. Nak suruh keretapi ketepi juga ke?.Agak2 la cek keselamatan diri dan org lain bila guna siren . Xkan nak belasah je

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
  • Bieight8 on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:13 pm

So luxury vehicle is more important than citizens???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Baldwin V, Count of Flanders on Jul 28, 2022 at 7:27 pm

Yes. Why do you think you are important?

• Bodoh Tak Bertempat on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:23 pm

What kind of warning? Its at corner some more what warning is given there? Bullshit only la, almost accident there. Why so stupid one aiyah. OKU kad also not betul. Like that lah, sudah la salah, tak mau dipersalahkan pulak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Hot cars on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:25 pm

Any complaints gone into deaf ears! This will become non-news, we’re the kuci they’re the “VV-bloody-IP”…

• VIPSxxks on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:39 pm

If VIP so rush, take helicopter la. Why waste the resource and risk normal human life.

• That is such a bs statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Siren/warning or not, there is a reason why they put double lines in corners. It’s because u cant see past the bends. It’s a blindspot. They disregard public safety just to transport those 2 freaking cars. Madness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Zulkarim on Jul 27, 2022 at 10:03 pm

Yes they have the right to direct the vehicles in their lane yo give way. Not dangerously over take on a double line road endangering incoming traffic. This is common sense. And it not like they are in a life and death situation. It’s the same situation when the police held traffic with an ambulance to give way to some vvip not long ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Pipit on Jul 27, 2022 at 10:13 pm

Pipit jangan question. In malaysia, helang rules.

• Boy Racer on Jul 27, 2022 at 11:14 pm

VIP car delivery also can justify to break the law.

Jokers.

• Kalau keta yg rakam ni terbabas and masuk parit apa agaknya polis tu nak komen?

• Duit rakyat on Jul 28, 2022 at 12:21 am

Cuba kira berapa kos beli kereta, petrol, gaji, maintenance etc. setahun yg rakyat kena bayar utk escort service ni…

• Slipar on Jul 28, 2022 at 12:25 am

Hahaha…this is my coutry…malaysia..no need for hard feeling…its always like this…law just a toy for vip…even you complaint till death

• Road user on Jul 28, 2022 at 12:52 am

Its a road safety issue.
    Powers vested are not absolute and must be used wisely bearing in mind safety of other road user and with respect of traffic law.

• Follow Traffic on Jul 29, 2022 at 12:35 pm

Just need to follow the traffic jam especially on the stretch with double line mark like this, nothing urgent and not necessary to go pass the traffic jam. Everyone learnt line up the queue since young age like primary school including police.

• Bober on Jul 28, 2022 at 2:38 am

Lol PDRM better you eat taik, because looks like your brains as usual made of the same material. IDK in which country you have cop cars crossing double lines on a 2 lane double line congested trunk road. And as usual PDRM will try to justify anything, from this to deaths in custody.

• Harley Paulson on Jul 28, 2022 at 2:39 am

Next time better just crash head on with cop car teach the pigs what’s up

• I don’t think what PDRM has give the statement is right. Rakyat is the 1st preffences, why should a polis car escort a tow truck carring vvip cars. So we public safety is not important is it? PDRM can do any donkey works in road untill we public need to suffer. This is a stupid govt & stupid rules in Malaysia. That why all vvip cases is pending.

• Gomorrah on Jul 28, 2022 at 6:37 am

Should we be surprised by their behaviour? After all most of the police cars these days seem to be driving with their vehicular beacons flashing all the time – whether they are driving in normal traffic, picking up their kids from school or waiting for their karipap at the road side. There used to be strict rules that govern use of those lights but they seem to have been forgotten. Looks like PDRM is becoming another tool for the rich…much like the police force in the original Robocop movie. Why should our taxes pay for this?

• DoubleLineForAReason on Jul 28, 2022 at 7:30 am

Double line exists for a reason. It’s often a blind spot and it’s hard to spot oncoming car until too late. Audio warning is useless. Even if they are chasing down a fugitive, overtaking on a double line can only be done as a last resort. Truly endangering other road users with their selfishness.

• Imagine if a 50ton trailer meet with them at that tight corner, those vvip luxury car can straight send to scrap yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • I pray for it to happen one day. Those escorts gotta learn some lesson.

• There is no excuse for endangering the other drivers, PDRM. You need a good spokeperson who can connect with the people and speak based on rule of law. You can say “We are sorry”. Yet, you showed your ego and abuse of power. No excuses at all!!!

• tireman on Jul 28, 2022 at 8:46 am

Kelantan Police Chief, listen up! You are saying driving against traffic and crossing on a double line to escort VVIP cars is correct? Don’t forget who pays your salary, the rakyat. So if we stand in the way and get into an accident, we are at fault. This is a single lane road and normal road users are not trained in traffic avoidance in such situations. In performing your duties, PDRM as a whole should put Rakyat’s safety and life at the first place, not your freaking VVIP cars. You ought to be fired for your irresponsible statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Dah agak, ni je jawabnye.

• Mr. Sotong on Jul 28, 2022 at 9:00 am

“They have authorisation” to unnecessarily endanger other road users?

• MengkuduMasam on Jul 28, 2022 at 9:07 am

When u carry out your duty..
    Definitely its on “Arahan Yg Sah”

but the thing is, “Arahan Yg Sah” in this case is absurd. escorting tow truck?

• newme on Jul 28, 2022 at 9:08 am

VIP cars also get better/preferential treatment than you ordinary folks.

• Should just use kancil police car to escort since it was not in emergency and that road was small. Civic should be better served for Rakyat.

• Ridiculous, overtaking in curvy unseen situation is irresponsible as upcoming vehicle may not able to react.
    If it’s long stretch of straight road and lower risk, may be still “ok la” since police chief said it’s their “right of law”.

• Watch ‘Blue Bloods”.

• Kat SELEKOH tu sial.. You think the drivers can see what’s oncoming through the hills? Learn to use your poor brain before spitting out statements.

• Kea Was on Jul 28, 2022 at 10:53 am

By your logic then next time you can sound the siren and drive in the opposite side of the road?

• Quattro on Jul 28, 2022 at 11:06 am

If the acting police chief is smart enough he would just apologize and close the matter. Escorting a car on a flatbed truck can never be justified as an emergency and have to resort to police escort. IMO its simply an abuse of authority and a waste of public money. The more he explains and give excuse the worst it gets.

• VVIP – Very very incompetent person

• Bangang on Jul 28, 2022 at 11:44 am

Obviously, these people are arrogant. Of course they have every right to do that during emergency. But the context here is why do they need to escort a tow truck which is carrying luxury cars? So, next time some datos wanna tapao nasi dagang during peak hours; they just get the police to turn on the sirens and do whatever they want ?

• SedtobeMsian on Jul 28, 2022 at 12:12 pm

It is what it is. You mean BLATANT ABUSE OF POWER?
    The VVIP was suffering from stroke because his luxury cars didn’t arrive in time so it was an emergency situation thus the need for police escort. Disgrace.
    In this case police escort=prostitute.

This is dangerous to the opposite lane drivers. Police cars look like it was moving quite fast too. If anything the cars on the same lane as the police escort(prostitute) should move to the side where peasants belong.

• Its very important for the escort, as the VIP car value is depreciating by the minute. The longer the journey, the lower the value. Let’s have some “belas kasihan” as we all are Keluarga Malaysia. Hidup Malaysia

• bmiph on Jul 28, 2022 at 1:43 pm

1. The escort car gave ample warning or reminders (amaran atau peringatan secukupnya) by sounding its siren and flashing its lights – This is correct.
    2. The escort car had authorisation (arahan yang sah) to lead the three vehicles behind. – This is correct (his/her superior gave orders).
    3. The escort car was fulfilling its duty- This is also correct.
    4. This means that other road users have to cooperate and slow down, give way to the convoy, or stop to prevent something from happening.- This is also correct and advisable.
    5. Many are still confused by the matter – This is also correct.

So to explain the matter, pls tell us :
    1. What is the emergency about that would have necessitate the police escort? Maybe there was a legitimate reason. Who knows, the cars are special weapons for national defense (Top Secret).

• Faris on Jul 28, 2022 at 2:15 pm

Bullshit .. double line kot .. agak2 la

• Shiew Man Hon on Jul 28, 2022 at 2:51 pm

I read Sec 21 of the Police Act. It does not say they have a right to break Highway Code when performing duty.

Duty on public roads

21. (1) It shall be the duty of police officers—

(a) to regulate, control and divert any traffic;

(b) to keep order on public roads, streets, thoroughfares and landing places, and at other places of public resort and places to which the public have access; and

(c) to prevent obstruction on the occasions of assemblies and processions on public roads and streets, and in any case, when any road, street, thoroughfare, landing place or ferry may be thronged or liable to be obstructed.

(2) Any person who obstructs, opposes or disobeys any reasonable direction given by any police officer in the performance of his duties under this section shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding two hundred ringgit or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding three months or to both.

(3) Any person who commits an offence under this section may be arrested without warrant unless he gives his name and address and otherwise satisfies the police officer that he will duly answer any summons or other proceedings that may be taken against him.

In fact Section 20 (3) stipulate that they need to be lawful when performing duties:

Section 20

(3) Without prejudice to the generality of the
    foregoing provisions or any other law, it shall be the duty of a police officer to carry out the purposes mentioned in subsection 3(3); and he may take such lawful measures and do such lawful acts as may be necessary in connection therewith, including-

• Maabubeh on Jul 28, 2022 at 2:56 pm

Malaysia apa2 boleh… corrupted. Now if any accident happen due to this issue, sure netizen problem… knn maabubeh

• KJ Lim on Jul 28, 2022 at 3:17 pm

Unbelievable event and yet the police still defending it. Are the police here prioritized to protect wealthy people’s asset (a car in this case) than life of normal people?

• If i was driving and the police escort drove into my lane and hit my car, how can I explain in my police report? Will it go like this:
    Kereta polis tiba-tiba memotong garisan berkembar yg. sepatutnya tidak boleh memotong dan melanggar kereta saya. Saya cuba mengelak tapi tidak sempat. Kecederaan teruk kepada penumpang saya dan kereta saya remuk habis dan tidak boleh dibaiki. Saya mengakui kesalahan dan kelalaian saya sebab tidak memandu ke atas bahu jalan untuk memberi laluan kepada kereta VIP yg. tiada pemandu atau penumpang VIP dalam kereta itu.

Insurance claims straightaway rejected… kthanksbye!

• UNIX Ooi on Jul 28, 2022 at 4:12 pm

Whatever ordinary people or VVIP, law is law all Malaysians must follow. we’re mature enough to be a citizen of Malaysia no double standard la!

• You can see police is now blatantly abusing power and now justifying it and kowtowing to their paymasters. Police falls under Home Ministry purview and you know the current minister has no shame

• Our traffic cops on scooters ignore red lights too. They anyhow just make u turn

• I guess the law is make for normal people to obey, not for those VIP / VVIP / VVVIP to obey, twisting the law and keep fight for chair are their only capability. pity bolehland people.

• A Police escort for empty cars on tow trucks? Since when did this become acceptable? PDRM has to investigate if there was an abuse of process and power here never mind the statement by the acting Kelantan Police Chief. No one’s confused here, we’re just questioning why was there a police escort for tow trucks. Not emergency vehicles, not a VIP, just a couple of tow trucks carrying empty cars. PDRM has to investigate.

• Dolladrum on Jul 30, 2022 at 1:44 pm

Whatever the law says ultimately the safety of the public should be of utmost importance. Discretion should have been used to prioritize the safety of the public. If there was a need to drive in the opposite direction, contraflow traffic should have been arranged. This journey and escort was pre-planned. It’s as simple as that.

• ROTI CANAI on Jul 31, 2022 at 2:54 pm

tow car also need escort?