Special license should be required for pick-up trucks; much larger, more powerful than driving school cars

Trained driver in a secured location

The government has been advised by a driving instructor to create a new category of driving license to cater for drivers of pick-up trucks, Kosmo reported, in light of recent fatal accidents involving pick-up trucks, notably one which claimed the lives of a family of five in one car.

According to chief instructor at TIC Advanced & Performance Driving Academy Azad Jasmi, the proposed special license is crucial to ensure that drivers of pick-up trucks have the skills and techniques required to correctly and safely operate these vehicles.

The current Class D license for drivers of passenger vehicles up to 3,500 kg unladen – which is permitted for pick-up truck drivers – is not suitable for these vehicles, as the way of handling them is not the same as those for other cars, Azad added.

“Many who learn to drive and sit for Class D license driving tests will have done so in cars such as the Perodua Kancil or Axia, however once they are licensed, they are legally permitted to drive four-wheel-drive vehicles which are much larger, taller and more powerful [than the cars they have been learning in], Azad told Kosmo.

As a general rule, four-wheel-drive pick-up trucks which are popular in Malaysia are designed to carry large, heavy payloads, and are not meant to be driven quickly, he said, adding that pick-up trucks have a much higher centre of gravity and are less stable as a result, compared to other vehicles which are lighter and lower to the road surface.

Therefore, Azad suggests that pick-up truck drivers be required to obtain a special license such as those required of drivers of trucks and buses, namely the goods delivery license (GDL) and the public service vehicle (PSV) license.

Meanwhile, national road users association (PPJK) president Datuk Mohammad Hisham Shafie said that any individual who intends to drive pick- up trucks should also undergo courses and training.

“We are aware that pick-up trucks are larger and more powerful, which has led to some of these drivers to become unwilling to be considerate on the roads. Therefore, an advocacy programme for techniques and courteous driving need to be included in existing [programmes], Hisham said.

The PPJK president also recommended that the road transport department (JPJ) and driving intitutes evaluate drivers every three to five years to ensure that they are capable of, and thus qualified to handle the vehicles they are licensed to operate, and also added that law enforcement is heightened so that no one takes the existing regulations lightly.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Wow! Why gomen not reconsider those rempits and lajans to take special licences due to fatal accidents in the past? Akai…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 9
    • Semi Value on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:33 pm

Yep..u r insanely correct.
      Garmen should have kempen besar besaran against all rempits,basikal lajaks and 4 wheel drives.
      Seize all motorbikes and bicycles and prosecute the parents for allowing underaged teens to cause terror to law abiding citizens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • sohai on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:49 pm

Truck is not car, its should have own category of test. Its very straigh forward, Truck is comercial , comercial is doing business, all comercial should not be subsidy and should not allowed to pump subsidy fuel. MOF pls take immediate action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 57
      • Sohai2 on Jul 28, 2022 at 4:07 am

Fyi many whom bought pickup because the SUVs are insanely taxed and has hefty price tag. You think those pickup drivers many doesnt like to sit in a fully equipped SUVs? Why just cant the govn enforced driving penalty for reckless drivers. Reckless drivers dont drive pickup as well. Always attempt to fix the symptoms but not the cause of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 16
      • Bancat amat on Jul 28, 2022 at 5:27 am

Nonsense opinion. No car or mpv has caused accidents all this time?so, make the rule only applicable in peninsular Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Pidoe on Jul 28, 2022 at 7:05 am

B4 u open ur filthy mouth, remember us in Sabah & Sarawak. Malaysia is not semenanjung only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
        • Yusof on Jul 28, 2022 at 1:30 pm

Death doesnt differentiate Sabah Sarawak & Semenanjung drivers !!!

• Pidoe on Jul 30, 2022 at 1:17 am

Couldn’t agree more. But, yet the roads are insanely different. The level of development is approx 20 years behind. We are lagging. There’s a reason y 4×4 truck is common sight in Sabah & Sarawak. U hv better road. We dont.

• MOHd amin yap on Jul 29, 2022 at 5:05 am

Driving academy should use bigger cars not small cheaper to cut cost …and all driver in should be taught both car and 4wd at academy …..

• Dolley on Jul 29, 2022 at 7:26 am

This is brilliant idea instead of having so many driving licence types, people’s suffering now whilst business people try to create more potential income

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 28, 2022 at 7:18 am

Dear Sohai, Have you forgotten our D class license already allows us up to 3500kg vehicles?

Anyway, bring it on. I have a GDL anyway.

• Lol think before u comment, no subsidy fuel ? simple, your food, housing material, construction material, anything that relates to business transport, removing subsidy fuel will have a surge in price, can Malaysian afford it ?

• Mr. Sotong on Jul 28, 2022 at 8:47 am

The difference is mat rempit kill themselves, mostly. Pickup trucks kills others, mostly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • What bullshit is this guy talking about. He is trying to rake more money by forcing experience drivers to pay thousands for driving class before sitting for pick up driving test.
    Most accidents i see on video probably due to drivers falling asleep or speeding. Ewth sutonomous driving and drivers aid now available, this trend should reduce. But our regressive cops now says these aids are illegal, although it can help sleepy or drunk drivers home safely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 19
    • The Undertaker on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:42 pm

5 out of 10 pickup 4 wheel drive vehicles dont give a damn if a cow is crossing the road.They overtake due to their superior torque.
      Overtaking 5 vehicles is biasa..with double lines.
      Those who dont micro sleep,are awake as T rex dinasaur..they overtake as if Bolehland is lawless.
      Time to step up enforcement on these rogue bastards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
      • You sit higher in a truck so you can se farther and better visibility.. thats why can overtake easily. I drive both cars and truck and i feel safe and unstress driving a truck. Even on highways i can see trouble much further ahead and take precautionary measures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
        • The Undertaker on Jul 28, 2022 at 1:01 pm

Syd dude
          You r the exception,but sad to say,I have seen those bastards overtake over double lines,lorries,cars,vans even at blind corners.Your advantage is the huge torque.
          I didnt generalise.I say 50% of your counterparts,which many of our forum contributors agree.

• Which brand of car doesn’t have reckless driver?

• Pidoe on Jul 28, 2022 at 7:09 am

exactly. show us the data. semenanjung,sarawak & sabah combined. lets compare the lives lost in the mat rempit segment.

• Saya sokong cadangan ini supaya mereka lebih berhemah.
    Sekiranya tiada special lesen, kita haramkan saje pickup truck atas jalan raya utama, mcm atv, semua pakat acah2 king of the road, cucuk2 belakang, bawak laju tak ingat dunia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
    • Bancat on Jul 28, 2022 at 5:42 am

So kenderaan jenis kereta mana yang selama ini yang tidak pernah menyebabkan kemalangan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Pidoe on Jul 28, 2022 at 7:12 am

betul2. lagipun sudah lama tanah seberang tidak anggap Sabah Sarawak sebahagian Malaysia. cadangan yg munasabah munasarawak. haramkan saja. Adil. Sangat adil. puih…!

• Human on Jul 28, 2022 at 7:33 am

Even van jenazah also can turn turtle how?

• 7yearsfd1 on Jul 27, 2022 at 7:05 pm

You know the more effective way is make every road users equips bumper car type of safety , all around, and make it limit to 15kmh

like this , when there a collision , mostly its just giggles and laughter!

/s

• Orang kampung pedalaman all cry like this, don’t even have proper roads and had to rely on pick ups, now gomen wants them to take a different lesen.

If they think driving a pick up is the issue, then what about driving an Innova, or a Fortuner, it’s the same exact Hilux platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
  • Malaysian Citizen on Jul 27, 2022 at 7:34 pm

Here we go again, another idiotic suggestion. If you insist.. just add Special Class for Perodua Kancil or Axia and leave us Class-D alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • either the instructor is hallucinating or the instructor is a hallucination. that transport ministo better dont mess around this time

• 1 fatal accident with pickup truck – need special license? may as well – every car model – all need special license, as normal car also cause a lot fatal accident. Maybe is because lousy instructor? garbage in garage out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Bieight8 on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:11 pm

Should ban all pick up trucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Pidoe on Jul 30, 2022 at 1:24 am

Yup.. u will not be getting ur supply of durian musang king then. nak angkut kluar hutan pakai apa? kereta lembu… soottt

• Sarawak driver on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:17 pm

When your menteri never went to sabah and sarawak, the only way you can go places here is on via Pickup… Stupid menteri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Schmuelsons on Jul 29, 2022 at 12:49 pm

The last time I remember it was the Sabahans and Sarawakians that kept BN afloat for decades. I have stopped boamming Malaya for 2 decades now, after finding out that our fellow countrymen are as stupid to have kept BN in power since 1963, UNTIL NOW. Rules are rules, if it can prevent accidents significantly, then we should go for it. I drive SUVs, pick up trucks and normal ordinary vehicles, living in Sarawak, got used to dirt roads only once in a while driving on asphalt roads. Yes, there are differences in handling these vehicles. I don’t think it’s a big issue if it’s for safety reason.

• Bancat amat on Aug 01, 2022 at 1:48 pm

Schmuelsons,You are rich got all types of vehicles..so its no problems for you..

• Sarawak driver on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:18 pm

To travel in sabah and sarawak you need pick up. Semenanjung menteri never understand this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Stupid. It’s an individual issue. That driver is careless. I am not. I treasure my family, my life, my soul. Ridiculous thoughts. Keep quiet if you have no better things to do. Drive your vios or merc if you want.
    Do not bother us in Sarawak or Sabah. We need our truck. NOT because we WANT it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
  • Kenny on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:34 pm

After getting the so-called “special” license, if they refuse to drive properly and obey traffic rules, the outcome will be the same. This is simply the government’s “legit” way to milk more money from the nation’s people. Simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Sohai on Jul 27, 2022 at 9:48 pm

Disagree with the suggestion unless there is more data to support the claim.
    Even then, the solution could be to enhance the class D syllabus then to create an all new license class.
    I will also like to know how they plan to implement on existing driver with a pickup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Government hould listen advice from a smart person, not idiot!

• Sunda on Jul 27, 2022 at 11:52 pm

Bro I agree been driving 4 wheel truck from 22 years until now. 60 I have no problem just be smart on the road

• third world country on Jul 27, 2022 at 11:04 pm

oi bongok, buat lagi kerja baik2. dont awis waste money and resources do this kinda non sense.

so next you also want all alphard, vellfire, starex and carninal drive to get special license right?

• Using a kancil or axia to train and test a driver is also unrealistic. Driving schools also need to upgrade their cars to larger cars with proper training to manage speeds up to 110 kmh. These trainee drivers only drive around towns and the driving or test circuit and don’t even drive on the highways. What driving curriculum is that??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Makahai on Jul 27, 2022 at 11:25 pm

kerana nila setitik, rosak susu sebelanga. Benda nak jadi. because one rackless driver than blame all 4×4 driver.

#bolehland

• klguy on Jul 27, 2022 at 11:34 pm

these mini lorries are becoming a nuisance on our roads…

• Panjang on Jul 27, 2022 at 11:34 pm

If thats the case then Myvi will require one special category of license, BMW another category to ensure all BMW drivers uses their indicator, MPV oso another category as its also heavy and carry more people, driver for Menteri another category, konco-konco wakil rakyat or their balachi another category, older people another category, MLM ‘milionaire’ another category, bla..bla…bla…

• Pickup trucks are heavier, have bigger tires, have higher suspension than sedan or SUVs. This raises their center of gravity and makes a roll over more likely to happen. To avoid a roll over, drive the speed limit, make sure your tires are balanced and inflated and slow down for turns.

• Say way

• Concerned on Jul 28, 2022 at 3:00 am

There are already issues with the basic driving license (too easily obtained for some reason????…). This coupled with poor enforcement & no driving etiquette lead to the current situation we’re in.

• Bancat on Jul 28, 2022 at 5:34 am

so, make the rule only applicable in peninsular Malaysia.We in Borneo need a pick up truck not because we like it, but more for necessity and as a daily vehicle

• Myvi needs special licence or not?

• Jakie on Jul 28, 2022 at 7:32 am

Sb Dengkil dia x ada 4×4 lah tu, semua kenderaan terlibat dlm kemalangan

• Naik angin on Jul 28, 2022 at 8:08 am

Bodoh bertingkat-tingkat jangan tunjuk kat public la…idea mangkok

• fadiman on Jul 28, 2022 at 8:54 am

Actually is not the small or big vehicle pblm, it’s about driver attitude issues….

• Victor on Jul 28, 2022 at 9:02 am

Typical Malaysian response. Knee jerk application all for sake of showing your stupidity. Just because this guy got up in the morning and had a wild dream, he wants everybody to follow . I hope intelligent brains ( are there any left) in the Ministry will prevail.

• What a silly driving instructor
    Get license with P2 axia,
    driving M A450
    Can use same license?
    Of course can, both hatch back.
    Belum masuk cap kuda, cap lembu lagi.
    Lu pikir la sendiri.

• Henry on Jul 28, 2022 at 10:35 am

It can be any car. The problem is always the “nut” behind the wheel.

• JariGatal on Jul 28, 2022 at 10:42 am

whatever class or license will be down the drain unless the individual know their responsibility when get behind the wheel. Theory in classroom, practical during testing only for a piece of plastic that approve you’re capable to handle the wheel. But, does the “plastic” grant you the power of immortal? Does it give you an absolute rights on the road which we shared together including those who are cycling and walking?

• I’m corrupt on Jul 28, 2022 at 11:43 am

Ya laa. Government finding ways to make money from us. Only in Malaysia lah

• If you want to base on hight and size, are you saying x7, x6, Gls, starex, vellfire and etc also needs special licenses?

• Asjjassal on Jul 28, 2022 at 1:01 pm

Will drivers of huge van like MPVs also require special licences?
    Bases on law of probability there is a chace of any type of vehicle meeting with an accident. The great the number of vehicles on the road, the greater the probablility.
    Are the number of accidents involving pick-up trucks out of proportion to their numbers on the road?

• I second that. I have seen few flipped Hilu along the PLUS highway in these 2 years. It seems the drivers were driving fast and not able to control the cars.

• my brother owned and drive a big Toyota BJ60 for more than 15 yrs and never have any big problem with the authorities… now he have a Toyota Hilux Vigo for 10 yrs already and still drive safe and sound and of course he hold D licence… no problems till now… its not about problem having 4×4 or pickup, it is about our driving manner mostly.

• Nazir on Jul 28, 2022 at 3:21 pm

If so, segmen D cars and supercars drivers also must have special driving license.

• niadruob ynohtna on Jul 28, 2022 at 3:39 pm

What about those drivers who drive Alphard, Vellfire, Innova, Fortuner, Starex and many more SUVs which have higher center of gravity? Surely they need special license as well if this proposal is based on this reasoning? Show us the statistics of accidents involving 4×4 compared to other vehicle types. Don’t shoot your own leg by giving a brainless proposal like this.

Some ppl drive a 4×4 not for commercial use but prefer them because of our pot hole laden roads and its general bad condition. The 4×4 can take on the pot hole better. Another reason is the frequent flash floods. It’s no joke.

• The biggest and most dangerous problem are the mat rempits!
    Why no strict measures taken for these hooligans?

• The Rock... on Jul 28, 2022 at 10:36 pm

Why suddenly all the hype about 4 Wheels trucks on the road. Lets solve the problem about those Mat Rempit on the road. Sometimes I do feel about some Malaysian the way they talk and think. Those problems we have now and many more that cannot be solve…they tend to sweep it under the carpet and look for new things to talk about. Why….lah

• Zigzag on Jul 29, 2022 at 4:30 am

Totally disagreed .It’s the attitude of the driver not about the license.This one just to make money

• MOHd amin yap on Jul 29, 2022 at 5:06 am

Driving academy should use bigger cars not small cheaper to cut cost …and all driver in should be taught both car and 4wd at academy …..

• Usefull on Jul 29, 2022 at 5:32 am

Well rather than talking abt trucks… Brooo…. Malaysia is having far more bigger trouble than this pick-up truck matter…. Come on grow up and do somethg usefull to grow this Malaysia brother…

• Dolley on Jul 29, 2022 at 7:28 am

This is brilliant idea instead of having so many driving licence types, people’s suffering now whilst business people try to create more potential income

• Silverback on Jul 29, 2022 at 7:50 am

Eh bodoh! ANY car on the road now is bigger and more powerful than a driving school car! By your reasoning, you should only be allowed to drive the class of car you passed the test in. Clearly this is driving schools wanting to make more money, but it’s not a real problem.

• Myvi pun kena amik lesen x?

• Sense on Jul 29, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Put a speed limit of the heavy vehicles on pick up trucks

• Pintr on Jul 29, 2022 at 7:20 pm

Please implement need license to change the flat tyre too. No license cannot change their own tire.

• Your stupidity is incurable on Jul 29, 2022 at 10:05 pm

Bodohnya idea. Stupid.

• It’s more on driver’s attitude rather than type of vehicle.

• WEE TIONG WOO on Jul 30, 2022 at 3:10 pm

I have been driving cars with normal driving licence since 1975. I am currently driving a pick up truck and driving it in a manner much safer than thousands of those mat lanpits. Introducing a new category of licence doesn’t make sense other than other motives. Tell me what they are. An accident or two is hardly an excuse when you look at the number of accidents involving mat lanpits.

• GvrmentSUS on Sep 06, 2022 at 11:38 am

Sports car need extra license or not?

• Wei Sheng on Sep 08, 2022 at 11:15 pm

They just want more money to their pockets. More regulations = more money into their pockets. That’s all it is