East-West Highway fatal accident – family of five in Perodua Alza dead, police to question Hilux driver

This is a tragedy, even for Malaysian road accident standards. On Saturday (July 23), a family of five in a Perodua Alza perished in an accident on the East–West Highway (Jalan Raya Timur-Barat Jeli-Gerik) near the Titiwangsa R&R.

It is believed that the 3.45 pm accident was caused by a Toyota Hilux that was from the Gerik direction heading towards Jeli. The pick-up truck lost control and entered into the opposite lane, where it collided with the Alza, Astro Awani reported. The image above was posted on Facebook by user Pfizer Ical.

The victims are Mohd Rodhi Othman, 64, Sharifah Rohana Syed Sagaf, 59, Siti Aishah Mohd Rodhi, 32, Ahmad Khomaini Abu, 32, and Zara Hana Ahmad Khomaini, aged six. The were buried together in Sungai Dua, Butterworth yesterday afternoon.

Police will record the statement of the Hilux driver when she is ready to speak. The 53-year old woman is still being treated in Hospital Jeli in Kelantan for injuries to her chest and lungs.

“For now, she is still in hospital for treatment and we are yet to interview her or record her statement. We will do so shortly when she has recovered or after she is discharged,” said Perak police chief Datuk Mior Faridalathrash Wahid, who added that she is still being detained and the rest of the Hilux occupants have given their statements.

Unfortunately, there’s nothing much we can do when out-of-control cars from the opposite direction come hurtling towards us. We’ve just got to be alert and primed for evasive action, if possible, and drive the safest possible car (strong shell, high crash safety rating), if possible.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kapchai on Jul 25, 2022 at 4:40 pm

Heavy vehicle are dangerous to bikers, pedestrian and smaller vehicles.

It’s getting alarming when heavy cars doesn’t get advanced safety feature,
    Especially being a heavy tin kosong, lousy hard Tyre, driven recklessly…
    Gg.com.

Policy available on controlling safety features with stringent maintenance policy, not just for commercial vehicle, but also should considered for private vehicle > 1.5 tonne.
    These car crashing to Wira, all might KO.

https://paultan.org/2022/07/04/speeding-proton-wira-driving-against-traffic-on-federal-highway-at-2am-today-causes-big-head-on-accident/

But again, Crash Test is not even done for head on collision,
    It’s only 64km/h. A BMW i4 EV only got 4 stars 2022 NCAP crash test,
    might be KO on the spot as well, with a total lost vehicle too.

• komarad on Jul 27, 2022 at 1:21 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Osz5ASdCyw
      this is how 4×4 drives..

• Sohail on Jul 25, 2022 at 4:52 pm

It’s a East-West Highway but without divider, simply amazed.

Any crash is a Disaster there.

• ANCAP on Jul 25, 2022 at 4:55 pm

So Alza 4 star is not enough then?

• Sambathan on Jul 25, 2022 at 10:10 pm

U forgot L infront your name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • DNGA Best on Jul 26, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Recently also got a tragic case involving a Persona VVT where no one in the car survive.

I thought people say Proton HPF best for safety?

• Safety First on Jul 26, 2022 at 4:51 pm

NCAP protection rating is only for frontal collision, Proton does not have HPF on the rear so that Persona got hit by a heavy truck in the back will not benefit from HPF. This has nothing to do with Proton being bad but merely just Perodua being worse. The safer car still comes from Proton. So Buy SAFETY FIRST!

• Safety First on Jul 26, 2022 at 4:55 pm

Take Perodua safety rating with barrels of salt, recall that Miros (ASEANNCAP evaluator) main sponsor after all is Perodua, so you know I know what is going on…

• Kancil Hybrid on Jul 25, 2022 at 5:00 pm

Jangan segan2 gunakan hon di jalanraya. Rasa tak sedap hati je hon terus, tak rugi apa pun.

• Celup King on Jul 25, 2022 at 6:09 pm

Hailat turn turtle but driver still can survive. Meantime in P2 everyone condemn. So moral of story pick Toyota (Veloz) over P2 (Alza). It is the difference between staying alive and being dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
    • Semi Value on Jul 25, 2022 at 8:56 pm

Chelup Chelup Dude
      Dont tell people how Velox is better than Alza.People already got funeral.You meet the moronic driver like the Johor 12 vehicle lorry crasher..even the biggest Rolls Royce also kaput.

• Hainan kopitiam on Jul 26, 2022 at 10:57 am

They are both the same car stay away from mpv and Perodua. Proton x50 and x70 much safer

• DNGA Best on Jul 26, 2022 at 2:14 pm

If Proton safety is “much safer”, then how come a recent case involving a Persona VVT ended up really tragic for all its occupants?

• Safety First on Jul 26, 2022 at 4:51 pm

Proton does not have HPF on the rear so that Persona got hit by a heavy truck in the back will not benefit from HPF. This has nothing to do with Proton being bad but merely just Perodua being worse. The safer car still comes from Proton. So Buy SAFETY FIRST!

• Jimho on Jul 25, 2022 at 6:30 pm

It’s very sad the family died in such cruel, tragic manner. The Hilux driver was likely at fault, imo, unless..due to an oil spill (unlikely). Not all, but many drivers & motorcyclists are impatient & reckless. M’sia is well-known for this. It’s pointless to rush & save just 10 mins during entire trip, but may cause untold sufferings to innocent lives if things go wrong.

• Maverick Rafizi on Jul 25, 2022 at 8:46 pm

Hilux,Mitsu Triton,Ford Ranger,Isuzu…5 out of 10 tend to overtake aggressively due to their better torque.
      High time PDRM JPJ launch campaign besar besaran to weed out the rogue drivers.
      I have seen one Hilux overtaking 5 vehicles over double lines lately.They are a CLEAR AND PRESENT DANGER.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • “ drive the safest possible car (strong shell, high crash safety rating), if possible.” I think if you drive a tank or bulldozer, maybe you can be safe at that crash impact. Please aware, many incompetent driver on the road right now. They cause the accident. Salam takziah kepada waris mangsa yang terlibat. Moga roh arwah2 mangsa dicucuri rahmat. Aamiin.

• Jom heboh on Jul 26, 2022 at 10:58 am

If they were in a 5 series or 3 series surely walk away

• venven81 on Jul 26, 2022 at 2:49 pm

don’t be so certain about this. no one knows how great the impact was.

• N00bie on Jul 25, 2022 at 7:21 pm

The 2nd row, wear seat belt anot?

Without wearing seat belt, the rear passenger,
    When @ crash,
    “drivers are 2x as likely to be killed in crashes when the occupant behind them is unrestrained”

https://paultan.org/2021/03/12/road-users-still-not-using-rear-seat-belts-miros/

What make thing worse, only 11% ppl wear seat belt @ 2nd row?
    No wear seat belt, how to compare to NCAP dummy survival result?

• Pudinga on Jul 25, 2022 at 7:32 pm

Azia weak bodyshell

• Enoch Thompson on Jul 25, 2022 at 7:39 pm

Verily we belong to God the Creator and verily to Him do we return.

• The Undertaker on Jul 25, 2022 at 8:52 pm

We need not return to our Creator too early.
      Why should we leave behind crying and wailing for our innocent loved ones?
      WE should endure and escape if possible to put all these rogue drivers behind bars.

• AppleTree on Jul 26, 2022 at 9:48 am

When you lost all your family members in accident, let the roadside burger seller tell you this same line. See how u feel.

God allows free will and often time, human make bad or wrong decision that sometimes involve the lost of other human lives. That’s not God decision.

• Tan Swee Huat on Jul 25, 2022 at 8:43 pm

Build road divider on highway!!!

• Picup truck should have limit speed like lorry or bus max 90km/h. High torque for heavy load only not for speeding.

• Mr Mar on Jul 26, 2022 at 8:13 am

“if possible, and drive the safest possible car (strong shell, high crash safety rating), if possible.”

Bruv seriously putting this together in a post of deceased road users ?

• Head on collision is deadly even both vehicles only drive at 60km/h as their impact crashing speed is at 120km/h.

• Kernel Sanders on Jul 26, 2022 at 10:55 am

This is why if you value your life buy German or premium and stay away from MPV’s at the very least. Perodua is really a city car

• I am so sad for the losses :(

• JasonX on Jul 26, 2022 at 12:14 pm

The alza is not even that heavily damaged… Confirm all not wearing seat belt la… Why don’t report seatbelt?

• Alistar on Jul 28, 2022 at 6:21 am

Only for peninsular malaysia. We need a 4×4 hailak for sabah and sarawak. They should ban 4wd in highway maybe.

• Kamal on Jul 28, 2022 at 8:34 am

Requires enforcement of speed limit..on every highways. Overspeeding is now common on highways especially with big vehicles. Reckless driving too need to be check.