Food delivery strike in Malaysia today – Grab responds

Yesterday, it was reported that food delivery riders were set to go on a 24-hour nationwide strike today to protest against what they claim is unfair compensation paid to riders. The strike was supposed to have begun at 12am today.

Riders are reportedly unhappy about the compensation that they are getting. According to Abdul Hakim Abdul Rani, the vice-president of Persatuan Penghantar P-Hailing Malaysia, riders are paid a flat rate per delivery and earn incentives depending on the time and distance of the order placed.

However, he claimed that riders are not properly compensated for deliveries that may take a longer time to complete. He added that many riders are pressured to complete more deliveries daily to meet their income target, and said that the 24-hour protest is to make companies aware of how riders are feeling about their current situation, where they feel they are earning less despite performing more deliveries.

Following the announcement of the strike, which is being called the “Food Delivery Blackout,” Grab Malaysia has issued a statement clarifying that there was no reduction in base fares for their delivery services, The Star reports.

In its statement, the company said the recent concern raised by a delivery-partner was due to a glitch in its system, where the rider noted a discrepancy in his earnings. The ride-hailing service provider said it has since rectified the issue by transferring the shortfall to all affected partners. It added that it had clarified the matter via its official communication channel to its partners on July 21.

“We apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused for our partners and would like to encourage our partners to reach out to us via our Facebook, or visit us at Grab Driver Centre & Kiosks (GDC) should they have any further queries,” it said.

The company also reassured all users, including its consumers and merchant-partners, that it remains committed to supporting its delivery-partner community. It said it had introduced various efforts to support its delivery partners through the years.

Grab said that its initiatives included on-the-job protection with free personal accident coverage and a partnership with EPF to ease contributions, as well as assisting its riders with reducing operational expenses through discounts on petrol, vehicle maintenance and daily necessities, among others. It added that it had also introduced multiple promotions and campaigns to provide more jobs for delivery riders.

Have you had issues in getting food delivered to you today? Share your thoughts about the matter with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• no issue getting breakfast today, can see rider active everywhere. maybe only a small vocal minority la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Penipo haters on Aug 05, 2022 at 12:08 pm

BOIKOT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 05, 2022 at 1:38 pm

Glad less dangerous for 24hours

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
        • Pelosi the kwai lan siah on Aug 05, 2022 at 4:52 pm

Less accidents at RED traffic lights where riders are color blind.(speedy Gonzalez).
          There will never be a WIN WIN situation.
          Cos riders are working for a company that GRAB..GRAB.GRAB..not GIVE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Sang Rider on Aug 05, 2022 at 12:18 pm

Saya sebagai rider pula yang takut nak bekerja pasal selalunya mereka ni berpuak dan berperangai macam gangster. Support sesama sendiri saje, kalau ada yang tak kena mesti pukul rider lain. Sedangkan saya perlu kerja kalau tak macam mana nak bayar komitmen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
    • Ben Yap on Aug 05, 2022 at 5:28 pm

cari ketua puak tu, panggil assassin utk buat kerja untuk u.

• michael on Aug 05, 2022 at 1:04 pm

Good – less crazy motorcyclist on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
    • Pelosi the kwai lan siah on Aug 05, 2022 at 9:22 pm

Simple..no more riders allowed.Those who want food..go Mc Dee or KFC line up n pay.
      Transfer all riders to drive e hailing taxi.

• jagat malaysia on Aug 05, 2022 at 1:16 pm

most of them don’t bother to join the strike since they are getting tips from customers happily ever after

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Panic announcement by Grab and Food Panda, as singles day 8.8 is very near. Be fair to your delivery partners and not to take advantage of them. You are making huge money with their support. And please do not blame the IT system – its too lame. Are you going to sack your IT Director /Manager or your COO on that glitches that led to this fiasco ? Take ownership of the problem and be mindful in the future. Be a responsible corporations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 14
    • lithium on Aug 05, 2022 at 4:47 pm

agree. need to be a win-win for both company and riders.

grab is not making any money, they have reported loss for a few quarters and it needs to generate profit to stay afloat but not at the expense of squeezing riders to the max.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • need a bit of buss sense
        tesla corp making loss every year
        cash reserve increase every year
        share price increase
        so doesnt mean reported loss is not making money

• Amir MY on Aug 05, 2022 at 6:02 pm

yup is true.. Grab makes tons of money by sucking riders blood and sweat everyday.. Grab, do u know the meaning of partners. Grab makes maximum 35% from marked up the foods price from the merchants or sellers , The riders get their delivery fees from the customers who order the foods not from Grab.. so how many percent Grab contribute out of 35% to the riders.. this is a real capitalist .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Cipai on Aug 05, 2022 at 9:36 pm

Grab make tonnes of money? Is your assumption or facts? Or you are just parroting what people say?
        Why dont you download Grab annual and see how many tonnes of money they make.
        They are still making lose and still relying on investors to keep them alive.
        If Grab run out of business, good luck to the riders. Might need to go indonesia and chop kelapa sawit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Harry on Aug 06, 2022 at 12:14 pm

Garb are making money, their owners and directors make huge tonnes of money, people who invest in thier stocks make losing and people who uses they apps to order food pay more and more.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 06, 2022 at 11:04 pm

https://paultan.org/2021/04/14/grab-agrees-to-a-rm163-5-billion-spac-merger-deal-paving-the-way-for-an-ipo-and-listing-on-the-nasdaq/

lol

• if not making money, who want to be the share holder. but b4 that who want to be the investor
          kamon la

• Casual reader on Aug 06, 2022 at 7:24 pm

inb4 some joker tries to blame the G for the actions of greedy corporations

• Avenger on Aug 05, 2022 at 3:19 pm

Time for riders to have a union!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • newme on Aug 07, 2022 at 2:09 am

No union – only lazy workers suffer.
      With union – all workers together with the company suffer.

Look at MAS with their 4 different unions did to the company.

• I am also a delivery rider and I don’t see any issue or reduction in the fare. Theres no flat rate all rates are base on distance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Dysthymicbro on Aug 05, 2022 at 4:56 pm

Even the warung using the system are not getting their dues and if they do get the payment, it will take a very long time.

• it just a statement
      it is true and what a just to get the dislike

• Dysthymicbro on Aug 05, 2022 at 5:00 pm

Even the small time warong are not getting their fair share. Something is wrong with the way this e-system companies are conducting their business.

• Boycott them. These riders shoukd be sacked. Already given them a job and then made demands. Shops shoukd seek other ehsiling service like lalamove etc etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • bobby on Aug 05, 2022 at 6:03 pm

what i do not like is majority of these grab delivery rider always goes against traffic law -most of the time i see and even film these rider going against traffic esp in shoplot traffic direction -performing dangerous short cut -some even running red light and they do not use their bike light indicator to turn left or right so when they get into accident -they become the victim or play the poor victim

• Law must be imposed to all this riders, drive opposite traffic, ride recklessly, not obeying traffic rules and the list go on, worried about penalty that all their reasons to do so.

• bobby on Aug 05, 2022 at 6:09 pm

no sympathy. for these rider as some or if not most will ride against traffic law by going against flow of traffic in neighborhood esp shoplot where u see them going against on coming car and when they get into accident they become the victim or play the victim cards -no respect for them since they do not obey traffic and even use their phone while riding even though it is attached to the bike handle -no one ask them to be rider -they think it easy way out for them -well nothing is easy without working

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • This is free market. No one force u to be rider. If you are not happy to the pay, u can quit anytime, no contract to bond u too. You can find other job that can pay to what u want as fair. But you must follow their rules, work on time, apply leave, follow company conduct, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • definitely can be minister menteri
      but for grab ‘ work on time, apply leave,’ dont apply you know

• sahak on Aug 06, 2022 at 6:54 am

It is gig work meaning part time job. Full time job as a rider? No. Go study further, improve your lifehood. By this you can get out from the B40 group.

• Nk mrh tp kena sabar... on Aug 07, 2022 at 4:33 pm

Biasa lah. Biforti ni kuat komplen je. Sikit2 merengek nak susu (bantuan) sana sini atas bwh.

Expect keje nk mudah tp gaji nak T20.

Ayat cliche mrk kata ditindas memanjang. Lgsg x reti nk improve.

• apa merengek bro
        grab pun dah mengaku ada glitch (pr statement jer)
        benda ni dah bertahun dah kerja sama jer. kau ingat mudah ke jadi rider ni dan rider ni pun tahu dgn kerjaya ni takkan masuk T20 nya
        instead duk condem cuba bagi solusi skit

• Up to you... on Aug 08, 2022 at 2:17 pm

That ‘glitch’ are just alasan to cover up. They testing the so called glitch to rider. To see how their reaction. This glitch are just the asbab to get more from your 1 piece of cake a.k.a mata merah because many rider like to intelligently flex their income at medsoc.

See or not the chain reaction?

So the solution is simple, ikut resmi padi, semakin berisi, semakin tunduk (not flexing and talk kok).

P/s : org yg da mmg berduit (berjaya), dia x heran da. Tp yg bru merasa 7-8k (mostly), akan jakun nk flex (menunjuk, lapar perhatian etc) di sosial media.

• Enoch "Nucky" Thompson on Aug 06, 2022 at 8:01 am

Follow the traffic rules & be a good law-abiding citizen first before you talk about others squeezing you, if you want to be seriously heard.

• Alasan? on Aug 08, 2022 at 2:21 pm

It’s hard. This kind of biforti attitude cannot be change, like to merengek for milk (bantuan). Biar si luncai (biforti) terjun bersama labunya.

• Papamutata on Aug 06, 2022 at 12:54 pm

GRAB has a history of ill treating partners and left the issues hanging.

• Those riders who joined strike is those really useless people. If you have signed contract with me and I reduced pay not following contract and you have to do work for me, then you can go on strike. But this is free market, no contract to bond any sides. If you happy with pay, u come, not happy u go away. That’s simply! We always say there must be reasons behind for a “pity” person. These type of people is destined to be failure people. We work hard for what you want based on what we have, what we capable and not forcing others to give you what you what! Only Malaysia government will pamper these type of people by giving them petrol subsidiaey and decides to exploit T20 groups that working hard!

• T20 deserve better future on Aug 08, 2022 at 2:26 pm

Agreed. That’s why, biforti like to merengek for milk (bantuan). And guess what? The gov gonna milking (exploit) it from higher income group.

You can see how they flex it eventho staying at PPR biforti.