Traffic police mistakenly stops driver for running red light at green light – use dashcams to ensure security

A driver has posted footage from their dashcam of their drive last week, which portrayed the interaction between themselves and a traffic police officer, in which the driver can be heard being accused by the traffic police officer of running a red light.

The posted video footage shows the driver’s passage through junctions only when green lights were shown, which is the point of contention. Here, the driver of the dashcam-equipped vehicle also included footage from a rear-facing camera in the Facebook post.

According to a statement by the head of Ipoh district police assistant commissioner Yahaya Hassan posted to the Polis Daerah Ipoh Facebook page, the incident occurred near Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan (SMK) Yuk Choy along Jalan Kuala Kangsar, heading towards the town centre at approximately 7:28am on Friday, August 5, 2022.

An internal investigation by the integrity and standards compliance division of the police is ongoing, and the Ipoh district police headquarters have identified the traffic police officer in said incident, the statement read.

The leadership of the Ipoh district police views any complaint regarding the conduct of its officers or members seriously, and thanks the driver involved in this incident for providing feedback on the quality of service provided by front-line members of the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM), the statement continued.

Ipoh police have also asked for the cooperation of the driver who posted the dashcam footage, and to contact the head of the integrity and standards compliance division at the Ipoh district police headquarters to assist in the police investigation.

This should serve as a reminder about the importance of using digital video recorders, or dashcams in our vehicles. Whether the situation at hand involves dangerous, sudden lane changes, a convoy of vehicles driving where they shouldn’t be, or a pedestrian working to scam an unsuspecting road user, video and audio evidence should go a long way in removing ambiguity for the innocent party.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• albag on Aug 08, 2022 at 11:23 am

why the police wanna do that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 08, 2022 at 11:28 am

Everyone just be mindful
    Some party hungry for too long
    Now is the hunting season before GE15

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 08, 2022 at 2:46 pm

This is the problem with malaysians.
      Polis buat tahan, kata hungry for something.
      Polis xbuat tahan, kata polis xbuat keje.

Kesian our frontliner abam polis. Orang lain duduk, dia yg kena berdiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 51
      • Gomorrah on Aug 08, 2022 at 4:15 pm

Tahan for the right reasons la. Buta buta tahan like this what do you expect people to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
        • Lets See on Aug 09, 2022 at 12:28 pm

Police are human too. The fact they had stop that car showed them doing work and not just “memantau sahaja” as a someone keeps implying.

• King 2 on Aug 09, 2022 at 1:36 am

Diam la. You waste time tahan innocent tax payer for what? Go and tahan the robbers and rempits la if u got balls. No balls only know how to bully normal citizens. Ptui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • True is true, false is false, then we say do your job.

• Knowing perodua and their Malaysianness, their next model might have a built in dashcam sometime later.

• macampondan on Aug 08, 2022 at 12:33 pm

songlap culture…. lead by example… all the way from the top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Mr Fakta on Aug 08, 2022 at 1:03 pm

It’s definitely not a mistake.

• I am sure no action will be taken against the police! Not the first time. If is VVIP, I can understand but Malaysia always protect even a small potato!

• DonkeyKong on Aug 08, 2022 at 1:19 pm

Hopefully this crooked cop gets sacked or imprisoned for abuse of power and extortion

• Bertabahlah. on Aug 08, 2022 at 1:44 pm

Mungkin terkhilaf. Husnuzon je la.

#doneinstall

• Magic Color on Aug 08, 2022 at 1:55 pm

Colour blind kot abang polis tu ??

• Be careful of polis on Aug 08, 2022 at 2:24 pm

The home ministry just reminded the public against recording police doing raids or arrests. Paul Tan better be careful posting such articles as sooner or later knowing our government they’ll say recording a traffic police issuing summonses will fall under “obstructing a public officer from carrying out their duties” in the Penal code and also is violation of the Communications and Multimedia Act (CMA) for “disturbing others.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 08, 2022 at 2:48 pm

This is just dashcam recording in car, not purposely taking out phone & recording abam polis buat keje which is against the law.

• I believe the police is making a mistake. They won’t need purposely to frame you, imagine there’s almost every time at traffic light, sure someone want to challenge it.

• My father use to say, if a policeman ask you to stop and immediately asking for your driving license and proceed with writing the summons he is doing his job. But if a policeman ask you to stop, giving a 2-3 minutes sermons, and stressing if you being compound it can go as high as RM300, he only want money la.
    This policeman giving almost 5 minutes sermons..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • Can someone please clarify if the traffic policeman is using his official police motorbike. From the looks of it looks like his personal bike. Don’t see a police livery/colour and siren on the bike. If it’s not official bike, they shouldn’t have the right to stop anyone, correct?

• BiziBoy on Aug 08, 2022 at 8:43 pm

As far as I know, most police on patrol have to use their own motorcycle. Gov. only provide fuel and maybe some allowance, hopefully enough to cover wear and tear.

• Raja Kamarul on Aug 08, 2022 at 4:09 pm

I think there was a car that beat the lights. But the policeman stopped the wrong car. The conversation was clear. He pointedly said the driver had gone through a red light.

But, his demeanour was uncalled for; his job is to stop the car, inform the man of the offence, and issue a summon. He should not be berating the man on perception of the police and what not (hand kissing or whatever).

• Kasiduitlah on Aug 08, 2022 at 4:22 pm

persepsi kepala udang engkau lah, malukan seluruh pd.RM.
    Langsung xde sopan santun, baik kembali ke sekolah jam’Ban.

• hazri on Aug 08, 2022 at 4:35 pm

i remember last time balik kampung from saujana setiu terengganu to kuala lumpur. this police traffic tahan me accusing me potong double line and he said he record picture for that, then i request for picture he cannot give. i dont pay any cent but this case to the court. a week after news come out in tv and newspaper police traffic got crashed by car when tahan kereta, exactly at the same place haha

• Ground europe passenger on Aug 08, 2022 at 5:10 pm

Free 70mai dashcam advertisment.

• Leng Tat Saw on Aug 09, 2022 at 3:30 pm

Why nobody suggest body camera for the person on duty???

• He also gave evidence of kesalahan memandu atas garisan on the road haha… life is a mirror?

• the first polis at road side gave wrong info to the second polis further up ahead ^^

• Ethan on Aug 10, 2022 at 3:43 pm

We all know what really happened… But to save face such a statement has to be made… It’s S.O.P apparently… Malaysia Boleh!!!…