Car spare parts prices in Malaysia up by between 25% and 60% due to current global supply issues – report

The prices of car spare parts have gone up by between 25% and 60% in Malaysia, according to a report by The Star. Local associations say this is a result of global supply being affected by the Covid-19 pandemic, with the situation being made worse by the ongoing Russia-Ukraine conflict as well as the United States-China trade war.

“There is a shortage of spare parts, especially for cars made in Europe. This has caused prices to increase by about 25%,” said Automotive Accessories Traders Association of Malaysia president Lim Bee Choo.

She added that Europe was currently facing an energy crisis after Russia suspended its supply to the continent following the European Union’s sanctions, which has limited the operations of factories in the continent.

“A lot of the components for cars made in Japan and South Korea are made in China, so this policy is affecting supply,” Lim explained further, referring to China’s strict zero-Covid policy that sees lockdowns in the event of an outbreak. These components also include engine oils and tyres, which have also gone up in price due to the current global situation.

Meanwhile, Malaysia Automotive Prosper Entrepreneurs Association president Mohd Karim A. Rahman said the prices of spare parts have gone up by as much as 60% depending on the parts that needed replacing. Echoing Lim’s statement, he added that besides parts, the price of tyres, engine oil and lubricants has also increased by between 10% and 15%. “The price of lubricant usually goes up only 2% to 3% every two to three years, but this year the price has gone up twice,” he said.

Mohd Karim also noted that considering the price hikes, mechanics would discuss pricing with customers first before ordering spare parts. “Usually, it will take about a week for us to order the parts from our supplier but nowadays, it would take a month for the parts to arrive,” he explained, adding that customers would bear any higher prices.

While it may be tempting to find cheaper parts online, Mohd Karim cautioned vehicle owners to be wary of the quality of the product being sold, as imitation parts may cause harm to vehicles in the long run.

As a vehicle owner, has the cost of servicing your car or having parts replaced gone up? Share your experience in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ah Chong on Aug 15, 2022 at 1:07 pm

Just gotta be smart about where you spend money. I saved 60% off a certain part in my car by getting third party Japanese brand rather than the original continental part. COUGHsimedarbyCOUGH

• Abdul on Aug 15, 2022 at 6:55 pm

Inb4 subcon UMNO & Ltat buy parts for kapal LCS …harge mark up 300% weyy. Binawe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Sick & Tired on Aug 16, 2022 at 12:41 pm

Ini semua salah PH for stopping kapal LCS project and incurring heavy cost overruns. Say NO to PH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Bob Mal on Aug 15, 2022 at 1:08 pm

Proton kindly explain why the x50 & x70 Petronas Engine oil 5W-30 increased from RM163 all the way to RM189 in less then a year?

Is the Petronas Engine Oil (Made in Malaysia) also affected by all foreign influences or just to make the kill since business is good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • DPM Assmin on Aug 15, 2022 at 4:26 pm

Datuk Seri Bob Mai..u didnt read news, meh?
      Petronas …has to do extra national service this year.
      Sabri dude /Tengku Z needs 80 Billion for subsidies.
      So Petronas also got to naik harga.

• All up la.
      Mach 5 last time RM60+ now RM90+.
      Helix HX7 last time RM128 now RM154.
      Actually this year alone it has been a 2 times price hike due to crude oil price increase and our RM heading to the south and still strongly going there.
      You can buy lubricant at hypermarket when they are having steep discount offer.

• Bob Mal on Aug 16, 2022 at 11:40 am

Well probably for the price increase.

However, I am particularly referring to Proton Service Engine Oil which for example the Persona Engine oil is RM109 (previously RM106) while the x50 is now RM189 (previously RM163) that is a huge difference.

• Thank god on Aug 15, 2022 at 1:59 pm

Thank god my 530i still have another 4 years of free service

• Then we shall see another 4 years dude will you thank god again.

• Go for brand with free maintenance package!

• Asiongkor on Aug 15, 2022 at 4:30 pm

Miah dude…we r talking about spare parts.Not free labour in maintenance package.Certain parts apart from engine/gearbox (warranty),u still pay.There is no free lunch.

• Up to you... on Aug 16, 2022 at 9:44 am

Who said no free lunch?

Battery kong. Free.
        Absorber kong. Free.
        Etc etc…

Parts, Labour, Lubricant free. So no prob.

Minor service, free.
        Major service, free.

Yeah2, I know included. But ok what, no need to think already when the time come for servicing my car. My car never overdue for preventive maintenance.

• Trouble on Aug 15, 2022 at 7:41 pm

Got free maintenance but no parts, how?

Once Kena, Twice Shy.

• Right? on Aug 17, 2022 at 8:37 pm

Don’t use biforti car la dude. So far my service no prob. And and and courtesy car…

• abenda? on Aug 15, 2022 at 3:22 pm

European car parts is gonna go up like crazy. China parts and asian car parts will not be affected much. But european cars hancur. Europe economy is sinking faster than a sinking sampan. Don’t buy european cars if you are smart

• Ben Yap on Aug 15, 2022 at 3:24 pm

chicken price go up, electricity tariffs goes up and everyone follow suit. everyone has an excuse why price should be increased. When inflation is under control, no businesses will tell u that they are going to reduce price inline with the cost going down. they will pretend as if nothing happens.

• even malaysian made engine oil sourced from local crude drilled in local shore are god damn expensive!

yeah PETRONAS im looking at u! how to support local brand if local brand also priced out common reach

• Ground europe passenger on Aug 15, 2022 at 5:25 pm

Ya better choose wisely when buying a car. Those high cost maintenance model think twice before put deposit, not just looks at those fancy features but inside still using backward old tech engine.

• L-Star on Aug 15, 2022 at 7:28 pm

Even with new tech engine, did you think maintenance cost will be higher too?

• B40 minded? on Aug 16, 2022 at 9:47 am

Simple dude. Just ukur baju di badan sendiri.

But mostly Malaysian (especially biforti) will go for biar papa, asal bergaya.

• Jimho on Aug 16, 2022 at 2:37 pm

Price hikes, strong US$, pandemics.. all initiated by leftists & WEF. To make us use EVs, eat grass, worry about climate change. ”You’ll have nothing & you’ll be happy.’ Mou Kau Chor Orr? Like that also can ah?