Spare parts prices could increase by 60% – report

Prices of automotive spare parts across all types of vehicles are expected to increase by up to 60% in the short term due to supply issues and increasing transportation costs following the reopening of economic sectors and the permitting of interstate travel from last month, reported Utusan Malaysia.

The increase in parts prices are cause for anxiety among workshop owners, and will indirectly impose financial pressures upon vehicle owners who are weathering price increases in other areas, according to Perak Bumiputera automotive workshop owners and business operators’ association chairman Hadiman Arrifin.

The price hikes apply not just to new spare parts but also to used parts, in light of import taxes and delivery charges placed on these products, Hadiman said, adding that these add on to the financial challenges already faced by workshop business owners who are facing the risk of closing their businesses.

“We are doing our best to avoid burdening the customers. However, the problem is that the price hikes are considerable, as some parts have increased in price by more than 60%. Therefore as business owners, we need to follow current pricing as we are unable to absorb the additional costs,” Hadiman continued.

Among the price hikes observed were in air-conditioning refrigerant, which were previously priced around RM300 per cylinder but is now anticipated to increase beyond RM400 per cylinder, he said. Meanwhile, tyres have increased in price by between 35% and 60%, and engine oil prices have increased by more than 15%.

Despite these price increases for automotive parts and supplies, workshop owners are still giving warranties for work carried out on customers’ vehicles.

That said, the warranties tend to be reduced from one year to six or three months, because of the risk to workshop owners who have received genuine spare parts such as air-conditioning compressors which are not covered by a manufacturer’s warranty. Workshops continue to provide a guarantee to their customers as a responsibility, Hadiman said, adding that repair or maintenance costs remain as before.

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) also expects the increases in automotive parts, said MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad. These increases in parts prices will also impact the automotive sector in the future, in the form of a reduction in vehicle purchases, Utusan Malaysia quoted the MAA president as saying.

On the other hand, allegations of price manipulation by parts manufacturers have been put forth by the president of the Consumers Association of Subang & Shah Alam (CASSA) Datuk Jacob George, according to Utusan Malaysia.

Citing CASSA’s own surveillance, the consumer association claims to have identified the manufacturers involved in the price manipulations, who are alleged to be stockpiling automotive parts to claim a supply shortage when they are waiting to impose new, higher prices on automotive workshop owners.

“This practice has been planned from September, and is unacceptable given the present circumstances,” the CASSA president was quoted as saying.

In a separate development, there are concerns that the sharp increase in parts prices may trigger an influx of imitation parts, Utusan Malaysia quoted a workshop owner who prefers to be known only as Asyraf. This may have safety implications for consumers cannot afford the genuine items, and are thus forced to purchase the cheaper alternatives, he said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Lagi Mahal EV Sekarang on Nov 26, 2021 at 5:45 pm

If this is true, EV is already dead. Already most Malaysians are struggling with their maintenance of their ICE (petrol engine) cars. 60 percent increase will put more people in the “B80”.

EV cars will be lagi teruk. Since EV is mahal to even buy, what more maintain now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • ICE vehicle belongs to history on Nov 26, 2021 at 9:31 pm

“EV cars will be lagi teruk. Since EV is mahal to even buy, what more maintain now”, What bullshit is this, yes EV is expensive and would be so for the next 5-7 years, But EV maintenance, come on compared to ICE vehicles, it is pretty clear even today EV maintenance is going to be far cheaper compared to ICE vehicles. ni electric motor only you know, no oil changes and other bullshit related you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
      • paanjang16 on Nov 27, 2021 at 10:44 am

EV cars still share the same tires, brakes, air-con compressor & system, lights, speedo, seats, door mechanism, wipers, absorber, suspension system, airbag, safety systems and the battery for the other components of the car. So even though you do not need oil change you still need to check the brakes, air-con system, tires, suspension, wipers, battery like a normal car.

The battery depending on the manufacturer if they allow replacement of the single cell or have to replace the whole battery pack. Utube has videos of Tesla battery replacement where Tesla charge the price of the car to replace the battery so some have to DIY to replace the individual cells instead of the whole battery pack. Later do BMW, Merc, Hyundai allow such repair or they want you to replace the whole battery pack?

• Khairul Faizi on Nov 26, 2021 at 5:54 pm

boleh jual sebijik kereta , pergi-balik kerja naik basikal ja lepaih ni
    pengguna jalanraya lain , jangan langgar saya – saya bukan yang terpaling basikal – kalau masuk sikit jalanraya tu pun sebab bicycle lane takde, tidak diselenggara atau ada halangan lain di bicycle lane. sebaik mungkin saya akan guna bicycle lane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Dong Gor on Nov 26, 2021 at 6:09 pm

Oh well price hike has always gone down to consumers. Don’t ever believe any other party trying to absorb anything to cushion for end users on contrary, tyre price incresse 20%, consumers end up paying 30%. Just like sugar increase 10 cent per kilo, but teh Tarik up 20 cent per glass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • The sad truth is, MAA is quite right on this. Globally there is a market run with demand outstripping supply on everything from automotive parts to electronics, to food items, to raw materials, to fuel. Those examples you gave however is something that is happening even b4 covid though.

• Robinhood on Nov 26, 2021 at 6:36 pm

What nonsense is this??? Spare parts price increased by 60%? If it is true, definitely there is an element of profiteering. WTH is the govt doing??? Goyang kaki and let the rakyat suffer???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 23
    • Bro. Global GPU & CPU prices went up 200% or more, but I have not seen anybody on the web actually blame their Governments for such price increases because a free market is about supply & demand.

You are the only person I know that blames the Government for market forces that is beyond anybody’s control. Globally you’re the only idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 27
      • Mirror on your wall on Nov 27, 2021 at 10:18 am

Bro global 20% naik. Malaysia thinking bout 60%
        He is not an idiot as he seem to you. You need to look into the mirror to find one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 27
        • Aura89 on Nov 28, 2021 at 2:26 am

Yall thought your so smart? Try prices here in the States, an engine oil filter is up 50%, an overhaul is now doubled, tires & batteries are easily 60-70% more today. Anything electronics is scalper heaven, staple food prices have shot up so dont think it smells of roses here. He aint no fool like you think.

• Amran on Nov 26, 2021 at 7:18 pm

Poorfags better use motors instead

• Albert Einstein Senior on Nov 26, 2021 at 8:52 pm

Robinhood,I just changed 2 front bridgestone Ecopia tyres for my Camry.(205 /65/15 size)at Rm220 a piece.
      What price increase these people are writing?
      OK,say there is really a price increase.For gardenia bread they are calling the manufacturer to explain.
      For car spare parts,the rakyat has the right to demand stringent price check on parts(if any hoarding involved).
      Covid or no covid,these makan gaji dudes have to start raiding those who artificially increase prices with flimsy excuses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • What are you and robinhood talking? Unlike foodstuff, spareparts are not controlled items. If you don’t want to be overcharged, go back to using authorised service centers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
        • Kim Jong Din on Nov 27, 2021 at 5:27 pm

Datuk Tak Tau Gary,
          Have you read the enforcement taking action on the Langkawi siakap fish Rm1000+ incident?
          Siakap is not controlled item,but action can still be taken for hoarding or excessive profiteering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • Albert Einstein Senior on Nov 26, 2021 at 9:15 pm

What are the enforcement dudes waiting for? Waiting for fat bonuses?
      Start raiding those parts suppliers warehouses secara besar besaran.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Dun like it? Go import ur own sparepartslah! Buy from Lazada/ Shoppee/ Ali/ Taobao/ whatever see how much it cost nowadays. The world is facing all forms of shortages, steel prices have increased 40%, china power cutbacks have delayed production, worldwide shortage of transportation, manpower shortages to move goods and logistics, etc. are you blaming the local enforcement for a global issue? Are you that stupid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
        • Melania Rosmah on Nov 27, 2021 at 5:13 pm

Only stupid people call others stupid.
          Sometimes,when cooking oil shortage they raid.Now,from the writeup,it is possible there is an element of hoarding.So,we are just asking what the salaried dudes are doing when people are waving white flags?
          So,if after conducting raids,no hoarding,then rakyat knows what to do.So,keep the word stupid inside your brains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 21
          • Copy Paste on Nov 28, 2021 at 2:32 am

Copy paste: “Unlike foodstuff, spareparts are not controlled items.”

Copy paste: “He is not an idiot as he seem to you. You need to look into the mirror to find one.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Izhar on Nov 26, 2021 at 8:12 pm

Sayur also increase almost 100%. Kangkung?

• So RM2.80 saving for switching to Alphard will go down to the drain.

• nasib baik on Nov 27, 2021 at 9:05 am

Nasib baik ada baca ini. I was already thinking nak buat major investment. Now lebih baik I save my money sebab cost of living akan naik soon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • I will think about selling my old car part by part instead of trade in. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Watch where you park your vehicles people! I foresee an increase in spare part theft due to higher demand..

• george on Nov 28, 2021 at 8:57 am

Is it more feasible to buy 3D printer and DIY your parts.

• under this BN government…SMUA PON NAIK HARGA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • The cost of goods sold around the world has skyrocketed. Ini pon smua salah BN ke? Wahh! So powderful they all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • PlainBS on Dec 02, 2021 at 7:54 am

It’s not the gomen’s job to control the RM currency depreciation & the middlemen who control the supply chain

• SmartConsumer on Nov 29, 2021 at 3:17 pm

Tipu, those workshop association mau tipu us and justify theire price hike. My courier charges s the same until today. No price hike also